DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/06/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9129923 (Han et al).
Concerning claim 1, Han discloses a display device comprising (Figs. 6-8A-8G): a substrate (101); a plurality of sub-pixels disposed on the substrate and arranged in a first direction (horizontal direction as seen in Fig. 6) and a second direction (vertical direction as seen in Fig. 6) crossing the first direction (Fig. 6 and col. 4 lines 50-57); a plurality of anode electrodes (122) included in each of the sub-pixels (Fig. 7); and a storage capacitor disposed under and overlapping with each of the anode electrodes (Fig. 7), wherein the plurality of anode electrodes (122) include a first anode electrode of a first sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels, and a second anode electrode of a second sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels disposed adjacent to the first sub-pixel along the second direction (Figs. 6 and 7), and wherein the second anode electrode includes a repair pattern (RP1 and RP2) extending along the second direction (RP2) toward the first sub-pixel and overlaps with the storage capacitor of the first sub-pixel (Figs. 6 , 7, and col. 7 lines 47-55).
Concerning claim 2, Han discloses wherein each of the sub-pixels arranged along the first direction emit light of different colors and each of the sub-pixels arranged along the second direction emit the same color each other (col. 7 lines 40-50).
Considering claim 3, Han discloses wherein the plurality of sub-pixels include the plurality of anode electrodes included in each of the sub-pixels and the repair pattern included in each of the plurality of anode electrode (RP1), wherein the repair pattern extends from the anode electrode along the second direction of the substrate, and disposed in a capacitor area of another sub-pixel, wherein each of the repair pattern arranged on the plurality of sub-pixels are continuously connected to each other along the second direction of the substrate (col. 7 lines 7-10).
Referring to claim 4, Han discloses wherein each of the sub-pixels further includes a sensing transistor (col. 6 lines 20-26), wherein the sensing transistor includes: an active layer (154); a gate electrode (156) disposed on the active layer; and source (158) and drain electrodes (160) respectively disposed on both opposing sides of the gate electrode while the gate electrode is interposed therebetween, wherein one of the source and drain electrodes is electrically connected to the storage capacitor (col. 6 lines 27-37 and lines 50-58).
Regarding claim 5, Han discloses wherein the storage capacitor connected to the sensing transistor includes: a first electrode coplanar with the active layer; and a second electrode coplanar with the gate electrode (col. 6 lines 50-57).
Pertaining to claim 6, Han discloses wherein one of the source and drain electrodes of the sensing transistor is connected to the second electrode of the storage capacitor (Fig. 7).
As to claim 7, Han discloses further comprising (Fig. 6): a gate line (GL) extending along a first direction of the substrate (Fig. 6); and a data line (DL) extending along a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the data line distinguishes the sub-pixels disposed adjacent to each other from each other, wherein the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel are arranged along the second direction (Fig. 6).
Concerning claim 8, Han discloses further comprising: a protective layer (118) covering the sensing transistor (Fig. 7); an overcoat film (128) disposed on the protective layer; a capacitor hole (Fig. 7 (III-III’) note the hole over the first node of the storage capacitor 166) disposed in a capacitor area where the storage capacitor is disposed, wherein the capacitor hole extends through the overcoat film and the protective layer; and a repair hole (Fig. 7 (III-III’) note the hole over the first node of the storage capacitor 166) disposed in a repair area overlapping with the storage capacitor, wherein the repair hole extends through the overcoat film, wherein the anode electrode is disposed on an exposed surface of the capacitor hole, and wherein the repair pattern is disposed in the repair hole so as to contact the protective layer (Fig. 7 (III-III’) note that RP2 which part of anode 122 extends into the hole over the first node of the storage capacitor 166).
Continuing to claim 9, Han discloses wherein the repair pattern is disposed in the repair hole and overlapping with the storage capacitor while the protective layer is interposed therebetween (Fig. 7 (III-III’) note that RP2 which part of anode 122 extends into the hole over the first node of the storage capacitor 166).
Considering claim 10, Han discloses wherein the active layer of the sensing transistor has an area size at least equal to or greater than an area size of the repair hole and contacts the storage capacitor (Fig. 7).
Referring to claim 11, Han discloses wherein the repair pattern includes a same material as a material of the second anode electrode and is formed integrally with the second anode electrode (col. 2 lines 13-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9129923 (Han et al) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US 20210202631 (Jo et al).
Regarding claim 12, Han discloses forming a display device.
