DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Amendment filed May 21, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2-4 and 17-18 have been canceled. Claims 1, 6, 16 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1, 5-16 and 19-29 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1, 5-16 and 19-29 follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOON et al. (US. Pub. No. 2012/0202634) in view of NOH et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0190079) and PARK et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0321292) all of record.
With respect to claim 1, MOON teaches a display device, substantially as claimed including:
a substrate (110);
a display area (DA);
a non-display area (NDA) disposed around the display area;
a driver circuit area disposed in the non-display area;
a first transistor (320) disposed in the display area (DA), wherein the first transistor includes a first semiconductor layer (321), a first gate electrode (324), a first source electrode (322), and a first drain electrode (323);
a second transistor (340) disposed in the driver circuit area, wherein the second transistor includes a second semiconductor layer (341), a second gate electrode (344), a second source electrode (342), and a second drain electrode (344); and
a first insulating film (113) disposed between the second gate electrode (344) and the second source electrode (342) and between the second gate electrode and the second drain electrode (344);
an anode electrode (410) electrically connected to the first drain electrode (323);
a light-blocking layer (142) overlapping the first semiconductor layer (321); and
a second insulating film (114a) disposed between the light-blocking layer (142) and the first semiconductor layer (321), wherein the light-blocking layer (142) is disposed on the first insulating film (112), and
wherein the light-blocking layer (142), the second source electrode (342), and the second drain electrode (343) are disposed on a same layer, and the light-blocking layer (142) is made of a same material as each of the second source electrode (342) and the second drain electrode (343) and includes titanium,
wherein the first insulating film (113) has a first area defined in the first insulating film (113), and
wherein the light-blocking layer (142) is disposed in the first area,
wherein the second insulating film (114) has a second area defined in the second insulating film (114), and the second area vertically overlaps the first area, and
wherein the first semiconductor layer (113) is only disposed in the second area so that the light-blocking layer (142) disposed in the first area surrounds lower surface of the first semiconductor layer (321). (See FIGs. 1, 3).
Thus, MOON is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing a dam area disposed in the non-display area; and first area being a first recess and the second area being a second recesses.
However, NOH teaches a display device including:
a first insulating film (113) disposed between a second gate electrode (124) and second source electrode (122) and between the second gate electrode (124) and second drain electrode (123);
a second insulating film (114a) disposed between light-blocking layer (310) and first semiconductor layer (131a), wherein the light-blocking layer (310) is disposed on the first insulating film (113), and
wherein the light-blocking layer (310), the second source electrode (122), and the second drain electrode (123) are disposed on a same layer (111), and the light-blocking layer (310) is made of a same material as each of the second source electrode (122) and the second drain electrode (123) and includes titanium,
wherein the first insulating film (113) has a first recess defined in first area of the first insulating film (113), and
wherein the light-blocking layer (310) is disposed in the first recess,
wherein the second insulating film (114a) has a second recess defined in second area of the second insulating film, and the second recess vertically overlaps the first recess, and
wherein the first semiconductor layer (113) is only disposed in the second recess so that the light-blocking layer (310) disposed in the first recess surrounds lower and side surfaces of the first semiconductor layer (131a). (See FIG. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the second area of the second insulating film of MOON having the second recess and the first area of the first insulating film having the first recess as taught by NOH so that the light-blocking layer being disposed in the first recess would block light from interring the first semiconductor layer from the lower and sides surfaces.
Further, although MOON or NOH does not explicitly show “a dam area disposed in the non-display area”, however, this is a well-known component of a display device.
However, PARK teaches a display device including:
a substrate (110);
a display area (DA);
a non-display area (NA) disposed around the display area;
a driver circuit area (DCR) and a dam area (DM) disposed in the non-display area (NA). (See FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the display device of MOON having the dam area disposed in the non-display area as taught by PARK to prevent the encapsulation from running off the edge of the display device.
With respect to claim 5, the first drain electrode (323) of MOON is connected to the first semiconductor layer (321) and the light-blocking layer (142).
