Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitations "the set of proximity sensors" in Line 8 and “the first coupling event” in Line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 18 recites “a motor” in third to last Line. It is not clear whether the claim is introducing a new motor or referring to the one already introduced in claim 17.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the hitch of the tow vehicle” in Line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 is rejected dues its dependency from claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 12, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aschaber et al. (WO 2018/210865 A1) hereinafter, Aschaber.
Regarding claim 1, Aschaber teaches a system for dynamic tow of a trailer (100) comprising:
" a kingpin (121) comprising:
o a head (131);
o a base (135):
- coupled to a proximal end of a trailer (Fig 1); and
- configured to transfer vertical loads from the trailer into a hitch (210) of a tow vehicle (200);
o a shank (133+134):
- interposed between the head and the base (Fig 6); and
- configured to transiently couple to the hitch of the tow vehicle (Fourth Para of Page 5);
o a first sensor (122 or 142 or 182-183) configured to output signals representing lateral forces applied to the kingpin by the hitch of the tow vehicle (Fig 5-6 and Fourth Para of Page 5); and
o a second sensor (122 or 140 or 180-181) configured to output signals representing longitudinal forces applied to the kingpin by the hitch of the tow vehicle (Fig 5-6, 9b and Fourth Para of Page 5, Second Para of Page 6); and
" a controller (125) configured to:
o at a first time (during acceleration):
- access a first signal from the first sensor representing a first lateral force applied to the kingpin;
- access a second signal from the second sensor representing a first longitudinal force applied to the kingpin (The values of the measured forces or measured strains can be forwarded by means of sensor signals to the control unit 125, Second Para of Page 4);
- calculate a first direction and a first magnitude of a first force (FA) applied to the kingpin by the hitch of the tow vehicle (Fig 11) based on the first signal and the second signal (The control unit 125 evaluates the incoming sensor signals of the sensor, Second Para of Page 4); and
- trigger a motor (124) arranged on a distal end of the trailer (Figure 1), opposite the kingpin, to output a first torque in the first direction of the first force and proportional to the first magnitude of the first force (The control unit 125 can control the electric motor 124 of the signals as a function of the sensor signals, Second Para of Page 4).
Regarding claim 7, Aschaber teaches that " wherein the head defines a first diameter (Fig 9b);
" wherein the shank defines a second diameter (133 portion of the shank) less than the first diameter (Fig 9b);
. wherein the base:
o defines a set of through-bores arranged radially about the shank (Fig 9b); and
o defines a third diameter greater than the first diameter of the head and the second diameter of the shank (Fig 9b); and
" further comprising a set of fasteners (190, 191, 192, 193 and 195, 196, 197, 198):
o configured to fasten the base of the kingpin to a floor of the trailer via the set of through-bores (Fig 9b); and
o comprising:
. a first sensor fastener (192, 193):" comprising the first sensor; and " arranged in a first through-bore, in the set of through-bores, laterally offset from the kingpin; and
. a second sensor fastener (190, 191):
" comprising the second sensor; and " arranged in a second through-bore, in the set of through-bores, longitudinally offset from the kingpin (Fig 9b).
Regarding claim 12, Aschaber teaches that " wherein the first sensor is configured to output the first signal comprising a first analog voltage (It is noted that the voltage is continuously variable as a function of the force applied) corresponding to the first lateral force applied to the kingpin (Second Para of Page 4);
" wherein the second sensor is configured to output the second signal comprising a second analog voltage (It is noted that the voltage is continuously variable as a function of the force applied) corresponding to the first longitudinal force applied to the kingpin; and
" wherein the controller is configured to calculate the first direction of the first force applied to the kingpin based on the first analog voltage and the second analog voltage (Second Para of Page 4).
Regarding claim 16, Aschaber teaches that the controller is further configured to, at a second time (during braking):
" access a third signal from the first sensor representing a second lateral force (FT) applied to the kingpin;
" access a fourth signal from the second sensor representing a second longitudinal force (FA) applied to the kingpin;
" calculate a second direction of the second force based on the third signal and the fourth signal; and
" in response to detecting the second direction of the second force opposite the first direction of the first force, trigger the motor to regeneratively brake the trailer (Last Para of Page 9 and Fig 12-13).
