DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, direct to Claims 1-13, and 26 in the reply filed on 02/18/2026 is acknowledged and is under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2024 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment with respect to claims 1-13 filed on 02/18/2026 have been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The previously presented claims 14-25 have been withdrawn based on the election by the applicant mentioned above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s election to claims 1-13, and 26 filed on 02/18/2026, as mentioned above are considered and entered. The non-elected claims 14-25 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohamed Haitham Helmy Nasr et al, (hereinafter NASR), WO 2023141052 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, NASR teaches a package (Figs. 1A-1D, integrated circuit assemblies, [0059]) comprising a plurality of layers (annotated Figure 1A), the layers comprising:
an external layer (Fig. 1A, 106, cold plate) comprising an external layer outer surface (annotated Figure 1A) and an external layer inner surface (annotated Figure 1A);
an interface layer (Fig. 1A, 105, TIM, thermal interface material) comprising an interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 1A) and an interface layer inner surface (annotated Figure 1A), the interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 1A) in contact with the external layer inner surface (Fig. 1A, 106, cold plate);
a thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1A, 104, heat spreader) comprising a thermal spreader outer surface (annotated Figure 1A) and a thermal spreader inner surface (annotated Figure 1A), the thermal spreader outer surface (annotated Figure 1A) in contact with the interface layer inner surface (annotated Figure 1A); and
circuitry (Fig. 1A, 102, integrated circuit (IC)), arranged proximate to and facing the thermal spreader (Fig. 1A, 104, heat spreader) inner surface (annotated Figure 1A).
Regarding Claim 2, NASR teaches the package (Figs. 1A-1D, integrated circuit assemblies, [0059]) of claim 1, wherein each of the external layer (Fig. 1A, 106, cold plate) and the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1A, 104, heat spreader) is comprised of thermally-conductive material (Fig. 1A, a fluid can flow through the cold plate for convective heat transfer, [0041]; the TIM 105 can be any suitable material for a thermal interface, such as a thermal paste or pad, [0052]).
Regarding Claim 3, NASR teaches the package (Figs. 1A-1D, integrated circuit assemblies, [0059]) of claim 1, wherein the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1A, 104, heat spreader) further comprises at least one thermally-conductive channel (Fig. 2B, TIM2, second thermal interface material) to transfer heat along the at least one channel (Fig. 2B, TIM2, a cold plate attached to the heat spreader and in thermal communication with the heat spreader via a second thermal interface material, [0016]).
Regarding Claim 4, NASR teaches the package (Figs. 1A-1D, integrated circuit assemblies, [0059]) of claim 3, wherein the circuitry (Fig. 1A, 102, integrated circuit (IC)) comprises at least one electrical component (IC components/a semiconductor die, [0046], [0052]), above which the at least one channel (Fig. 2B, TIM1, first thermal interface material (first TIM)) is not arranged to prevent thermal transfer (Figs. 2A/2B, a die is in thermal contact with a lid via a first TIM, [0060]) from the at least one channel (Fig. 2B, TIM1, first thermal interface material (first TIM)) to the at least one electrical component (IC components/a semiconductor die, [0046], [0052]).
Regarding Claim 5, NASR teaches the package (Figs. 1A-1D, integrated circuit assemblies, [0059]) of claim 1, wherein the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1A, 104, heat spreader) further comprises at least one thermally conductive plate (Figs. 2A/2B, Lid, Lid that operate as built-in heat spreaders, [0042]) in thermal contact (Fig. 2A, a die is in thermal contact with a lid via first TIM, [0060]) with at least one thermally conductive channel (Figs. 2A/2B, TIM1, first thermal interface material (first TIM)), each respective thermally conductive plate (Figs. 2A/2B, Lid, Lid that operate as built-in heat spreaders, [0042]) disposed above a respective heat-generating electrical component (Fig. 1A, 102, the heat produced by the IC 102, [0059]).
Regarding Claim 9 NASR teaches the package (Figs. 1A-1D, integrated circuit assemblies, [0059]) of claim 1, further comprising a thermal interface material (TIM) (Fig. 8A, TIM 708) disposed between the circuitry (Fig. 8A, 704, IC) and the thermal spreader (Fig. 8A, 709, heat spreader) inner surface (annotated Figure 8A).
Regarding Claim 10, NASR teaches the package (Figs. 1A-1D, integrated circuit assemblies, [0059]) of claim 1, wherein the circuitry (Fig. 8A, IC 704) comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig. 8A, 701).
