DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8-10, 13, 14; 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cole (US 20250022184 A1).
Claim 1
In regards to claim 1, Cole discloses a processor, comprising: one or more circuits to cause one or more neural networks {see cites below including machine learning model 318. As to processor, see Fig. 1 processor 104 and Fig. 12 processor 1204 connected to storage device storing applications 1212 (computer program instructions) executing on processor 1204, [0085]-[0094]} to
identify one or more three-dimensional (3D) positions of at least one portion of one or more portions of one or more objects
{Figs. 10, 11 including estimating 3D pose 1108 from a captured image of a scene using a machine learning model 318 wherein the model is trained (316) using processed training target images 910, [0070]-[0076], [0080]-[0083]. Note that the BRI of “position” includes poses as per [0059] of the instant published application.}
based, at least in part, on: occluding different portions of the one or more objects in a plurality of different images of the one or more objects to cause different 3D positions of the one or more objects in the plurality of different images to be visible to update the one or more neural networks
{Fig. 7 (copied below) including cropping operation 706 that crops/occludes different portions of the object(s) to cause different 3D positions of the one or more objects in the plurality of different images to be visible to update the one or more neural networks, [0050]-[0058]. See also Fig. 3, training target data generation 312 which uses the occluded/cropped training data set to train the object pose determination network, [0034]-[0036], [0048]
}
Claim 2
In regards to claim 2, Cole discloses wherein the one or more circuits are to cause at least a portion of the plurality of different images to be truncated {see mapping for claim 1 wherein a portion of the images are truncated via cropping operation 706. It is further noted that the instant specification uses the terms cropped and truncated synonymously thus even more clearly bringing this disclosure within the BRI}.
Claim 3
In regards to claim 3, Cole discloses wherein the portion of truncated images are used to train the one or more neural networks {see mapping of claim 1 wherein the cropped/truncated images are used to train the neural network}.
Claim 6
In regards to claim 6, Cole discloses wherein the one or more circuits are further to identify the one or more 3D positions based, at least in part, on ground truth data associated with the plurality of different images {see mapping of claim 1. See also [0017], [0031], [0058], [0058]}.
Claim 7
In regards to claim 7, Cole discloses wherein the one or more circuits are to cause at least some of the ground truth data to be truncated {see mapping of claim 1 including in which the original full image is cropped/truncated to create training data}.
Claims 8-10, 13, 14; 15-17 and 20
The rejection of processor claims 1, 2, 3, 6, and 7 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of method claims 8, 9, 10, 13 and 14. Also, the rejection of processor claims 1, 2, 3, and 6 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of system claims 15, 16, 17, and 20 while noting that the rejection above cites to both device and method disclosures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 5, 11, 12, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole and Mckenzie {McKenzie, Elizabeth M., et al. "Using neural networks to extend cropped medical images for deformable registration among images with differing scan extents." Medical physics 48.8 (2021): 4459-4471}.
Claim 4
In regards to claim 4, Cole discloses wherein the portion of the plurality of different images are truncated based, at least in part, on a generated value
Mckenzie is analogous art from the same field of creating neural network training data using cropped images. In more detail, McKenizie teaches determining missing anatomy caused by portions of the object (human body) being occluded in the image(s) via a missing/occluded anatomy synthesis process which is based, at least in part, on a neural network trained with images in which portion(s) are occluded (cropped images) and second images in which the portion(s) are not occluded (original full images). See Abstract, Methods, Conclusions, Sections 1, 2. Note that Mckenzie solves the same problem as the instant invention which creating training data to deal with occlusions due to an object being partially out of fame. Compare instant spec’s [0059]-[0060] with McKenzie’s Abstract, Section 1. Also note that the instant spec includes generative adversarial networks (GAN) in [0545] thus further aligning Mckenzie’s generative adversarial network (CropGAN) with the claimed invention’s BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation}.
Mckenzie also teaches wherein the portion of the one or more second images are truncated based, at least in part, on a generated value satisfying a threshold
{see section 2.2 in which the training (second) image is truncated based on a randomly varied number (cropping angle) that satisfying a threshold (varied between 0 and 45 degrees in superior-inferior cropping angle and between -5 and 5 degrees in the other two dimensions)}.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Cole which already discloses wherein the portion of the one or more second images are truncated based, at least in part, on a generated value such that the generated value also satisfies a threshold as taught by McKenzie, because McKenzie motivates doing so in order to vary the cut angle of the crop to simulate common real world scenarios in section 2.2, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 5
In regards to claim 5, Cole discloses wherein an amount by which the portion of the plurality of different images are to be truncated is based, at least in part, on a generated value
McKenzie also teaches wherein an amount by which the portion of the one or more second images are to be truncated is based, at least in part, on a generated value satisfying one or more thresholds
{see section 2.2 in which the training (second) image is truncated by an amount based on a randomly varied number (cropping angle) that satisfying a threshold (varied between 0 and 45 degrees in superior-inferior cropping angle and between -5 and 5 degrees in the other two dimensions}.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified Cole which already discloses wherein the portion of the one or more second images are truncated based, at least in part, on a generated value such that the generated value also satisfies a threshold and wherein an amount by which the portion of the one or more second images are to be truncated is based, at least in part, on a generated value satisfying one or more thresholds as taught by McKenzie, because McKenzie motivates doing so in order to vary the cut angle of the crop to simulate common real world scenarios in section 2.2, because there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 11, 12; 18, 19
The rejection of processor claims 4 and 5 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of method claims 11 and 12. Also, the rejection of processor claims 4 and 5 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of system claims 18 and 19 while noting that the rejection above cites to both device and method disclosures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
W. Wan, A. Walsman and D. Fox, "Part Segmentation for Highly Accurate Deformable Tracking in Occlusions via Fully Convolutional Neural Networks," 2019 International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA), Montreal, QC, Canada, 2019, pp. 4882-4888, doi: 10.1109/ICRA.2019.8793656 discloses a data augmentation that augments neural network training with cropped/truncated data and original full images and augmenting the dataset by overlaying different objects to control the trained occlusion amount of the person being imaged.
Yuille US 20240290075 A1 discloses a neural network for object detection in which at least part of the object is occluded including training images which are cropped. See [0056]-[0059].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL ROBERT CAMMARATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667