Regarding claim 20, ASchaber teaches a system for dynamic tow of a trailer (100) comprising:
" a kingpin (121) comprising:
o a head (131);
o a base (135) coupled to a proximal end of a trailer (Fig 1);
o a shank (133+134):
- interposed between the head and the base (Fig 6); and
- configured to transiently couple to the hitch of the tow vehicle (Fourth Para of Page 5);
o a set of sensors (122 or 140-142 or 180-183) configured to output a signal representing:
- lateral forces applied to the kingpin (Fig 5-6 and Fourth Para of Page 5); and
- longitudinal forces applied to the kingpin (Fig 5-6 and Fourth Para of Page 5); and
" a controller (125) configured to:
o access a signal from the set of sensors representing a first lateral force applied to the kingpin (Second Para of Page 4);
o calculate a first direction and a first magnitude of a first force applied to the kingpin by the hitch of the tow vehicle based on the signal (Second Para of Page 4); and
trigger a motor (124) arranged on a distal end of the trailer, opposite the kingpin, to output a first torque in the first direction of the first force and proportional to the first magnitude of the first force (Second Para of Page 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aschaber et al. (WO 2018/210865 A1) in view of Dai et al. (CN 204236621 U, hereinafter, Dai).
Regarding claim 14, Aschaber teaches the trailer comprising:
a floor (Fig 1);
a drive system comprising:
- a chassis (potion supporting the axles);
- a passive axle (111, 113) comprising a left passive wheel and a right passive wheel suspended from the chassis (Fig 1); and
- a driven axle (112) adjacent the passive axle, suspended from the chassis, and comprising: " a left driven wheel (Fig 1); and "a right driven wheel (not shown); and
- the motor:
" mounted to the chassis (Fig 1);
" coupled to the driven axle; and " configured to output torque to the left driven wheel and to the right driven wheel (Third Para of Page 4).
However, Aschaber does not teach that rails defining a first array of engagement features distributed along the rails and longitudinally offset by a pitch distance.
Dai teaches a trailer (1) comprising:
a left rail (left side of 3):
- coupled to the floor (Fig 3 Annotated);
- extending parallel to and laterally offset from a longitudinal centerline of the trailer (Fig 3 Annotated); and
- defining a first array of engagement features (41) distributed along the left rail and longitudinally offset by a pitch (P) distance;
a right rail:
- coupled to the floor (Fig 3 Annotated);
- extending parallel to and laterally offset from the longitudinal centerline of the trailer (Fig 3 Annotated); and
- defining a second array of engagement features (mirror of41) distributed along the right rail and longitudinally offset by the pitch (P) distance; and
- a set of latches (5) configured to transiently engage a subset of engagement features, in the first array of engagement features on the left rail and in the second array of engagement features in the right rail, to retain the chassis on a distal end of the trailer opposite the kingpin (Fig 2 Annotated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Aschaber’s system, with Dai’s structure, to help the two independent flat module to realize the parallel position of the shoulder by shoulder mechanical connection to fitting corresponding to the payload (Para [0012]).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Aschaber teaches a system for dynamic tow of a trailer (100) comprising:
" a kingpin (121) comprising:
o a head (131);
o a base (135):
- coupled to a proximal end of a trailer (Fig 1); and
- configured to transfer vertical loads from the trailer into a hitch (210) of a tow vehicle (200);
o a shank (133+134):
- interposed between the head and the base (Fig 6); and
- configured to transiently couple to the hitch of the tow vehicle (Fourth Para of Page 5);
o a first sensor (122 or 142) configured to output signals representing lateral forces applied to the kingpin by the hitch of the tow vehicle (Fig 5-6 and Fourth Para of Page 5); and
o a second sensor (122 or 140) configured to output signals representing longitudinal forces applied to the kingpin by the hitch of the tow vehicle (Fig 5-6 and Fourth Para of Page 5); and
the trailer comprising:
a floor (Fig 1);
a drive system comprising:
- a chassis (potion supporting the axles);
- a passive axle (111, 113) comprising a left passive wheel and a right passive wheel suspended from the chassis (Fig 1); and
- a driven axle (112) adjacent the passive axle, suspended from the chassis, and comprising: " a left driven wheel (Fig 1); and "a right driven wheel (not shown); and
- the motor:
" mounted to the chassis (Fig 1);
" coupled to the driven axle; and " configured to output torque to the left driven wheel and to the right driven wheel (Third Para of Page 4);
" a controller (125) configured to:
o at a first time (during acceleration):
- access a first signal from the first sensor representing a first lateral force applied to the kingpin;
- access a second signal from the second sensor representing a first longitudinal force applied to the kingpin (The values of the measured forces or measured strains can be forwarded by means of sensor signals to the control unit 125, Second Para of Page 4);
- calculate a first direction and a first magnitude of a first force (FA) applied to the kingpin by the hitch of the tow vehicle (Fig 11) based on the first signal and the second signal (The control unit 125 evaluates the incoming sensor signals of the sensor, Second Para of Page 4); and
- trigger a motor (124) arranged on a distal end of the trailer (Figure 1), opposite the kingpin, to output a first torque in the first direction of the first force and proportional to the first magnitude of the first force (The control unit 125 can control the electric motor 124 of the signals as a function of the sensor signals, Second Para of Page 4).
