DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
The amendment with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 13, and 26 filed on 9/3/2026 have been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The amendment with respect to withdrawn claims 14-15, 18-21, and 25 have been entered. The previously presented claim(s) 9-12 have been considered. Claim(s) 3-4, and 16-17 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 8-10, filed 06/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), and claim(s) 6-8, and 11-12, under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of LINDERMAN, and COPPOLA.
Regarding Claim 1. The Applicant argues that none of the currently cited references disclose or suggest all of the amendment to Claim 1. The Examiner agrees that the arguments are persuasive and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as mentioned in the above paragraph. For instance, the prior art of LINDERMAN teaches an equipment box assembly with different layer structures including an enclosure, an interface layer, a heat spreader, and a circuitry similar to the configurations mentioned in the instant application. COPPOLA further teaches the heat spreader plates comprises conductive channels to transfer heat from the electrical component to outside the device by thermal dissipation mechanism.
Regarding Claims 2, 5-13, and 26. The independent Claim(s) 26, and dependent claims 2, and 5-13, follow similar arguments as Claim 1, upon further consideration, a new-grounds of rejection is made based on the prior-art mentioned above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-11, 13, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan Linderman, (hereinafter LINDERMAN), US 20170020033 A1, in view of Anthony M. Coppola et al, (hereinafter COPPOLA), US 20200103179 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, LINDERMAN teaches a package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly) comprising a plurality of layers (Fig. 3, multiple layers, [0036]), the layers (Fig. 3, multiple layers, [0036]) comprising:
an external layer (Fig. 1, 102, enclosure) comprising an external layer outer surface (annotated Figure 1) and an external layer inner surface (annotated Figure 1);
an interface layer (Fig. 1, 124) comprising an interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 1) and an interface layer inner surface (annotated Figure 1), the interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 1) in contact with the external layer (Fig. 1, 102, enclosure) inner surface (annotated Figure 1);
a thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1, 112, primary heat spreader) comprising a thermal spreader outer surface (annotated Figure 1) and a thermal spreader inner surface (annotated Figure 1), the thermal spreader outer surface (annotated Figure 1) in contact with the interface layer (Fig. 1, 124) inner surface (annotated Figure 1); and
circuitry (Fig. 1, 108, printed circuit board (PCB)), arranged proximate to and facing the thermal spreader (Fig. 1, 112, primary heat spreader) inner surface (annotated Figure 1).
LINDERMAN does not explicitly disclose a package comprising a plurality of layers, the layers comprising: wherein the thermal spreader layer comprises a plurality of thermally conductive channels; wherein: the circuitry comprises at least one electrical component; each thermally conductive channel of the plurality of thermally conductive channels is placed around the at least one electrical component to prevent thermal transfer from each thermally conductive channel towards the at least one electrical component; each thermally conductive channel is arranged to transfer heat away from the at least one electrical component to at least one portion of the thermal spreader layer; and the at least one portion is thermally coupled to the external layer using the interface layer.
COPPOLA teaches a package (Figs. 1A/1B, 10, power electronic module) comprising a plurality of layers (annotated Figure 1B), the layers comprising:
wherein the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1B, 20, heat spreader plates) comprises a plurality of thermally conductive channels (Fig. 1B, 16, channels);
wherein:
the circuitry (annotated Figure 1B) comprises at least one electrical component (Fig. 1B, 14, resistors);
each thermally conductive channel of the plurality of thermally conductive channels (Fig. 1B, 16, channels) is placed around the at least one electrical component (Fig. 1B, 14, resistors) to prevent thermal transfer ([0056]) from each thermally conductive channel (Fig. 1B, 16, channels) towards the at least one electrical component (Fig. 1B, 14, resistors);
each thermally conductive channel (Fig. 1B, 16, channels) is arranged to transfer heat ([0056]) away from the at least one electrical component (Fig. 1B, 14, resistors) to at least one portion (annotated Figure 1B) of the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1B, 20, heat spreader plates); and
the at least one portion (annotated Figure 1B) is thermally coupled to the external layer (Fig. 1B, 12, housing) using the interface layer (Fig. 1B, 22, heat spreader plates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified LINDERMAN to incorporate the teachings of COPPOLA, such that a package comprising a plurality of layers, the layers comprising: wherein the thermal spreader layer comprises a plurality of thermally conductive channels; wherein: the circuitry comprises at least one electrical component; each thermally conductive channel of the plurality of thermally conductive channels is placed around the at least one electrical component to prevent thermal transfer from each thermally conductive channel towards the at least one electrical component; each thermally conductive channel is arranged to transfer heat away from the at least one electrical component to at least one portion of the thermal spreader layer; and the at least one portion is thermally coupled to the external layer using the interface layer. The above arrangement of thermally conductive channels, 16 enable to transfer heat away from the resistors, 14. The thermally conductive channels may include a plurality of thermally conductive elements to increase heat transfer between an electrical component and heat-transfer fluid in channels (COPPOLA, [0056]).
