DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moon US 2022/0293653.
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses an image sensor (100; claim 1), comprising a microlens array (112; claim 1), a filter array (111; claim 1), and a photosensitive chip (110) sequentially arranged along a direction of incident light (fig. 2), wherein the photosensitive chip comprises a plurality of pixel units (PX; claim 1); the filter array (111) comprises at least one filter unit set (G1, G2, G3, G4), each of the at least one filter unit set (G1, G2, G3, G4) comprises a plurality of filters (CF1, CF2, W, Gr, R, Gb, B) corresponding to different wavelengths (para. 0044, 0049-0052, 0055-0056; claim 1), and each of the plurality of filters (CF1, CF2, W, Gr, R, Gb, B) is configured for a corresponding wavelength of the incident light to pass (para. 0044, 0049-0052, 0055-0056; claim 1); and the microlens array (111) comprises at least one microlens unit (ML), and the at least one microlens unit (ML) is configured to converge the incident light (ML is a convex lens which converges light), and focus the converged incident light on the photosensitive chip after passing through the filter array (figs. 2, 8; light passed through converging lenses ML, pass through filter CF, and are focused on pixel array 110 [PD]; para. 0061, 0077-0078).
Regarding claim 3, Moon discloses wherein the filters corresponding to the different wavelengths(CF1, CF2, W, Gr, R, Gb, B) in the filter array (111) are arranged in a two-dimensional plane (figs. 2-6 and 10).
Regarding claim 4, Moon discloses wherein the photosensitive chip (110) further comprises a plurality of photodiodes (PD) and a signal processing module (130, 150), and each of the plurality of pixel units (PX) comprises at least one photodiode (PD; para. 0078); the photodiodes are electrically connected to the signal processing module (fig. 1 CL); each of the photodiodes is configured to convert an optical signal into an electrical signal (para. 0078 “photoelectric conversion”); and the signal processing module is configured to process the electrical signals outputted by the plurality of pixel units to obtain a light sensing result (para. 0037-0039).
Regarding claim 5, Moon discloses wherein one filter (CF) in the at least one filter unit set covers one or more of the plurality of pixel units (PX, PD; figs. 2, 8).
Regarding claim 6, Moon discloses wherein the at least one filter unit set is a 3*3 filter matrix (para. 0052; claims 1, 11 “…three rows and three columns”).
Regarding claim 7, Moon discloses further comprising a base (fig. 8 SUB, L2; para. 0078), wherein the photosensitive chip, the filter array, and the microlens array ( the set of PD, CF, and ML) are sequentially arranged (fig. 8) on the base (SUB, L2; fig. 8 shows the pixel array which makes up the photosensitive chip L1, PD, as being “in” the substrate SUB, but para. 0078 describes the photodiodes being “on” the substrate. As such L2 and/or SUB are a base).
Regarding claim 8, Moon discloses wherein each of the at least one microlens unit (ML) is arranged on each of the at least one filter unit set (figs. 2 and 5-8).
Regarding claim 9, Moon teaches an imaging device (figs. 12-14, 1100a-c), comprising at least one image sensor (100, 1142; claim 1), at least one lens (1111; para. 0118), and a circuit board (L2; para. 0081 “wiring layer”), wherein the at least one image sensor comprises a microlens array (112; claim 1), a filter array (111; claim 1), and a photosensitive chip (110) sequentially arranged along a direction of incident light (fig. 2), wherein the photosensitive chip comprises a plurality of pixel units (PX; claim 1); the filter array (111) comprises at least one filter unit set (G1, G2, G3, G4), each of the at least one filter unit set (G1, G2, G3, G4) comprises a plurality of filters corresponding to different wavelengths (CF1, CF2, W, Gr, R, Gb, B), and each of the plurality of filters (CF1, CF2, W, Gr, R, Gb, B) is configured for a corresponding wavelength of the incident light to pass (para. 0044, 0049-0052, 0055-0056; claim 1); and the microlens array (111) comprises at least one microlens unit (ML), and the at least one microlens unit (ML) is configured to converge the incident light (ML is a convex lens which converges light), and focus the converged incident light on the photosensitive chip after passing through the filter array (figs. 2, 8; light passed through converging lenses ML, pass through filter CF, and are focused on pixel array 110 [PD]; para. 0061, 0077-0078); the at least one image sensor (fig. 8) and the at least one lens (1111) is arranged on the circuit board (L2); and the at least one lens (1111) is arranged on the at least one image sensor (here “arranged on” is interpreted to mean positioned above with respect to the direction of incident light. This does not require any contact and allows for layers between, since the claim requires the lens to be arranged on both the image sensor and circuit board. The lens is above the sensor which itself is on the circuit board. As such, the lens must be arranged on both the image sensor and circuit board), to irradiate the incident light on the at least one image sensor after passing through the at least one lens (para. 0118-0119).
