Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 now recites the limitation "each of the plurality of the first insulating enclosures". The claim has previously only recited a plurality. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was mean to recite “each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures” or similar and has examined accordingly. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim 5 now recites the limitation "wherein the each of the plurality of the first insulating enclosures". The claim has previously only recited a plurality. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was mean to recite “wherein each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures” or similar and has examined accordingly. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim 9 now recites the limitation "each of the plurality of the first insulating enclosures" (multiple recitations). The claim has previously only recited a plurality. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was mean to recite “each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures” or similar and has examined accordingly. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "each of the plurality of the first insulating enclosures". The claim has previously only recited “a” plurality. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was mean to recite “each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures” or similar and has examined accordingly. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim 16 now recites the limitation "each of the plurality of the first insulating enclosures". The claim has previously only recited a plurality. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was mean to recite “each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures” or similar and has examined accordingly. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-15 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0094997 to Yamazawa et al. (Yamazawa ‘997 hereafter) in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,409,933 to Holland et al. and U.S. Patent No. 5,525,159 to Hama et al.
Regarding claim 1: Yamazawa ‘997 discloses a substrate processing apparatus substantially as claimed and comprising: a process chamber (e.g., Fig. 1, 10); and a plasma generator (multiple structures) on the process chamber, wherein the plasma generator comprises: an inner antenna ring (e.g., Fig. 6, 62(1)); an outer antenna ring (62(3)) outside of and spaced apart from the inner antenna ring; and a floating ring (64(2)) between (e.g., diametrically) the inner antenna ring and the outer antenna ring, and wherein the floating ring is electrically isolated from the inner antenna ring and the outer antenna ring (by an appropriate separation distance (see, e.g. 63).
However, while Yamazawa ‘997 do teach temperature control of the inner antenna ring, outer antenna ring and floating ring in the plasma generator (see, e.g., paras. 133-134), Yamazawa ‘997 fails to disclose a plurality of first insulating enclosures spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the floating ring, wherein the floating ring extends through each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of first insulating enclosures, wherein each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures contacts the floating ring, supports the floating ring, and circumscribes a radial thickness of the floating ring at a respective circumferential position.
In a similar substrate processing apparatus with a plasma generator on a process chamber, Holland et al. disclose providing a plurality of first enclosures spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of a ring, wherein the ring extends through each first enclosure of the plurality of first enclosures, wherein each first enclosure of the plurality of enclosures contacts ring, supports the floating ring, and circumscribes a radial thickness of the ring at a respective circumferential position. The plurality of enclosures are provided as insulators (see, e.g., Fig. 17 and column 12, rows 8-9).
Also Hama et al. teach providing an antenna ring (Fig. 1, 106) located proximate a dielectric window (14) in a plasma generator with an intervening insulating member (104) contacting the antenna ring and supporting the antenna ring, wherein the floating ring does not contact any material other than the first insulating member, wherein the antenna ring penetrates the first insulating member, and wherein the first insulating member encloses a portion of the floating ring for the purposes of limiting heat expansion of the antenna ring and protecting a dielectric plate from heat without adding any undesirable effect to the formation of plasma (see, e.g., column 6, rows 27-40 and column 7, rows 65 through column 8, row 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Yamazawa ‘997 a plasma generator arrangement wherein a plurality of first insulating enclosures are spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the floating ring, wherein the floating ring extends through each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of first insulating enclosures, wherein each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures contacts the floating ring, supports the floating ring, and circumscribes a radial thickness of the floating ring at a respective circumferential position in order to insulate the floating ring, limit heat expansion of the floating ring and protect a dielectric plate from heat without adding any undesirable effect to the formation of plasma taught by Holland et al. and Hama et al.
With respect to claim 2, in modified Yamazawa ‘997, Holland et al. discloses the floating ring does not physically contact any other structural material other than the plurality of first insulating enclosures.
With respect to claim 8, in modified Yamazawa ‘997, Yamazawa ‘997 teach a radius of the floating ring may be in a range of 90mm to 155mm (see, e.g., para. 95).
Regarding claim 9: Yamazawa ‘997 discloses a substrate processing apparatus substantially as claimed and comprising: a process chamber (e.g., Fig. 1, 10); and a plasma generator (multiple structures) on the process chamber, wherein the plasma generator comprises: an inner antenna ring (e.g., Fig. 6, 62(1); an outer antenna ring 62(3) outside of the inner antenna ring; a floating ring 64(2) between (e.g., diametrically) and electrically isolated from the inner antenna ring and the outer antenna ring; a first power delivery line (60#1) connected to the inner antenna and configured to deliver a first RF power to the inner antenna ring; and a second power delivery line (60#3) connected to the outer antenna and configured to deliver a second RF power to the outer antenna ring, wherein the floating ring has a continuous (i.e. “endless”) ring shape (see, e.g., para. 64).