Regarding Claim 2, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA teaches the package of claim 1.
LINDERMAN further teaches the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly), wherein each of the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1, 112, primary heat spreader) comprises at least one thermally conductive material ([0016]).
COPPOLA further teaches the package (Figs. 1A/1B, 10, power electronic module), wherein each of the external layer (Fig. 1B, 12, housing) and the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1B, 20, heat spreader plates) comprises at least one thermally conductive material ([0053]).
Regarding Claim 5, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA teaches the package of claim 1.
COPPOLA further teaches the package (Figs. 1A/1B, 10, power electronic module), wherein the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1B, 20, heat spreader plates) further comprises:
at least one thermally conductive plate (Fig. 1B, 20, heat spreader plates) in thermal contact with at least one thermally conductive channel (Fig. 1B, 16, channels) of the plurality of thermally conductive channels (Fig. 1B, 16, channels), each respective thermally conductive plate (Fig. 1B, 20, heat spreader plates) disposed above a respective heat-generating electrical component (Fig. 1B, 14, resistors); and
at least one thermal pooling section (Fig. 4A, 100, protrusions, which are thermally conductive elements, [0082]) in thermal contact with the at least one thermally conductive channel (Fig. 4A, 96, channel) of the plurality of thermally conductive channels (Fig. 4A, 96, channel).
Regarding Claim 7, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA teaches the package of claim 1.
LINDERMAN further teaches the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly), wherein the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 3, 112, primary heat spreader) further comprises:
at least one thermally conductive plate (Fig. 3, 204, mounting portion of the secondary heat spreader, 114, [0029]); and
at least one thermal pooling section (Fig. 3, 202/304, high heat dissipation region); wherein:
each thermal pooling section (Fig. 3, 202/304, high heat dissipation region) is in thermal contact (annotated Figure 3) with at least one thermally conductive plate (Fig. 3, 204, mounting portion of the secondary heat spreader, 114, [0029]) and each thermal pooling section (Fig. 3, 202/304, high heat dissipation region) is disposed proximate to an edge (annotated Figure 3) of the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly).
Regarding Claim 8, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA teaches the package of claim 7.
COPPOLA further teaches the package (Figs. 1A/1B, 10, power electronic module), wherein each respective thermally conductive channel (Fig. 1B, 16, channels) of the plurality of thermally conductive channels (Fig. 1B, 16, channels) is in thermal contact with at least one thermally conductive plate (Fig. 1B, 20, heat spreader plates) and at least one thermal pooling section (Fig. 4A, 100, protrusions, which are thermally conductive elements, [0082]).
Regarding Claim 9, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA teaches the package of claim 1.
LINDERMAN further teaches the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly), further comprising a thermal interface material (TIM) (Fig. 1, 110, thermal interface) disposed between the circuitry (Fig. 1, 108, printed circuit board (PCB)) and the thermal spreader (Fig. 1B, 20, heat spreader plates) inner surface (annotated Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 10, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA teaches the package of claim 1.
LINDERMAN further teaches the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly), wherein the circuitry comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig. 1, 108, printed circuit board (PCB)).
Regarding Claim 11, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA teaches the package of claim 1.
LINDERMAN further teaches the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly), further comprising an enclosure (Fig. 1, 102, enclosure) encapsulating the plurality of layers (Fig. 3, multiple layers, [0036]), the enclosure comprising the external layer (Fig. 1, 102, enclosure).
COPPOLA further teaches the package (Figs. 1A/1B, 10, power electronic module), further comprising an enclosure (Fig. 1A, 12, housing) encapsulating the plurality of layers (Fig. 1A, plurality of thermally conductive elements, [0056]), the enclosure (Fig. 1A, 12, housing) comprising the external layer ([00644]).
Regarding Claim 13, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA teaches the package of claim 1.