Regarding Claim 13, NASR teaches a package (Figs. 1A-1D, integrated circuit assemblies, [0059]) of claim 1, further comprising:
a second interface layer (Fig. 2A, TIM2, thermal interface material) comprising a second interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 2A) and a second interface layer inner surface (annotated Figure 2A), the second interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 2A) in contact with the thermal spreader layer inner surface (Fig. 2A, heat spreader); and
a second thermal spreader layer (Fig. 2A, Lid that operate as built-in heat spreaders, [0042]) comprising a second thermal spreader outer surface (annotated Figure 2A) and a second thermal spreader inner surface (annotated Figure 2A), the second thermal spreader outer surface (annotated Figure 2A) is arranged in contact with the second interface layer inner surface (annotated Figure 2A), and the circuitry (Fig. 2A, die) proximate to and facing the second thermal spreader inner surface (annotated Figure 2A).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryan Linderman, (hereinafter LINDERMAN), US 20150195956 A1.
Regarding Claim 26, LINDERMAN teaches an enclosure (Fig. 2, 102) comprising:
housing (Fig. 2, 100, equipment box assembly), wherein the housing (Fig. 2, 100, equipment box assembly) encapsulates a plurality of layers (Fig. 3, multiple layers, [0036]), the plurality of layers comprising:
an external layer (Fig. 3, 204, mounting portion of the secondary heat spreader, 114, [0029]) comprising an external layer outer surface (annotated Figure 3) and an external layer inner surface (annotated Figure 3);
an interface layer (Fig. 3, 126) comprising an interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 3) and an interface layer inner surface (annotated Figure 3), the interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 3) in contact (annotated Figure 3) with the external layer inner surface (annotated Figure 3);
a thermal spreader layer (Fig. 3, 112, primary heat spreader) comprising a thermal spreader outer surface (annotated Figure 3) and a thermal spreader inner surface (annotated Figure 3), the thermal spreader outer surface (annotated Figure 3) in contact (annotated Figure 3) with the interface layer inner surface (annotated Figure 3); and
circuitry (Fig. 3, 108, printed circuit board), arranged proximate to and facing the thermal spreader inner surface (annotated Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable NASR, in view of Jorge Rosales et al, (hereinafter ROSALES), US 20180042139 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, NASR teaches the package of claim 5.
NASR does not explicitly disclose the package, wherein the interface layer further comprises: at least one insulation portion, each respective insulation portion disposed between each respective thermally-conductive plate and the external layer inner surface; and at least one conductive portion, coplanar with the insulation portion, each respective conductive portion disposed between each respective thermal pooling section and the external layer inner surface.
ROSALES teaches the package (Fig. 4, 100, electronic device), wherein the interface layer (annotated Figure 5) further comprises:
at least one insulation portion (Fig. 5, 510/512/514/516, first/second/third/fourth spacer, thermally conductive adhesive/low conductive material (e.g. insulative material), [0040]), each respective insulation portion (Fig. 5, 510/512/514/516, first/second/third/fourth spacer, thermally conductive adhesive/low conductive material (e.g. insulative material), [0040]) disposed between each respective thermally-conductive plate (Fig. 5, 502/504,506, first/second/third heat spreader layer, [0049]) and the external layer inner surface (Fig. 4, 404, front side surface of a device, 400); and
at least one conductive portion (Fig. 5, 520/522/524/526, fist/second/third/fourth PCM, [0062]) coplanar (annotated Figure 5) with the insulation portion (Fig. 5, 510/512/514/516, first/second/third/fourth spacer, thermally conductive adhesive/low conductive material (e.g. insulative material), [0040]),
each respective conductive portion (Fig. 5, 520/522/524/526, fist/second/third/fourth PCM, [0062]) disposed between each respective thermal pooling section (annotated Figure 4) and the external layer inner surface (Fig. 4, 404, front side surface of a device, 400).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified NASR to incorporate the teachings of ROSALES, such that the package, wherein the interface layer further comprises: at least one insulation portion, each respective insulation portion disposed between each respective thermally-conductive plate and the external layer inner surface; and at least one conductive portion, coplanar with the insulation portion, each respective conductive portion disposed between each respective thermal pooling section and the external layer inner surface. The above arrangement enables the heat dissipating device that includes a heat spreader layer, PCMs and a spacer provides as much as heat dissipation away from the front side surface of the integrated device, but also limit how much heat is dissipated through the back side of the device (ROSALES, [0087]).
Regarding Claim 11, NASR teaches the package of claim 1.
NASR does not explicitly disclose the package, further comprising an enclosure encapsulating the plurality of layers, the enclosure comprising the external layer.