However, Aschaber does not teach that rails defining a first array of engagement features distributed along the rails and longitudinally offset by a pitch distance.
Dai teaches a trailer (1) comprising:
a left rail (left side of 3):
- coupled to the floor (Fig 3 Annotated);
- extending parallel to and laterally offset from a longitudinal centerline of the trailer (Fig 3 Annotated); and
- defining a first array of engagement features (41) distributed along the left rail and longitudinally offset by a pitch (P) distance;
a right rail:
- coupled to the floor (Fig 3 Annotated);
- extending parallel to and laterally offset from the longitudinal centerline of the trailer (Fig 3 Annotated); and
- defining a second array of engagement features (mirror of 41) distributed along the right rail and longitudinally offset by the pitch (P) distance; and
- a set of latches (5) configured to transiently engage a subset of engagement features, in the first array of engagement features on the left rail and in the second array of engagement features in the right rail, to retain the chassis on a distal end of the trailer opposite the kingpin (Fig 2 Annotated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Aschaber’s system, with Dai’s structure, to help the two independent flat module to realize the parallel position of the shoulder by shoulder mechanical connection to fitting corresponding to the payload (Para [0012]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-6, 8-11, 13, and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 2 recites that the first sensor comprises a first strain gauge: extending laterally across a front face of the kingpin. In contrast, Aschaber teaches that the first sensor extends longitudinally (Fig 6).
Claims 4 and 6 recite that the first sensor receptacle extending parallel to a lateral axis of the trailer. In contrast, Aschaber teaches that the first sensor extends perpendicular to the tailer’s lateral axis (Fig 6).
Claim 8 recites that the first sensor is arranged in a lateral position on the shank of the kingpin and is angularly offset from a lateral axis of the trailer by an offset angle. In contrast, Aschaber’s sensor is not angularly offset from the axis (Fig 6).
Claims 9 and 11 recite that the controller is further configured to: access a first identifier, broadcast by a first device, received by the wireless communication module responsive to the wireless interrogation signal; access a database of identifiers of approved devices; and in response to detecting the first identifier in the database: enter a tow mode or in response to detecting absence of the first identifier in the database: enter a hibernation mode. Bonisch (WO 20122/074223) teaches a sensor monitoring the coupling state between the tow vehicle and the kingpin and Jun (JP 2006-131044) teaches triggering the wireless communication module to transmit a wireless interrogation signal. However, none of their controllers configured to do the steps of claims 9 or 11.
Claim 13, recites an amplifier configured to: in response to detecting the first direction deviating from the second direction of the first force for a duration of time exceeding a threshold duration of time: trigger the motor to disable torque output; and activate a hibernation mode. Livne (US 2017/0179717) teaches an amplifier. However, it’s not configured to perform the functions of claim 13.
Claims 15 and 19 recite that the controller is configured to: in response to the total force falling below the target preload force, trigger the drive system to reduce torque output in the direction of motion of the trailer to decrease a first difference between the total force and the target preload force. None of Aschaber or Dai controllers configured to perform the functions of claims 15 and 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO-892 form teach systems for dynamic tow of trailers of interest.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611