Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP22306277.9, filed on 08/29/2022.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “in which each the plurality of pins is configured with a lanceolate cross-sectional profile”, the claim limitation appears to have a minor informality, Examiner recommend changing the limitation to read “in which each of the plurality of pins is configured with a lanceolate cross-sectional profile” for clarity and will examine the limitation as such.
Claim 3 is dependent on (Canceled) Claim 2, Examiner will examine Claim 2 as being dependent on (Currently Amended) Claim 1 and recommends updating the dependency of Claim 3 to the Claim of choice.
Claim 1 recites “for each passage of the plurality of liquid flow passages: each passage is defined in part by first and second internal sidewalls… wherein a width of the passage is measured between the first and second internal sidewalls in a lateral direction normal to the longitudinal direction, each passage is defined in part by at least one pin row disposed between the first and second internal sidewalls” for clarity and consistency, the claim limitation should be change to read “for each liquid flow passage of the plurality of liquid flow passages: each liquid flow passage is defined in part by first and second internal sidewalls… wherein a width of the liquid flow passage is measured between the first and second internal sidewalls in a lateral direction normal to the longitudinal direction, each liquid flow passage is defined in part by at least one pin row disposed between the first and second internal sidewalls”.
Claim 5, 9, 11-12 in similar situation as Claim 1, for each instance of “each passage” and “plurality of passages”, the claim limitation should be change to read “each liquid flow passage” and “plurality of liquid flow passages”
Claim 13 recites “forming each passage of a plurality of liquid flow passages of a fluid conduit of the cooling block by:…” for clarity and consistency, the claim limitation should be change to read “forming each liquid flow passage of a plurality of liquid flow passages of a fluid conduit of the cooling block by:…”.
Claim 3, 5-12 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 1 and inherit the
deficiency therein.
Claim 14-15 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 13 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG, YING et al. (CN 214829018-U - hereinafter, "Zhang") in view of TIAN, Wen-chao et al. (CN 104465562-A - hereinafter, "Tian").
With respect to Claim 1, Zhang teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 below)
A cooling block for cooling a heat-generating electronic component (electronic element), comprising:
a body (body of (1)) having a thermal transfer surface (8) configured to be placed in thermal contact (on page 3, 9th paragraph, line 5 of the provided translation, “the lower part of the radiator substrate 1 is an electronic element bonding surface 8”, see Figure 1) with the heat-generating electronic component (electronic element),
the body (body of (1)) defining a fluid conduit (1) for circulating a cooling fluid (working medium) therein, the fluid conduit (1) having an inlet (6) for receiving the cooling fluid (working medium) and an outlet (7) for discharging the cooling fluid (working medium),
the body (body of (1)) comprising a plurality of pins (4) for deflecting the cooling fluid (working medium) within the fluid conduit (1), in which each of the plurality of pins (4) is configured with a lanceolate cross-sectional profile (see Figure 4, Merriam-Webster defines several definitions for “Lanceolate”, Merriam-Webster provides one of the several definitions of “Lanceolate” as “specifically : tapering to a point at the apex and sometimes at the base”, the plurality of pins (4, see annotated Figure 4 below) is “tapering to a point at the apex and at the base” as shown in Figure 4 and on page 3, 12th paragraph of the provided translation, “the shape of the water drop type rib post 4 can be symmetrical structure or special-shaped structure; the water drop type rib column 4 adopts special structure”, thus the plurality of pins (4) can be considered to be configured with a lanceolate cross-sectional profile), ;
the fluid conduit (1) comprising a plurality of liquid flow passages (3) extending from a first point (see annotated Figure 2 below) to a second point (see annotated Figure 2 below) along a longitudinal direction (see Figure 1-2 and see annotated Figure 2 below) of the cooling block, the second point (see annotated Figure 2 below) being downstream from the first point (see annotated Figure 2 below), and
for each liquid flow passage (see Figure 2 and see annotated Figure 2 below) of the plurality of liquid flow passages (3):
each liquid flow passage (3) is defined in part by first (see annotated Figure 2 below) and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) extending from the first point (see annotated Figure 2 below) to the second point (see annotated Figure 2 below), each internal sidewall of the first (see annotated Figure 2 below) and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) having a scalloped (semicircular shaped ,see Figure 2 and 4-5) or undulating shape such that the first and second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 2 below) are configured to form a sequence of rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 below), wherein a width of the liquid flow passage (3) is measured between the first (see annotated Figure 2 below) and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) in a lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) normal to the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 below),
each liquid flow passage (3) is defined in part by at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below) disposed between the first (see annotated Figure 2 below) and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below), each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below) including multiple pins (4) of the plurality of pins (4), and
each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below) is spaced apart along the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) and aligned with each other in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) such that a linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 below) extending in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) traverses each pin (4) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 below), in which the first (see annotated Figure 2 below) and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) are disposed on opposite sides of the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 below); and
for each pair (see annotated Figure 2 below) of consecutive liquid flow passages (see annotated Figure 2 below):
the rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) of a liquid flow passage (see annotated Figure 2 below) are offset along the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 below) from the rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 below) of the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 below) of a consecutive liquid flow passage (see annotated Figure 2 below).
Zhang fails to specifically teach or suggest the first and second internal sidewall are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections.
Tian, however, teaches (in Figure 3) a first and a second internal sidewall (see Figure 3) are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Tian with Zhang, such that a first and a second internal sidewall are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections as taught by Tian since doing so would improve the radiating performance of Zhang’s cooling block by improving the fluid mixing and due to the flow passage length in increase and can effectively reduce the temperature of the heating surface. (in paragraph [0015] & [0017] of the provided translation)
Figure I
With respect to Claim 3, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above and as shown in annotated Figure 4-5 below)
wherein the pins (4) of each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) are symmetric (see annotated Figure 4 below) about the corresponding linear pin axis (see Figure 2 and 4).
Figure II
With respect to Claim 5, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein:
each liquid flow passage (3) of the plurality of liquid flow passages (3) comprises a plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) and a plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) have a first width (W1) measured in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) have a second width (W2) measured in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above), the second width (W2) being greater than the first width (W1); and
the plurality of constricted and expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) are disposed alternatingly in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 6, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein consecutive ones of the pins (4) of each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) have different widths (see Figure 4) measured along the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 7, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 4-5 above)
wherein, for each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above):
each pin has a first pointed end (see annotated Figure 5 above) and a second pointed end (see annotated Figure 5 above);
the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 5 above) extends through one of the first pointed end (see annotated Figure 5 above) and the second pointed end (see annotated Figure 5 above) of each pin (4);
the pins (4) of the each pin row (see annotated Figure 5 above) are asymmetric (see annotated Figure 5 above) about the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 5 above); and
consecutive ones of the pins (4) of the each pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) are symmetric to each other about a plane normal to the linear axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) and extending between the consecutive ones of the pins (4).
With respect to Claim 8, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein:
the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) is a single pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) defining the first passage (see annotated Figure 2 above) is parallel to the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) defining the second passage (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
the pins (4) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) defining the second passage (see annotated Figure 2 above) are offset, in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above), from the pins (4) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) defining the first passage (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 11, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein, for each liquid flow passage (3) of the plurality of liquid flow passages (3):
the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) is a plurality of pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
for each two consecutive pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the plurality of pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above):
the linear axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) traversing the pins (4) of a first one of the two consecutive pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) is parallel to the linear axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) traversing the pins (4) of a second one of the two consecutive pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
the pins (4) of the first one of the two consecutive pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) are offset, in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above), from the pins (4) of the second one of the two consecutive pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 12, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
wherein:
the plurality of pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) includes first, second and third pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above), the second pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) being disposed between the first and third pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) along the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above);
each liquid flow passage (3) of the plurality of liquid flow passages (3) comprises a plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) and a plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) have a first width (W1) measured in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) have a second width (W2) measured in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 2 above), the second width (W2) being greater than the first width (W1);
the plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) and the plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) are disposed alternatingly in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the pins (4) of the second pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) are disposed at the plurality of constricted portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) of each liquid flow passage (3) of the plurality of liquid flow passages (3); and
the pins (4) of the first and third pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above) are disposed at the plurality of expanded portions (see annotated Figure 2 above) of each passage (3) of the plurality of passages (3).
