DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendments filed on 02/25/2026.
Currently claims 1-7, 9-11, and 13-22 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/25/2026 was filed before the mailing date of the office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0091005 A1 (Tsai) and further in view of US 2022/0254756 A1 (Choi).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses, a semiconductor package comprising:
a redistribution line structure (500; outer redistribution layer; Fig. 1N; [0032]) comprising a plurality of redistribution line patterns (as annotated on Fig. 1N);
a first semiconductor chip (100) and a second semiconductor chip (110) on the redistribution line structure (500) and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1N; [0035]);
a bridge structure (430, as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0032]) between the first semiconductor chip (100), the second semiconductor chip (110), and the redistribution line structure (500), the bridge structure (430) comprising a plurality of connection wiring patterns (433) configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip (100) to the second semiconductor chip (110) (Fig. 1N; [0029]); and
a molding layer (200 and 450; encapsulant; Fig. 1N; [0031]) surrounding a sidewall of the bridge structure (430) and filled between the first semiconductor chip (100), the second semiconductor chip (110), and the redistribution line structure (500) and between the first semiconductor chip (100) and the second semiconductor chip (110) (Fig. 1N; [0031]),
wherein lowermost surfaces of the plurality of connection wiring patterns (433) are above uppermost surfaces of the plurality of redistribution line patterns (500) (as evident in Fig. 1N).
But Tsai fails to teach explicitly, the molding layer extending continuously around the sidewall of the bridge structure and between the chips;
However, in analogous art, Choi discloses, the molding layer (250; molding layer; Fig. 2; [0052]) extending continuously around the sidewall of the bridge structure (as annotated on Fig. 2) and between the chips (as annotated on Fig. 2) (Fig. 2; [0052]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tsai and Choi before him/her, to modify the teachings of a semiconductor package as taught by Tsai and to include the teachings of the molding layer extending continuously around the sidewall of the bridge structure and between the chips as taught by Choi since having a single molding layer covering all the components of the package would reduce the manufacturing cost. Absent this important teaching in Tsai, a person with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reach out to Choi while forming a semiconductor package of Tsai.
Regarding claim 2, Tsai discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising a connection pillar (as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0032]) configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip (100) to the bridge structure (430) and electrically connect the second semiconductor chip (110) to the bridge structure (430) (Fig. 1N; [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the connection pillar is in contact with the first semiconductor chip and the bridge structure and in contact with the second semiconductor chip and the bridge structure (Fig. 1N; [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the connection pillar penetrates through the molding layer (200 and 450).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor chip (100) comprises a first physical region (as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0029]) overlapping the bridge structure, wherein the second semiconductor chip (110) comprises a second physical region (as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0029]) overlapping the bridge structure, and wherein the first semiconductor chip transmits and receives signals to and from the second semiconductor chip through the first physical region and the second physical region (as evident in Fig. 1N; [0029]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai and Choi as applied to claim 2 and further in view of US 2020/0176384 A1 (Wu).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tsai and Choi fails to teach explicitly, the semiconductor package of claim 2, further comprising an adhesive layer between the first semiconductor chip, the second semiconductor chip, and the bridge structure, wherein the connection pillar penetrates through the adhesive layer.
However, in analogous art, Wu discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 2, further comprising an adhesive layer (130; protective layer; Fig. 1E; [0035]; Specification of instant application also calls it a protective film) between the first semiconductor chip (110), the second semiconductor chip (120), and the bridge structure (140), wherein the connection pillar (134) penetrates through the adhesive layer (130) (Fig. 1E; [0031], [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tsai, Choi and Wu before him/her, to modify the teachings of a semiconductor package as taught by Tsai and to include the teachings of an adhesive/protective layer between the first semiconductor chip, the second semiconductor chip, and the bridge structure as taught by Wu since the protective layer would provide extra protection to both semiconductor chips and the bridge structure. Absent this important teaching in Tsai, a person with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reach out to Wu while forming a semiconductor package of Tsai.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai and Choi as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 2021/0193577 A1 (Lin).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tsai and Choi fails to teach explicitly, the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a minimum pitch of the plurality of connection wiring patterns is less than a minimum pitch of the plurality of redistribution line patterns.
However, in analogous art, Lin discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a minimum pitch of the plurality of connection wiring patterns is less than a minimum pitch of the plurality of redistribution line patterns (Fig. 1J; [0052]; Lin teaches that the pitch of the traces of the RDL structure 50 is larger than the pitch of the metal lines included in the interconnection structure of the bridge die 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tsai, Choi and Lin before him/her, to modify the teachings of a semiconductor package as taught by Tsai and to include the teachings of relative pitch of connection wiring patterns and redistribution line patterns as taught by Lin since in MPEP2143 (I) (A), it is stated that Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. Absent this important teaching in Tsai, a person with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reach out to Lin while forming a semiconductor package of Tsai.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tsai and Choi fails to teach explicitly, the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a minimum width of the plurality of connection wiring patterns is less than a minimum width of the plurality of redistribution line patterns.
