Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species A (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 2/20/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi (JP 2017-28111 A) in view of Benjaminson (WO 2020/55565 A1 or English equivalent US 11049755 B2) or Chen (2014/0302256) or park (2014/0373782).
Regarding claims 1-6: Hitachi describes the following features: "a plasma processing apparatus 100 includes a vacuum vessel 20 having there inside a processing chamber 33, the interior of which is decompressed to a predetermined degree of vacuum suitable for a process and a sample stage 101 having a cylindrical shape such that a sample W (in this example, a semiconductor wafer) can be mounted above a circular upper surface thereof is disposed in a lower portion inside the processing chamber 33, and a gas introduction pipe 34 having an opening through which a process gas 35 for performing an etching process is introduced into the processing chamber 33 is disposed at an upper portion of the processing chamber 33 above the sample stage" (Fig. 1, paragraphs [0020] and [0021]);
"the sample stage 101 is provided with: a metal electrode block 1 (corresponding to the 'electrode portion') having there inside a coolant passage 11 (Fig. 1), and having at the central part a projecting portion with an upwardly elevated upper surface and a recessed portion with a lowered outer circumference;
a heat generation layer 5 (Fig. 5-8) (corresponding to the 'electrical circuit') forming a plurality of film layers disposed above the upper surface of the projecting portion of the electrode block 1 so as to cover the upper surface;
a shield layer 6 (corresponding to the 'shield member' and the 'top member'); a conductive layer 7 (corresponding to the 'shield member' and the 'side wall member');
an insulating layer 8; and
an electrostatic adsorption layer 4" (paragraph [0035]);
"high-frequency power is supplied from a high-frequency power source 21 that is electrically connected to the electrode block 1 and which outputs power having a predetermined frequency" (paragraph [0030]);
"a heater having a metal film is used in the heat generation layer 5" (paragraph [0036]);
"the shield layer 6, which is an electrically conductive film layer, is disposed above the heat generation layer 5 and between the heat generation layer 5 and the electrostatic adsorption layer 4, which is made of a dielectric and forms a mounting surface on which the sample W is mounted. As the shield layer 6, the electrically conductive film layer may be formed through thermal spraying or plating, or alternatively, a member made of a metal, such as aluminum or molybdenum, and having a disk shape may be used instead of the film member....The conductive layer 7, which is formed from an electrically conductive member disposed in a ring shape on the upper surface of the projecting portion of the electrode block 1 is disposed so as to surround the outer side of the outer circumferential edge of the heat generation layer 5, and the shield layer 6 is joined at an outer circumferential portion thereof to the metal electrode block 1 in a disk shape or a cylindrical shape, with the conductive layer 7 therebetween.
The heat generation layer 5 is enclosed by the shield layer 6 and the conductive layer 7" (paragraphs [0037]-[0039]); and
"the heat generation layer 5 is covered with and thus is included in the shield layer 6 and the conductive layer 7, whereby electric current (high-frequency current 25) of high frequency power for generating a bias potential supplied to the electrode block 1 is inhibited from flowing into a heater feed line 22. That is, because the high-frequency current 25 flows through the surface of a conductor due to skin effect, in the present embodiment, the upper surface and the outer circumferential end portion of the heat generation layer 5 are covered with the shield layer 6, which is made of an electrically conductive material and has a thickness greater than the depth of the surface through which the high-frequency current 25 flows, so that the heat generation layer 5 is enclosed and included therein, whereby the high-frequency current 25 is inhibited from flowing into the heat generation layer 5" (paragraph [0044]).
Hitachi does not explicitly disclose the electric circuit and the shield components are embedded within the dielectric portion.
Benjaminson (paragraphs [0041]-[0053], and fig. 4) describes a feature in which an electrode 435, a heater 450, and a shield 460 are embedded in a top puck 425, which is a dielectric.
Chen [0024] discloses various embodiments in which a substrate support pedestal may include a tuning electrode 112 (such as a conductive mesh) providing a primary path to ground for RF energy. The tuning electrode may be coupled to an RF tuner to present a lower impedance path and thereby prevent RF leakage into other components within the substrate support pedestal. Chen [0027] further discloses a high frequency RF power source 126 and a low frequency RF power source 127 provide electromagnetic energy through a match circuit 129 to power the gas distribution manifold 118, which acts as an RF powered electrode, to facilitate generation of a plasma within the process volume 106 between the gas distribution manifold 118 and the pedestal 108. The pedestal 108 includes a tuning electrode 112, which is electrically grounded through an RF rod 122, such that an electric field is generated in the chamber 100 between the powered gas distribution manifold 118 and the tuning electrode 112. In one embodiment, the tuning electrode 112 comprises a conductive mesh, such as a tungsten or molybdenum containing mesh that is disposed within the dielectric material that is used to form the pedestal 108. In one configuration, the pedestal 108 includes a ceramic material, such as aluminum nitride (AlN), silicon nitride (SiN), silicon carbide (SiC) or the like.
