DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 8, 11, and 16 in the reply dated 8 July 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 2, 9, and 10 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 11-12, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (WO 2005122706 A2, hereinafter “Kang”), in view of Warner et al (US 20170330805 A1, hereinafter “Warner”), and further in view of Safabakhsh (US 5,169,196 A, hereinafter “Safabakhsh”).
Regarding Claim 1 - Kang discloses die bonding apparatus comprising: a stage ([11]) configured to support a first die (Wafer 100 having die 102 [43] and Fig. 32); a pickup head (pick and place equipment [63]) configured to pick up a second die (250 [54] and Fig. 32); regions of magnetic material (110a [44] and 210a [54] and Fig. 32) arranged on the first die and the second die (Fig. 32); an electromagnet arranged on a surface of the pickup head (292 around die 250 as in [69] and Fig. 32); and a controller configured to move at least one of the stage and the pickup head to dispose the first die and the second die at a predetermined distance from each other in a vertical direction (The stage can be controlled automatically, requiring a controller [11], and the first and second die are brought to a predetermined relative position [63]), and, after the first die and the second die are disposed at the predetermined distance, to apply a current to the electromagnet to generate a magnetic field to further align the first die and the second die in the vertical direction (place in “aligning position” [68], after which a bonding operation can occur [75]), wherein, because of the magnetic field generated by the electromagnet arranged on the pickup head, the regions of magnetic material arranged on the first die and the second die are aligned with one another in the vertical direction (placed in “aligning position” [68]).
Kang fails to expressly disclose the stage extending in a first horizontal direction and a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction. Kang further fails to disclose a pickup head configured to pick up a second die in a non-contact manner such that a lower surface of a die adhesive surface of the pickup head is spaced apart from an upper surface of the second die in a vertical direction, the pickup head including one or more air injection nozzles and one or more vacuum holes arranged on the die adhesive surface and configured to form an air film between the die adhesive surface and the upper surface of the second die, and the first die and the second die are aligned with one another in the vertical direction, while the second die is held spaced apart from the die adhesive surface by the air film.
However, Warner discloses the stage extending in a first horizontal direction and a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction (616 has six-axis movement including orthogonal X-Y, Warner [0117] and Fig. 6)
Warner discloses an apparatus related to Kang. Warner teaches using a stage that can move with six degrees of freedom for the benefit of aligning semiconductor structures to be bonded (Warner, [0104-0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Warner to use a stage with the ability to move in three dimensions, including orthogonal first and second horizontal directions for the benefit of aligning semiconductor structures to be bonded.
Furthermore, Safabakhsh discloses a pickup head configured to pick up a second die in a non-contact manner (Safabakhsh col. 1, lines 45-47, and 16 in Fig. 2, as in col. 2, line 59 to col. 3, line 5) such that a lower surface of a die adhesive surface (19 in Safabakhsh col. 2, line 63 to col. 3, line 5, and Fig. 2) of the pickup head is spaced apart from an upper surface of the second die (27 in Safabakhsh col. 3, lines 9-18, and Fig. 2) in the vertical direction (Safabakhsh column 1, lines 44-46), the pickup head including one or more air injection nozzles (22, Safabakhsh column 2, lines 64-67, and Fig. 2) and one or more vacuum holes arranged on the surface (25, Safabakhsh col. 3, lines 2-5, and Fig. 2) and configured to form an air film between the die adhesive surface and the upper surface of the second die spaced apart from the die adhesive surface by the air film (Safabakhsh col. 3, lines 11-18, and Fig. 2).
Safabakhsh discloses a non-contact pickup head relevant to the die bonding apparatus of Kang. Safabakhsh teaches a pickup head with an air film between the adhesive surface of the head and the second die for the benefit of picking up the second die without engaging the active surface of the die (Safabakhsh column 1, lines 6-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Safabakhsh and Kang to utilize a pickup head with an air film between the adhesive surface of the head and the second die for the benefit of picking up the second die without engaging the active surface of the die.
Regarding Claim 3 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh further discloses a stage driver configured to move the stage in the vertical direction or the first horizontal direction perpendicular to the vertical direction (613, Warner [0118] and Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 4 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh further discloses the electromagnet comprises a solenoid coil (292, Kang [69] and Fig. 32).
