DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the above application filed on 25 August 2023. Claims 1-20 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotenhuis 9346113 in view of Li 2010/0051588, and further in view of Inoue 4393292.
Regarding Claim 17, Grotenhuis teaches a manufacturing method (Fig. 3), comprising:
electrical discharge machining 110 a workpiece WP using an electrode 112 to form an aperture (hole) in the workpiece WP, the workpiece WP extending between a face surface [a] and a back surface [b] (Annotated Fig. 4, below),
measuring an EDM voltage (measures the voltage between the electrode and the workpiece) indicative of a gap voltage (gap voltage) between the electrode 112 and the workpiece WP using a measurement device 124 to provide an EDM voltage measurement signal (measured gap voltage as input – this reads as a measurement signal) indicative of the EDM voltage (gap voltage) (Col. 2, l. 50 – Col. 3, l. 12, Col. 3, ll. 24-36, and Col. 3, ll. 44-59; Figs. 3-4. Annotated Fig. 4, below).
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 4 of Grotenhuis (U.S. 9346113)
Grotenhuis does not teach the electrical discharge machining comprising plunging the electrode into the workpiece through the face surface, and determining whether the electrode has broken through the back surface using the EDM voltage measurement signal.
Li teaches a similar manufacturing method comprising an electrical discharge machining 10, controller 14, and
the electrical discharge machining 10 comprising plunging the electrode 11 into the workpiece through the face surface 102 (seen in Fig. 2a-2c) ([0021; 0026-29]; Figs. 2a-c).
determining (via controller 14, modules 140-142) whether the electrode 11 has broken (breakthrough stage) through the back surface (seen in Fig. 2c) using the EDM voltage measurement signal (sent signals …from element 16, voltage detection) ([0016-17; 0021, 0026-29]; Figs. 1 & 2a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical discharge machining 110 and the electrode 112 of Grotenhuis to include Li’s electrode 11 and plunge the electrode 11 into the workpiece through the face surface 102, as taught by Li, because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, electrode 112 of Grotenhuis, for another, in this case, electrode 11 of Li, to obtain predictable results, in this case, machining holes in a workpiece, is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR INT’L CO. V. TELEFLEX.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the controller 130 of Grotenhuis to include the controller 14, comprising modules 140-142, for determining whether the electrode 11 has broken (breakthrough stage) through the back surface using the measurement signal (sent signals …from element 16, voltage detection), as taught by Li, in order to end the machining upon completion of the breakthrough stage, thereby avoiding having the electrode damage other structures of the workpiece so as to improve the machining quality (Li [0028]).
Grotenhuis in view of Li does not teach using a high frequency measurement device to provide an EDM voltage measurement signal indicative of the EDM voltage, the EDM voltage is measured by the high frequency measurement device at a measurement frequency equal to or greater than ten kilohertz.
Inoue teaches a similar electrical discharge machining (EDM) method and
using a high frequency measurement device 104 to provide an EDM voltage measurement signal (a vibration [signal]) indicative of the EDM voltage (volage across the gap G, in Col. 9, ll. 37-67), the EDM voltage (volage across the gap G) is measured by the high frequency measurement device 104 at a measurement frequency equal to or greater than ten kilohertz (vibration of a frequency in the range between 1 and 500 kHz) (Col. 9, ll. 37-67, and Col. 12, ll. 38-57; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the measurement device 124 of Grotenhuis in view of Li to include a high frequency measurement device 104 that measures the EDM voltage (volage across the gap G) at a measurement frequency equal to or greater than ten kilohertz (vibration of a frequency in the range between 1 and 500 kHz), as taught by Inoue, in order to “promote the removal of machining products from the region of the machining gap G while promptly extinguishing an arc discharge or short-circuiting as it occurs between the tool electrode 101 and the workpiece 111, thus permitting machining discharges to be repetitively produced through the gap G with an enhanced stability” (Inoue, Col. 9, ll. 37-67) and to select the correct vibration for the electrode for a particular machining purpose (Inoue, Col. 12, ll. 38-57).
While Grotenhuis in view of Li and Inoue teaches an apparatus, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered an obvious extension of prior art teachings.