With respect to Claim 13, Zhang teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 above)
A method for manufacturing a cooling block (see Figure 1) configured to cool a heat-generating electronic component (electronic element), the method comprising:
providing a base (see Figure 3, lower portion of body of (1)) for forming part of the cooling block (see Figure 1);
forming each liquid flow passage (3) of a plurality of liquid flow passages (3) of a fluid conduit (1) of the cooling block (see Figure 1) by:
milling a first channel (path defined by first sinusoidal spline, see annotated Figure 2 above) on a surface of the base (see Figure 3, lower portion of body of (1)) following a path defined by a first sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
milling a second channel (path defined by second sinusoidal spline, see annotated Figure 2 above) on the surface of the base (see Figure 3, lower portion of body of (1)) following a path defined by a second sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above),
the first and second sinusoidal splines (see annotated Figure 2 above) extending in a longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the cooling block (see Figure 1) and being arranged such that the first channel (path defined by first sinusoidal spline) and the second channel (path defined by second sinusoidal spline) are interconnected to each other such that, in use, cooling fluid (working medium) flowing within the passage (3) flows within the first channel (path defined by first sinusoidal spline) and the second channel (path defined by second sinusoidal spline);
said milling of the first and second channels (path defined by first and second sinusoidal spline) forming a pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) comprising a plurality of pins (4) aligned such that a linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 above) extending in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above) traverses each pin (4) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above), the pins (4) of the pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) having a lanceolate cross-sectional profile (see Figure 4, Merriam-Webster provides a definitions of “Lanceolate” as “shaped like a lance head” and “specifically : tapering to a point at the apex and sometimes at the base”, the plurality of pins (4, see annotated Figure 4 above) is “tapering to a point at the apex and at the base” as shown in Figure 4 and on page 3, 12th paragraph of the provided translation, “the shape of the water drop type rib post 4 can be symmetrical structure or special-shaped structure; the water drop type rib column 4 adopts special structure”, thus the plurality of pins (4) can be considered a lanceolate cross-sectional profile) and spaced from each other along the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above);
each liquid flow passage (3) being defined by said milling of the first and second channels (path defined by first and second sinusoidal spline) forming first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 above) extending in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the cooling block (see Figure 1) such that the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 above) are configured to form a sequence of rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 above);
wherein the first and second channels (path defined by first and second sinusoidal spline) for each pair of consecutive liquid flow passages (3, see annotated Figure 2 above) are milled so that:
the rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 above) of a liquid flow passage (see annotated Figure 2 above) are offset along the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 2 above) from the rounded sections (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the first and second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 2 above) of a consecutive liquid flow passage (see annotated Figure 2 above).
Zhang fails to specifically teach or suggest the first and second internal sidewalls are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections
Tian, however, teaches (in Figure 3) a first and a second internal sidewalls (see Figure 3) are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Tian with Zhang, such that a first and a second internal sidewalls are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections as taught by Tian since doing so would improve the radiating performance of Zhang’s cooling block by improving the fluid mixing and due to the flow passage length in increase and can effectively reduce the temperature of the heating surface. (in paragraph [0015] & [0017] of the provided translation)
With respect to Claim 14, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 13 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 4-5 above)
wherein the first sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) and the second sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) are symmetric about the linear pin axis (see annotated Figure 2 above).
