CTNF 18/237,907 CTNF 89288 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claim(s) 1-12 are currently pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 6 The limitation “characterized in that the snap-fit comprises a support portion and a snap-fit portion located at an upper end of the support portion; and the pressure strip member comprises a pressure strip and a connector, wherein an end portion of the pressure strip is connected to the base via the connector” is unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite. Claim 6 depends from claim 4 which recites the snap fit and pressure strip members in the alternative. However, claim 6 appears to require both embodiments. The meets and bounds of the claimed battery defined in claim 6 cannot be reasonably ascertained by one of ordinary skill in the art because it is not clear if one or both alternatives are required by the claim (i.e., snap fit and/or pressure strip). For purposes of examination on the merits, the limitations of claim 6 will be interpreted consistent with claim 4 i.e., as alternatives. Appropriate correction and clarification is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020243765 A1 * Waldschütz et al. with US2022/0247026 A1 used as an English language equivalent . *Cited in the IDS. Regarding claims 1 and 13 Waldschütz teaches a battery (2) [Fig. 1 and para. 0021], and method of making thereof, characterized by comprising: providing at least one battery cell (2) [Fig. 1 and para. 0021-; and providing a temperature sampling assembly (corresponding to measuring head 6 having a temperature sensor mounted on a surface therein) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0021-0022], wherein the temperature sampling assembly (measuring head/sensor) comprises a shell (corresponding to covering 10 and surface of outer wall 4 engaging with frame of measuring assembly 6) [Fig. 1 and para. 0022], one end of the shell (10/4) is provided with an opening (see signal line 11 extending through cover plate 10) configured to receive a sampling signal line (11) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0021-0022], the temperature sampling assembly (6) is mounted on the battery cell (2) [Fig. 1 and para. 0022], PNG media_image1.png 732 864 media_image1.png Greyscale Waldschütz, Annotated Fig. 1 Waldschütz does not disclose the opening provided in a downwardly inclined direction. However, Waldschütz discloses that the temperature sampling device may include an entropy elastic buffer (to attach the sensor onto the measuring head) which deforms reversibly and non-destructively to prevent damage from forces directed to more sensitive parts of the device [para. 0013]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious for the temperature sampling device disclosed in Fig. 1 to comprise an entropy elastic buffer in order to prevent damage to sensitive parts of the device. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious for the opening to be provided in a downwardly inclined angle due to the deformation of the entropy elastic buffer when forces or pre-tensioning are applied. Regarding claim 2 Waldschütz teaches the battery as set forth above, characterized by further comprising a mounting frame (corresponding to frame-like holder/bracket of measuring head 6 snapped against battery cells 2) and an elastic thermally-conductive gasket (entropy elastic buffer) [Fig. 1, paras. 0013 and 0022], wherein the mounting frame is connected to the battery cell (2) [Fig. 1 and para. 0022], the elastic thermally-conductive gasket (entropy elastic buffer) is attached to a surface of the battery cell (2) (temperature sensor is attached to the measuring head via the entropy elastic buffer, it is noted that direct physical attachment/contact is not required by the instant claim) [para. 0013], the mounting frame is configured to mount the shell (“ [w]ith the aid of a cover plate 10 of the measuring head 6, the measuring channel 5 is positively closed via the latching spring 9 on the latching stop 8 after the measuring head 6 has been latched in place. ”) [Fig. 1 and para. 0022], and the elastic thermally-conductive gasket (entropy elastic buffer) is located between the shell (10) and the battery cell (2) [Figs. 1 and 3, para. 0013]; and under a combined limiting action of the mounting frame and the elastic thermally- conductive gasket, the shell (10/4) is fixed on the battery cell (2) in an orientation where the opening is downwardly inclined (due to the deformation of the entropy elastic buffer when forces or pre-tensioning are applied) [para. 0013]. Regarding claim 3 Waldschütz teaches the battery as set forth above, characterized in that the mounting frame (frame-like holder/bracket snapped against battery cells 2) comprises a base (see element noted as “B” in annotated Fig. 1 below), a first limiting structure (corresponding to elements noted as “1L” in annotated Fig. 1 below) and a second limiting structure (corresponding to encircled portion “2L” in annotated Figure 1 below including latching spring 9) [Fig. 1 and para. 0022], wherein the base (B) is provided with a through groove (top portion of measuring channel 5) configured to accommodate the shell (10/4) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0021-0022], the first limiting