DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on how any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on page 8 – 9 of the REMARKS, “However, Han does not disclose a no-flow underfill. Han's underfill (809, [0049]) is a conventional underfill-requiring pre-curing and a separate flux application. In contrast, claim 1's no-flow underfill integrates flux and underfill, enhancing the connection stability between the chip-scale package camera module and the embedded printed circuit board, improving the anti-drop performance of the camera module packaging structure, and protecting semiconductor components and improving the service life.”. The Office respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Sood is used for teaching a no-flow underfill and thus the combination of Han in view of Sood teaches the no-flow underfill.
Applicant argues on page 8 of the REMARKS, “Han does not disclose a BGA on the CSP camera module. Han's CSP camera module uses interconnects (304, [0040]), such as C4 bumps, fine pitch C4 bumps, micro C4 bumps, Cu pillar bumps, bump-less interconnects (e.g., Cu-to-Cu diffusion bonding), or stud bumps. Therefore, Han does not disclose the BGA on the CSP camera module, nor does it disclose the technical feature of "the chip-scale package camera module and the embedded printed circuit board are connected to each other through the no-flow underfill and the ball grid array".”. The Office respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Han already teaches of “C4 bumps” which is short for controlled collapse chip connection. C4 is a means of interconnecting dies or devices or chips with solder bumps, which would seem to imply that C4 is a more specific form of ball grid array configuration. (See Flip chip - Wikipedia ) In order to advance prosecution, the Office still states that Han does not explicitly disclose a ball grid array. Hiltunen was previously used for teaching a ball grid array and thus the combination of Han in view of Sood and Hiltunen teaches the ball grid array. Currently Ko is used for teaching a ball grid array and thus the combination of Han in view of Sood and Ko teaches the ball grid array. Note that the Applicant has not specified a specific structure or arrangement or array with respect to the claimed “ball grid array”. Instead of C4, using the broader ball grid array as taught by Ko would allow for forming electrical connections.
Applicant argues on page 8 of the REMARKS, “Sood (US 2018/0324955A1) relates to general semiconductor packaging (e.g., "die" 105) and "second and third level interconnects"(e.g., package-to-board or board-to-board connections) ([0001] and [0016]). Sood's no-flow underfill is for general electronic modules (105, [0018]), not a CSP camera module (which requires ultra-miniaturization and precise optical alignment). Sood does not address the unique challenges of camera modules (e.g., avoiding contamination of optical components during underfill application).” The Office respectfully disagrees. As stated above, Han is the field of mounting and interconnecting using bumps. Sood is also in the field of interconnecting and mounting using solder bumps. In response to applicant's argument that a CSP camera module requires ultra-miniaturization and precise optical alignment and avoiding contamination of optical components during underfill application, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). The claim does not specify any quantifiable requirements of precision or contamination. The no-flow underfill as taught by Sood, would allow for easy movement, rotation or flipping, ease manufacturing, reduce manufacturing steps and lessen burdensome manufacturability constraints for Han.
Applicant argues on page 8 of the REMARKS, “In addition, Han's embedded PCB (305) has embedded passive components (resistors, capacitors, inductors, [0036])-a feature Sood's PCB (302/303) lacks. The no-flow underfill in claim 1 must accommodate the embedded PCB's complex structures-a constraint Sood never considers.” The Office respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that no-flow underfill in claim 1 must accommodate the embedded PCB's complex structures-a constraint Sood never considers, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). The no-flow underfill as taught by Sood, would allow for easy movement, rotation or flipping, ease manufacturing, reduce manufacturing steps and lessen burdensome manufacturability constraints for Han. Sood also states the no-flow adhesive behaves more like a solid-like viscosity, even after being applicable in an easier fashion such as spraying (Sood, [0013]). The no-flow underfill also does not require further steps such as requiring a separate cure sequence (Sood, [0014]). The advantages of the no-flow underfill as taught by Sood would still be applicable for the embedded PCB of Han. Note that the claim has not structurally claimed any specific structures pertaining to complex structures.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the REMARKS, “Furthermore, Sood does not involve a Ball Grid Array (BGA) at all, it cannot possibly provide the motivation that "a no-flow underfill may be used to connect the BGA of the chip-scale package camera module to the embedded printed circuit board, thereby enhancing the connection stability." There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in Sood to adapt its no-flow adhesive to replace the conventional underfill in Han's specific camera module to achieve the camera module packaging of claim 1.”