DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1; line 19 “surface,,” should be - -surface,- - and Claim 18; line 5 “one of: the” should be - - one of the- - . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min, US 2020/0211972.
Regarding claim 1, Min discloses; a film package comprising: a film substrate having a front surface and a rear surface opposing each other (Fig. 2-8 and ¶ 004; film substrate 110 include first and second surfaces 110a and 110b, which are opposite to each other), a first side surface and a second side surface opposing each other in a first direction (Fig.2-8; film substrate 110 has opposite side surfaces, opposing each other in Y-direction), and a third side surface and a fourth side surface opposing each other in a second direction (Fig.2-8; film substrate 110 has opposite side surfaces, opposing each other in X-direction ), intersecting the first direction; a first semiconductor chip and a second semiconductor chip disposed on the front surface of the film substrate (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0045; the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320 disposed on surface 110a) and spaced apart in the second direction (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0045; the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320 disposed on surface 110a, spaced apart in the X-direction); a front protective layer (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0068; resist film 120 cover the wires on the film substrate 110) extending lengthwise in the second direction to cover at least a portion of the front surface of the film substrate and having openings in which the first and second semiconductor chips are disposed (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0068; the resist film 120 may expose the first chip pads 315 and the second chip pads 325); a rear protective layer (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0068; resist film 120 cover the wires on the film substrate 110 on surface 110b) extending lengthwise in the second direction to cover at least a portion of the rear surface of the film substrate; and a plurality of wiring patterns including, a front wiring (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0084-0085; wiring layout view illustrating a first surface 110a of a film substrate 110) positioned between the front protective layer and the front surface of the film substrate, electrically connected (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0088,0104; the fourth wire 250, a fifth wire 240, and a sixth wire 260 connect the first semiconductor chip 310 and the first wire 150, a second wire 140, a third wire 160 connect the second semiconductor chip 320) to the first and second semiconductor chips, and including first wiring lines (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0084-0085; a fourth wire 250, a fifth wire 240, and a sixth wire 260 extending between the first semiconductor chip 310 and first , second bonding regions BR1 and BR2) extending from the first semiconductor chip toward at least one of the first and second side surfaces and second wiring lines (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0084-0085; a first wire 150, a second wire 140, a third wire 160 extending between the second semiconductor chip 320 and first, second bonding regions BR1 and BR2) extending from the second semiconductor chip toward at least one of the first and second side surfaces, a backside wiring (Fig.8 and ¶ 0084-0085; wiring layout view illustrating a second surface 110b of a film substrate 110) positioned between the rear protective layer and the rear surface of the film substrate, electrically connected (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0089; at least part of the first wire 150 may extend along the second surface 110b of the film substrate 110) to at least one of the first and second semiconductor chips, and including third wiring lines extending (Fig.8 and ¶ 0084-0085; first wire 150 and second wire 250 extend along the second surface 110b between the first and second semiconductor chip 310, 320 and second bonding region BR2) from one of the first and second semiconductor chips toward at least one of the first and second side surfaces, input terminals adjacent to each other and exposed (Fig.2,7 and ¶ 0056, 0098; the first and second bonding pads 144 and 244 formed on the first surface 110a of the first bonding region BR1 and the first and second bonding pads 144 and 244 exposed by a resist film 120) from the front protective layer on an end of the front wiring adjacent to the first side surface, and output terminals adjacent to each other and exposed (Fig.2,7 and ¶ 0058, 0100; the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth bonding pads 154, 164, 254, and 264 formed on the first surface 110a of the second bonding region BR2 and exposed by a resist film 120) from the front protective layer on an end of the front wiring adjacent to the second side surface.
Regarding claim 9, Min discloses; the front wiring and the backside wiring are electrically connected to each other through vias penetrating through the film substrate (Fig.9 and ¶ 0091; the first via 150v1 penetrate the film substrate 110. The first via 150v1 connect the first extended portion 150a and the second extended portion 150b).
Regarding claim 10, Min discloses; the plurality of wiring patterns further include a bypass pattern directly connecting at least some of the input terminals and at least some of the output terminals (Fig.2,7 and ¶ 0065; the direct wires 330 connect the first and second bonding regions BR1 and BR2).