However, Yamazawa ‘997 fail to explicitly disclose the first power delivery line and the second power delivery line as power delivery rods.
Elsewhere in Yamazawa ‘997, the use of power delivery rods is taught as a means for providing power to other apparatus structures (see, e.g., para. 56). Additionally, the courts have ruled an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have used power delivery rods in place of the power delivery lines in order to equivalently provide power to the inner antenna ring and the outer antenna ring as taught by Yamazawa ‘997.
Further, while Yamazawa ‘997 do teach temperature control of the inner antenna ring, outer antenna ring and floating ring in the plasma generator (see, e.g., paras. 133-134), Yamazawa ‘997 fails to disclose a plurality of first insulating enclosures spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the floating ring, wherein the floating ring extends through each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of first insulating enclosures, wherein each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures contacts the floating ring, supports the floating ring, and circumscribes a radial thickness of the floating ring at a respective circumferential position.
In a similar substrate processing apparatus with a plasma generator on a process chamber, Holland et al. disclose providing a plurality of first enclosures spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of a ring, wherein the ring extends through each first enclosure of the plurality of first enclosures, wherein each first enclosure of the plurality of enclosures contacts ring, supports the floating ring, and circumscribes a radial thickness of the ring at a respective circumferential position. The plurality of enclosures are provided as insulators (see, e.g., Fig. 17 and column 12, rows 8-9).
Also Hama et al. teach providing an antenna ring (Fig. 1, 106) located proximate a dielectric window (14) in a plasma generator with an intervening insulating member (104) contacting the antenna ring and supporting the antenna ring, wherein the floating ring does not contact any material other than the first insulating member, wherein the antenna ring penetrates the first insulating member, and wherein the first insulating member encloses a portion of the floating ring for the purposes of limiting heat expansion of the antenna ring and protecting a dielectric plate from heat without adding any undesirable effect to the formation of plasma (see, e.g., column 6, rows 27-40 and column 7, rows 65 through column 8, row 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Yamazawa ‘997 a plasma generator arrangement wherein a plurality of first insulating enclosures are spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the floating ring, wherein the floating ring extends through each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of first insulating enclosures, wherein each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures contacts the floating ring, supports the floating ring, and circumscribes a radial thickness of the floating ring at a respective circumferential position in order to insulate the floating ring, limit heat expansion of the floating ring and protect a dielectric plate from heat without adding any undesirable effect to the formation of plasma taught by Holland et al. and Hama et al.
With respect to claim 10, in modified Yamazawa ‘997, the floating ring does not contact any conductive material, rather it only touches a first insulating enclosure
With respect to claim 12, in modified Yamazawa ‘997, Yamazawa ‘997 discloses the plasma generator further comprises: a second insulating enclosure (inner portion of 66) contacting and supporting the inner antenna ring; and a third insulating enclosure (outer portion of 66) contacting and supporting the outer antenna ring.
With respect to claim 13, in modified Yamazawa ‘997, each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of first insulating enclosures extends in a radial direction and is connected to the second insulating enclosure and the third insulating enclosure via 66 and outer walls of the antenna chamber.
With respect to claim 14, in modified Yamazawa ‘997, Yamazawa ‘997 discloses the floating ring and the inner antenna ring are spaced apart (e.g., vertically) by a distance less than or equal to 30mm (see, e.g., para. 96).
With respect to claim 15, in modified Yamazawa ‘997, Yamazawa ‘997 discloses a radius of the inner antenna ring may be in a range of 75mm to 100mm, and wherein a radius of the outer antenna ring is in a range of 160mm to 250mm (see, e.g., para. 95).
Regarding claims 16-17: Yamazawa ‘997 discloses a substrate processing apparatus substantially as claimed and comprising: a process chamber (e.g., Fig. 1, 10); and a plasma generator (multiple structures) on the process chamber, wherein the plasma generator comprises: an inner antenna ring (e.g., Fig. 6, 62(1)) centered on a first axis (e.g., center vertical concentric axis of rings) extending in a first direction; an outer antenna ring (62(3)) outside of the inner antenna ring and centered on a second axis (e.g., center vertical concentric axis of rings) extending in the first direction; and a floating ring (64(2)) between (e.g., diametrically) the inner antenna ring and the outer antenna ring and centered on a third axis (e.g., center vertical concentric axis), and wherein the floating ring comprises a revolving body (i.e. floating ring itself) centered on the third axis (see, e.g., paras. 128-130). As detailed above, each of the first, second and third axis coincide with one another as they are disclosed as concentric (see, e.g., para. 63).