However, in analogous art, Lin discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a minimum width of the plurality of connection wiring patterns is less than a minimum width of the plurality of redistribution line patterns (Fig. 1J; [0052]; Fig. 1J shows that thickness or width of RDL is higher than that of bridge structure). See MPEP 2125 (1) where it states that Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tsai, Choi and Lin before him/her, to modify the teachings of a semiconductor package as taught by Tsai and to include the teachings of minimum width of the plurality of connection wiring patterns is less than a minimum width of the plurality of redistribution line patterns as taught by Lin since in MPEP2143 (I) (A), it is stated that Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. Absent this important teaching in Tsai, a person with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reach out to Lin while forming a semiconductor package of Tsai.
Claims 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0091005 A1 (Tsai) and further in view of US 2022/0254756 A1 (Choi).
Regarding claim 13, Tsai discloses, a semiconductor package comprising:
a molding layer (200 and 450; encapsulant; Fig. 1N; [0031]) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (as annotated on Fig. 1N), the molding layer (200 and 450) comprising a first trench and a second trench on the first surface and a third trench on the second surface (as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0031] – [0035]);
a redistribution line structure (500; outer redistribution layer; Fig. 1N; [0032]) on the second surface of the molding layer (200 and 450) (Fig. 1N; [0031] – [0035]);
a first semiconductor chip (100) in the first trench (as annotated on Fig. 1N);
a first pillar (420, left, through interconnection via, TIV, as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0028]), in the molding layer (200 and 450), configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip (100) to the redistribution line structure (500);
a second semiconductor chip (110) in the second trench (as annotated on Fig. 1N);
a second pillar (420, right, through interconnection via, TIV, as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0028]), in the molding layer, configured to electrically connect the second semiconductor chip (110) to the redistribution line structure (500);
a bridge structure (430, as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0032]) in the third trench (as annotated on Fig. 1N); and
a connection pillar (as annotated on Fig. 1N), in the molding layer (200 and 450), in contact with the first semiconductor chip (100) and the bridge structure (430) and in contact with the second semiconductor chip (110) and the bridge structure (430) (Fig. 1N; [0031] – [0035]).
But Tsai fails to teach explicitly, the molding layer extending continuously between the first surface and the second surface;
However, in analogous art, Choi discloses, the molding layer (250; molding layer; Fig. 2; [0052]) extending continuously between the first surface (top surface of 250) and the second surface (bottom surface of 250) (Fig. 2; [0052]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tsai and Choi before him/her, to modify the teachings of a semiconductor package as taught by Tsai and to include the teachings of the molding layer extending continuously between the first surface and the second surface as taught by Choi since having a single molding layer covering all the components of the package would reduce the manufacturing cost. Absent this important teaching in Tsai, a person with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reach out to Choi while forming a semiconductor package of Tsai.
Regarding claim 14, Tsai discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 13, wherein the first pillar, the second pillar, and the connection pillar (copper) comprise a same material (copper, nickel, tin, palladium, gold, titanium, or aluminum; Fig. 1N; [0027], [0029]; in a certain process, it would be cost effective to use the same material for the first pillar, the second pillar, and the connection pillar which are formed at the same time).
Regarding claim 15, Tsai discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 13, wherein the redistribution line structure (500) comprises a plurality of redistribution line patterns, wherein the bridge structure (430) comprises a plurality of connection wiring patterns, and wherein the plurality of redistribution line patterns are not in contact with the plurality of connection wiring patterns (Fig. 1N; [0031] – [0035]).
Regarding claim 18, Tsai discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 13, wherein the first pillar (as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0032]) is in contact with the first semiconductor chip (100) and the redistribution line structure (500), and wherein the second pillar (as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0032]) is in contact with the second semiconductor chip (110) and the redistribution line structure (500) (Fig. 1N; [0031] – [0035]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai and Choi as applied to claim 13 and further in view of US 2020/0176384 A1 (Wu).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Tsai and Choi fails to teach explicitly, the semiconductor package of claim 13, further comprising a protective film surrounding the connection pillar.
However, in analogous art, Wu discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 13, further comprising a protective film (130; protective layer; Fig. 1E; [0035]) surrounding the connection pillar (134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tsai, Choi and Wu before him/her, to modify the teachings of a semiconductor package as taught by Tsai and to include the teachings of protective film surrounding the connection pillar as taught by Wu since the protective layer would provide extra protection to both semiconductor chips, the bridge structure and the pillars. Absent this important teaching in Tsai, a person with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reach out to Wu while forming a semiconductor package of Tsai.
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0091005 A1 (Tsai) and further in view of US 2020/0161266 A1 (Shim) and US 2022/0254756 A1 (Choi).