ROSALES teaches the package (Fig. 4, 100, electronic device), further comprising an enclosure (Fig. 4, 404/406/408/410, front /back/bottom/top side surface cover) encapsulating the plurality of layers (Fig. 4, 420/422/430, PCB/integrated device/heat dissipating device, [0030]), the enclosure (Fig. 4, 404/406/408/410, front /back/bottom/top side surface cover) comprising the external layer (Fig. 4, 402, display (e.g., LCD)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified NASR to incorporate the teachings of ROSALES, such that the package, further comprising an enclosure encapsulating the plurality of layers, the enclosure comprising the external layer, so that the above arrangement allows the lowering of the peak temperatures of the front side, the back side, the integrated device, and/or the package of the device (400) (ROSALES, [0030]).
Regarding Claim 12, NASR teaches the package of claim 1.
NASR does not explicitly disclose the package, wherein a temperature of the external layer remains below a safety and regulatory touch temperature limit.
ROSALES teaches the package (Fig. 4, 100, electronic device), wherein a temperature of the external layer remains below a safety and regulatory touch temperature limit (Fig. 4, 400, device, this mechanism allows the lowering of the peak temperatures of the front side, the back side, the integrated device, and/or package of the device, 400, [0005], [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified NASR to incorporate the teachings of ROSALES, such that the package, wherein a temperature of the external layer remains below a safety and regulatory touch temperature limit, so that to have an improved method and design for efficiently dissipating heat, while at the same time keeping the temperature of the outer surface of the electronic device within a threshold that is acceptable to a user of the electronic device (ROSALES, [0005]).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NASR, in view of LINDERMAN.
Regarding Claim 7, NASR teaches the package (Figs. 1A-1D, integrated circuit assemblies, [0059]) of claim 1, wherein the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 7A, 709, heat spreader) further comprises: at least one thermally-conductive plate (Fig. 7A, Lid 707, Lid that operate as built-in heat spreaders, [0042]); and
NASR does not explicitly disclose the package, wherein the thermal spreader layer further comprises: at least one thermally-conductive plate; and at least one thermal pooling section; each thermal pooling section is in thermal contact with at least one thermally conductive plate and each thermal pooling section is disposed proximate to an edge of the package.
LINDERMAN teaches the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly), wherein the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 3, 112, primary heat spreader) further comprises:
at least one thermally-conductive plate (Fig. 3, 204, mounting portion of the secondary heat spreader, 114, [0029]); and
at least one thermal pooling section (Fig. 3, 202/304, high heat dissipation region); wherein:
each thermal pooling section (Fig. 3, 202/304, high heat dissipation region) is in thermal contact (annotated Figure 3) with at least one thermally conductive plate (Fig. 3, 204, mounting portion of the secondary heat spreader, 114, [0029]) and each thermal pooling section (Fig. 3, 202/304, high heat dissipation region) is disposed proximate to an edge (annotated Figure 3) of the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified NASR to incorporate the teachings of LINDERMAN, such that the package, wherein the thermal spreader layer further comprises: at least one thermally-conductive plate; and at least one thermal pooling section; each thermal pooling section is in thermal contact with at least one thermally conductive plate and each thermal pooling section is disposed proximate to an edge of the package. The above arrangement wherein the primary heat spreader (112) is disposed between he PCB (108) and the enclosure (102), and the secondary heat spreader (114) is coupled to the exterior of the top of the enclosure (102) such that the high heat dissipation portion (202) is proximate to a high heat dissipation region (304) that is within the enclosure for an effective thermal management (LINDERMAN, [0029], [0005]).
Regarding Claim 8, NASR as modified LINDERMAN teaches the package of claim 7.
LINDERMAN further teaches the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly), further comprising at least one thermally-conductive channel (annotated Figure 3, 114, secondary heat spreader), wherein each thermally-conductive channel (annotated Figure 3, 114, secondary heat spreader) is in thermal contact (annotated Figure 3) with at least one thermally conductive plate (Fig. 3, 204, mounting portion of the secondary heat spreader, 114, [0029]) and at least one thermal pooling section (Fig. 3, 202/304, high heat dissipation region).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20050133907 A1 – Figure 1
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – An integrated circuit assembly with heat spreading layer and thermal solution interface layer employing heat transfer mechanisms to combat the ever increasing performance [0017].
US 20170103937 A1 – Figure 15
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – A cross-sectional view that shows a packaged semiconductor device that includes a cooling device coupled thereto being coupled to a system part, so that the cooling device may provide improved heat conduction and more effective integrated circuit die transient cooling, [0062].
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812