. The Office respectfully disagrees. As stated above, Han is the field of mounting and interconnecting using bumps. Sood is also in the field of interconnecting and mounting using solder bumps. The no-flow underfill as taught by Sood for solder connections may be used with the C4 interconnection as taught by Han as the underfill of Sood would provide advantages to the manufacturing for Han. Note further that Ko teaches the usage of a ball grid array formed through a no-flow underfill.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the REMARKS, “Hiltunen (US 2009/0152659 Al) explicitly aims to improve solder joint reliability "without requiring the use of an underfill encapsulant" (Abstract, [0006]). Instead, Hiltunen adds dummy solder joints or leads to absorb shear forces. Thus, Hiltunen teaches away from the use of an underfill for camera module packaging due to cost and process complexity concerns. A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore not be motivated to combine Hiltunen's BGA structure with an underfill solution from Sood.” The Office respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that Hiltunen adds dummy solder joints or leads to absorb shear forces, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Though Han teaches of C4 interconnections, the Office used Hiltunen to explicitly teach the use of a ball grid array. Hiltunen taught how a ball grid array would forming electrical signal connections and allow for power connections. Note that the Applicant has not structurally defined the details of the claimed array.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2022/0407987 A1) in view of Sood (US 2018/0324955 A1) and Ko (US 2011/0316162 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Han (US 2022/0407987 A1) discloses a camera module packaging structure (Fig 3) comprising: a flexible printed circuit (307; [0034] “flexible printed circuit board”); an anisotropic conductive film (306; [0040] “ACF”); an embedded printed circuit board (305; [0035-0036] “buildup substrate”, “provides electrical connections”, “redistributes signal” “passive components may be embedded in the substrate”) electrically connected ([0034-0040] “physically and electrically couple”) to the flexible printed circuit (307) through the anisotropic conductive film ([0040]); and a chip-scale package camera module (301,303; [0037] “chip-scale package”, “camera module”) arranged on a side of the embedded printed circuit board (305) away from the flexible printed circuit (307), wherein the chip-scale package camera module (301,303) and the embedded printed circuit board (305) are connected to each other (see Fig 3), and the chip-scale package camera module (301,303) is provided with a ball array (304; [0040,0058] “solder”) on a surface (lower surface) facing the embedded printed circuit board (305).
Han (in Fig 3) does not explicitly comprise a no-flow underfill comprising a flux and an underfill; wherein the chip-scale package camera module and the embedded printed circuit board are connected to each other through the no-flow underfill and the ball grid array and does not explicitly wherein the chip-scale package camera module comprises a ball grid array on a surface facing the embedded printed circuit board.
However Han (in Fig 8) teaches a underfill (809); wherein the chip-scale package camera module (303,301 not shown [0046]) and the embedded printed circuit board (305) are connected to each other through the underfill (809; [0049] “underfill”) and the ball array (606; [0047]). Han also explicitly teaches (in Fig 6) solder bumps for interconnection ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as disclosed by Han, comprising a underfill; wherein the chip-scale package camera module and the embedded printed circuit board are connected to each other through the underfill and the ball array as taught by Han, as both limitations are presented by the same publication and in order to couple the substrate, to improve mechanical strength and reliability (Han, [0047-0049]).
Sood (US 2018/0324955 A1) teaches of a structure (Fig 3) comprising: a no-flow underfill (104,304,306; [0013,0018,0025,0026] “no-flow underfill”) comprising a flux ([0013,0025-0026] “no-flow epoxy flux”) and an underfill ([0013,0018,0025,0026]); and a chip-scale package module (105 [0018] “die”) arranged on a side of a printed circuit board (302,303), wherein the chip-scale package module (105) and the printed circuit board (302,303) are connected to each other (see Fig 1 and Fig 3 showing a connection with underfill and solder balls) through the no-flow underfill (104,304,306) and ball array ([0017-0025] “solder balls”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as taught by Han, comprising a no-flow underfill; wherein the chip-scale package camera module and the embedded printed circuit board are connected to each other through the no-flow underfill and ball array as taught by Sood, in order to allow for easy movement, rotation or flipping, to ease manufacturing, reduce manufacturing steps, provide a solid-like viscosity even after being applicable in an easier fashion such as spraying and lessen burdensome manufacturability constraints (Sood, [0012-0014,0025-0026]).