Regarding claim 19, Tsai discloses, a semiconductor package comprising:
a redistribution line structure (500; outer redistribution layer; Fig. 1N; [0032]);
a first semiconductor chip (100) on the redistribution line structure (500) (Fig. 1N; [0035]);
a second semiconductor chip (110) on one side of the first semiconductor chip (100) on the redistribution line structure (500) (Fig. 1N; [0035]);
a first bridge structure (430, as annotated on Fig. 1N; [0032]), in a first region (as annotated on Fig. 1N) between the redistribution line structure (500), the first semiconductor chip (100), and the second semiconductor chip (110), configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip (100) to the second semiconductor chip (110) (Fig. 1N; [0029]);
a molding layer (200 and 450; encapsulant; Fig. 1N; [0031]), on the redistribution line structure (500), configured to be filled in the first region, and between adjacent ones of the first semiconductor chip (100) and the second semiconductor chip (110) (Fig. 1N; [0031]),
wherein the first bridge structure (430) is insulated (by the resistance of substrate 431; Fig. 1J; [0029]) from the redistribution line structure (500).
Note: Tsai teaches in para. [0029] that in some embodiments, the semiconductor bridge 430 includes a semiconductor substrate 431, a dielectric layer 432 disposed at a front surface 430f of the semiconductor bridge 430, and interconnection conductive patterns 433 embedded in the dielectric layer 432 and the semiconductor substrate 431. Obviously, the conductive patterns 433 must be insulated from the redistribution line either by an insulating layer or the resistance of the substrate.
But Tsai fails to teach explicitly, a third semiconductor chip on another side of the first semiconductor chip on the redistribution line structure; a second bridge structure, in a second region between the redistribution line structure, the first semiconductor chip, and the third semiconductor chip, configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip to the third semiconductor chip; and a molding layer, on the redistribution line structure, configured to be filled in the second region, and between adjacent ones of the first semiconductor chip, the second semiconductor chip, and the third semiconductor chip, wherein the second bridge structure is insulated from the redistribution line structure.
However, in analogous art, Shim discloses, a third semiconductor chip on another side of the first semiconductor chip on the redistribution line structure (as annotated on Fig. 6; [0043] – [0046]);
a second bridge structure (as annotated on Fig. 6), in a second region between the redistribution line structure, the first semiconductor chip, and the third semiconductor chip, configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip to the third semiconductor chip (as shown in Fig. 6; [0043] – [0046]); and
a molding layer (130 and 141; encapsulant and second insulating layer; Fig. 6; [0044], [0047]), on the redistribution line structure, configured to be filled in the second region, and between adjacent ones of the first semiconductor chip, the second semiconductor chip, and the third semiconductor chip (as shown in Fig. 6; [0043] – [0047]),
wherein the second bridge structure (150, right, as annotated on Fig. 6; [0043]) is insulated (by insulating layer 141) from the redistribution line structure (as annotated on Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tsai and Shim before him/her, to modify the teachings of a semiconductor package having two chips connected by a bridge as taught by Tsai and to include the teachings of a semiconductor package having three chips connected by two bridges as taught by Shim since in MPEP 2143 (I) (A), it is stated that Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. Absent this important teaching in Tsai, a person with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reach out to Shim while forming a semiconductor package of Tsai.
But the combination of Tsai and Shim fails to teach explicitly, the molding layer extending continuously in the first region and the second region;
However, in analogous art, Choi discloses, the molding layer (250; molding layer; Fig. 2; [0052]) extending continuously in the first region and the second region (since the molding layer covers all the components including bridge structure and the chips, it can be considered that it extends continuously in the first region and the second region; Fig. 2; [0052]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tsai, Shim and Choi before him/her, to modify the teachings of a semiconductor package as taught by Tsai and to include the teachings of the molding layer extending continuously around the sidewall of the bridge structure and between the chips as taught by Choi since having a single molding layer covering all the components of the package would reduce the manufacturing cost. Absent this important teaching in Tsai, a person with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reach out to Choi while forming a semiconductor package of Tsai.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tsai, Shim and Choi discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 19, wherein the first semiconductor chip (121; Fig. 6; application specific integrated circuit; [0054]) comprises a logic semiconductor chip, and wherein the second semiconductor chip (122, left) and the third semiconductor chip (122, right) comprise memory semiconductor chips (high bandwidth memory; Fig. 6; [0054]; Shim Reference).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Tsai, Shim and Choi discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 19, further comprising:
a fourth semiconductor chip on the one side of the first semiconductor chip on the redistribution line structure (as annotated on Fig. 7; [0053] – [0056]; Shim reference);
a fifth semiconductor chip on the other side of the first semiconductor chip on the redistribution line structure (as annotated on Fig. 7; [0053] – [0056]; Shim reference);
a third bridge structure, in a third region (where the third bridge is) between the redistribution line structure, the first semiconductor chip, and the fourth semiconductor chip, configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip to the fourth semiconductor chip (as annotated on Fig. 7; [0053] – [0056], [0061]; Shim reference); and
a fourth bridge structure, in a fourth region (where the fourth bridge is) between the redistribution line structure, the first semiconductor chip, and the fifth semiconductor chip, configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip to the fifth semiconductor chip (as annotated on Fig. 7; [0053] – [0056], [0061; Shim reference),
Note: The examiner considered here that the bridge 150 is separated between second and fourth chips and between third and fifth chips. In MPEP 2144.04 (V) (C), it is stated that The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose." In the instant case, if forming individual bridges for second-fifth chips facilitate the connections, then having separate bridges for each of them would be obvious.