Regarding claim 11, Min discloses; the first and second semiconductor chips include a source driving chip and a gate driving chip, respectively (Fig.2-7 and ¶ 0034; the semiconductor packages 100 electrically connected to the display panel 500 and perform the functions of a gate driver or a source driver).
Regarding claim 12, Min discloses; the front wiring and the backside wiring include at least one of a source input pattern connecting the first semiconductor chip to the input terminals, a source output pattern connecting the first semiconductor chip to the output terminals, a gate input pattern connecting the second semiconductor chip to the input terminals, and a gate output pattern connecting the second semiconductor chip to the output terminals (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0030,0034; the driver printed circuit 400 connected to first sides of the semiconductor packages 100 and the semiconductor packages 100 may be electrically connected to the display panel 500 and may perform the functions of a gate driver or a source driver).
Regarding claim 19, Min discloses; a film package comprising: a film substrate having a first side surface and a second side surface opposing each other in a first direction and extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig.2-8; film substrate 110 has opposite side surfaces, opposing each other in Y-direction and extending in X-direction ); at least a first semiconductor chip disposed on the film substrate and having first edges opposing each other in the first direction (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0045; the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320 has first edges opposing each other in the Y-direction) and second edges opposing each other in the second direction (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0045; the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320 has second edges opposing each other in the X-direction); input terminals arranged on the film substrate to be adjacent to the first side surface (Fig.2,7 and ¶ 0056, 0098; the first and second bonding pads 144 and 244 formed on the first surface 110a of the first bonding region BR1); output terminals arranged on the film substrate to be adjacent to the second side surface (Fig.2,7 and ¶ 0058, 0100; the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth bonding pads 154, 164, 254, and 264 formed on the first surface 110a of the second bonding region BR2); and wirings on the film substrate, each wiring extending from one of the second edges of the first semiconductor chip to one terminal of the input terminals and the output terminals (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0088,0104; the fourth wire 250, a fifth wire 240, and a sixth wire 260 connect the first semiconductor chip 310 and the first wire 150, a second wire 140, a third wire 160 connect the second semiconductor chip 320 with the first, second bonding regions BR1 and BR2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, US 2020/0211972 as applied to claims 1, 9-12 and 19 above, in view of Aota- WO 2014034102.
Regarding claims 2-3, Min substantially discloses the invention including; the first and second bonding pads 144 and 244 formed on the first bonding region BR1 and the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth bonding pads 154, 164, 254, and 264 formed on the second bonding region BR2 but is silent about a distance between the output terminals adjacent to each other is greater than a distance between the input terminals adjacent to each other in claim 2 and the distance between the input terminals is in a range from about 5 µm to about 25 µm, and the distance between the output terminals is in a range from about 30 µm to about 60 µm in claim 3. However, Aota shows that the arrangement pitch of adjacent input connection terminals 21 in the plurality of input connection terminals 21 is, for example, about 14 μm to 16 μm on average and the arrangement pitch of adjacent output connection terminals 25 in the plurality of output connection terminals 25 is, for example, about 60 μm to 120 μm on average (Fig.3 and Page 5; ¶ 7, Page 6; ¶ 1). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min by providing a distance between the output terminals adjacent to each other is greater than a distance between the input terminals adjacent to each other in claim 2 and the distance between the input terminals is in a range from about 5 µm to about 25 µm, and the distance between the output terminals is in a range from about 30 µm to about 60 µm in claim 3, to provides the arrangement pitch set to be narrower as the pitch becomes narrower as the number of outputs increases (Page 5; ¶ 7, Page 6; ¶ 1).
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, US 2020/0211972 as applied to claims 1, 9-12 and 19 above, in view of Jung- US 2022/0246530.
