DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant Election filled on 12/19/2025. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 9-14 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 15-20, in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XU et al (US 20210343544 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 4E of XU discloses a semiconductor structure comprising:
a plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors ([0034]), each of the plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors including:
a first source-drain region (81, [0031]) and a second source-drain region (84, [0031]);
a plurality of nanowire channels (42, [0026]) interconnecting the first source-drain region and the second source-drain region;
a common gate (93+94, [0033]), the common gate including an upper gate portion (topmost 93+94 portion) above the plurality of nanowire channels and a lower gate portion (below the topmost 93+94 portion) surrounding the plurality of nanowire channels; and
a unitary spacer structure (70, [0030]) including an upper spacer portion (topmost portion on the topmost 42) between the upper gate portion and the first and second source-drain regions (81/84) and a lower spacer portion (70 between the topmost 42 and the substrate 10) between the lower gate portion and the first and second source-drain regions (81/84), the upper spacer portion and the lower spacer portion having aligned left and right edges (based on the Figure 4E).
Regarding claim 2, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein: the lower gate portion has a lower gate portion width; the upper gate portion has an upper gate portion width; and the upper gate portion width is greater than the lower gate portion width (considering the width of the second 93+94 from the bottom having vertical thickness less than the thickness of the topmost 93+94 based on the Figure).
Regarding claim 3, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein: the lower spacer portion has a lower spacer width; the upper spacer portion has an upper spacer width; and the upper spacer width is less than the lower spacer width (70 having lower width at the topmost portion than a width at the bottom most portion based on the Figure).
Regarding claim 4, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 3, further comprising: a substrate (10); and a plurality of shallow trench isolation regions (20, [0022]) in the substrate: wherein the plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors are formed on the substrate between the plurality of shallow trench isolation regions.
Regarding claim 5, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 4, wherein the plurality of nanowire channels (42) is rounded in cross section (based on the Figure).
Regarding claim 6, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 5, further comprising insulators (80, [0030]) outward of the first source-drain (81) and the second source-drain region (84).
Regarding claim 7, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 6, wherein the lower spacer portion includes an underlying portion between the lower gate portion and the substrate (70 having a portion under the lowermost 42).
Regarding claim 8, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 7, wherein a first group of the plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors are n-type and a second group of the plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors are p-type ([0047], claim 15 of XU).
Regarding claim 15, Figure 4E of XU discloses a semiconductor structure comprising:
a plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors (Claim 15), each of the gate-all-around field effect transistors including:
a first source-drain region (81, [0031]) and a second source-drain region (84, [0031]);
a plurality of nanowire channels (42, [0026]) interconnecting the first source-drain region and the second source-drain region;
a common gate (93+94, [0033]), the common gate including an upper gate portion (top most 93+94 in Figure 4E) above the plurality of nanowire channels and a lower gate portion (93+94 below the topmost 42) surrounding the plurality of nanowire channels, the lower gate portion having a lower gate portion width, the upper gate portion having an upper gate portion width greater than the lower gate portion width (considering the width of the second 93+94 from the bottom having vertical thickness less than the thickness of the topmost 93+94 based on the Figure); and
a unitary spacer (70, [0030]) structure including an upper spacer between the upper gate portion and the first and second source-drain regions (81/84) and a lower spacer (portion of 70 below the topmost 42) between the lower gate portion and the first and second source-drain regions (81/84), the lower spacer having a lower spacer width, the upper spacer having an upper spacer width less than the lower spacer width (spacer 70 having a width at the bottom portion is greater than a width of a portion of 70 at the top).
Regarding claim 16, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 15, further comprising: a substrate (10, [0022]); and a plurality of shallow trench isolation regions (20, [0022]) in the substrate, wherein the plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors are formed on the substrate between the plurality of shallow trench isolation regions (20).
Regarding claim 17, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 16, wherein the plurality of nanowire channels (42, [0026]) is rounded in cross section.
Regarding claim 18, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 17, further comprising insulators (80, [0030]) outward of the first source-drain region and the second source-drain region.
Regarding claim 19, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 18, wherein the lower spacer includes an underlying portion (below the lowest 93+94) between the lower gate portion and the substrate (10).
Regarding claim 20, Figure 4E of XU discloses that the semiconductor structure of claim 19, wherein a first group of the plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors are n-type and a second group of the plurality of gate-all-around field effect transistors are p-type ([0034] and claim 15 of XU).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over XU et al (US 20210343544 A1) in view of TANG (CN 109755290 A). A machine English translation of TANG is provided with this office action.
Regarding claim 2, Figure 4E of XU does not explicitly teach that the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein: the lower gate portion has a lower gate portion width; the upper gate portion has an upper gate portion width; and the upper gate portion width is greater than the lower gate portion width.
However, TANG is a pertinent art which teaches a nanowire transistors wherein portions of gate electrode 3340 having less width than topmost portion in the Figure 25 in order to effectively enhances the control function of grid electrode (please see the background of TANG).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor structure of XU such that the lower gate portion has a lower gate portion width and the upper gate portion has an upper gate portion width, wherein the upper gate portion width is greater than the lower gate portion width according to the teaching of TANG in order to effectively enhances the control function of grid electrode (please see the background of TANG).
Examiner Notes
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KHAJA AHMAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813