LINDERMAN further teaches the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly), further comprising:
a second interface layer (Fig. 1, 126, interface layer) comprising a second interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 1) and a second interface layer inner surface (annotated Figure 1), the second interface layer (Fig. 1, 126, interface layer) outer surface (annotated Figure 1) in contact with the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1, 112, primary heat spreader) inner surface (annotated Figure 1); and
a second thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1, 114, secondary heat spreader) comprising a second thermal spreader (Fig. 1, 114, secondary heat spreader) outer surface (annotated Figure 1) and a second thermal spreader (Fig. 1, 114, secondary heat spreader) inner surface (annotated Figure 1), the second thermal spreader (Fig. 1, 114, secondary heat spreader) outer surface (annotated Figure 1) is arranged in contact with the second interface layer (Fig. 1, 126, interface layer) inner surface (annotated Figure 1), and the circuitry (Fig. 1, 108, printed circuit board (PCB)) proximate to and facing the second thermal spreader Fig. 1, 114, secondary heat spreader inner surface (annotated Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 26, LINDERMAN teaches an enclosure (Fig. 2, 102) comprising:
housing (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly), wherein the housing (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly) encapsulates a plurality of layers (Fig. 3, multiple layers, [0036]), the plurality of layers (Fig. 3, multiple layers, [0036]) comprising:
an external layer (Fig. 1, 102, enclosure) comprising an external layer outer surface (annotated Figure 1) and an external layer inner surface (annotated Figure 1);
an interface layer (Fig. 1, 124) comprising an interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 1) and an interface layer inner surface (annotated Figure 1), the interface layer outer surface (annotated Figure 1) in contact with the external layer (Fig. 1, 102, enclosure) inner surface (annotated Figure 1);
a thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1, 112, primary heat spreader) comprising a thermal spreader outer surface (annotated Figure 1) and a thermal spreader inner surface (annotated Figure 1), the thermal spreader outer surface (annotated Figure 1) in contact with the interface layer (Fig. 1, 124) inner surface (annotated Figure 1); and
circuitry (Fig. 1, 108, printed circuit board (PCB)), arranged proximate to and facing the thermal spreader (Fig. 1, 112, primary heat spreader) inner surface (annotated Figure 1).
LINDERMAN does not explicitly disclose a package comprising a plurality of layers, the layers comprising: wherein the thermal spreader layer comprises a plurality of thermally conductive channels; wherein: the circuitry comprises at least one electrical component; each thermally conductive channel of the plurality of thermally conductive channels is placed around the at least one electrical component to prevent thermal transfer from each thermally conductive channel towards the at least one electrical component; each thermally conductive channel is arranged to transfer heat away from the at least one electrical component to at least one portion of the thermal spreader layer; and the at least one portion is thermally coupled to the external layer using the interface layer.
COPPOLA teaches a package (Figs. 1A/1B, 10, power electronic module) comprising a plurality of layers (annotated Figure 1B), the layers comprising:
wherein the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1B, 20, heat spreader plates) comprises a plurality of thermally conductive channels (Fig. 1B, 16, channels);
wherein:
the circuitry (annotated Figure 1B) comprises at least one electrical component (Fig. 1B, 14, resistors);
each thermally conductive channel of the plurality of thermally conductive channels (Fig. 1B, 16, channels) is placed around the at least one electrical component (Fig. 1B, 14, resistors) to prevent thermal transfer ([0056]) from each thermally conductive channel (Fig. 1B, 16, channels) towards the at least one electrical component (Fig. 1B, 14, resistors);
each thermally conductive channel (Fig. 1B, 16, channels) is arranged to transfer heat ([0056]) away from the at least one electrical component (Fig. 1B, 14, resistors) to at least one portion (annotated Figure 1B) of the thermal spreader layer (Fig. 1B, 20, heat spreader plates); and
the at least one portion (annotated Figure 1B) is thermally coupled to the external layer (Fig. 1B, 12, housing) using the interface layer (Fig. 1B, 22, heat spreader plates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified LINDERMAN to incorporate the teachings of COPPOLA, such that a package comprising a plurality of layers, the layers comprising: wherein the thermal spreader layer comprises a plurality of thermally conductive channels; wherein: the circuitry comprises at least one electrical component; each thermally conductive channel of the plurality of thermally conductive channels is placed around the at least one electrical component to prevent thermal transfer from each thermally conductive channel towards the at least one electrical component; each thermally conductive channel is arranged to transfer heat away from the at least one electrical component to at least one portion of the thermal spreader layer; and the at least one portion is thermally coupled to the external layer using the interface layer. The above arrangement of thermally conductive channels, 16 enable to transfer heat away from the resistors, 14. The thermally conductive channels may include a plurality of thermally conductive elements to increase heat transfer between an electrical component and heat-transfer fluid in channels (COPPOLA, [0056]).