With respect to claim 6, the display device of MOON further comprises a third transistor (320) disposed in the display area (DA), and wherein the third transistor includes a third semiconductor layer (321), a third gate electrode (324), a third source electrode (322), and a third drain electrode (323). (See FIG. 3).
With respect to claim 7, the third semiconductor layer (321) of MOON is disposed on the first insulating film (113).
With respect to claim 8, in view of NOH, a thickness of a portion of the first insulating film (113) overlapping the third semiconductor layer (121) is larger than a thickness of a portion of the first insulating film (113) overlapping the first semiconductor layer (131a). (See FIG. 6).
With respect to claim 9, the third semiconductor layer (321) of MOON is disposed at a higher vertical level than a vertical level of the first semiconductor layer (351), with respect to the substrate. (See FIG. 3).
With respect to claim 10, each of the first semiconductor layer (351) and the third semiconductor layer (321) of MOON is made of an oxide semiconductor, and the second semiconductor layer (361) is made of a polycrystalline silicon semiconductor.
With respect to claim 11, the display device of MOON further comprises a storage capacitor (140) disposed in the display area (DA), and wherein the storage capacitor (140) is composed of a first capacitor electrode and a second capacitor electrode.
With respect to claim 14, the display device of MOON further comprises a light-emitting layer (420) disposed on the anode electrode (410), and a cathode electrode (430) disposed on the light-emitting layer (420).
With respect to claim 15, in view of PARK, the display device further comprises a first connection line (SL) disposed on the second transistor (TRd), and wherein the first connection line (SL) is electrically connected to the cathode electrode (E2) in the dam area (DM).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOON ‘634 NOH ‘079 and PARK ‘292 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of KIM et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0020717) of record.
With respect to claim 12, MOON, in view of NOH and PARK, teaches the display device as disclosed in claim 11 above including the second gate electrode (344) and the first insulating film (113), and wherein the first capacitor electrode is disposed on the first insulating film (113).
Thus, MOON, NOH and PARK are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing a first interlayer insulating film being disposed between the second gate electrode and the first insulating film.
However, KIM teaches a display device including:
a first interlayer insulating film (260) is disposed between second gate electrode (510_3) and first insulating film (280), and
wherein first capacitor electrode (360_3) is disposed on the first interlayer insulating film (260). (See FIG. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the display device of MOON, in view of NOH and PARK, including the first interlayer insulating film being disposed between the second gate electrode and first insulating film as taught by KIM to isolate the second gate electrode from the second source and drain electrode.
With respect to claim 13, the second capacitor electrode (141) and the second gate electrode (344) of MOON are made of a same material and are disposed on a same layer.
Claims 16 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOON ‘634 in view of NOH ‘079.
With respect to claim 16, MOON teaches a display device, substantially as claimed including:
a substrate (110);
a display area (DA);
a non-display area (NDA) disposed around the display area (DA);
a first insulating film (113) disposed on the substrate;
a first transistor (320) disposed in the display area (DA) and on the first insulating film (113), wherein the first transistor (320) includes a first semiconductor layer (321), a first gate electrode (324), a first source electrode (322), and a first drain electrode (323);
an anode electrode (410) electrically connected to the first drain electrode (323);
a light-emitting layer (420) disposed on the anode electrode (410);
a cathode electrode (430) disposed on the light-emitting layer (420);
a light-blocking layer (142) disposed on the first insulating film (113); and
a second insulating film (114) disposed between the light-blocking layer (142) and the first semiconductor layer (321),
wherein the first insulating film (113) has a first area (recess) defined in the first insulating film (113), and
wherein the light-blocking layer (142) is disposed in the first area (recess) and includes titanium,
wherein the second insulating film (114) has a second area (recess) defined in the second insulating film (114), and the second area (recess) vertically overlaps the first area (recess), and
wherein the first semiconductor layer (321) is only disposed in the second area (recess) so that the light- blocking layer (142) disposed in the first area (recess) surrounds lower (and side surface (s) of the first semiconductor layer (321). (See FIGs. 1, 3).
Thus, MOON is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the first area being a first recess and the second area being a second recesses.
