Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP22306277.9, filed on 08/29/2022.
Claim Objections
The objections to the Claims 2-3, are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the Claims 2-3, .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG, YING et al. (CN 214829018-U - hereinafter, "Zhang") in view of TIAN, Wen-chao et al. (CN 104465562-A - hereinafter, "Tian").
With respect to Claim 1, Zhang teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 below)
A cooling block for cooling a heat-generating electronic component (electronic element), comprising:
a body (body of (1)) having a thermal transfer surface (8) configured to be placed in thermal contact (on page 3, 9th paragraph, line 5 of the provided translation, “the lower part of the radiator substrate 1 is an electronic element bonding surface 8”, see Figure 1) with the heat-generating electronic component (electronic element),
the body (body of (1)) defining a fluid conduit (1) for circulating a cooling fluid (working medium) therein, the fluid conduit (1) having an inlet (6) for receiving the cooling fluid (working medium) and an outlet (7) for discharging the cooling fluid (working medium),
the body (body of (1)) comprising a plurality of pins (4) for deflecting the cooling fluid (working medium) within the fluid conduit (1);
the fluid conduit (1) comprising a plurality of passages (3) extending from a first point (see annotated Figure 2 below) to a second point (see annotated Figure 2 below) along a longitudinal direction (see Figure 1-2 and see annotated Figure 2 below) of the cooling block, the second point (see annotated Figure 2 below) being downstream from the first point (see annotated Figure 2 below), and
for each passage (see Figure 2 and see annotated Figure 2 below) of the plurality of passages (3):
each passage (3) is defined in part by first (see annotated Figure 2 below) and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) extending from the first point (see annotated Figure 2 below) to the second point (see annotated Figure 2 below), each internal sidewall of the first (see annotated Figure 2 below) and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) having a scalloped (semicircular shaped ,see Figure 2 and 4-5) or undulating shape such that the first and second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 2 below) are configured to form a sequence of rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 below), wherein a width of the passage (3) is measured between the first (see annotated Figure 2 below) and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) in a lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) normal to the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 below),
each passage (3) is defined in part by at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below) disposed between the first (see annotated Figure 2 below) and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below), each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below) including multiple pins (4) of the plurality of pins (4), and
each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below) is spaced apart along the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) and aligned with each other in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) such that a linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 below) extending in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) traverses each pin (4) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below), in which the first (see annotated Figure 2 below) and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) are disposed on opposite sides of the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 below); and
for each pair (see annotated Figure 2 below) of consecutive passages (see annotated Figure 2 below):
the rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) of a passage (see annotated Figure 2 below) are offset along the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) from the rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) of a consecutive passage (see annotated Figure 2 below).
Zhang fails to specifically teach or suggest the first and second internal sidewall are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections.
Tian, however, teaches (in Figure 3) a first and a second internal sidewall (see Figure 3) are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Tian with Zhang, such that a first and a second internal sidewall are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections as taught by Tian since doing so would improve the radiating performance of Zhang’s cooling block by improving the fluid mixing and due to the flow passage length in increase and can effectively reduce the temperature of the heating surface. (in paragraph [0015] & [0017] of the provided translation)
Figure I
With respect to Claim 2, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein each pin (4) of the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) has a lanceolate profile (see Figure 4).
With respect to Claim 3, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 2 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above and as shown in annotated Figure 4-5 below)
wherein the pins (4) of each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) are symmetric (see annotated Figure 4 below) about the corresponding linear pin axis (see Figure 2 and 4).
Figure II
With respect to Claim 5, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein:
each passage (3) of the plurality of passages (3) comprises a plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) and a plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) have a first width (W1) measured in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) have a second width (W2) measured in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above), the second width (W2) being greater than the first width (W1); and
the plurality of constricted and expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) are disposed alternatingly in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 6, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein consecutive ones of the pins (4) of each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) have different widths (see Figure 4) measured along the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 7, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 4-5 above)
wherein, for each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above):
each pin has a first pointed end (see annotated Figure 5 above) and a second pointed end (see annotated Figure 5 above);
the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 5 above) extends through one of the first pointed end (see annotated Figure 5 above) and the second pointed end (see annotated Figure 5 above) of each pin (4);
the pins (4) of the each pin row (see annotated Figure 5 above) are asymmetric (see annotated Figure 5 above) about the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 5 above); and
consecutive ones of the pins (4) of the each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) are symmetric to each other about a plane normal to the linear axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) and extending between the consecutive ones of the pins (4).