Claim(s) 6, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINDERMAN, in view of COPPOLA, as applied to Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9-11, and 26 above, and further in view of Jorge Rosales et al, (hereinafter ROSALES), US 20180042139 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA teaches the package of claim 5.
LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA does not explicitly disclose the package, wherein the interface layer further comprises: at least one insulation portion, each respective insulation portion disposed between each respective thermally conductive plate and the external layer inner surface; and at least one conductive portion, coplanar with the insulation portion, each respective conductive portion disposed between each respective thermal pooling section and the external layer inner surface.
ROSALES teaches the package (Fig. 4, 100, electronic device), wherein the interface layer (annotated Figure 5) further comprises:
at least one insulation portion (Fig. 5, 510/512/514/516, first/second/third/fourth spacer, thermally conductive adhesive/low conductive material (e.g. insulative material), [0040]), each respective insulation portion (Fig. 5, 510/512/514/516, first/second/third/fourth spacer, thermally conductive adhesive/low conductive material (e.g. insulative material), [0040]) disposed between each respective thermally-conductive plate (Fig. 5, 502/504,506, first/second/third heat spreader layer, [0049]) and the external layer inner surface (Fig. 4, 404, front side surface of a device, 400); and
at least one conductive portion (Fig. 5, 520/522/524/526, fist/second/third/fourth PCM, [0062]) coplanar (annotated Figure 5) with the insulation portion (Fig. 5, 510/512/514/516, first/second/third/fourth spacer, thermally conductive adhesive/low conductive material (e.g. insulative material), [0040]),
each respective conductive portion (Fig. 5, 520/522/524/526, fist/second/third/fourth PCM, [0062]) disposed between each respective thermal pooling section (annotated Figure 4) and the external layer inner surface (Fig. 4, 404, front side surface of a device, 400).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA to incorporate the teachings of ROSALES, such that the package, wherein the interface layer further comprises: at least one insulation portion, each respective insulation portion disposed between each respective thermally-conductive plate and the external layer inner surface; and at least one conductive portion, coplanar with the insulation portion, each respective conductive portion disposed between each respective thermal pooling section and the external layer inner surface. The above arrangement enables the heat dissipating device that includes a heat spreader layer, PCMs and a spacer provides as much as heat dissipation away from the front side surface of the integrated device but also limit how much heat is dissipated through the back side of the device (ROSALES, [0087]).
Regarding Claim 12, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA teaches the package of claim 1.
LINDERMAN further teaches the package (Fig. 3, 100, equipment box assembly), wherein a temperature of the external layer (Fig. 1, 102, enclosure) remains below a safety and regulatory touch temperature limit ([0019]).
Though LINDERMAN teaches the package, wherein the enclosure, 102 safely encloses the live parts (i.e. electronic components, 104) of the PCB, 108, LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA does not explicitly disclose the package, wherein a temperature of the external layer remains below a safety and regulatory touch temperature limit.
ROSALES teaches the package (Fig. 4, 400, device), wherein a temperature of the external layer (Fig. 4, 404/406/408/410, all sides of the device, 400) remains below a safety and regulatory touch temperature limit (by storing the dissipated heat, it helps prevent the heat from increasing the surface temperature of the device, 400, thus helping avoid the uncomfortable surface temperature of the device, 400, [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LINDERMAN as modified by COPPOLA to incorporate the teachings of ROSALES, such that the package, wherein a temperature of the external layer remains below a safety and regulatory touch temperature limit, so that the approach takes away heat from the heat generating region (e.g. region comprising integrated device, 422), which allows the integrated device, 422 to perform at the desired temperature, while at the same time keeps heat away from the surface of the device, 400 (ROSALES, [0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5812374 A – Figure 2
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – A top plan view thereof showing three printed circuit board assemblies as mounted on an electrical chassis in side-entry channels, and three corresponding modules interleaved therewith, the conductive sheets being laterally fastened to heat sinking elements secured to the chassis and thermal spacers being mounted to a frontside layer on the conductive sheets.
US 20110228484 A1 – Figure 5
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – A schematic cross-sectional view of assembly that includes one or more thermal management features.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ALI NARAGHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817