With respect to Claim 15, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 13 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 4-5 above)
wherein:
the first sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) extends from a first end (see annotated Figure 2 above) to a second end (see annotated Figure 2 above);
the second sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) extends from a first end (see annotated Figure 2 above) to a second end (see annotated Figure 2 above); and
the first end (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the first sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) and the first end (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the second sinusoidal spline (see annotated Figure 2 above) are coincident.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Tian in view of LI et al. (US 2024/0049429 - hereinafter, "Li").
With respect to Claim 9, Zhang as modified by Tian teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Zhang further teaches (in Figure 1-2, 4-5 and as shown in annotated Figure 2 and 4-5 above)
wherein, for each liquid flow passage (3) of the plurality of liquid flow passages (3):
the at least one pin row (see annotated Figure 2 above) is a plurality of pin rows (see annotated Figure 2 above);
each internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 2 above) of the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 2 above).
Zhang fails to specifically teach or suggest the first and second internal sidewalls has an undulating shape; and each internal sidewall of the first and second internal sidewalls comprises a plurality of convex undulations and a plurality of concave undulations disposed alternatingly; the plurality of concave undulations of the first internal sidewall are aligned, in the longitudinal direction, with the plurality of convex undulations of the second internal sidewall; and the plurality of concave undulations of the second internal sidewall are aligned, in the longitudinal direction, with the plurality of convex undulations of the first internal sidewall.
Li, however, teaches (in Figure 1 and as shown in annotated Figure 1 below)
a first and a second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) has an undulating shape (see annotated Figure 1 below); and
each internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the first and second internal sidewalls (see annotated Figure 1 below) comprises a plurality of convex undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) and a plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) disposed alternatingly;
the plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the first internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) are aligned, in a longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 1 below), with the plurality of convex undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below); and
the plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) are aligned, in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 1 below), with the plurality of convex undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the first internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Li with Zhang, such that a first and a second internal sidewall has an undulating shape; and each internal sidewall of the first and second internal sidewalls comprises a plurality of convex undulations and a plurality of concave undulations disposed alternatingly; the plurality of concave undulations of the first internal sidewall are aligned, in a longitudinal direction, with the plurality of convex undulations of the second internal sidewall; and the plurality of concave undulations of the second internal sidewall are aligned, in the longitudinal direction, with the plurality of convex undulations of the first internal sidewall as taught by Li since doing so would allow the passages of Zhang to form multiple geometric working chambers and each of the working chambers and each of the passages of Zhang can be implemented in any geometric shape, such as hexagon, circle, rhombus, etc. (in paragraph [0033])
Figure III
With respect to Claim 10, Zhang as modified by Tian as modified by Li teaches the limitations of Claim as per above and Li further teaches (in Figure 1and as shown in annotated Figure 1 above)
wherein:
the second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the first passage (see annotated Figure 1 below) is adjacent to the first internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the second passage (see annotated Figure 1 below);
the plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the first passage (see annotated Figure 1 below) are aligned in the longitudinal direction (see annotated Figure 1 below) with the plurality of convex undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the first internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the second passage (see annotated Figure 1 below); and
the plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the second internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the first passage (see annotated Figure 1 below) are partly aligned, in the lateral direction (see annotated Figure 1 below), with the plurality of concave undulations (see annotated Figure 1 below) of the first internal sidewall (see annotated Figure 1 below) defining the second passage (see annotated Figure 1 below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that the second internal sidewall defining the first passage is adjacent to the first internal sidewall defining the second passage; the plurality of concave undulations of the second internal sidewall defining the first passage are aligned in the longitudinal direction with the plurality of convex undulations of the first internal sidewall defining the second passage; and the plurality of concave undulations of the second internal sidewall defining the first passage are partly aligned, in the lateral direction, with the plurality of concave undulations of the first internal sidewall defining the second passage as taught by Li since doing so would all the working chambers to have multiple extending passages connected to each other. (in paragraph [0033])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/15/2026 have been fully considered, Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments are directed to the claims as amended and the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
With respect to Applicant’s remark to amended Claim 1 and 13, “Independent system arrangement claim 1 directed to a cooling block for cooling a heat- generating electronic component has been amended to specifically recite that, inter alia:…
Independent method claim 13 has been similarly amended. Applicant submits that the noted amended claim features are amply supported by the as-filed disclosures, as noted below.