wherein the third bridge structure and the fourth bridge structure are insulated (by the resistance of substrate 431; Fig. 1J; [0029]) from the redistribution line structure (as annotated on Fig. 7; [0053] – [0056], [0061; Shim reference).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Tsai, Shim and Choi discloses, the semiconductor package of claim 19, further comprising:
a fourth semiconductor chip disposed on the one side of the first semiconductor chip on the redistribution line structure (as annotated on Fig. 7; [0053] – [0056]; Shim reference); and
a fifth semiconductor chip disposed on the other side of the first semiconductor chip on the redistribution line structure (as annotated on Fig. 7; [0053] – [0056]; Shim reference),
wherein the first bridge structure is configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip to the fourth semiconductor chip and the second bridge structure is configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip to the fifth semiconductor chip (as annotated on Fig. 7; [0053] – [0056]; Shim reference).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent forms including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the closest prior art, US 2021/0091005 A1 (Tsai), in combination with US 2022/0254756 A1 (Choi), US 2020/0161266 A1 (Shim), US 2020/0176384 A1 (Wu) and US 2021/0193577 A1 (Lin), fails to disclose, “the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising a dummy chip on the first semiconductor chip, wherein an upper surface of the dummy chip is coplanar with an upper surface of the second semiconductor chip and an upper surface of the molding layer”, in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 17, the closest prior art, US 2021/0091005 A1 (Tsai), in combination with US 2022/0254756 A1 (Choi), US 2020/0161266 A1 (Shim), US 2020/0176384 A1 (Wu) and US 2021/0193577 A1 (Lin), fails to disclose, “the semiconductor package of claim 13, further comprising a dummy chip on the first semiconductor chip, wherein the first surface of the molding layer is coplanar with an upper surface of the dummy chip and with an upper surface of the second semiconductor chip”, in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Claim 7 is also objected to due to their dependence on an objected base claim.
Examiner’s Note (Additional Prior Arts)
The examiner included a few prior arts which were not used in the rejection but are relevant to the disclosure.
US 2022/0148940 A1 (Chen) - A structure is disclosed including a circuit substrate, a device, a metal layer, a lid and a thermal interface material layer. The device is disposed on and electrically connected to the circuit substrate. The device includes at least one semiconductor die laterally encapsulated by an insulating encapsulation. The metal layer is covering a back surface of the at least one semiconductor die and the insulating encapsulation. The lid is disposed on the circuit substrate, and the lid is adhered to the metal layer through the thermal interface material layer.
US 2021/0118758 A1 (Cheng) - Semiconductor packages are disclosed. A semiconductor package includes a die and an underfill. The die is disposed over a surface and includes a first sidewall. The underfill encapsulates the die. The underfill includes a first underfill fillet on the first sidewall, and in a cross-sectional view, a second sidewall of the first underfill fillet has a turning point.
US 2021/0074645 A1 (Tsai) - A chip package structure is disclosed using silicon interposer as interconnection bridge lifts multi-dies above the fan-out molding package embedded with premade Si interposer interconnection bridge under the multi-die space. The interconnection bridge connects the multi-dies through fine pitch high I/O interconnection. A first RDL and a second RDL are further disposed on top side and bottom side of the fan-out molding package, further providing connection for the multi-dies to a substrate via the connection routing inside the fan-out molding package.
US 2019/0109117 A1 (Fang) - A semiconductor device package is disclosed including a first redistribution layer (RDL), a first die, a second die, a second RDL and an encapsulant. The first die is disposed on the first RDL and is electrically connected to the first RDL. The first die has a first electrical contact. The second die is disposed on the first RDL and is electrically connected to the first RDL. The second die has a first electrical contact. The second RDL is surrounded by the first RDL. The second RDL has a first electrical contact electrically connected to the first electrical contact of the first die and a second electrical contact electrically connected to the first electrical contact of the second die. A size of the first electrical contact of the second RDL is greater than a size of the second electrical contact of the second RDL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S M SOHEL IMTIAZ/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2812
03/05/2026