However, while Yamazawa ‘997 do teach temperature control of the inner antenna ring, outer antenna ring and floating ring in the plasma generator (see, e.g., paras. 133-134), Yamazawa ‘997 fails to disclose a plurality of first insulating enclosures spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the floating ring, wherein the floating ring extends through each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of first insulating enclosures, wherein each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures contacts the floating ring, supports the floating ring, and circumscribes a radial thickness of the floating ring at a respective circumferential position.
In a similar substrate processing apparatus with a plasma generator on a process chamber, Holland et al. disclose providing a plurality of first enclosures spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of a ring, wherein the ring extends through each first enclosure of the plurality of first enclosures, wherein each first enclosure of the plurality of enclosures contacts ring, supports the floating ring, and circumscribes a radial thickness of the ring at a respective circumferential position. The plurality of enclosures are provided as insulators (see, e.g., Fig. 17 and column 12, rows 8-9).
Also Hama et al. teach providing an antenna ring (Fig. 1, 106) located proximate a dielectric window (14) in a plasma generator with an intervening insulating member (104) contacting the antenna ring and supporting the antenna ring, wherein the floating ring does not contact any material other than the first insulating member, wherein the antenna ring penetrates the first insulating member, and wherein the first insulating member encloses a portion of the floating ring for the purposes of limiting heat expansion of the antenna ring and protecting a dielectric plate from heat without adding any undesirable effect to the formation of plasma (see, e.g., column 6, rows 27-40 and column 7, rows 65 through column 8, row 8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Yamazawa ‘997 a plasma generator arrangement wherein a plurality of first insulating enclosures are spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the floating ring, wherein the floating ring extends through each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of first insulating enclosures, wherein each first insulating enclosure of the plurality of insulating enclosures contacts the floating ring, supports the floating ring, and circumscribes a radial thickness of the floating ring at a respective circumferential position in order to insulate the floating ring, limit heat expansion of the floating ring and protect a dielectric plate from heat without adding any undesirable effect to the formation of plasma taught by Holland et al. and Hama et al.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yamazawa ‘997 as applied to claims 1-2, 8-15 and 16-17 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0047235 to Sun et al.
Regarding claim 5, modified Yamazawa ‘997 discloses the apparatus substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, while modified Yamazawa ‘997 do teach temperature control of the inner antenna ring, outer antenna ring and floating ring in the plasma generator (see, e.g., paras. 133-134) and the floating comprises copper (see, e.g., para. 65). Modified Yamazawa ‘997 fail to disclose the plurality of first insulating enclosures comprise polyether ether ketone.
Sun et al. disclose an antenna ring (Fig. 2, 170) located proximate a dielectric window (130) in a plasma generator with an intervening insulating member (150) that comprises polyether ether ketone between an antenna ring and a dielectric window for the purpose of isolating the antenna ring from plasma reaction and preventing or suppressing heat from being leaked to outside a dielectric window (see, e.g., paras. 44-45 and 50).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Yamazawa ‘997 the intervening plurality of first insulating enclosures comprising polyether ether ketone in order to isolate the floating ring from plasma reaction and prevent or suppress heat from being leaked to outside the dielectric window as taught by Sun et al.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yamazawa ‘997 as applied to claims 1-2, 8-15 and 16-17 above and as further set forth below.
Regarding claims 6 and 19-20, modified Yamazawa ‘997 disclose the apparatus substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Yamazawa ‘997 fail to explicitly disclose the first power delivery line and the second power delivery line as power delivery rods.
Elsewhere in Yamazawa ‘997, the use of power delivery rods is taught as a means for providing power to other apparatus structures (see, e.g., para. 56). Additionally, the courts have ruled an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have used power delivery rods in place of the power delivery lines in order to equivalently provide power to the inner antenna ring and the outer antenna ring as taught by Yamazawa ‘997.
With respect to claim 7, Yamazawa ‘997 disclose the first power delivery line and the second power delivery line extend upward from the inner antenna ring and the outer antenna ring, respectively, in an upward direction. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense and logic to have provided the equivalent first power delivery rod and second power delivery rod also extending upwardly.
With respect to claim 18, Yamazawa ‘997 fail to explicitly disclose a plurality of inner antenna rings and a plurality of outer antenna rings. However, this is considered a duplication of parts and the courts have ruled that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP Pub. 2011/0104902 discloses an apparatus comprising a plasma generator comprising inner and outer rings and a floating ring.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716