Park [0039] discloses a ground electrode 30 (31 and 32) includes the first ground electrode 31 having a shape corresponding to that of the substrate S and the second ground electrode 32 disposed in an outer side of the first ground electrode 31. Also, the ground electrode 30 may be manufactured in a shape of a thin plate, a thin sheet or a film (a thin film or a thick film). Also, the ground electrode 30 may be applied in various manners. For example, the ground electrode 30 may be disposed on an inner surface of the substrate support 20 via a screen printing method. The ground electrode 30 may have a structure in which a predetermined area is filled with the ground electrode or may have a structure in which a plurality of openings is defined. Also, the ground electrode 30 may be formed of an electrically conductive material including metal, for example, tungsten (W), aluminum, molybdenum, copper, SUS, silver, gold, platinum, nickel, and the like. Of course, it is sufficient if a ground power is smoothly applied through the ground electrode, and the ground electrode is not specially limited to a shape or a structure, a material thereof. Park [0047] further discloses an exemplary embodiment, the plurality of ground electrodes 31 and 32 are disposed in the substrate support 20 to independently control the impedance of the edge area of the substrate support.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have embedded the heat generation layer 5, the shield layer 6, the conductive layer 7, and the electrostatic adsorption layer 4 of Hitachi in a dielectric portion to form an integral unit as taught by Benjaminson, Chen or Park.
It is noted that being separate or integral serving the same purpose would be obvious. According to in re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (MPEP 2144.04 V.C making separable), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to integrate parts into the dielectric portion as taught by Benjaminson, Chen or Park in order to obtain a unitary structure (Also see MPEP 2144.04 V.B making integral).
Mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Further regarding claim 4: Benjaminson (paragraph [0051]) describes a feature in which the shield 460 is formed from tungsten. Chen and Park as discussed above also disclose tungsten as an obvious choice for the shield. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the shield layer 6 in Hitachi from tungsten.
An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Regarding claims 7-10: Hitachi (paragraph [0038]) describes the following points: "The conductive layer 7 may be a coated electrically conductive adhesive, or may be a film formed by thermal spraying of a ceramic material mixed with an electrically conductive material. Further, the conductive layer may be electrically conductive pins of a spring type, or a structure such as a ring member made of a conductor". The conductive layer 7 in Hitachi can be considered to be in line contact with the electrode block 1 in the case where the conductive layer is the electrically conductive adhesive, the film formed by thermal spraying of a ceramic material mixed with an electrically conductive material, or the ring member made of a conductor, and can be considered to be in point contact with the electrode block 1 at a plurality of points in the circumferential direction in the case where the conductive layer 7 is the electrically conductive pins of the spring type. In addition, a person skilled in the art could have disposed, as appropriate, the electrically conductive pins of the spring type at regular intervals.
Further regarding claim 7: Mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi (JP 2017-28111 A) in view of Benjaminson (WO 2020/55565 A1 or English equivalent US 11049755 B2) or Chen (2014/0302256) or park (2014/0373782) as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Tokyo-Electron (JP 2014-229734 A).
Hitachi in view of Benjaminson (or Chen or Park) teach all limitations of the claims except for a ring support with a second heater with shield member.
Hitachi (paragraph [0047]) describes a feature in which a susceptor ring 9 is disposed on the recessed portion at the outer circumference of the electrode block 1 on the outer circumference of the electrostatic adsorption layer 4.
Tokyo-Electron (paragraphs [0012]-[0028], and figs. 1, 2) describes a feature in which a focus ring 18 is disposed at a peripheral portion of an electrostatic chuck 40 having an electrode 40a formed by an electrically conducting film held between a pair of insulating layers 40b, and features in which heaters 75 buried in the electrostatic chuck 40 are classified into a center heater A on the inner circumferential side, a middle heater B in the middle, and an edge heater C on the outer circumferential side, and the edge heater C is capable of controlling the temperature of the focus ring 18 independently of control of the temperature of a wafer W.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have disposed the susceptor ring 9 on the electrostatic adsorption layer 4 instead of on the recessed portion at the outer circumference of the electrode block 1, and disposed a heater for controlling the temperature of the susceptor ring 9. In addition, a person skilled in the art could have arranged the heater for controlling the temperature of the susceptor ring 9 to be enclosed by the shield layer 6 and the conductive layer 7 in order to inhibit electric current of high-frequency power from flowing into a heater feed line thereof, and a person skilled in the art could determine, as appropriate, whether the heater for controlling the temperature of the susceptor ring 9 and the heater in the heat generation layer 5 are to be enclosed integrally or separately.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2019-140155 A (Takahisa) discloses a sample stage 112 for a plasma processing apparatus includes a metal base 200 fixed to the ground potential, a dielectric film 201 having a heater film 202, a shield film 203 (conductor film) disposed over the dielectric film 201 and connected to the base 200, a dielectric film 205 having an electrode film 204 that attracts a semiconductor wafer by electrostatic force, and a lift pin through hole 211 penetrating through the dielectric film 201 and the dielectric film 205. The heater film 202 is disposed inside the dielectric film 201, and its periphery is surrounded by a dielectric member (dielectric film 201). The sample stage 112 according to the present embodiment is a shield film that is a film-like conductive member that is disposed inside the dielectric film 201 and is disposed above the upper surface of the heater film 202 and surrounding the periphery. 203, and the heater film 202 is surrounded (covered) by the shield film 203. In other words, the structure in which the heater film 202 is surrounded by the shield film (conductor film) 203 is enclosed by a dielectric material that forms part of the dielectric film 201. The shield film 203 is electrically connected to the base material 200, whereby the shield film 203 is fixed to the ground potential in the same manner as the base material 200, and as a result, the high-frequency flow into the heater film 202 is suppressed.
/PARVIZ HASSANZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1716