DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05 February 2025, 29 July 2025, and 01 December 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2018/0122632 to Vrtis et al. (“Vrtis”).
With regard to Claims 1-3, 5, 8-9, 12 and 18-20, Vrtis teaches a semiconductor processing method comprising providing one or more of the claimed silicon-containing precursors to a chamber in which a substrate resides, forming a plasma of the precursors, and curing with UV energy to form a layer of silicon-containing material featuring a dielectric constant of less than or about 3.0 or 2.8 and a hardness of greater than or about 3.5 or 4.5 GPa (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0024]-[0028], [0052], [0058], [0062]; Claims 4, 26).
With regard to Claim 6, Vrtis teaches the claimed temperature (see ¶¶ [0020], [0035]).
With regard to Claim 7, Vrtis teaches the claimed pressure (see ¶ [0045]).
With regard to Claims 10-11, Vrtis teaches curing via UV using the claimed conditions (see ¶¶ [0052], [00585]; Claim 4).
With regard to Claim 13, Vrtis teaches providing O2 (see ¶ [0036]).
With regard to Claim 17, Vrtis teaches the films features a Young’s modulus within the claimed range (see Claims 26-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrtis.
With regard to Claim 14, Vrtis teaches forming plasma at power levels based on substrate size (see ¶ [0041]). To the extent the reference does not expressly teach the claimed power for plasma formation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed a plasma formation power within the claimed range in conducting the process of Vrtis on substrates of varying size.
With regard to Claim 15, Vrtis teaches curing via UV wavelengths (see ¶ [0052]). Vrtis does not expressly teach provision of varying UV wavelengths during curing; however within the context of curing operations the reference teaches power and wavelength are variable and tunable to specific bonds (see ¶ [0054]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed curing conditions as claimed throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in pursuit of a desired degree of curing.
With regard to Claim 16, Vrtis teaches incorporation of methyl groups as result-effective with respect to film mechanical properties (see ¶ [0018]). To the extent the reference does not expressly teach the claimed degree of methyl incorporation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have done so in pursuit of achieving desired mechanical properties as taught by Vrtis.
3. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrtis as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2021/0313174 to Liou et al. (“Liou”).
With regard to Claim 4, Vrtis does not expressly teach the claimed proportion of first and second precursors. Liou is similarly directed to method of producing dielectric layers, and teaches production of resilient film layers via introduction of multiple precursor gasses at proportions within the claimed range (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0038], [0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the precursors in the claimed proportion in the method of Vrtis throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in pursuit of dielectric films with advantageous properties as taught by Liou.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715