DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species B in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-40 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 30, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. US 20200276792 A1 to Laluet et al. (hereinafter “Laluet”).
Regarding claim 1, Laluet teaches an insulated glass unit (laminated windshield 600; fig. 6) [0261] comprising:
a first tempered glass (internal glass 1’; fig. 6) [0140] & [0178] and a second tempered glass (external glass 1; fig. 6) [0140] & [0176], which are disposed to face each other (on opposite sides);
a transparent OLED module (area of OLED device 2a; fig. 6) [0256] provided between the first tempered glass (1’) and the second tempered glass (1) and including a transparent OLED panel (panel of OLEDs 2a and 2b; fig. 6) [0233] for displaying an image and a source printed circuit board (PCB) (see figs. 8 & 9 wherein the OLEDs 2a and 2b are present on a printed board, hereinafter “board”) provided with a driving circuit (microcontrollers 10a & 10b; fig. 9) [0276] for driving the transparent OLED panel (2);
a spacer (sheets 35; fig. 6) [0262] provided between an edge (edge closest to OLED 2) of the first tempered glass (1’) and an edge (edge closest to OLED 2) of the second tempered glass (1) and having a space (void 35a; fig. 6) [0257] between the first tempered glass (1’) and the second tempered glass (1);
and a cable (not labelled, but present in fig. 9 connecting the OLEDs and microcontrollers 10a, hereinafter “cable”) having one end electrically connected (fig. 9) to the source PCB (board) and another end exposed to the outside (portion on legged portion 73; fig. 9) [0275] by passing through (at least in one direction; see the discussion surrounding cables present between faces F2 and F3, these faces present in fig. 6 at least on either side of the OLEDs 2) [0086] & [0089] the spacer (35).
Regarding claim 2, Laluet teaches the insulated glass unit of claim 1, wherein the transparent OLED panel (2) is fixed to one surface of the first tempered glass (1’) by an optical adhesive layer.
Regarding claim 3, Laluet teaches the insulated glass unit of claim 1, wherein the transparent OLED panel (2) is provided with a plurality of pixels (at least two in 2a and 2b) that include a transmissive area (transparent substrate 20; fig. 5) [0236] and a light emission area (through electrode 23; fig. 5) [0253].
Regarding claim 4, Laluet teaches the insulated glass unit of claim 1, further comprising a UV light shielding film (masking layer 6; fig. 6) [0214] provided on one surface (surface of 6) of the second tempered glass (1), which faces the transparent OLED panel (2).
Regarding claim 5, Laluet teaches the insulated glass unit of claim 4, wherein the UV light shielding film (6) is spaced apart from the transparent OLED panel (2) and forms a gap space (space between 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 6, Laluet teaches the insulated glass unit of claim 4, wherein the UV light shielding film (6) overlaps with at least a portion of the transparent OLED panel (2).
Regarding claim 7, Laluet teaches the insulated glass unit of claim 1, further comprising:
a first printing layer (external sheet 33; fig. 6) [0243] provided on one surface of the first tempered glass (1’); and
a second printing layer (external sheet 34; fig. 6) [0243] provided on one surface of the second tempered glass (1), which faces the first tempered glass (1’),
wherein a printing area (area of 34 and 33 overlap) in which the first printing layer (33) and the second printing layer (34) overlap with the source PCB (board) and a portion of the cable (cable).
To further clarify, Laluet teaches cables which connect the OLEDs 2a and 2b to controllers 10a and 10b (see fig. 9), it is inherent that at least the cables would be present in fig. 6 to a degree which there would be some overlap between the cables and the printing layers because in order for the cables to reach the OLEDs, they would pass through the printing area. M.P.E.P. 2163.07 (a).
Regarding claim 8, Laluet teaches the insulated glass unit of claim 7, further comprising a UV light shielding film (masking layer 6; fig. 6) [0214] provided on one surface of the second tempered glass (1), wherein the UV light shielding film (6) does not overlap with the printing area.
Regarding claim 30, Laluet teaches a mobility system (system of windshield 1000 integrating other embodiments) [0176] comprising:
an insulated glass unit (IGU) (laminated windshield 600; fig. 6) [0261] installed in at least one window of a mobility (windshield 1000; fig. 1) [0176] and provided with a transparent OLED module (area of OLED device 2a; fig. 6) [0256] between a first tempered glass (internal glass 1’; fig. 6) [0140] & [0178] and a second tempered glass external glass 1; fig. 6) [0140] & [0176], which are disposed to face each other (are at least substantially parallel);
an OLED controller (microcontrollers 10a; fig. 9) [0276] connected to the transparent OLED module (2a) provided in the IGU, through a cable (cables present in fig. 9); and
a communication controller (device sending a control signal; fig. 9) [0107] receiving image data [0103]-[0110] and streaming the received image data to the OLED controller (10a) via a switch hub (inherent, see below).