Regarding claims 4-5, Min discloses; each of the first side surface and the second side surface has a first length (Fig.2-8; film substrate 110 has opposite side surfaces, opposing each other in Y-direction, extending length in X-direction), and each of the third side surface and the fourth side surface has a second length (Fig.2-8; film substrate 110 has opposite side surfaces, opposing each other in X-direction, extending length in Y-direction). Min substantially discloses the invention including film substrate has opposite side surfaces, extending in X-direction with first length and opposite side surfaces, extending in Y-direction with second length but silent about the first length is greater than the second length in claim 4 and the first length is in a range from about 180 mm to about 220 mm, and the second length is in a range from about 30 mm to about 70 mm in claim 5. However, Jung shows that a length 210L in X-direction is greater than the length 210S in Y-direction and a short axis length 210S of the bridge film 210, about 35 mm to about 156 mm (Fig. 4 and ¶ 0075). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min by providing the first length is greater than the second length in claim 4 and the first length is in a range from about 180 mm to about 220 mm, and the second length is in a range from about 30 mm to about 70 mm in claim 5, to provides a chip-on-film (COF) package capable of improving a dead space of a display panel, and a display apparatus including the COF package (¶ 0004)
Claim(s) 6-8, 14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, US 2020/0211972 as applied to claims 1, 9-12 and 19 above, in view of Chikawa, US 6911729.
Regarding claim 6, Min discloses; each semiconductor chip of the first and second semiconductor chips has first edges opposing each other in the first direction (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0045; the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320 has first edges opposing each other in the Y-direction) and second edges opposing each other in the second direction (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0045; the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320 has second edges opposing each other in the X-direction). Min substantially discloses the invention including the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320 with first and second edges but silent about a length of each of the second edges is greater than a length of each of the first edges. However, Chikawa shows that a length of each of the second edges is greater than a length of each of the first edges (Fig. 7(b); semiconductor elements 12b has edges opposing each other in the X-direction greater than edges opposing each other in the Y-direction). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min by providing a length of each of the second edges is greater than a length of each of the first edges, so that minimize the useless areas of the tape carrier. Accordingly, more COFs can be mounted on the tape carrier along its lengthwise direction, thereby utilizing the tape area efficiently (Col. 8; Ln. 49-52).
Regarding claim 7, Min discloses; the second edges of the first semiconductor chip face the third side surface and the fourth side surface (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0045; the first semiconductor chip 310 has second edges opposing each other in the X-direction), respectively, and the second edges of the second semiconductor chip face the third side surface and the fourth side surface (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0045; the second semiconductor chip 320 has second edges opposing each other in the X-direction), respectively
Regarding claim 8, Min discloses; an arrangement direction of the input terminals and an arrangement direction of the output terminals are each perpendicular to an extension direction of the second edges (Fig.2-7 and ¶ 0056, 0098; the first and second bonding pads 144 and 244 and the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth bonding pads 154, 164, 254, and 264 are perpendicular to the edges of the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320, opposing each other in the X-direction).
Regarding claim 14, Min discloses; a film package comprising: a film substrate having a first side surface and a second side surface opposing each other in a first direction (Fig.2-8; film substrate 110 has opposite side surfaces, opposing each other in Y-direction), each of the first side surface and the second side surface extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig.2-8; film substrate 110 has opposite side surfaces, extending in X-direction perpendicular to the Y-direction); at least one semiconductor chip disposed on the film substrate (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0045; the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320 disposed on surface 110a); input terminals arranged on the film substrate along the first side surface (Fig.2,7 and ¶ 0056, 0098; the first and second bonding pads 144 and 244 formed on the first surface 110a of the first bonding region BR1), output terminals arranged on the film substrate along the second side surface (Fig.2,7 and ¶ 0058, 0100; the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth bonding pads 154, 164, 254, and 264 formed on the first surface 110a of the second bonding region BR2), and wirings formed on the film substrate and electrically connecting the input terminals and the output terminals to the at least one semiconductor chip (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0088,0104; the fourth wire 250, a fifth wire 240, and a sixth wire 260 connect the first semiconductor chip 310 and the first wire 150, a second wire 140, a third wire 160 connect the second semiconductor chip 320); and a protective layer covering the wirings on the film substrate (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0068; resist film 120 cover the wires on the film substrate 110). Min substantially discloses the invention including the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320 with first and second edges but silent about at least one semiconductor chip extending lengthwise in the first direction. However, Chikawa shows that at least one semiconductor chip extending lengthwise in the first direction (Fig. 7(b); semiconductor elements 12b extending lengthwise in the Y-direction). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min by providing at least one semiconductor chip extending lengthwise in the first direction, so that minimize the useless areas of the tape carrier. Accordingly, more COFs can be mounted on the tape carrier along its lengthwise direction, thereby utilizing the tape area efficiently (Col. 8; Ln. 49-52).