Regarding Claim 5 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh further discloses the electromagnet generates a magnetic field in the vertical direction (The central axis of coil 292 perpendicular to the bonding surface as shown in Kang Fig. 32).
Regarding Claim 7 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh further discloses the regions of magnetic material include soft magnetic materials ([43]).
Regarding Claim 8 - Kang discloses die bonding apparatus comprising: a stage ([11]) configured to support a first die (Wafer 100 having die 102 [43] and Fig. 32); a pickup head (pick and place equipment [63]) configured to pick up a second die (250 [54] and Fig. 32); regions of magnetic material arranged on the first die and the second die (110a [44] and 210a [54] and Fig. 32); an electromagnet arranged on a surface of the pickup head (292 around die 250 as in [69] and Fig. 32); and a controller configured to move at least one of the stage and the pickup head to dispose the first die and the second die at a predetermined distance from each other in the vertical direction (The stage can be controlled automatically, requiring a controller [11], and the first and second die are brought to a predetermined relative position [63]), and, after the first die and the second die are disposed at the predetermined distance, to apply a current to the electromagnet to generate a magnetic field to further align the first die and the second die in the vertical direction (place in “aligning position” [68], after which a bonding operation can occur [75]), and wherein because of the magnetic field generated by the electromagnet arranged on the surface of the pickup head (292 [69] around die 250 as in Fig. 32), the regions of magnetic material arranged on the first die and the second die are aligned with one another in the vertical direction (place in “aligning position” [68], after which a bonding operation can occur [75]).
Kang fails to expressly disclose the stage extending in a first horizontal direction and a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction, and a stage driver configured to move the stage in the first horizontal direction and a vertical direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction. Kang further fails to disclose picking up a second die in a non-contact manner; a pickup head configured to pick up a second die in a non-contact manner; an air line configured to supply air to the second die and a suction line configured to suck in the air, wherein the air line and the suction line are formed in the pickup head, and the air supplied through the air line forms an air film between the pickup head and the second die such that the second die is held by the pickup head without contact; wherein the pickup head further comprises a die adhesive surface that faces an upper surface of the second die and that is spaced apart from the upper surface of the second die by the air film in the vertical direction, while the second die is held by the pickup head without contact by the air film
However, Warner discloses the stage extending in a first horizontal direction and a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction (616 has six-axis movement including orthogonal X-Y, Warner [0117]), and a stage driver configured to move the stage in the first horizontal direction and a vertical direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction (613, Warner [0118]).
Warner discloses an apparatus related to Kang. Warner teaches using a stage that can move with six degrees of freedom for the benefit of aligning semiconductor structures to be bonded (Warner, [0104-0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Warner to use a stage with the ability to move in three dimensions, including orthogonal first and second horizontal directions for the benefit of aligning semiconductor structures to be bonded.
Furthermore, Safabakhsh discloses a pickup head configured to pick up a second die in a non-contact manner (Safabakhsh col. 1, lines 45-47, and 16 in Fig. 2, as in col. 2, line 59 to col. 3, line 5), an air line (23, Safabakhsh column 2, lines 64-67, and Fig. 2) configured to supply air to the second die and a suction line (25, Safabakhsh column 3, lines 2-5, and Fig. 2) configured to suck in the air, wherein the air line and the suction line are formed in the pickup head (Safabakhsh Fig. 2), and the air supplied through the air line forms an air film between the pickup head and the second die such that the second die is held by the pickup head without contact (Safabakhsh col. 3, lines 11-15); wherein the pickup head further comprises a die adhesive surface that faces an upper surface of the second die (19 in Safabakhsh col. 2, line 63 to col. 3, line 5, and Fig. 2) and that is spaced apart from the upper surface of the second die by the air film (27 in Safabakhsh col. 3, lines 9-18, and Fig. 2) in the vertical direction (Safabakhsh column 1, lines 44-46), while the second die is held by the pickup head without contact by the air film (Safabakhsh col. 3, lines 15-18).
