DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 10/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (US Pub No. 20190051245), in view of Honda et al (us Pub No. 20110260160).
With respect to claim 1, Jun discloses a data signal line supplying a data signal (DL,Fig.2); a scan signal line supplying a scan signal (Scan1); and a first transistor disposed in a subpixel where the data signal line and the scan signal line are connected (T1). However, Jun does not explicitly disclose the first transistor comprising, a first active layer, a first source electrode connected to one side of the first active layer, a first drain electrode connected to another side of the first active layer, and a first gate electrode overlapping with the first active layer, overlapping with at least a portion of the first source electrode, and overlapping with at least a portion of the first drain electrode. On the other hand, Honda et al discloses a first active layer (bottom white strip layer,Fig.4A), a first source electrode (304a or b) connected to one side of the first active layer (Fig.4A), a first drain electrode (304 a or b) connected to another side of the first active layer (Fig.4A), and a first gate electrode (307) overlapping with the first active layer (Fig.4E), overlapping with at least a portion of the first source electrode (Fig.4E), and overlapping with at least a portion of the first drain electrode (Fig.4E). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Jun according to the teachings of the Honda et al such that source and drain electrodes along with gate electrodes are formed and the gate electrode overlaps source and drain and the channel regions, in order to make a thin film transistor to be used for display devices.
Claim(s) 2,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (US Pub No. 20190051245), in view of Honda et al (us Pub No. 20110260160), in view of Kim et al (US Pub No. 20200052057).
With respect to claim 2, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose further comprising a light emitting element, a second transistor, and a storage capacitor disposed in the subpixel, wherein the light emitting element comprises a first electrode, an emission layer, and a second electrode, and wherein the second transistor comprises: a second active layer; a second source electrode connected to one side of the second active layer; a second drain electrode connected to another side of the second active layer; and a second gate electrode overlapping with a portion of the second active layer, and not overlapping with the second source electrode and the second drain electrode. On the other hand, Kim et al discloses a light emitting element (140,Fig.5), a second transistor (110), and a storage capacitor disposed in the subpixel (C1), wherein the light emitting element comprises a first electrode (141), an emission layer (142), and a second electrode (143), and wherein the second transistor comprises: a second active layer (111); a second source electrode (113) connected to one side of the second active layer (Fig.5); a second drain electrode (114) connected to another side of the second active layer (Fig.5); and a second gate electrode overlapping with a portion of the second active layer (112), and not overlapping with the second source electrode (Fig.5) and the second drain electrode (Fig.5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Kim et al such that a light emitting element, a second transistor, and a storage capacitor disposed in the subpixel, wherein the light emitting element comprises a first electrode, an emission layer, and a second electrode, and wherein the second transistor comprises: a second active layer; a second source electrode connected to one side of the second active layer; a second drain electrode connected to another side of the second active layer; and a second gate electrode overlapping with a portion of the second active layer, and not overlapping with the second source electrode and the second drain electrode, in order to make a driver for the light emitting portion, so the display can be controlled and programmed.
With respect to claim 18, Kim et al discloses further comprising an additional storage capacitor formed by overlapping between the first source electrode and the first gate electrode (because naturally there is capacitance between source and the gate electrode since they overlap and there is dielectric layer between them, Fig.5).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (US Pub No. 20190051245), in view of Honda et al (us Pub No. 20110260160), in view of Kim et al (US Pub No. 20200052057), in view of Watanabe et al (US Patent No. 8575610).
With respect to claim 17, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein an overlapping area between the first source electrode and the first gate electrode is greater than an overlapping area between the first drain electrode and the first gate electrode. On the other hand, Watanabe et al discloses wherein an overlapping area (between 108 and 102a,Fig.3D) between the first source electrode (102a) and the first gate electrode (108) is greater than an overlapping area between the first drain electrode (102b) and the first gate electrode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Watanabe et al such that an overlapping area between the first source electrode and the first gate electrode is greater than an overlapping area between the first drain electrode and the first gate electrode, to alleviate an electric field in the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALI NARAGHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2817