Regarding the switch hub, Laluet teaches two modes of operation, a daytime and nighttime mode [0110]. Because of this, there is an inherent switch mechanism to switch between these two modes. M.P.E.P. 2112 IV. Furthermore, because the modes are applied through the microcontrollers [0109]-[0110], the switching mechanisms must be applied along this line of communication displayed in fig. 9.
Regarding claim 33, Laluet teaches the mobility system of claim 30, wherein the transparent OLED module includes: a transparent OLED panel (panel of OLEDs 2a and 2b; fig. 6) [0233] disposed in a transparent area of the IGU (central area); and a source PCB (see figs. 8 & 9 wherein the OLEDs 2a and 2b are present on a printed board, hereinafter “board”) disposed in a printing area (area of 34 and 33) of the IGU.
Regarding claim 34, Laluet teaches the mobility system of claim 33, wherein the IGU further includes: a spacer (sheets 35; fig. 6) [0262] provided along an edge (flanking the OLED 2a or 2b) between the first tempered glass (1’) and the second tempered glass (1); and a cable (not labelled, but present in fig. 9 connecting the OLEDs and microcontrollers 10a, hereinafter “cable”) having one end electrically connected to the source PCB (board) and the other end exposed to the outside (portion on legged portion 73; fig. 9) [0275] by passing through (at least in one direction; see the discussion surrounding cables present between faces F2 and F3, these faces present in fig. 6 at least on either side of the OLEDs 2) [0086] & [0089] the spacer (35).
Regarding claim 35, Laluet teaches the mobility system of claim 34, wherein the printing area (area of 33 and 34) overlaps with the source PCB (board) and a portion of the cable (cable).
To further clarify, Laluet teaches cables which connect the OLEDs 2a and 2b to controllers 10a and 10b (see fig. 9), it is inherent that at least the cables would be present in fig. 6 to a degree which there would be some overlap between the cables and the printing layers because in order for the cables to reaches the OLEDs, they would pass through the printing area. M.P.E.P. 2163.07 (a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-23, 25, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laluet in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. US 20190255813 A1 to Bauerle et al. (hereinafter “Bauerle”).
Regarding claim 20, Laluet does not teach the insulated glass unit of claim 1, further comprising: a first adhesive structure disposed between the first tempered glass and the source PCB; and a second adhesive structure disposed between the second tempered glass and the source PCB.
Bauerle, however, teaches an insulated glass unit (fig. 2) comprising: a first adhesive structure (81; fig. 2) [0268] disposed between the first tempered glass (glazing 1; fig. 2) [0252] and the source PCB (first printed circuit board wherein the devices 4 are attached; fig. 2) [0234]; and a second adhesive structure (83; fig. 2) [0263] disposed between the second tempered glass (1’; fig. 2) [0277] and the source PCB (printed circuit board).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the unit of Laluet to comprise adhesives between the printed circuit board and the tempered glass units to prevent water from entering the unit as taught by Bauerle [0266].
Regarding claim 21, Laluet in view of Bauerle, as presently modified, does not teach the insulated glass unit of claim 20, wherein one surface of the first adhesive structure, which faces the first tempered glass, is adhered to the first tempered glass, and another surface of the first adhesive structure, which faces the source PCB, is adhered to the source PCB to fix the source PCB to the first tempered glass.
Bauerle, however, teaches an insulated glass unit (fig. 2) wherein one surface of the first adhesive structure (81), which faces the first tempered glass (1), is adhered to the first tempered glass (1), and another surface of the first adhesive structure (81), which faces the source PCB (printed circuit board), is adhered to the source PCB (printed circuit board) to fix the source PCB to the first tempered glass (1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the unit of Laluet to comprise adhesives which adhere to the tempered glass and the PCB to prevent water from entering the unit as taught by Bauerle [0266].
Regarding claim 22, Laluet in view of Bauerle, as presently modified, does not teach the insulated glass unit of claim 20, wherein the first adhesive structure is a double-sided foam tape.
Bauerle, however, teaches an insulated glass unit (fig. 2) wherein the first adhesive structure (81) is a double-sided foam tape [0266].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the unit of Laluet in view of Bauerle to comprise a double-sided adhesive to prevent water from entering the unit as taught by Bauerle [0266].
