DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9-11, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rho, US PG Pub. No. 2021/0143223).
Regarding Claim 1, Rho discloses, at least in figure 9, A display device comprising: a display panel (title) comprising a first light emitting area (the pixel area PXA-B) configured to emit a source light (EE, ¶ [0070]); a barrier wall (BK3, ¶ [0141]) on the display panel (100, ¶ [0062]), and having a first opening (WCL3 points to it) corresponding to the first light emitting area (PXA-B); a first light control pattern (WCL3,¶[0074]) in the first opening (WCL1 points to it); and a light shielding pattern (BK2, ¶ [0141]) between the display panel (100) and the barrier wall (BK3), and overlapping with the barrier wall (BK3) and the first opening (WCL3 points to it), wherein the light shielding pattern (BK2) overlaps with a portion of the first light control pattern (WCL3).
Regarding Claim 5, Rho discloses: further comprising a first color filter(CF2-33, ¶ [0140]) on the barrier wall (BK3), wherein the first light control pattern (WCL3) is configured to convert the source light (EE) to a first output light having a color different from a color of the source light (EE), and wherein the first color filter (CF2-33) is configured to block the source light (EE) and transmit the first output light (¶ [0074], the first light is absorbed (blocked) and changed)
Regarding Claim 6, Rho discloses: wherein the first light control pattern (WCL3) comprises a base resin, and a quantum dot dispersed in the base resin (¶ [0125]).
Regarding Claim 9, Rho discloses in figure 9: further comprising a second light control pattern (WCL2,¶ [0074]), wherein the display panel (100) further comprises a second light emitting area (pixel area PXA-G) (the pixel area PXA-G) configured to emit the source light (EE), wherein the barrier wall (BK3) has a second opening (WCL2 points to it) (WCL2 points to it) corresponding to the second light emitting area (pixel area PXA-G), and wherein the second light control pattern (WCL2) is in the second opening (WCL2 points to it).
Regarding Claim 10, Rho discloses in figure 9: wherein the light shielding pattern (BK2) further overlaps with the second opening (WCL2 points to it).
Regarding Claim 11, Rho discloses in figure 9: wherein: the first opening (WCL3 points to it) and the second opening (WCL2 points to it) are spaced from each other in a first direction (horizontally); a first portion of the light shielding pattern (BK2) overlaps with an area between the first opening (WCL3 points to it) and the second opening (WCL2 points to it) in the first direction; a second portion of the light shielding pattern (BK2) extends from the first portion of the light shielding pattern (BK2), and overlaps with the first opening (WCL3 points to it); And a third portion of the light shielding pattern (BK2) extends from the first portion of the light shielding pattern (BK2), and overlaps with the second opening (WCL2 points to it).
Regarding Claim 15, Rho discloses in figure 9: further comprising a base layer (FNL, ¶ [0110]) facing the display panel (100) in a thickness direction of the display panel (100), wherein the barrier wall (BK3) is on a lower surface of the base layer (FNL).
Regarding Claim 17, Rho discloses in figure 9: A display device comprising: a display panel (100) comprising a light emitting element (EE); and a light conversion panel (WCL2-3 convert light) spaced from the display panel (100) in a thickness direction of the display panel (100), the light conversion panel comprising: a base layer (FNL); a barrier wall (BK3) on a lower surface of the base layer(FNL), and having an opening corresponding to the light emitting element (EE); a light control pattern (WCL3) in the opening; Anda light shielding pattern (BK2) under the barrier wall (BK3), and overlapping with the barrier wall (BK3) and the opening, wherein the light shielding pattern (BK2) overlaps with a portion of the light control pattern (WCL3).
