DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 9, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Chen fails to teach “wherein at least one predictor candidate of the set of predictor candidates is based on a temporal neighboring block that has been encoded” (Remarks of July 9, 2025, page 7). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen discloses elements of the merge mode as it relates to the claimed invention. Chen discloses that the merge mode consists of 5 candidates. Further, Chen discloses that in merge mode the candidates are derived from both spatial and temporal neighboring blocks (column 12 lines 32 - 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 10,681,370, hereafter Chen) in view of Zou et al (US 10,560,712, hereafter Zou).
As per claim 1, Chen discloses a method for video encoding, comprising:
accessing, for a block being encoded in a picture, a set of predictor candidates having multiple predictor candidates, wherein each predictor candidate of the set of predictor candidates corresponds to a least a neighboring block that has been encoded, wherein at least one predictor candidate of the set of predictor candidates is based on a temporal neighboring block that has been encoded (column 12 lines 46 – 51), and wherein said block is encoded in an affine merge mode (column 16 lines 26 – 27 and column 17 lines 5 - 11);
selecting a predictor candidate from the set of predictor candidates (column 24 lines 54 – column 25 lines 8);
obtaining, using a plurality of motion vectors associated with the selected predictor candidate from the set of predictor candidates, a set of control point motion vectors for the block (column 16 lines 26 – 27 and column 17 lines 5 - 11);
obtaining, based on the set of control point motion vectors, a motion field based on a motion model, wherein the motion field identifies motion vectors used for prediction of all sub-blocks of the block being encoded (column 16 lines 26 – 27 and column 17 lines 5 - 11);
encoding the block based on the motion field (column 16 lines 26 - 27).
However, Chen does not explicitly teach encoding an index for the selected predictor candidate from the set of predictor candidates.
In the same field of endeavor, Zou teaches encoding an index for the selected predictor candidate from the set of predictor candidates (column 23 lines 55 - 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen in view of Zou. The advantage is an improved affine merge mode.
As per claim 2, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the motion model is an affine model (column 16 lines 26 - 27).
As per claim 3, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the set of control point motion vectors for the block are stored separately from the motion vectors of the motion field for the block (column 15 lines 36 - 47).
As per claim 4, Chen discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the stored motion vectors of the motion field are for motion compensation of the block (column 15 lines 36 - 47).
As per claim 5, Chen discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: accessing a second set of control point motion vectors for the selected predictor candidate, wherein the second set of control point motion vectors are stored separately from motion vectors of all sub-blocks of the selected predictor candidate, wherein the set of control point motion vectors for the block are obtained responsive to the second set of control point motion vectors for the selected predictor candidate, and wherein the motion vectors of all sub-blocks of the selected predictor candidate are for motion compensation of the selected predictor candidate (column 15 lines 5 – column 16 lines 58).
Regarding claim 6, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487