DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to the communications received 02/23/2026. Claims 1-4 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 5-20 in the reply filed on 02/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventive group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/23/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/24/2023 and 04/08/2026 have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Applicant’s Claim to Figure Comparison
It is noted that this comparison is merely for the benefit of reviewers of this office action during prosecution, to allow for an understanding of the examiner’s interpretation of the Applicant’s independent claims as compared to disclosed embodiments in Applicant’s Figures. No response or comments are necessary from Applicant.
Regarding claim 5, a method of manufacturing an image sensor package, the method comprising:
separating an image sensor chip (20) attached to a first surface (12) of a film (10) for transferring an image sensor from the film (see Fig. 5), the film being attached to a ring (30, see Figs. 4 and 5), the film comprising the first surface and a second surface (14) opposite to the first surface in a vertical direction (see Fig. 5), and the film comprising protrusion portions (15) disposed in a horizontal direction on the first surface of the film (see Fig. 5);
mounting the image sensor chip onto a package substrate (40, see Fig. 6));
forming an adhesion layer (60) on the image sensor chip (see Fig. 7);
placing a transparent plate (70) onto the adhesion layer (see Fig. 8); and
forming a sealing element (80) on the package substrate and sidewalls of the image sensor chip, the adhesion layer and the transparent plate (see Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 9-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida et al. (US 8034652 B2, published 10/11/2011) in view of Kamphuis et al. (US 20210134647 A1, published 05/06/2021) in view of Hong et al. (KR 10-0867183 B1, published 11/06/2008).
Regarding claim 5, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida disclose a method of manufacturing an image sensor package (see title), the method comprising:
separating an image sensor chip (“imaging chip 19 of rectangular shape, an image sensor 19a such as CCD or CMOS provided on the upper surface of the imaging chip 19”, col. 8, lines 62-64) attached to a first surface of a film (as seen in Fig. 6C, the upper surface of “dicing tape 43”, col. 10, line 41, is a first surface of a film, and 43 is attached to 19a) for transferring an image sensor from the film (“The sensor packages 4 are separately inspected for performance by, for example, a probe inspection machine and only those passed this performance inspection will be detached from the dicing tape 43 and placed individually on trays or attached to a carrier tape for shipment”, col. 10, lines 52-56, where “The sensor package 4 is composed of an imaging chip 19 of rectangular shape, an image sensor 19a such as CCD or CMOS provided on the upper surface of the imaging chip 19”, col. 8, lines 62-64), the film being attached to a ring (Nishida does not specifically disclose 43 being attached to a ring, however a secondary reference will be used to teach these limitations below), the film comprising the first surface and a second surface (the lower surface of 43 as seen in Fig. 6C is a second surface of 43) opposite to the first surface in a vertical direction (as seen in Fig. 6C, the lower and upper surfaces of 43 are opposite to each other in the vertical direction), and the film comprising protrusion portions disposed in a horizontal direction on the first surface of the film (Nishida does not disclose 43 comprising protrusion portions, however a secondary reference will be used to teach these limitations below);
mounting the image sensor chip onto a package substrate (“A die bonder for this die bonding operation firstly applies die attach films 51 on the die bonding areas 48 of the circuit assembly board 47. Then, as shown in FIG. 8B, the die bonder places the sensor packages 4 on each of the die attach films 51”, col. 11, lines 4-7, where 47 is the package substrate);
forming an adhesion layer (“Firstly, as shown in FIG. 6A, adhesives 40 are applied on the spacers 22”, col. 10, lines 22-23) on the image sensor chip (as seen in Fig. 6B, 40 is on “silicon wafer 37, which has a plurality of image sensors 19a”, col. 10, lines 20-21);
placing a transparent plate (“The manufacture of the sensor package 4 begins by attaching a glass substrate 28, i.e. a base material of the cover glass 6, to a spacer wafer 30, i.e. a base material of the spacer 22”, col. 9, lines 48-50) onto the adhesion layer (as previously mentioned, and as seen in Fig. 6A, 40 is applied onto 22, thus 6 is applied to 40 via 22); and
forming a sealing element (“as shown in FIG. 8D, the upper surface of the circuit assembly board 47 and the peripheries of the sensor packages 4 are sealed with the sealing resin 7”, col. 11, lines 40-43) on the package substrate and sidewalls of the image sensor chip, the adhesion layer and the transparent plate (as seen in Fig. 8D, 7 is on 47 and sidewalls of 19, 40 and 6).
Nishida fails to disclose “the film being attached to a ring, and the film comprising protrusion portions disposed in a horizontal direction on the first surface of the film”.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Figs. 2A-2D of Kamphuis teach the film (“dicing tape 216”, [0005], where 216 of Kamphuis is equivalent to 43 of Nishida) being attached to a ring (together “FFC outer ring 220”, [0005], and “FFC inner ring 230”, [0005], form a ring where FFC is a file frame carrier, and “The FFC outer and inner grip rings 220 and 230 form a grip ring set that enables the dicing tape 216 to be stretched and secured between the two rings”, [0005], thus 216 is attached to 220 and 230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “the film being attached to a ring” as taught by Kamphuis in the system of Nishida for the purpose of tensioning the dicing film.
Nishida in combination with Kamphuis fails to disclose “the film comprising protrusion portions disposed in a horizontal direction on the first surface of the film”.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Figs. 5 and 6 of Hong teach the film comprising protrusion portions disposed in a horizontal direction on the first surface of the film (“Fig. 6 illustrates a cross-sectional view of the integrated film of Fig. 5”, page 4, ¶5, and as seen in Fig. 6, the integrated film has protrusion portions disposed in a horizontal direction on the upper surface of the film).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “the film comprising protrusion portions disposed in a horizontal direction on the first surface of the film” as taught by Hong in the system of Nishida and Kamphuis for the purpose of preventing bubbles or wrinkles when the film is applied to a wafer, (see page 4, ¶4).