Regarding claim 10, Moon discloses wherein the at least one lens comprises an imaging lens and a pedestal (para. 0119; actuator being a pedestal); the imaging lens is arranged on the pedestal (para. 0119); and the at least one image sensor (1142) is connected to the pedestal (para. 0119) and is arranged on the circuit board (L2; fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Moon discloses wherein the filters corresponding to the different wavelengths(CF1, CF2, W, Gr, R, Gb, B) in the filter array (111) are arranged in a two-dimensional plane (figs. 2-6 and 10).
Regarding claim 13, Moon discloses wherein the photosensitive chip (110) further comprises a plurality of photodiodes (PD) and a signal processing module (130, 150), and each of the plurality of pixel units (PX) comprises at least one photodiode (PD; para. 0078); the photodiodes are electrically connected to the signal processing module (fig. 1 CL); each of the photodiodes is configured to convert an optical signal into an electrical signal (para. 0078 “photoelectric conversion”); and the signal processing module is configured to process the electrical signals outputted by the plurality of pixel units to obtain a light sensing result (para. 0037-0039).
Regarding claim 14, Moon discloses wherein one filter (CF) in the at least one filter unit set covers one or more of the plurality of pixel units (PX, PD; figs. 2, 8).
Regarding claim 15, Moon discloses wherein the at least one filter unit set is a 3*3 filter matrix (para. 0052; claims 1, 11 “…three rows and three columns”).
Regarding claim 16, Moon discloses further comprising a base (fig. 8 SUB, L2; para. 0078), wherein the photosensitive chip, the filter array, and the microlens array ( the set of PD, CF, and ML) are sequentially arranged (fig. 8) on the base (SUB, L2; fig. 8 shows the pixel array which makes up the photosensitive chip L1, PD, as being “in” the substrate SUB, but para. 0078 describes the photodiodes being “on” the substrate. As such L2 and/or SUB are a base).
Regarding claim 17, Moon discloses wherein each of the at least one microlens unit (ML) is arranged on each of the at least one filter unit set (figs. 2 and 5-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon US 2022/0293653 in view of Agranov et al. US 2013/0222603.
Regarding claim 2, Moon teaches wherein each of the at least one filter unit set (G1, G2, G3, G4) comprises a broadband filter matrix (matrix of filters CF; color filters are broadband), and the broadband filter matrix is configured for light in a visible light band (para. 0045) and an infrared band in the incident light to pass.
Moon fails to teach the broadband filter matrix is additionally configured for light in an infrared band in the incident light to pass.
Agranov teaches wherein a broadband filter matrix (fig. 3) is configured for light in a visible light band (G, B, R) and an infrared band (NIR) in the incident light to pass (0020) for the purpose of simultaneously capturing visible and infrared images (para. 0020).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the broadband filter matrix is additionally configured for light in an infrared band in the incident light to pass as taught by Agranov in the imaging device of Moon for the purpose of simultaneously capturing visible and infrared images.
Regarding claim 11, Moon teaches wherein each of the at least one filter unit set (G1, G2, G3, G4) comprises a broadband filter matrix (matrix of filters CF; color filters are broadband), and the broadband filter matrix is configured for light in a visible light band (para. 0045) and an infrared band in the incident light to pass.
Moon fails to teach the broadband filter matrix is additionally configured for light in an infrared band in the incident light to pass.
Agranov teaches wherein a broadband filter matrix (fig. 3) is configured for light in a visible light band (G, B, R) and an infrared band (NIR) in the incident light to pass (0020) for the purpose of simultaneously capturing visible and infrared images (para. 0020).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the broadband filter matrix is additionally configured for light in an infrared band in the incident light to pass as taught by Agranov in the imaging device of Moon for the purpose of simultaneously capturing visible and infrared images.
Contact Information
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884 /EDWIN C GUNBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884