DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on December 12, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by anticipated by Moraes et al. (U.S. 2020/0295265).
Referring to Figures 1-10 and paragraphs [0023]-[0037], Moraes et al. disclose a direct patterning deposition mask for OLED deposition (pars.[0015]-[0016]), the mask comprising: (a) a sapphire substrate 100 (Fig. 10, par.[0023]); and (b) Silicon Nitride (SiN) membrane 104 (Fig. 10, par.[0025]).
With respect to claim 3, the direct patterning deposition mask of Moraes et al. further includes wherein the sapphire substrate has a diameter in the range of 200mm diameter to 300mm diameter (par.[0023],i.e. diameter of sapphire substrate 100 is equal to the diameter of the processing substrate (i.e. typically ranges from 200mm-300mm diameter)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moraes et al. (U.S. 2020/0295265) in view of Dong et al. (U.S. 2021/0359210) or Wang (U.S. 2021/0132033).
The teachings of Moraes et al. have been discussed above.
Moraes et al. is silent on the sapphire substrate thickness is between 0.7 and 2 mm.
Referring to paragraphs [0085]-[0086], [0095]-[0096], Dong et al. teach a deposition mask wherein the sapphire substrate thickness is between 0.7 and 2 mm since it is a suitable and conventional thickness used for a shadow mask. Referring to paragraphs [0081],[0085], Wang teaches a deposition mask wherein the sapphire substrate thickness is between 0.7 and 2 mm since it is a suitable and conventional thickness used for a mask. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Moraes et al. with the sapphire substrate thickness is between 0.7 and 2 mm as taught by Dong et al. or Wang since it is a suitable and conventional thickness used for a deposition mask.
With respect to claim 4, the direct patterning deposition mask of Moraes et al. in view of Dong et al. or Wang further includes wherein warpage of the substrate is <10um (i.e. Since the material of the substrate is sapphire and the substrate thickness is between 0.7 and 2 mm, the resulting sapphire substrate would yield a warpage of the substrate is <10um).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chan et al.793, Ghosh et al.’543, Ghosh et al.’542, Vazan et al.’925, Vazan et al.’252, Ghosh et al.’901, Ghosh et al.’498, and Chan et al.’652 teach a shadow mask for OLED. Nishida et al.’069 teach a deposition task having substrate made of sapphire. Ju et al.’010 and Walker’881 teach a shadow mask. Korneisel et al. teach controlling the warping of a shadow mask.
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716