Regarding Claim 18, Grotenhuis in view of Li and Inoue teaches the method as claimed and as discussed above for claim 17, and Grotenhuis further teaches
measuring an EDM voltage (measures the voltage between the electrode and the workpiece) indicative of a gap voltage (gap voltage) between the electrode 112 and the workpiece WP using a measurement device 124 to provide an EDM voltage measurement signal (measured gap voltage as input – this reads as a measurement signal) indicative of the EDM voltage (gap voltage) (Col. 2, l. 50 – Col. 3, l. 12, Col. 3, ll. 24-36, and Col. 3, ll. 44-59; Figs. 3-4. Annotated Fig. 4, below).
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 4 of Grotenhuis (U.S. 9346113)
Grotenhuis in view of Li and Inoue, as discussed so far, does not teach using a low frequency measurement device to provide an EDM system voltage measurement signal indicative of the gap voltage, the EDM system voltage is measured by the low frequency measurement device at a measurement frequency equal to or less than five-hundred hertz; and controlling movement of the electrode using the EDM system measurement signal.
Inoue further teaches
using a low frequency measurement device 170 to provide an EDM system voltage measurement signal (a vibration [signal]) indicative of the gap voltage (volage across the gap G, in Col. 9, ll. 37-67), the EDM system voltage (volage across the gap G) is measured by the low frequency measurement device at a measurement frequency equal to or less than five-hundred hertz (vibration of a frequency in the range between 50 and 500 Hz) (Col. 12, ll. 38-57; Fig. 15).;
and controlling movement (inherent – the signal from the low frequency measurement device 170 is applied to electrode 101. Therefore, inherently the signal is used to control the movement of the electrode, as claimed) of the electrode 101 using the EDM system measurement signal (a vibration [signal]) (Col. 9, ll. 37-67, and Col. 12, ll. 38-57; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the measurement device 124 of Grotenhuis in view of Li and Inoue to include a low frequency measurement device 170 that provides an EDM system voltage measurement signal (a vibration [signal]) indicative of the gap voltage (volage across the gap G), the EDM system voltage (volage across the gap G) is measured by the low frequency measurement device at a measurement frequency equal to or less than five-hundred hertz (vibration of a frequency in the range between 50 and 500 Hz), and control the movement (inherent – the signal from the low frequency measurement device 170 is applied to electrode 101. Therefore, inherently the signal is used to control the movement of the electrode, as claimed) of the electrode 101 using the EDM system measurement signal (a vibration [signal]), as taught by Inoue, for the same reason as discussed in rejection of claim 17 above.
While Grotenhuis in view of Li and Inoue teaches an apparatus, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered an obvious extension of prior art teachings.
Regarding Claim 19, Grotenhuis in view of Li and Inoue teaches the method as claimed and as discussed above for claim 17. However, Grotenhuis in view of Li and Inoue, as discussed so far, does not teach the determining of whether the electrode has broken through the back surface is performed during the electrical discharge machining; and the electrical discharge machining is terminated when it is determined that the electrode has completely broken through the back surface.
Li further teaches
the determining (via controller 14, modules 140-142) of whether the electrode 11 has broken (breakthrough stage) through the back surface (seen in Fig. 2c) is performed during the electrical discharge machining (during the machining; breakthrough stage begins … detection elements 16-18 detect and send signals to controller 14 for processing) ([0015-17; 0021, 0027-29]); and
the electrical discharge machining 10 is terminated (end the machining upon completion of the breakthrough stage) when it is determined that the electrode 11 has completely broken (breakthrough stage) through the back surface (seen in Fig. 2c) ([0016-17; 0021, 0026-29]; Figs. 1 & 2a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the controller 130 of Grotenhuis in view of Li and Inoue to include controller 14, comprising modules 140-142, for determining (via controller 14, modules 140-142) of whether the electrode 11 has broken (breakthrough stage) through the back surface is performed during the electrical discharge machining (during the machining; breakthrough stage begins … detection elements 16-18 detect and send signals to controller 14 for processing); and have the electrical discharge machining 10 be terminated (end the machining upon completion of the breakthrough stage) when it is determined that the electrode 11 has completely broken (breakthrough stage) through the back surface , as taught by Li, in order to end the machining upon completion of the breakthrough stage, thereby avoiding having the electrode damage other structures of the workpiece so as to improve the machining quality (Li [0028]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grotenhuis in view of Li.