Regarding claim 6, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida in combination with Figs. 2A-2D of Kamphuis and Figs. 5 and 6 of Hong disclose the method of manufacturing an image sensor package of claim 5, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida further disclose wherein the image sensor chip comprises first (the lower surface of 19 as seen in Fig. 6E is a first surface of 19) and second (the upper surface of 19 as seen in Fig. 6E is a second surface of 19) surfaces opposite to each other in the vertical direction (as seen in Fig. 6E, the lower and upper surfaces of 19 are opposite to each other in the vertical direction), and the first surface of the image sensor chip is flat (as seen in Fig. 6E, the lower surface of 19 is flat),
wherein the first surface of the image sensor chip contacts the first surface of the film (as seen in Fig. 6E, the lower surface of 19 contacts the upper surface of 43).
Regarding claim 9, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida in combination with Figs. 2A-2D of Kamphuis and Figs. 5 and 6 of Hong disclose the method of manufacturing an image sensor package of claim 5, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida further disclose wherein the second surface of the film is flat (as seen in Fig. 6C, the lower surface of 43 is flat, further as seen in Fig. 6 of Hong, only the upper surface is modified to have the protrusion portions).
Figs. 2A-2D of Kamphuis further disclose wherein the ring contacts the second surface of the film (as seen in Fig. 2D, 230 contacts the bottom surface of 216).
Regarding claim 10, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida in combination with Figs. 2A-2D of Kamphuis and Figs. 5 and 6 of Hong disclose the method of manufacturing an image sensor package of claim 5, Figs. 2A-2D of Kamphuis further disclose wherein the ring contacts the first surface of the film (as seen in Fig. 2D, 220 contacts the upper surface of 216).
Regarding claim 11, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida in combination with Figs. 2A-2D of Kamphuis and Figs. 5 and 6 of Hong disclose the method of manufacturing an image sensor package of claim 5, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida further disclose wherein the image sensor chip is one of a plurality of image sensor chips on the first surface of the film (as seen in Fig. 6E, there is a plurality of 19 on the upper surface of 19).
Regarding claim 12, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida in combination with Figs. 2A-2D of Kamphuis and Figs. 5 and 6 of Hong disclose the method of manufacturing an image sensor package of claim 5, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida further disclose further comprising placing a conductive wire for electrically connecting the image sensor chip and the package substrate to each other (“n the next wire bonding step, shown in FIG. 8C, the bonding wires 5 are attached by a wire bonder to connect the input/output pads 21 of each sensor package 4 and the internal conductive pads 12 of the die bonding areas 48”, col. 11, lines 24-37).
Regarding claim 14, Figs. 1-14 of Nishida in combination with Figs. 2A-2D of Kamphuis and Figs. 5 and 6 of Hong disclose the method of manufacturing an image sensor package of claim 5, Figs. 5 and 6 of Hong further teaches wherein a pitch in the horizontal direction between the protrusion portions is in a range of about 0.3mm to about 0.7mm (“In FIG. 6, B" and C" represent the width | variety of the convex part and the recessed part of an embossing structure, respectively, and the sum (B" + C") of the said width is 0.1-1,000 micrometers”, page 4. ¶6, as seen in Fig. 6, B" + C" represent the pitch of the protrusion portions, as the instant application does not disclose any criticality to the claimed pitch range in either [0025] or [0049], and the entire range of 0.0001 mm to 1 mm would perform the same function of reducing the surface area of the film in contact with the image sensor chip, Hong discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II. ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012))
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest the method of forming an image sensor package as recited in the claims of the instant application.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of Nishida et al. (US 8034652 B2) in combination with Kamphuis et al. (US 20210134647 A1) and Hong et al. (KR 10-0867183 B1) discloses a similar method of forming an image sensor package but fails to disclose the specific claims of the instant application regarding the orientation of the lens structure relative to the film e.g. “wherein the image sensor chip comprises first and second surfaces opposite to each other in the vertical direction, and the first surface of the image sensor chip is flat,
wherein the first surface of the image sensor chip contacts the first surface of the film”.
Claim 8 is allowable by virtue of its dependence on claim 7.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of Nishida et al. (US 8034652 B2) in combination with Kamphuis et al. (US 20210134647 A1) and Hong et al. (KR 10-0867183 B1) discloses a similar method of forming an image sensor package but fails to disclose the specific claims of the instant application regarding the dimensions of the protrusion portions e.g. “wherein a length in the vertical direction of each of the protrusion portions is in a range of about 0.2mm to about 0.3mm”.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of Nishida et al. (US 8034652 B2) in combination with Kamphuis et al. (US 20210134647 A1) and Hong et al. (KR 10-0867183 B1) discloses a similar method of forming an image sensor package but fails to disclose the specific claims of the instant application regarding the structure of the protrusion portions e.g. “wherein the film comprises a recess on each of the protrusion portions”.
Claims 16-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest the method of forming an image sensor package as recited in the claims of the instant application.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of Nishida et al. (US 8034652 B2) in combination with Kamphuis et al. (US 20210134647 A1) and Hong et al. (KR 10-0867183 B1) discloses a similar method of forming an image sensor package but fails to disclose the specific claims of the instant application regarding the structure of the protrusion portions e.g. “the film comprising a recess on each of the protrusion portions”.
Claims 17-20 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on claim 16.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN MICHAEL KUPP/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893