structure (1L) and the second limiting structure (2L) are arranged on the base (B) [see Fig. 1 below], the shell (10/4) is limited in the through groove (5) by means of the first limiting structure (1L) and the second limiting structure (2L) [Fig. 1 and para. 0022], and a distance between the first limiting structure (1L) and the opening (5) of the shell (10/4) is greater than a distance between the second limiting structure (2L) and the opening of the shell (10/4) [Fig. 1]; and the first limiting structure (1L) comprises a first limiting portion (see snap portions of 2L) configured to press against the shell (entire snap frame, including portions 2L, presses against 10) [Fig. 1], the second limiting structure (2L) comprises a second limiting portion (9) configured to press against the shell (10), and the first limiting portion is arranged higher (closer to carrier 3) than the second limiting portion (2L) [Fig. 1]. PNG media_image2.png 745 864 media_image2.png Greyscale Waldschütz, Annotated Fig. 1 Regarding claim 4 Waldschütz teaches the battery as set forth above, characterized in that the first limiting structure (1L) is a snap-fit or a pressure strip member (second limiting structure 2L comprises ends snapping into cells 2) [Fig. 1 and para. 0022]. Regarding claim 5 Waldschütz teaches the battery as set forth above, characterized in that the second limiting structure (2L) is a snap-fit or a pressure strip member (first limiting structure 1L comprising a latching spring 9) [Fig. 1] Regarding claim 6 Waldschütz teaches the battery as set forth above, characterized in that the snap-fit comprises a support portion (see element noted as SP in Fig. 1 below) and a snap-fit portion (9) located at an upper end of the support portion [Fig. 1]. Regarding claim 7 Waldschütz teaches the battery as set forth above, characterized in that the first limiting structure (1L) comprises a side plate (see element notes as “SP” in annotated Fig. 1 below) and a top plate arranged at an upper end of the side plate (SP) [Fig. 1], wherein the top plate is the first limiting portion (snap portions) [Fig. 1]. PNG media_image3.png 732 864 media_image3.png Greyscale Waldschütz, Annotated Fig. 1 Regarding claim 8 Waldschütz teaches the battery as set forth above, characterized in that the side plate is a "C"- shaped plate, and/or the top plate, the side plate and the base are of an integrally formed structure (see encircled portion in annotated Fig. 1 above). Regarding claim 9 Waldschütz teaches the battery as set forth above, characterized by further comprising an electrical connecting sheet (the measuring head is contacted with a printed circuit board via contact pins so that it can be moved in the direction of the measuring channel) [Fig. 3, paras. 0014-0016 and 0023], wherein the battery cell (2) further comprises a terminal post (contact pins, noted with numeral 21 in Fig. 3), the electrical connecting sheet (noted with numeral 22 in Fig. 3) is connected to the terminal post (21) of the battery cell (21) [Fig. 3, paras. 0014-0016 and 0023], and the mounting frame (corresponding to frame-like holder/bracket of measuring head 6 snapped against battery cells 2) is pressed against and fixed to the surface of the battery cell (2) via the electrical connecting sheet (22) [Fig. 3, paras. 0014-0016 and 0023]. Regarding claim 10 Waldschütz teaches the battery as set forth above, characterized in that the shell (10/4) comprises a shell bottom plate (10) and a shell top plate (see portion of outer wall 4 identified in annotated Fig. 1 below), wherein the shell top plate (4) is not parallel to the shell bottom plate (10), such that the shell (10/4) has a cross-sectional area gradually reduced from the end away from the opening to the end close to the opening [Fig. 1]. PNG media_image1.png 732 864 media_image1.png Greyscale Waldschütz, Annotated Fig. 1 Regarding claim 11 Waldschütz teaches the battery as set forth above, characterized in that the shell (10) is attached to the surface of the battery cell (via mounting bracket of measuring device 6) [Fig. 1]. Regarding claim 12 Modified Wang teaches a power consuming apparatus (corresponding to an electric vehicle), comprising a battery (battery in the field of electromobility carrying out processes such as adjusting the optimum operating temperature during charging or driving, or creating efficient charging conditions.) [para. 0002]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS whose telephone number is (571)272-5054. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday, 9:00-5:00 - EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Allison Bourke can be reached at (303)297-4684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/237,907 Page 2 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/237,907 Page 3 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/237,907 Page 4 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/237,907 Page 5 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/237,907 Page 6 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/237,907 Page 7 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/237,907 Page 8 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/237,907 Page 9 Art Unit: 1721 Application/Control Number: 18/237,907 Page 10 Art Unit: 1721