Regarding Claim 20, Grotenhuis teaches a manufacturing method (Fig. 3), comprising:
electrical discharge machining 110 a workpiece WP using an electrode 112 to form an aperture (hole) in the workpiece WP, the workpiece WP extending between a face surface [a] and a back surface [b] (Annotated Fig. 4, below),
the workpiece WP secured to a support 116 by a fixture [c] (Annotated Fig. 4, below),
and the electrode 112 supported by and electrically coupled to a guide 114;
measuring a measurement voltage between the guide 114 and the fixture [c] indicative of a gap voltage between the electrode 112 and the workpiece WP (measures the voltage between the electrode and the workpiece) using a measurement device 124 to provide a measurement signal (measured gap voltage as input – this reads as a measurement signal) indicative of the measurement voltage (gap voltage), the measurement device 124 electrically coupled to the guide 114 and the fixture [c] (Col. 2, l. 50 – Col. 3, l. 12, Col. 3, ll. 24-36, and Col. 3, ll. 44-59; Figs. 3-4. Annotated Fig. 4, below).
Figure A: Annotated Fig. 4 of Grotenhuis (U.S. 9346113)
Grotenhuis further comprises a controller 130 that operatively is connected and controls the movement of the electrical discharge machining 110, including the electrode 112 and the support 116 (Col. 3, ll. 24-36; Figs. 3-4).
Grotenhuis does not teach the electrical discharge machining comprising plunging the electrode into the workpiece through the face surface, and determining whether the electrode has broken through the back surface using the measurement signal.
Li teaches a similar manufacturing method comprising an electrical discharge machining 10, controller 14, and
the electrical discharge machining 10 comprising plunging the electrode 11 into the workpiece through the face surface 102 (seen in Fig. 2a-2c) ([0021; 0026-29]; Figs. 2a-c).
determining (via controller 14, modules 140-142) whether the electrode 11 has broken (breakthrough stage) through the back surface (seen in Fig. 2c) using the measurement signal (sent signals …from element 16, voltage detection) ([0016-17; 0021, 0026-29]; Figs. 1 & 2a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical discharge machining 110 and the electrode 112 of Grotenhuis to include Li’s electrode 11 and plunge the electrode 11 into the workpiece through the face surface 102, as taught by Li, because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, in this case, electrode 112 of Grotenhuis, for another, in this case, electrode 11 of Li, to obtain predictable results, in this case, machining holes in a workpiece, is an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR INT’L CO. V. TELEFLEX.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the controller 130 of Grotenhuis to include the controller 14, comprising modules 140-142, for determining whether the electrode 11 has broken (breakthrough stage) through the back surface using the measurement signal (sent signals …from element 16, voltage detection), as taught by Li, in order to end the machining upon completion of the breakthrough stage, thereby avoiding having the electrode damage other structures of the workpiece so as to improve the machining quality (Li [0028]).
While Grotenhuis in view of Li teaches an apparatus, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered an obvious extension of prior art teachings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Prior art does not teach or fairly suggest, either by itself or in combination with other prior art, and in combination with the other limitations of the independent claim 1, “measuring a first voltage indicative of a gap voltage between the electrode and the workpiece using a first measurement device to provide a first measurement signal indicative of the first voltage; controlling movement of the electrode using the first measurement signal; measuring a second voltage indicative of the gap voltage using a second measurement device to provide a second measurement signal indicative of the second voltage; and determining whether the electrode has broken through the workpiece using the second measurement signal.” disclosed in the specification [0062-65] and Fig. 6.
Prior art of Li 2010/0051588 teaches electrical discharge machining with only one voltage measurement device.
Closest prior art of Katogi 2017/0259362 teaches (in [0024]; Fig. 1) one detection circuit connected to two lines.
Closest prior art of Furuta 11135668 teaches (in Fig. 2) two voltage circuits54, 56 with one voltage detector.
Closest prior art of Yamada 2015/0246403 ([0021-22]; Fig. 1) teaches a gap current detector 14 and a voltage gap detector 13.
However, Grotenhuis, Li, Inoue, Katogi, Furuta, or Yamada does not teach either by itself or in combination with other prior art, the above limitations of independent claim 1.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JACEK LISOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741