DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention of Group I, Claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/16/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 20160027795).
Regarding claim 1, Jung et al. discloses, as shown in Figures 1, 4A-4D and 13-14, a memory device comprising:
a memory array region (CAR,CTR, [0022]) having a dielectric (130) disposed in the memory array region;
a digit line (BL,BPLG,CL,WCT,WPLG,[0034]-[0038]) on the dielectric in the memory array region, the digit line having a metal composition;
a transistor (MOS transistor, 30, [0064]-[0065]) in a periphery (PERI, [0054]) to the memory array region;
a metal contact (ICL,PCT,PPLG, e.g., tungsten [0111]) coupled to the transistor (30) (Figure 13), the metal contact having the metal composition of the digit line (e.g., tungsten [0111]); and
a metal silicide (23) above and contacting a metal gate (23) of the transistor ([0067], gate pattern may include at least one of metal and metal silicide), the metal silicide coupled to the metal contact.
Regarding claim 2, Jung et al. discloses the metal silicide has a thickness.
Note that the term “defined by a thickness of polysilicon completely convertible to the metal silicide in fabrication” is method recitation in a device claimed. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 6, Jung et al. discloses the metal composition includes tungsten ([0111], WPLG and PPLG may include sequentially forming a barrier metal layer (e.g., a metal nitride layer) and a metal layer (e.g., a tungsten layer)).
Regarding claim 8, Jung et al. discloses the memory device includes the metal silicide on and contacting the metal gate ([0067], gate pattern may include at least one of metal and metal silicide) and the metal contact (PPLG, e.g., tungsten [0111]) on and contacting the metal silicide.
Regarding claim 9, Jung et al. discloses the digit line (BL,BPLG,CL,WCT,WPLG,[0034]-[0038]) is on and contacting the dielectric (130).
Regarding claim 11, Jung et al. discloses the transistor is a transistor of a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) device ([0064], the CMOS device comprises the PMOS transistor and the NMOS transistor), with the metal gate being a high-k metal gate (0111]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20160027795) in view of Liou et al. (PN 5,162,884).
Regarding claim 3, Jung et al. discloses the claimed invention including the memory device as explained in the above rejection. Jung et al. does not disclose the metal silicide is titanium silicide. However, Liou et al. discloses a metal silicide is tungsten silicide or titanium silicide. Note Figures 1 and 15, Col. 8, line 63 – Col. 9, line10, Col. 13, line 64 – Col. 14, line 9 of Liou et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the metal silicide of Jung et al. being titanium silicide, such as taught by Liou et al. since tungsten silicide is easier to form and it has higher conductivity.
Regarding claim 4, Jung et al. and Liuo et al. disclose the memory device has a metal barrier region between the titanium silicide and the metal contact, the metal barrier region on and contacting the metal silicide, with the metal contact on and contacting the metal barrier region ([0111], WPLG and PPLG may include sequentially forming a barrier metal layer (e.g., a metal nitride layer) and a metal layer (e.g., a tungsten layer)).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Jung et al. and Liuo et al. disclose the digit line separate from the dielectric by the metal barrier region ([0111], WPLG and PPLG may include sequentially forming a barrier metal layer (e.g., a metal nitride layer) and a metal layer (e.g., a tungsten layer)). Jung et al. and Liuo et al. do not disclose the metal barrier region includes tungsten silicide. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the metal barrier region of Jung et al. and Liuo et al. having the materials as that claimed by Applicant, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20160027795).
Jung et al. discloses the claimed invention including the memory device as explained in the above rejection. Jung et al. further discloses, as shown in [0055], that the height of the peripheral logic structure is smaller than the height of the cell array structure. Jung et al. does not disclose a step height between a top level of the metal contact on the transistor in the periphery to a top level of the digit line in the memory array region is about 14 nm. However, the selection of these parameters such as energy, concentration, temperature, time, speed, molar fraction, depth, thickness, height, etc., would have been obvious and involve routine optimization which has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. "Normally, it is to be expected that a change in energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, height, etc., or in combination of the parameters would be an unpatentable modification. Under some circumstances, however, changes such as these may impart patentability to a process if the particular ranges claimed produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely degree from the results of the prior art... such ranges are termed "critical ranges and the applicant has the burden of proving such criticality.... More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Alter 105 USPQ233, 255 (CCPA 1955). See also In re Waite 77 USPQ 586 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl 70 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1946); In re Irmscher 66 USPQ 314 (CCPA 1945); In re Norman 66 USPQ 308 (CCPA 1945); In re Swenson 56 USPQ 372 (CCPA 1942); In re Sola 25 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1935); In re Dreyfus 24 USPQ 52 (CCPA 1934).
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897