DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 1. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (CN110676426 as cited on the IDS dated 8/29/23 see machine translation attached ) . As to claim 1, Xiao et al. discloses a pole piece forming apparatus (figure 1), comprising: an incoming structure (1) to provide a master pole piece ([0042]) ; a slitter (2) to slit the master pole piece into a plurality of pole pieces; a plurality of winders (5) to transport pulling of the pole pieces, respective winders (5) winding the corresponding pole pieces, and the slitter (2) being disposed between the incoming structure (1) and the winders (5); and a wrinkle remover (3) between the slitter (2) and the winders (5) , wherein the wrinkle remover comprises a first roller (31) and a second roller (32) that are provided opposite to each other, the first roller (31) comprises a first rolling part, and the first rolling part and the second roller (32) roll an edge of a slitting edge of one of the pole pieces (figure 1)([0034]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 2. Claim (s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. in view of Zhang et al. (CN110899336). Xiao et al. discloses the pole piece apparatus as described above. Xiao et al. fail to disclose wherein a diameter of the first rolling part is changed from small to large in an axial direction of the first roller, and a portion with a largest diameter of the first rolling part rolls the edge of the slitting edge; and a portion with a smaller diameter of the first roller is closer to a middle position of the one of the pole pieces. Zhang et al. teaches wherein a diameter of the first rolling part is changed from small to large in an axial direction of the first roller, and a portion with a largest diameter of the first rolling part rolls the edge of the slitting edge; and a portion with a smaller diameter of the first roller is closer to a middle position of the one of the pole pieces for the purpose of improving lateral thickness consistency of battery electrode sheet during rolling (paragraph 0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Xiao et al. with wherein a diameter of the first rolling part is changed from small to large in an axial direction of the first roller, and a portion with a largest diameter of the first rolling part rolls the edge of the slitting edge; and a portion with a smaller diameter of the first roller is closer to a middle position of the one of the pole pieces for the purpose of improving lateral thickness consistency of battery electrode sheet during rolling (paragraph 0008). As to claim 3, Xiao et al. fail to disclose wherein the diameter of the first rolling part is changed from small to large by an arc transition structure or a step structure. Zhang et al. teaches wherein the diameter of the first rolling part is changed from small to large by an arc transition structure or a step structure for the purpose of improving lateral thickness consistency of battery electrode sheet during rolling (paragraph 0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Xiao et al. with wherein the diameter of the first rolling part is changed from small to large by an arc transition structure or a step structure for the purpose of improving lateral thickness consistency of battery electrode sheet during rolling (paragraph 0008). As to claim 4, Xiao et al. discloses wherein in the axial direction of the first roller, the diameter of the first rolling part first is changed from small to large and then is changed from large to small. Zhang et al. teaches wherein in the axial direction of the first roller, the diameter of the first rolling part first is changed from small to large and then is changed from large to small for the purpose of improving lateral thickness consistency of battery electrode sheet during rolling (paragraph 0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Xiao et al. with wherein in the axial direction of the first roller, the diameter of the first rolling part first is changed from small to large and then is changed from large to small for the purpose of improving lateral thickness consistency of battery electrode sheet during rolling (paragraph 0008). As to claim 5, Xiao et al. fail to disclose wherein the second roller comprises a second rolling part opposite the first rolling part, and a diameter of the second rolling part is changed from small to large in an axial direction of the second roller; and a portion with a largest diameter of the second roller is opposite to the portion with the largest diameter of the first roller. Zhang et al. teaches wherein the second roller comprises a second rolling part opposite the first rolling part, and a diameter of the second rolling part is changed from small to large in an axial direction of the second roller; and a portion with a largest diameter of the second roller is opposite to the portion with the largest diameter of the first roller (paragraph 0009) for the purpose of improving lateral thickness consistency of battery electrode sheet during rolling (paragraph 0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Xiao et al. with wherein the second roller comprises a second rolling part opposite the first rolling part, and a diameter of the second rolling part is changed from small to large in an axial direction of the second roller; and a portion with a largest diameter of the second roller is opposite to the portion with the largest diameter of the first roller for the purpose of improving lateral thickness consistency of battery electrode sheet during rolling (paragraph 0008). 3. Claim (s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. in view of Fu et al. (CN210418532). Xiao et al. discloses the pole piece forming apparatus described above. Xiao et al. fail to disclose wherein the first roller is internally provided with a flow path to circulate a heat conductive medium, and the heat conductive medium exchanges heat with the first roller. Fu et al. teaches wherein the first roller is internally provided with a flow path to circulate a heat conductive medium, and the heat conductive medium exchanges heat with the first roller for the purpose of making the film carrier easier to flatten and avoid wrinkles (paragraph 0019). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Xiao et al. with wherein the first roller is internally provided with a flow path to circulate a heat conductive medium, and the heat conductive medium exchanges heat with the first roller for the purpose of making the film carrier easier to flatten and avoid wrinkles (paragraph 0019). As to claim 7, Xiao et al. fail to disclose wherein the heat conductive medium exchanges the heat with the first roller to maintain a surface temperature of the first roller adjacent to the one of the pole pieces between 350C and 400C. Fu et al. teaches during the unwinding process, heating media such as water, oil, or steam can be used to circulate and heat each roller, thereby heating the film carrier at a constant temperature, making the film carrier easier to flatten and avoiding wrinkles (paragraph 0019). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide wherein the heat conductive medium exchanges the heat with the first roller to maintain a surface temperature of the first roller adjacent to the one of the pole pieces between 350C and 400C in order to provide optimal value in absence of unexpected results. As to claim 8, Xiao et al. fail to disclose wherein the flow path is helically arranged about a centerline of the first roller . Fu et al. teaches wherein the flow path is helically arranged about a centerline of the first roller (figure 3) for the purpose of making the film carrier easier to flatten and avoid wrinkles (paragraph 0019). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Xiao et al. with wherein the flow path is helically arranged about a centerline of the first roller for the purpose of making the film carrier easier to flatten and avoid wrinkles (paragraph 0019). As to claim 9, Xiao et al. fail to disclose wherein a distance between the flow path and an outer surface of the first roller is d, where 0<d 2 mm. Fu et al. teaches the flow path is helically arranged about a centerline of the first roller. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide wherein a distance between the flow path and an outer surface of the first roller is d, where 0<d 2 mm for the purpose of providing optimal value in absence of unexpected results. 4. Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. in view of Chen et al. (CN207558931). Xiao et al. discloses the pole piece forming apparatus described above . Xiao et al. fail to disclose further comprising: a lithium replenisher arranged between the incoming structure and the slitter, wherein the lithium replenisher clads a lithium strip to a surface of the master pole piece. Chen et al. teaches further comprising: a lithium replenisher arranged between the incoming structure and the slitter, wherein the lithium replenisher clads a lithium strip to a surface of the master pole piece for the purpose of better controlling the appearance of the lithium strip and the substrate after calendaring, and can achieve continuous production (paragraph 0014). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Xiao et al. with further comprising: a lithium replenisher arranged between the incoming structure and the slitter, wherein the lithium replenisher clads a lithium strip to a surface of the master pole piece for the purpose of better controlling the appearance of the lithium strip and the substrate after calendaring, and can achieve continuous production (paragraph 0014). 5. Claim (s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. in view of Lin et al. (CN209614595). Xiao et al. discloses the pole piece forming apparatus described above. Xiao et al. fail to disclose further comprising: a deflection corrector to guide a transport direction of the pole pieces; wherein the deflection corrector is arranged between the slitter and the wrinkle remover; and/or, the deflection corrector is arranged between the wrinkle remover and the winders. Lin et al. teaches further comprising: a deflection corrector to guide a transport direction of the pole pieces; wherein the deflection corrector is arranged between the slitter and the wrinkle remover; and/or, the deflection corrector is arranged between the wrinkle remover and the winders for the purpose of correcting the conveying position of the electrode strips (paragraph 0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Xiao et al. with further comprising: a deflection corrector to guide a transport direction of the pole pieces; wherein the deflection corrector is arranged between the slitter and the wrinkle remover; and/or, the deflection corrector is arranged between the wrinkle remover and the winders for the purpose of correcting the conveying position of the electrode strips (paragraph 0008). As to claim 12, Xiao et al. fail to disclose wherein the pole piece forming apparatus further comprises a burr treatment structure disposed between the slitter and the winders, the burr treatment structure comprising: a brush to remove burrs of the slitting edges; and a dust collector to collect the burrs removed by the brush. Lin et al. teaches wherein the pole piece forming apparatus further comprises a burr treatment structure disposed between the slitter and the winders, the burr treatment structure comprising: a brush to remove burrs of the slitting edges; and a dust collector to collect the burrs removed by the brush for the purpose of reducing short circuit rates (paragraph 0004,0008). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Xiao et al. with wherein the pole piece forming apparatus further comprises a burr treatment structure disposed between the slitter and the winders, the burr treatment structure comprising: a brush to remove burrs of the slitting edges; and a dust collector to collect the burrs removed by the brush for the purpose of reducing short circuit rates (paragraph 0004,0008). 6. Claim (s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. in view of Yang et al. (CN111293277). Xiao et al. discloses the pole piece forming apparatus described above. Xiao et al. fail to disclose further comprising: a glue applicator disposed between the burr treatment structure and the winders to apply glue to the slitting edges; and a dryer arranged between the glue applicator and the winders to dry the pole piece after glue application. Yang et al. teaches further comprising: a glue applicator disposed between the burr treatment structure and the winders to apply glue to the slitting edges; and a dryer arranged between the glue applicator and the winders to dry the pole piece after glue applicatio n for the purpose of ensuring that any burrs that are not visible to the naked eye are safely fixed in the adhesive, preventing them from directly contacting the separator (paragraph 0020). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Xiao et al. with further comprising: a glue applicator disposed between the burr treatment structure and the winders to apply glue to the slitting edges; and a dryer arranged between the glue applicator and the winders to dry the pole piece after glue application for the purpose of ensuring that any burrs that are not visible to the naked eye are safely fixed in the adhesive, preventing them from directly contacting the separator (paragraph 0020). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JANE J RHEE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1499 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday (10-6:30) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Miriam Stagg can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5256 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JANE J RHEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724