With respect to Claim 8, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein:
the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) is a single pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) defining the first passage (see annotated Figure 2 above) is parallel to the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) defining the second passage (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
the pins (4) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) defining the second passage (see annotated Figure 2 above) are offset, in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above), from the pins (4) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) defining the first passage (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 11, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein, for each passage (3) of the plurality of passages (3):
the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) is a plurality of pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
for each two consecutive pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the plurality of pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above):
the linear axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) traversing the pins (4) of a first one of the two consecutive pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) is parallel to the linear axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) traversing the pins (4) of a second one of the two consecutive pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
the pins (4) of the first one of the two consecutive pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) are offset, in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above), from the pins (4) of the second one of the two consecutive pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 12, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein:
the plurality of pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) includes first, second and third pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above), the second pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) being disposed between the first and third pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) along the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above);
each passage (3) of the plurality of passages (3) comprises a plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) and a plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) have a first width (W1) measured in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) have a second width (W2) measured in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above), the second width (W2) being greater than the first width (W1);
the plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) and the plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) are disposed alternatingly in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the pins (4) of the second pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) are disposed at the plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) of each passage (3) of the plurality of passages (3); and
the pins (4) of the first and third pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) are disposed at the plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) of each passage (3) of the plurality of passages (3).
With respect to Claim 13, Zhang teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
A method for manufacturing a cooling block (see Figure 1) configured to cool a heat-generating electronic component (electronic element), the method comprising:
providing a base (see Figure 3, lower portion of body of (1)) for forming part of the cooling block (see Figure 1);
forming each passage (3) of a plurality of passages (3) of a fluid conduit (1) of the cooling block (see Figure 1) by:
milling a first channel (path defined by first sinusoidal spline, see annotated Figure 2 above) on a surface of the base (see Figure 3, lower portion of body of (1)) following a path defined by a first sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
milling a second channel (path defined by second sinusoidal spline, see annotated Figure 2 above) on the surface of the base (see Figure 3, lower portion of body of (1)) following a path defined by a second sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above),
the first and second sinusoidal splines (see annotated Figure 2 above) extending in a longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the cooling block (see Figure 1) and being arranged such that the first channel (path defined by first sinusoidal spline) and the second channel (path defined by second sinusoidal spline) are interconnected to each other such that, in use, cooling fluid (working medium) flowing within the passage (3) flows within the first channel (path defined by first sinusoidal spline) and the second channel (path defined by second sinusoidal spline);
said milling of the first and second channels (path defined by first and second sinusoidal spline) forming a pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) comprising a plurality of pins (4) aligned such that a linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) extending in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above) traverses each pin (4) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above), the pins (4) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) being spaced from each other along the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above);
each passage (3) being defined by said milling of the first and second channels (path defined by first and second sinusoidal spline) forming first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 above) extending in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the cooling block (see Figure 1) such that the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 above) are configured to form a sequence of rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 above);
wherein the first and second channels (path defined by first and second sinusoidal spline) for each pair of consecutive passages (3, see annotated Figure 2 above) are milled so that:
the rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 above) of a passage (see annotated Figure 2 above) are offset along the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above) from the rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the first and second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 2 above) of a consecutive passage (see annotated Figure 2 above).
Zhang fails to specifically teach or suggest the first and second internal sidewalls are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections
Tian, however, teaches (in Figure 3) a first and a second internal sidewalls (see Figure 3) are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Tian with Zhang, such that a first and a second internal sidewalls are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections as taught by Tian since doing so would improve the radiating performance of Zhang’s cooling block by improving the fluid mixing and due to the flow passage length in increase and can effectively reduce the temperature of the heating surface. (in paragraph [0015] & [0017] of the provided translation)
With respect to Claim 14, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 13 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 4-5 above)
wherein the first sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) and the second sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) are symmetric about the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 15, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 13 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 4-5 above)
wherein:
the first sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) extends from a first end (see annotated Figure 2 above) to a second end (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the second sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) extends from a first end (see annotated Figure 2 above) to a second end (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
the first end (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the first sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) and the first end (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the second sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) are coincident.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Tian in view of LI et al. (US 2024/0049429 - hereinafter, "Li").
With respect to Claim 9, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 4-5 above)
wherein, for each passage (3) of the plurality of passages (3):
the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) is a plurality of pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above);
each internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 above).
Zhang fails to specifically teach or suggest the first and second internal sidewalls has an undulating shape; and each internal sidewall of the first and second internal sidewalls comprises a plurality of convex undulations and a plurality of concave undulations disposed alternatingly; the plurality of concave undulations of the first internal sidewall are aligned, in the longitudinal direction, with the plurality of convex undulations of the second internal sidewall; and the plurality of concave undulations of the second internal sidewall are aligned, in the longitudinal direction, with the plurality of convex undulations of the first internal sidewall.