Regarding claim 23, Laluet in view of Bauerle, as presently modified, does not teach the insulated glass unit of claim 20, wherein one surface of the second adhesive structure, which faces the second tempered glass, is adhered to the second tempered glass.
Bauerle, however, teaches an insulated glass unit (fig. 2) wherein one surface of the second adhesive structure (83), which faces the second tempered glass (1’), is adhered to the second tempered glass (1’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the unit of Laluet in view of Bauerle to comprise an adhesive contact with the second glass to prevent water from entering the unit as taught by Bauerle [0266].
Regarding claim 25, Laluet in view of Bauerle teaches the insulated glass unit of claim 20, wherein the source PCB (board) includes a connector (connecting wires in fig. 9) disposed on a surface facing the first tempered glass (1’) and connected with the cable (cable), and wherein the first adhesive structure (81 of Bauerle) is spaced apart (on an edge to seal it) from the connector of the source PCB (board).
Regarding claim 26, Laluet in view of Bauerle teaches the insulated glass unit of claim 20, wherein the source PCB (board) includes an active element (OLED 2a or 2b) [0233] disposed on a surface facing the first tempered glass (1’), and wherein the first adhesive structure (81 of Bauerle) is spaced apart (sealing the edge) from the active element of the source PCB (board).
Regarding claim 28, Laluet in view of Bauerle teaches the insulated glass unit of claim 20, wherein the second adhesive structure (Bauerle 83) is spaced apart from an edge of the source PCB (printed circuit board).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laluet as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Korean Pat. Pub. No. KR 20220065074 A, which is of record, to Anthony et al. (hereinafter “Anthony”).
Regarding claim 32, Laluet does not teach the mobility system of claim 30, wherein the communication controller receives the image data through wireless communication and transmits the image data through Ethernet communication.
Anthony, however, teaches a mobility system (device) [0127] wherein the communication controller (E-box 2006; fig. 20) [0145] receives the image data through wireless communication [0146] and transmits the image data through Ethernet communication [0143].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Laluet to comprise data reception and transmission through wireless communication and ethernet, respectively, to allow for multiple display configurations as in a video well as taught by Anthony [0143].
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laluet as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. US 20160349442 A1 to Berard et al. (hereinafter “Berard”).
Regarding claim 40, Laluet teaches the mobility system of claim 30, wherein the mobility includes a train or subway.
Berard, however, teaches a mobility system [0211] wherein the mobility includes a train or subway [0211].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the inventio to modify the mobility of Laluet to comprise a train or subway to allow for the formation of a “HUD” signal on a train or subway as taught by Berard [0211].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9-12, 13-19, 24, 27, 31, 36, 37, and 39 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding the allowable subject matter of claim 9, it is not found an insulated glass unit comprising a spacer which further comprises a plurality of holed through which the cable passes. The closest reference is CN 111619600 A which teaches a spacer with one hole through which a cable passes. A rejection of claim 9 would thus be untenable. Claims 10-12 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on an allowable claim. Claim 36 is allowable for the same reason as claim 9.
Regarding the allowable subject matter of claim 13, it is not found an insulated glass unit which comprises a heat emission structure between a first tempered glass and a COF. The closest reference is US 20130170115 A1 which teaches a heat emission structure within an insulated glass unit, but it is not positioned between a first tempered glass and a chip on film i.e., COF. Claims 14-19 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on an allowable claim. Claim 37 is allowable for the same reason as claim 13.
Regarding the allowable subject matter of claim 24, a modification of Laluet to meet the limitations of claim 24 would render Laluet in view of Bauerle unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. M.P.E.P. 2143.01 V. In specific, Bauerle teaches that the adhesives are double sided to seal the edges of the structure (see ¶ [0266]). Claim 38 is allowable for the same reason as claim 24. Claim 38 is allowable for the same reason as claim 24.
Regarding claim 27, it is not found a reference which reasonably teaches a source PCB boded to a COF in the context of claim 27.
Regarding the allowable subject matter of claim 31, it is not found a mobility system comprising a plurality of IGUs and OLED controllers in a one-to-one ratio. The references found comprises one insulated glass unit with a plurality of OLED controllers therein.
Regarding the allowable subject matter of claim 39, it is not found a mobility system comprising a light shield on a surface of the second tempered glass.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210202667 A1 to Kim et al. teaches an insulated glass display unit.
US 20210202670 A1 Koh et al. teaches an insulated glass display unit.
US 10390443 B2 to Kim et al. teaches an insulated glass display unit.
/ETHAN EDWARD CUTLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892