However, NOH teaches a display device including:
a light-blocking layer (310) disposed on first insulating film (113); and
a second insulating film (114a) disposed between the light-blocking layer (310) and a first semiconductor layer (131a),
wherein the first insulating film (113) has a first recess defined in the first insulating film (113), and
wherein the light-blocking layer (310) is disposed in the first recess and includes titanium,
wherein the second insulating film (114a) has a second recess defined in the second insulating film (114a), and the second recess vertically overlaps the first recess, and
wherein the first semiconductor layer (131a) is only disposed in the second recess so that the light- blocking layer (310) disposed in the first recess surrounds lower and side surfaces of the first semiconductor layer (131a). (See FIG. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the first area of the first insulating film of MOON being the first recess and the second area of the second insulating film being the second recess as taught by NOH so that the light-blocking layer being disposed in the first recess would block light from interring the first semiconductor layer from the lower and sides surfaces.
With respect to claim 19, the first drain electrode (324) of MOON is connected to the first semiconductor layer (321) and the light-blocking layer (142).
With respect to claim 20, the display device of MOON further comprises a second transistor (310) disposed in the display area (DA), and
wherein the second transistor (310) includes a second semiconductor layer (311), a second gate electrode (312), a second source electrode (312) and a second drain electrode (313).
With respect to claim 21, the second semiconductor layer (321) of MOON is disposed on the second insulating film (114). (See FIG. 3).
With respect to claim 22, in view of NOH, a thickness of a portion of the first insulating film (113) overlapping the second semiconductor layer (121) is larger than a thickness of a portion of the first insulating film (113) overlapping the first semiconductor layer (131a).
With respect to claim 23, the second semiconductor layer (321) of MOON is disposed at a higher vertical level than a vertical level of the first semiconductor layer (351), with respect to the substrate (110). (See FIG. 3).
Claims 24-26 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOON ‘634 and NOH ‘079 as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of PARK ‘292.
With respect to claim 24, MOON, in view of NOH, teaches the display device as disclosed in claim 20 above including: a driver circuit area (NDA) disposed in the non-display area (NDA),
wherein the display device further comprises a third transistor (360) disposed in the driver circuit area, and wherein the third transistor (360) includes a third semiconductor layer (361), a third gate electrode (364), a third source electrode (362), and a third drain electrode (363). (See FIG. 3).
Thus, MOON and NOH are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing a dam area disposed in the non-display area.
However, PARK teaches the display device including:
a driver circuit area (DCR) and a dam area (DM) disposed in the non-display area (NA). (See FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the display device of MOON, in view of NOH, further includes the dam area disposed in the non-display area as taught by PARK to prevent the encapsulation from running off the edge of the display device.
With respect to claim 25, each of the first semiconductor layer (351) and the second semiconductor layer (321) of MOON is made of an oxide semiconductor, and the third semiconductor layer (361) is made of a polycrystalline silicon semiconductor.
With respect to claim 26, the display device of MOON further comprises a storage capacitor (140) disposed in the display area (DA), and wherein the storage capacitor (140) is composed of a first capacitor electrode and a second capacitor electrode.
With respect to claim 28, the second capacitor electrode (141) and the third gate electrode (344) of MOON are disposed on a same layer.
With respect to claim 29, in view of PARK, the display device further comprises a first connection line (SL) disposed on the third transistor (TRd), and
wherein the first connection line (SL) is electrically connected to the cathode electrode (E2) in the dam area (DM). (See FIG. 4).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOON ‘634, NOH ‘079 and PARK ‘292 as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of KIM ‘717.
MOON, in view of NOH and PARK, teaches the display device as disclosed in claim 26 above including the third gate electrode (344) and the first insulating film (113).
Thus, MOON, NOH and PARK are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing a first interlayer insulating film being disposed between the second gate electrode and the first insulating film.
However, KIM teaches a display device including:
a first interlayer insulating film (260) is disposed between second gate electrode (230) and first insulating film (280), and
wherein first capacitor electrode (360-3) is disposed on the first interlayer insulating film (280). (See FIG. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the display device of MOON, in view of NOH and PARK, including the first interlayer insulating film being disposed between the second gate electrode and first insulating film as taught by KIM to isolate the second gate electrode from the second source and drain electrode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH D MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893