Li, however, teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 below)
a first and a second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) has an undulating shape (see annotated Figure 1 below); and
each internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 1 below) comprises a plurality of convex undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) and a plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) disposed alternatingly;
the plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the first internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) are aligned, in a longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 1 below), with the plurality of convex undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below); and
the plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) are aligned, in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 1 below), with the plurality of convex undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the first internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Li with Zhang, such that a first and a second internal sidewall has an undulating shape; and each internal sidewall of the first and second internal sidewalls comprises a plurality of convex undulations and a plurality of concave undulations disposed alternatingly; the plurality of concave undulations of the first internal sidewall are aligned, in a longitudinal direction, with the plurality of convex undulations of the second internal sidewall; and the plurality of concave undulations of the second internal sidewall are aligned, in the longitudinal direction, with the plurality of convex undulations of the first internal sidewall as taught by Li since doing so would allow the passages of Zhang to form multiple geometric working chambers and each of the working chambers and each of the passages of Zhang can be implemented in any geometric shape, such as hexagon, circle, rhombus, etc. (in paragraph [0033])
Figure III
With respect to Claim 10, Zhang as modified by Tian as modified by Li teaches the limitations of Claim as per above and Li further teaches (in Figure 1and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein:
the second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the first passage (see annotated Figure 1 below) is adjacent to the first internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the second passage (see annotated Figure 1 below);
the plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the first passage (see annotated Figure 1 below) are aligned in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 1 below) with the plurality of convex undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the first internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the second passage (see annotated Figure 1 below); and
the plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the first passage (see annotated Figure 1 below) are partly aligned, in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 1 below), with the plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the first internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the second passage (see annotated Figure 1 below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that the second internal sidewall defining the first passage is adjacent to the first internal sidewall defining the second passage; the plurality of concave undulations of the second internal sidewall defining the first passage are aligned in the longitudinal direction with the plurality of convex undulations of the first internal sidewall defining the second passage; and the plurality of concave undulations of the second internal sidewall defining the first passage are partly aligned, in the lateral direction, with the plurality of concave undulations of the first internal sidewall defining the second passage as taught by Li since doing so would all the working chambers to have multiple extending passages connected to each other. (in paragraph [0033])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks to Claim 1 and 13 recites
“Independent system arrangement claim 1 directed to a cooling block for cooling a heat- generating electronic component has been amended to specifically recite that, inter alia:…
Independent method claim 13 has been similarly amended. Applicant submits that the noted amended claim features are amply supported by the as-filed disclosures, as noted below…
Applicant submits that the combined teachings of the Zhang and Tian references fails to teach or suggest the noted claim features of amended independent claims 1, 13. That is, as best understood, Zhang discloses that its internal flow passages 3 are configured to have circular cavity segments 5 with intervening linear segments disposed between the circular cavity segments 5. (Zhang Translation: FIGs. 2, 5). As such, Zhang is incapable of suggesting "that the first and second internal sidewalls are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections," as required by claims 1, 13.” (Present remarks page 7-8) The Examiner respectfully disagrees
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that "Zhang is incapable of suggesting "that the first and second internal sidewalls are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections,", the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
With respect to Applicant’s further remarks to Claim 1 and 13 recites
“Equally notable, unlike Zhang,Tian discloses the use of microfluidic branch channels 21, 22 configured with continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections. However, as clearly indicated by the figure below, the Tian microfluidic branch channels 21, 22 configuration specifically provides that the rounded sections consecutive branch channels 21, 22 are aligned along a longitudinal direction to maintain axial symmetry of the arc flow passages ("rounded sections") and intersections.(Tian Translation: 1[0035]; FIG. 3).
In so doing, Tian fails to suggest that "the rounded sections of the first and second internal sidewalls of a passage are offset along the longitudinal direction from the rounded sections of the first and second internal sidewalls of a consecutive passage," as required by independent claims 1, 13. Relatedly, the Tian configuration is incapable of achieving the advantages noted above, such as, for example, the ability for passages to be packed closer together within the cooling block and the increase of the material thickness between consecutive passages to optimize the cooling performance of the cooling block” (Present remarks page 8-9) The Examiner respectfully disagrees
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that "Tian fails to suggest that "the rounded sections of the first and second internal sidewalls of a passage are offset along the longitudinal direction from the rounded sections of the first and second internal sidewalls of a consecutive passage,", the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835