Han does not disclose further comprising: a light-blocking layer disposed under the first electrode of the storage capacitor; and a buffer layer is interposed between the light-blocking layer and the first electrode of the storage capacitor, wherein, in a plan view of the device, the light-blocking layer has a recess defined in at least one corner thereof recessed inwardly, wherein the light-blocking layer does not overlap with the second electrode and the repair pattern at the recess. However Jo discloses a display configuration in which a light-blocking layer (LS) disposed under the first electrode of the storage capacitor; and a buffer layer (BUF) is interposed between the light-blocking layer and the first electrode of the storage capacitor, wherein, in a plan view of the device (Fig. 16), the light-blocking layer has a recess defined in at least one corner thereof recessed inwardly, wherein the light-blocking layer does not overlap with the second electrode and the repair pattern at the recess (Fig. 16).Jo discloses that the light blocking layer may protect the semiconductor device from external light ([0118]) and the buffer layer may reduce diffusion of ions or impurities from the substrate, and may block moisture penetration as well as enhance the flatness of the surface of the substrate ([0123]) and that such configuration solves the light leakage and the color-fading phenomenon ([0208]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a light-blocking layer disposed under the first electrode of the storage capacitor; and a buffer layer is interposed between the light-blocking layer and the first electrode of the storage capacitor, wherein, in a plan view of the device, the light-blocking layer has a recess defined in at least one corner thereof recessed inwardly, wherein the light-blocking layer does not overlap with the second electrode and the repair pattern at the recess such as the configuration of Jo in order to achieve the aforementioned advantages.
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9129923 (Han et al) in view of US 20210202631 (Jo et al).
Pertaining to claim 13, Han discloses a display device comprising (Figs. 6-8G): a substrate (101) having a sensing area (154+156) where a sensing transistor is disposed (Fig. 7 (II)), and a capacitor area (Fig. 7(III)) including a repair area (Fig. 7(II) and 7(III));. . . a sensing transistor (col. 6 lines 20-26); a storage capacitor in the capacitor area including the repair area (Fig. 7 (III) and col. 7 lines 47-55); a protective layer (118) covering the sensing transistor and the storage capacitor; an overcoat film (128) disposed on the protective layer; a repair hole (Fig. 7 (III-III’) note the hole over the first node of the storage capacitor 166) disposed in a repair area extending through the overcoat film so as to expose a portion of a surface of the protective layer and a repair pattern disposed on the repair hole and overlapping with the storage capacitor while the protective layer is interposed between the repair pattern and the storage capacitor (Fig. 7 (III-III’) note that RP2 which part of anode 122 extends into the hole over the first node of the storage capacitor 166).
Han does not disclose a buffer layer disposed on the substrate and in the sensing area and the repair area; a light-blocking layer disposed between the substrate and the buffer layer and in a portion of the capacitor area except for the repair area . . .positioned on the buffer layer in the sensing area . . .disposed on the buffer layer. However Jo discloses a display configuration in which a light-blocking layer (LS) disposed under the first electrode of the storage capacitor; and a buffer layer (BUF) is interposed between the light-blocking layer and the first electrode of the storage capacitor, wherein, in a plan view of the device (Fig. 16), the light-blocking layer has a recess defined in at least one corner thereof recessed inwardly, wherein the light-blocking layer does not overlap with the second electrode and the repair pattern at the recess (Fig. 16).Jo discloses that the light blocking layer may protect the semiconductor device from external light ([0118]) and the buffer layer may reduce diffusion of ions or impurities from the substrate, and may block moisture penetration as well as enhance the flatness of the surface of the substrate ([0123]) and that such configuration solves the light leakage and the color-fading phenomenon ([0208]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a light-blocking layer disposed under the first electrode of the storage capacitor; and a buffer layer is interposed between the light-blocking layer and the first electrode of the storage capacitor, wherein, in a plan view of the device, the light-blocking layer has a recess defined in at least one corner thereof recessed inwardly, wherein the light-blocking layer does not overlap with the second electrode and the repair pattern at the recess such as the configuration of Jo in order to achieve the aforementioned advantages.
As to claim 14, Han in view of Jo discloses wherein the sensing transistor includes: an active layer (Han 154) positioned on the buffer layer (Jo Fig. 14); a gate electrode (Han 156) positioned on the active layer (Han Fig. 7); and source (Han 158) and drain electrodes (Han 160) respectively disposed on both opposing sides of the gate electrode while the gate electrode is interposed therebetween, wherein one of the source and drain electrodes is electrically connected to the storage capacitor (Han col. 6 lines 27-37 and lines 50-58).
Concerning claim 15, Han in view of Jo discloses wherein the storage capacitor connected to the sensing transistor includes: a first electrode coplanar with the active layer; and a second electrode coplanar with the gate electrode (Han col. 6 lines 50-57).
Continuing to claim 16, Han in view of Jo discloses wherein the buffer layer further has a buffer hole defined therein exposing a portion of a surface of the substrate in the repair area, and wherein the second electrode of the storage capacitor fills the buffer hole (Jo Fig. 14).
Considering claim 17, Han in view of Jo discloses further comprising: a capacitor hole (Han Fig. 7 (III-III’) note the hole over the first node of the storage capacitor 166) disposed in a capacitor area where the storage capacitor is disposed, wherein the capacitor hole extends through the overcoat film and the protective layer so as to expose a portion of an upper surface of the storage capacitor (Han Fig. 7 (III-III’) note the hole over the first node of the storage capacitor 166); and an anode electrode (Han RP2) extending along and on an exposed surface of the capacitor hole and extending on and along an upper surface of the overcoat film (Han Fig. 7).
Referring to claim 18, Han in view of Jo discloses wherein the anode electrode and the repair pattern are made of a same material (col. 2 lines 13-15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20200013992 discloses a display substrate with a repair pattern between adjacent subpixels (Figs. 1 and 2).
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/VALERIE N NEWTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2897 02/21/26