Applicant further submits that the noted amendments are based on currently cancelled claim 2 features that should have been previously examined and searched and, therefore, no new searches should be required…” (Present remark page 7) The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The amended Claim 1 recites “in which each the plurality of pins is configured with a lanceolate cross-sectional profile” and amended Claim 13 recites “having a lanceolate cross-sectional profile”, these amended limitations are considered new scope as the (Canceled) Claim 2 limitations recites “wherein each pin of the at least one pin row has a lanceolate profile”, the limitations of Claim 2 was not exactly adopted into Claim 1 or 13, for Claim 1 “configured with a lanceolate cross-sectional profile” is not the same as “has a lanceolate profile” and for Claim 13 “a lanceolate cross-sectional profile” is not the same as “has a lanceolate profile”, “cross-sectional profile” is not the same as “profile”, thus new search is required.
With respect to Applicant’s further remark to amended Claim 1 and 13, “Applicant submits that the combined teachings of the Zhang and Tian references fail to teach or suggest each and every claim feature and limitation specifically recited by amended independent claims 1, 13.
In particular, with regard to Zhang, this reference teaches that the internal coolant flow passages 3 configuration is defined by tear drop-shaped rib columns 4 disposed within circular cavity segments 5. (Zhang Trans.: p. 3; FIGs. 2-5). Zhang further teaches that the circular cavity segments 5 are separated or interrupted by intervening linear segments. (Zhang Translation: FIGs. 2, 4, 5). As such, Zhang fails to suggest that "each the plurality of pins is configured with a lanceolate cross-sectional profile," and that "the first and second internal sidewalls are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections," as required by amended claims 1, 13.
Regarding Tian, this reference is completely silent as to the use of any type of pins or columnar ribs disposed within the rounded sections consecutive branch channels 21, 22 to deflect the flow of cooling liquid therethrough - much less, that such pins or ribs manifest a lanceolate cross-sectional profile…
As such, Tian fails to suggest that "each the plurality of pins is configured with a lanceolate cross-sectional profile," and that the "rounded sections of the first and second internal sidewalls of a passage are offset along the longitudinal direction from the rounded sections of the first and second internal sidewalls of a consecutive passage," as required by amended independent claims 1, 13…
With this said, Applicant submits that the combined disclosures of Zhang and Tian do not teach or suggest that all the elements and limitations of amended claims 1, 13 were known in the prior art. Indeed, all that the combined disclosures of Zhang and Tian suggest to artisans of ordinary skill is a liquid cooling block configuration having internal coolant flow passages with tear drop-shaped rib columns disposed within respective circular cavity segments and that consecutive circular cavity segments are longitudinally aligned.” (Present remark page 8-9) The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The rejection for Claim 1 and 13 has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims as per above, Zhang does teach a “lanceolate cross-sectional profile” as per the rejection above and as for Zhang may fail to specifically teach or suggest “the first and second internal sidewall are configured to form a continuous, uninterrupted catenulated sequence of rounded sections” and Tian may fail to specifically teach or suggest "rounded sections of the first and second internal sidewalls of a passage are offset along the longitudinal direction from the rounded sections of the first and second internal sidewalls of a consecutive passage" and “each of the plurality of pins is configured with a lanceolate cross-sectional profile” of Claim 1 or “the pins of the pin row having a lanceolate cross-sectional profile” of Claim 13, neither Zhang nor Tian is required to teach or suggest each and every claimed subject matter and limitations individually.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841