Ko (US 2011/0316162 A1) teaches of a packaging structure (Fig 1), comprising a no-flow underfill (124; [0048]); wherein a chip-scale module (112) comprises a ball grid array (at 116; [0032-0036]) on a surface (surface of 112 facing 102) facing a printed circuit board (102), wherein the chip-scale module (112) and the printed circuit board (102; [0031]) are connected to each other through the no-flow underfill (124) and the ball grid array (at 116; [0032-0036]),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the structure with chip-scale package camera module and embedded PCB with a no-flow underfill comprising a flux and underfill as taught by Han in view of Sood, wherein the chip-scale package camera module comprises a ball grid array on a surface facing the embedded printed circuit board, the chip-scale package camera module and the printed circuit board are connected to each other through the no-flow underfill and the ball grid array, as taught by Ko, in order to provide a good electrical connection, allow for a pre-selected pattern, provide an electrical connection, and provide electrical contact (Ko, [0003,0032-0036]).
Regarding Claim 3, Han in view of Sood and Ko teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Sood further teaches the camera module packaging structure (Fig 3) of claim 2, wherein the underfill comprises epoxy resin ([0013,0025-0026] “no-flow epoxy flux”).
Regarding Claim 14, Han discloses an electronic device (Fig 1-3) comprising: a camera module packaging structure (Fig 3) comprising: a flexible printed circuit (307; [0034]; “flexible printed circuit board”); an anisotropic conductive film (306; [0040] “ACF”); an embedded printed circuit board (305; [0035-0036] “buildup substrate”, “provides electrical connections”, “redistributes signal” “passive components may be embedded in the substrate”) electrically connected ([0034-0040] “physically and electrically couple”) to the flexible printed circuit (307) through the anisotropic conductive film ([0040]); and a chip-scale package camera module (301,303; [0037] “chip-scale package” “camera module”) arranged on a side of the embedded printed circuit board (305) away from the flexible printed circuit (307), wherein the chip-scale package camera module (301,303) and the embedded printed circuit board (305) are connected to each other (see Fig 3), and the chip-scale package camera module (301,303) is provided with a ball array (304; [0040,0058] “solder”) on a surface (lower surface) facing the embedded printed circuit board (305).
Han (in Fig 3) does not explicitly comprise a no-flow underfill comprising a flux and an underfill; wherein the chip-scale package camera module and the embedded printed circuit board are connected to each other through the no-flow underfill and the ball grid array and does not explicitly wherein the chip-scale package camera module comprises a ball grid array on a surface facing the embedded printed circuit board.
However Han (in Fig 8) teaches a underfill (809); wherein the chip-scale package camera module (303,301 not shown [0046]) and the embedded printed circuit board (305) are connected to each other through the underfill (809; [0049] “underfill”) and the ball array (606; [0047]). Han also explicitly teaches (in Fig 6) solder bumps for interconnection ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as disclosed by Han, comprising a underfill; wherein the chip-scale package camera module and the embedded printed circuit board are connected to each other through the underfill and the ball array as taught by Han, as both limitations are presented by the same publication and in order to couple the substrate, to improve mechanical strength and reliability (Han, [0047-0049]).
Sood (US 2018/0324955 A1) teaches of a structure (Fig 3) comprising: a no-flow underfill (104,304,306; [0013,0018,0025,0026] “no-flow underfill”) comprising a flux ([0013,0025-0026] “no-flow epoxy flux”) and an underfill ([0013,0018,0025,0026]); and a chip-scale package module (105 [0018] “die”) arranged on a side of a printed circuit board (302,303), wherein the chip-scale package module (105) and the printed circuit board (302,303) are connected to each other (see Fig 1 and Fig 3 showing a connection with underfill and solder balls) through the no-flow underfill (104,304,306) and ball array ([0017-0025] “solder balls”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Han, comprising a no-flow underfill; wherein the chip-scale package camera module and the embedded printed circuit board are connected to each other through the no-flow underfill and ball array as taught by Sood, in order to allow for easy movement, rotation or flipping, to ease manufacturing, reduce manufacturing steps, provide a solid-like viscosity even after being applicable in an easier fashion such as spraying and lessen burdensome manufacturability constraints (Sood, [0012-0014,0025-0026]).
Ko (US 2011/0316162 A1) teaches of a packaging structure (Fig 1), comprising a no-flow underfill (124; [0048]); wherein a chip-scale module (112) comprises a ball grid array (at 116; [0032-0036]) on a surface (surface of 112 facing 102) facing a printed circuit board (102), wherein the chip-scale module (112) and the printed circuit board (102; [0031]) are connected to each other through the no-flow underfill (124) and the ball grid array (at 116; [0032-0036]),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device with chip-scale package camera module and embedded PCB with a no-flow underfill comprising a flux and underfill as taught by Han in view of Sood, wherein the chip-scale package camera module comprises a ball grid array on a surface facing the embedded printed circuit board, the chip-scale package camera module and the printed circuit board are connected to each other through the no-flow underfill and the ball grid array, as taught by Ko, in order to provide a good electrical connection, allow for a pre-selected pattern, provide an electrical connection, and provide electrical contact (Ko, [0003,0032-0036]).
