DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Election filed on January 9, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 9-15 in the reply filed on January 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng et al. (US Pub. 2022/0293826 A1) in view of Kurtin et al. (US 8,889,457 B2).
In re claim 9, Ng et al. discloses (figs. 2A, 2B, 4A-4K;[0026-0070] a method of producing an optical array having a set of electro-optical semiconductors (14a, 14b, 14c) arranged along a substrate and a set of quantum dot matrices (40) positioned over the electro-optical semiconductors, the method comprising the steps of: positioning a set of electro-optical semiconductors on a substrate (fig. 2B); aerosolizing [0026] an ink of quantum dots [0067]
Ng does not specifically disclose the solvent material or removal of the solvent. However, Kurtin et al. discloses (col. 4, line 43-col. 5, line 62) the use of solvent and its removal to facilitate forming nano-particles (quantum dots) on an LED device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of forming the optical device of Ng by including a solvent and then removing it as taught by Kurtin to facilitate the deposition process of the layers on an LED.
In re claim 10, the combined references of Ng and Kurtin does not specifically disclose the aerosol jet printing uses an ink having less than 0.1% by weight of a binder material. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use an desired amount of binder, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claims 11, the combined references of Ng and Kurtin disclose the step of monitoring droplet velocity in flight to control a relative sheath gas and carrier gas flow rate.
In re claim 12, the combined references of Ng and Kurtin disclose the substrate is free from masking around the optical elements having openings defining the matrices.
In re claim 13, the combined references of Ng and Kurtin disclose aerosol jet printing is controlled to provide matrices of different emission characteristics with different corresponding different heights, Since Ng disclose forming different types of emissive layers.
In re claim 15, the combined references of Ng and Kurtin disclose the aerosol jet printing uses a printer head and controls the printer head to follow a curved surface of a substrate SO that different quantum dot matrices extend along nonparallel axes according to the curved surface.
In re claim 15, the combined references of Ng and Kurtin do not specifically disclose height and width parameters recited in the claims. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the matrix having any desired height/width relationship, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW E WARREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817