Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (USPN 2022/0223820).
With regard to claim 18,
Kang et al. disclose a display device comprising: a display panel (1) comprising a substrate (100) and a plurality of pixels (PX) on the substrate, the substrate comprising a display area (DA) and a peripheral area (PA) arranged outside the display area, wherein the plurality of pixels is arranged in the display area; and a cover window (CW) disposed on the display panel, wherein the cover window comprises a flat area (FP) having a flat surface and a curved area (CP, SP) having a curved shape and overlapping a portion of the display area and a portion of the peripheral area (see fig. 7), and a portion of the curved area overlapping the peripheral area has a thickness decreasing as being away from the flat area (See fig. 6).
With regard to claim 19,
Kang et al. disclose the display device of claim 18, wherein the display panel comprises corner areas (CDA), and the display area comprises a front display area (FDA), a corner display area bent in each of the corner areas, and a side display area (SDA) arranged at a side of the front display area between the corner areas (see fig. 1).
With regard to claim 20,
Kang et al. disclose the display device of claim 19, wherein the peripheral area comprises a first peripheral area (PA corresponding to CDA) arranged outside the corner display area in each of the corner areas, and a second peripheral (PA corresponding to SDA) area arranged outside the side display area, the curved area comprises a first curved area (SP, corresponding to SDA) overlapping the side display area and a second curved area (SP, corresponding to PA) overlapping the first peripheral area, and the second curved area has a thickness decreasing as being away from the first curved area (See fig. 7).
With regard to claim 21,
Kang et al. disclose the display device of claim 18, wherein each of the display panel and the cover window is circular (See paragraph 69).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art does not disclose nor render obvious, in combination with the other limitations of the claims, a display device where the cover window has first and second curved area thicknesses in the corner areas as claimed. In particular, the closed prior art (cited above), discloses the configuration in the side areas, but is silent as to the corner areas. Claims 1, 12 are therefore allowed. Claims, 2-11, 13-17 are allowed due to their dependence upon claim 1 or 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 2020/0379595, 2023/0015869, 2021/0325932, 2019/0069425, 2017/0179433, 2014/0168090, 2022/0246878.
/CHRISTOPHER M RAABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875