Claim(s) 4 – 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2022/0407987 A1) in view of Sood (US 2018/0324955 A1) and Ko (US 2011/0316162 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Chen (US 2013/0234317 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Han in view of Sood and Ko teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Han does not disclose the camera module packaging structure of claim 2, wherein the flux comprises an inorganic acid, and the inorganic acid comprises hydrochloric acid or hydrofluoric acid.
Chen (US 2013/0234317 A1) teaches of an underfill (Fig 1-3; 118 [0028]) comprises a flux (111) wherein the flux comprises an inorganic acid ([0021]), and the inorganic acid comprises hydrochloric acid ([0021]) or hydrofluoric acid.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as taught by Han in view of Sood and Ko, wherein the flux comprises an inorganic acid, and the inorganic acid comprises hydrochloric acid or hydrofluoric acid as taught by Chen, in order to facilitate soldering, allow for partial evaporation of the flux, provide a material that is not detrimental to the subsequent steps, and provide an additive (Chen, [0021-0029]) and furthermore since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, in order to facilitate soldering, allow for partial evaporation of the flux, provide a material that is not detrimental to the subsequent steps, provide an additive. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Please note that in the instant application, page 6, [0016], Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 5, Han in view of Sood and Ko teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Han does not disclose the camera module packaging structure of claim 2, wherein the flux comprises an inorganic salt, and the inorganic salt comprises zinc chloride or ammonium chloride.
Chen (US 2013/0234317 A1) teaches of an underfill (Fig 1-3; 118 [0028]) comprises a flux (111) wherein the flux (111) comprises an inorganic salt ([0021]), and the inorganic salt comprises zinc chloride ([0021]) or ammonium chloride ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as taught by Han in view of Sood and Ko, wherein the flux comprises an inorganic salt, and the inorganic salt comprises zinc chloride or ammonium chloride as taught by Chen, in order to facilitate soldering, allow for partial evaporation of the flux, provide a material that is not detrimental to the subsequent steps, and provide an additive (Chen, [0021-0029]) and furthermore since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, in order to facilitate soldering, allow for partial evaporation of the flux, provide a material that is not detrimental to the subsequent steps, provide an additive. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Please note that in the instant application, page 6, [0016], Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 6 – 13 and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2022/0407987 A1) in view of Sood (US 2018/0324955 A1) and Ko (US 2011/0316162 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above and further in view of Wang (US 2018/0007244 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Han in view of Sood and Ko teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Han does not disclose the camera module packaging structure of claim 1, wherein the chip-scale package camera module comprises a substrate, a photosensitive chip, an infrared filter, and a packaging portion; the substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the photosensitive chip is arranged on the first surface, the packaging portion is arranged on the first surface and covers the photosensitive chip, and the infrared filter is arranged on the packaging portion and opposite to the photosensitive chip.
Wang (US 2018/0007244 A1) teaches of a camera module packaging structure (Fig 8), wherein a chip-scale package camera module (20) comprises a substrate (12), a photosensitive chip (11; [0089]), an infrared filter (30; [0084]), and a packaging portion (13); the substrate (12) comprises a first surface (upper surface of 12) and a second surface (lower surface of 12) opposite to the first surface, the photosensitive chip (11) is arranged on the first surface, the packaging portion (13) is arranged on the first surface and covers the photosensitive chip (11), and the infrared filter (30) is arranged on the packaging portion (13) and opposite to the photosensitive chip (11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as taught by Han in view of Sood and Ko, wherein the chip-scale package camera module comprises a substrate, a photosensitive chip, an infrared filter, and a packaging portion; the substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the photosensitive chip is arranged on the first surface, the packaging portion is arranged on the first surface and covers the photosensitive chip, and the infrared filter is arranged on the packaging portion and opposite to the photosensitive chip as taught by Wang, in order to provide improved image quality, minimize space occupied by the assembly, prevent unwanted debris from affecting components, control camera functions, provide filtering, process electrical signals, provide packaging, provide reinforcement and provide electrical connections (Wang, [0005-0010,0083-0099,0111]).
Regarding Claim 7, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Ko further teaches of a camera module packaging structure (Fig 1), wherein the second surface (surface of 112 facing 102) of the substrate (112) is provided with a ball grid array ([0032-0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the structure as taught by Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang, wherein the second surface of the substrate is provided with a ball grid array, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, in order to provide a good electrical connection, allow for a pre-selected pattern, provide an electrical connection, and provide electrical contact. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8
Regarding Claim 8, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Wang further teaches the camera module packaging structure (Fig 8) of claim 6, wherein the chip-scale package camera module further comprises a passive component (123), and the passive component (123) is arranged on the first surface and covered by the packaging portion (13).