Regarding Claim 19. Rho discloses in figure 9: A display device comprising: a light emitting element (EE); a thin film encapsulation layer (FNL, ¶[0111[) encapsulating the light emitting element (EE); a barrier wall (BK3) on the thin film encapsulation layer (FNL), and having an opening corresponding to the light emitting element (EE); a light control pattern (WCL3) in the opening; and a light shielding pattern (BK2) between the barrier wall (BK3) and the thin film encapsulation layer (FNL), and overlapping with the barrier wall (BK3) and the opening, wherein the light shielding pattern (BK2) overlaps with a portion of the light control pattern (WCL3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rho(223) in view of Lee et al (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0091247).
Regarding Claim 7, Rho discloses in figure 9:further comprising a second color filter and a third color filter overlapping with the first color filter (CF2-33), wherein the first color filter (CF2-33) comprises a first pixel area (PXA-B) that does not overlap with the second color filter and the third color filter, and wherein the first pixel area (PXA-B) overlaps with the first light emitting area (in PXA-B) in a plan view.
Rho fails to disclose the first, second and third color filters overlap.
Lee teaches in paragraph that the red, green and blue color filters may overlap in the light blocking areas (since light is not transmitted in that region). This would simplify fabrication of the color filter layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to allow the first, second and third color filters of Rho to overlap in the light blocking regions, as taught by Lee, since this would simplify fabrication of the color filter layer.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim(s) 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rho (223).
Regarding Claim 12, Rho fails to disclose: wherein a shortest distance in a first direction between the first opening (WCL3 points to it) and the second opening (WCL2 points to it) is within a range from about 5 micrometers to about 8 micrometers.
However, applicant has not shown in the specification how the claimed range produces any novel or unexpected result or solves any known problem. The specification only discloses that when the barrier wall is reduced the opening becomes larger which is common sense.
Since applicant has established no criticality for this range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try parameters within the claimed range as a matter of obvious design choice and, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 14, Rho fails to disclose: wherein the first opening (WCL3 points to it) has a width equal to or greater than about 41 micrometers in the first direction. However, as is obvious, the width of the opening will determine the amount of light of a particular color (red for WCL3) that gets through.
Furthermore, applicant has not shown in the specification how providing a width greater than 41 micrometers produces any novel or unexpected result or solves any known problem. The specification only discloses that the width may be greater than 41 um. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to try widths of greater than 41 micrometers in the device of Rho to adjust the output color of the device to a desired hue.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8, 13, 16,18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 2, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim 2, and specifically comprising the limitation of “ wherein the first light emitting area is located in the first opening in a plan view, and the first light emitting area is biased to one side of the first opening in a first direction ” including the remaining limitations’
Regarding Claim 3, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim 3, and specifically comprising the limitation of “ wherein the light shielding pattern has a first-first opening corresponding to the first opening, and the first-first opening has a size smaller than a size of the first opening in a plan view” including the remaining limitations’
. Claim 4 is allowable, at least, because of its dependency on claim 3.
Regarding Claim 8 , the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim 8, and specifically comprising the limitation of “ wherein the light shielding pattern has a first-first opening corresponding to the first opening, wherein the first-first opening is smaller than the first opening in a plan view, and wherein the first pixel area has a width equal to or greater than a width of the first-first opening in a first direction” including the remaining limitations.
. Regarding Claim 13, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim 13, and specifically comprising the limitation of “a width of the second portion of the light shielding pattern in the first direction is greater than the shortest distance” including the remaining limitations.
. . Regarding Claim 16, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claim 16, and specifically comprising the limitation of “ wherein the barrier wall further has a dummy opening defining a main well area that does not overlap with the first light emitting area in a plan view, and a sub-opening defining a sub-well area between the first light emitting area and the main well area, and wherein the light shielding pattern overlaps with the main well area or the sub- well area” including the remaining limitations.
Regarding Claims 18 and 20, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in Claims 18 and 20, and specifically comprising the limitation of “ wherein the light emitting element is in the opening in a plan view, and the light emitting element is biased to one side of the opening in a first direction” including the remaining limitations.
CONTACT INFORMATION
/DONALD L RALEIGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875