Regarding claim 16, Min discloses; in a plan view, the input terminals and the output terminals do not overlap with the protective layer (Fig.2,7 and ¶ 0056, 0058,0098,0100; the first and second bonding pads 144 and 244, the third, fourth, fifth, and sixth bonding pads 154, 164, 254, and 264 exposed by a resist film 120).
Regarding claim 17, Min discloses; the wirings include a front wiring (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0084-0085; wiring layout view illustrating a first surface 110a of a film substrate 110) extending on a front surface of the film substrate on which the at least one semiconductor chip is disposed, and a rear wiring (Fig.8 and ¶ 0084-0085; wiring layout view illustrating a second surface 110b of a film substrate 110) extending on a rear surface opposite to the front surface.
Regarding claim 18, Min discloses; in a plan view, the front wiring extends from one or more sides, extending in the first direction, of the at least one semiconductor chip to the input terminals and the output terminals (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0088,0104; the fourth wire 250, a fifth wire 240, and a sixth wire 260 connect the first semiconductor chip 310), and rear wiring extends from one or more sides, extending in the first direction, of at least a first semiconductor chip to at least one of the input terminals and the output terminals (Fig.8 and ¶ 0084-0085; first wire 150 and second wire 250 extend along the second surface 110b between the first and second semiconductor chip 310, 320 and second bonding region BR2).
Regarding claim 20, Min substantially discloses the invention including the first and second semiconductor chips 310 and 320 with first and second edges but silent about a length of each of the second edges is greater than a length of each of the first edges. However, Chikawa shows that a length of each of the second edges is greater than a length of each of the first edges (Fig. 7(b); semiconductor elements 12b has edges opposing each other in the X-direction greater than edges opposing each other in the Y-direction). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min by providing a length of each of the second edges is greater than a length of each of the first edges, so that minimize the useless areas of the tape carrier. Accordingly, more COFs can be mounted on the tape carrier along its lengthwise direction, thereby utilizing the tape area efficiently (Col. 8; Ln. 49-52).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, US 2020/0211972 as applied to claims 1, 9-12 above, in view of Kang, US 8154120.
Regarding claim 13, Min discloses; the film substrate includes a first region in which the plurality of wiring patterns are disposed and which extends in the second direction (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0084-0085; wiring layout view illustrating a first surface 110a of a film substrate 110 extends widthwise in X-direction), and a second region disposed on opposite sides of the first region adjacent to the first side surface and the second side surface (Fig.2-8 and ¶ 0084-0085; side regions adjacent to the first bonding region BR1 and the second bonding region BR2). Min substantially discloses the invention including the wiring patterns are disposed and which extends in the Y-direction but is silent about the second region has through-holes arranged in the second direction. However, Kang shows that sprocket holes 74 of a base film 72 are provided along a line in the horizontal direction X (Fig. 4 and Col. 5; Ln. 30-32).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min by providing the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip are spaced apart in the second direction so that the effective TCP (or COF) has a horizontal width a width of the X direction equal to the horizontal width of the base film (Fig. 4 and Col. 5; Ln. 46-49).
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, US 2020/0211972, in view of Chikawa, US 6911729, as applied to claims 6-8, 14, 16-18 above US 6911729 and further in view of Jung- US 2022/0246530.
Regarding claim 15, Min substantially discloses the invention including film substrate has opposite side surfaces, extending in X-direction with first length and opposite side surfaces, extending in Y-direction with second length but silent about a length of the film substrate in the second direction is in a range from about 180 mm to about 220 mm, and a length of the film substrate in the first direction is in a range from about 30 mm to about 70 mm. However, Jung shows that a length 210L in X-direction is greater than the length 210S in Y-direction and a short axis length 210S of the bridge film 210, about 35 mm to about 156 mm (Fig. 4 and ¶ 0075). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min in view of Chikawa by providing a length of the film substrate in the second direction is in a range from about 180 mm to about 220 mm, and a length of the film substrate in the first direction is in a range from about 30 mm to about 70 mm, to provides a chip-on-film (COF) package capable of improving a dead space of a display panel, and a display apparatus including the COF package (¶ 0004)
Conclusion
/AZM PARVEZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892