Regarding Claim 9, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Han further teaches the camera module packaging structure (Fig 3) of claim 8, wherein the passive component (308) comprises a resistor ([0036]), a capacitor ([0036]), and an inductor ([0036]).
Regarding Claim 10, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Wang further teaches the camera module packaging structure (Fig 8) of claim 6, wherein the chip-scale package camera module further comprises a lens unit (20,40; [0104]) arranged on the packaging portion (13), and the lens unit comprises a lens (20) and a voice coil motor (40; [0083]).
Regarding Claim 11, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Wang further teaches the camera module packaging structure (Fig 8) of claim 6, wherein the photosensitive chip (11) comprises a photosensitive area (1111; [0089]) and a non-photosensitive area (1112; [0089]), and the infrared filter (30) faces the photosensitive area (1111).
Regarding Claim 12, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Wang further teaches the camera module packaging structure (Fig 8) of claim 6, wherein the photosensitive chip (11) is electrically connected to the substrate through metal wires (14; [0091]).
Regarding Claim 13, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Wang further teaches the camera module packaging structure (Fig 8) of claim 6, wherein the packaging portion (13) comprises an (ultraviolet curing) glue ([0103]).
In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation of “an ultraviolet curing glue” has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. “an ultraviolet curing glue”, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. “ultraviolet curing”. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Regarding Claim 15, Han in view of Sood and Ko teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Han does not disclose the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the chip-scale package camera module comprises a substrate, a photosensitive chip, an infrared filter, and a packaging portion; the substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the photosensitive chip is arranged on the first surface, the packaging portion is arranged on the first surface and covers the photosensitive chip, and the infrared filter is arranged on the packaging portion and opposite to the photosensitive chip.
Wang (US 2018/0007244 A1) teaches of a camera module packaging structure (Fig 8), wherein a chip-scale package camera module (20) comprises a substrate (12), a photosensitive chip (11; [0089]), an infrared filter (30; [0084]), and a packaging portion (13); the substrate (12) comprises a first surface (upper surface of 12) and a second surface (lower surface of 12) opposite to the first surface, the photosensitive chip (11) is arranged on the first surface, the packaging portion (13) is arranged on the first surface and covers the photosensitive chip (11), and the infrared filter (30) is arranged on the packaging portion (13) and opposite to the photosensitive chip (11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Han in view of Sood and Ko, wherein the chip-scale package camera module comprises a substrate, a photosensitive chip, an infrared filter, and a packaging portion; the substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the photosensitive chip is arranged on the first surface, the packaging portion is arranged on the first surface and covers the photosensitive chip, and the infrared filter is arranged on the packaging portion and opposite to the photosensitive chip as taught by Wang, in order to provide improved image quality, minimize space occupied by the assembly, prevent unwanted debris from affecting components, control camera functions, provide filtering, process electrical signals, provide packaging, provide reinforcement and provide electrical connections (Wang, [0005-0010,0083-0099,0111]).
Regarding Claim 16, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Ko further teaches of an electronic device (Fig 1) of claim 15, wherein the second surface (surface of 112 facing 102) of the substrate (102) is provided with a ball grid array ([0032-0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang, wherein the second surface of the substrate is provided with a ball grid array, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, in order to provide a good electrical connection, allow for a pre-selected pattern, provide an electrical connection, and provide electrical contact. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8
Regarding Claim 17, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Wang further teaches the electronic device (Fig 8) of claim 15, wherein the chip-scale package camera module further comprises a passive component (123), and the passive component (123) is arranged on the first surface and covered by the packaging portion (13).
Regarding Claim 18, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Wang further teaches the electronic device (Fig 8) of claim 15, wherein the chip-scale package camera module further comprises a lens unit (20,40; [0104]) arranged on the packaging portion (13), and the lens unit comprises a lens (20) and a voice coil motor (40; [0083]).
Regarding Claim 19, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Wang further teaches the electronic device (Fig 8) of claim 15, wherein the photosensitive chip (11) comprises a photosensitive area (1111; [0089]) and a non-photosensitive area (1112; [0089]), and the infrared filter (30) faces the photosensitive area (1111).
Regarding Claim 20, Han in view of Sood, Ko and Wang teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Wang further teaches the electronic device (Fig 8) of claim 15, wherein the photosensitive chip (11) is electrically connected to the substrate through metal wires (14; [0091]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896