Safabakhsh discloses a non-contact pickup head relevant to the die bonding apparatus of Kang. Safabakhsh teaches a pickup head with an air film between the adhesive surface of the head and the second die for the benefit of picking up the second die without engaging the active surface of the die (Safabakhsh column 1, lines 6-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Safabakhsh and Kang to utilize a pickup head with an air film between the adhesive surface of the head and the second die for the benefit of picking up the second die without engaging the active surface of the die.
Regarding Claim 11 - Kang modified by Warner, and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh discloses one or more air injection nozzles connected to the air line (22, Safabakhsh column 2, lines 64-67 and Fig. 2) and one or more vacuum holes connected to the suction line (24, Safabakhsh column 3, lines 2-5 and Fig. 2), wherein the one or more air injection nozzles and the one or more vacuum holes are arranged on the die adhesive surface (Safabakhsh Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12 - Kang modified by Warner, and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh further discloses a flow rate of air provided to each of the one or more air injection nozzles or a flow rate of air sucked into each of the one or more vacuum holes is independently controlled (Source of pressurized air different than vacuum source, Safabakhsh and Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh further discloses the regions of magnetic material are arranged on at least one of a dummy pad, an alignment key, and a scribe lane of each of the first die and the second die (as alignment keys of various potential shapes, Kang [44] and Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 16 - Kang discloses a die bonding apparatus comprising: a stage ([11]) configured to support a first die (Die 102 [43] and Fig. 30) and a substrate (Wafer 100 [43] and Fig. 30); regions of magnetic material arranged on the first die and the second die (110a [44] and 210a [54] and Fig. 32); an electromagnet arranged on a surface of each of the pickup head and the stage (290 can be installed around the wafer, and 292 can be installed around the die also [62]); and a controller configured to move at least one of the stage and the pickup head to dispose the first die and the second die at a predetermined distance from each other in the vertical direction (The stage can be controlled automatically, requiring a controller [11], and the first and second die are brought to a predetermined relative position [63]), and, after the first die and the second die are disposed at the predetermined distance, to apply a current to the electromagnet to generate a magnetic field to further align the first die and the second die in the vertical direction (place in “aligning position” [68], after which a bonding operation can occur [75]), and wherein because of the magnetic field generated by the electromagnet, the regions of magnetic material arranged on the first die and the second die are aligned in the vertical direction (placed in “aligning position” [68]).
Kang fails to expressly disclose the stage extending in a first horizontal direction and a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction, or a stage driver configured to move the stage in the first horizontal direction and a vertical direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction. Kang further fails to disclose a pickup head configured to pick up a second die in a non-contact manner, the pickup head comprising a die adhesive surface and one or more air injection nozzles and one or more vacuum holes arranged on the die adhesive surface and configured to form an air film that holds the second die spaced apart from the die adhesive surface; a pickup head driver configured to move the pickup head in the first horizontal direction, wherein the die adhesive surface is opposite to an upper surface of the second die and spaced apart from the upper surface of the second die in the vertical direction by the air film, while the second die is held by the pickup head in the non-contact manner by the air film.
However, Warner discloses the stage extending in a first horizontal direction and a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction (616 has six-axis movement including orthogonal X-Y, Warner [0117]) and a stage driver configured to move the stage in the first horizontal direction and a vertical direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction (613, Warner [0118]), a pickup head driver configured to move the pickup head in the first horizontal direction (514 controls and drives 540 [0096], which is movable, Warner [0099] and Fig. 6).
Warner discloses an apparatus related to Kang. Warner teaches using a stage that can move with six degrees of freedom for the benefit of aligning semiconductor structures to be bonded (Warner, [0104-0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Warner to use a stage with the ability to move in three dimensions, including orthogonal first and second horizontal directions for the benefit of aligning semiconductor structures to be bonded.
Furthermore, Safabakhsh discloses a pickup head configured to pick up a second die in a non-contact manner (Safabakhsh col. 1, lines 45-47, and 16 in Fig. 2, as in col. 2, line 59 to col. 3, line 5), the pickup head comprising a die adhesive surface (19 in Safabakhsh col. 2, line 63 to col. 3, line 5, and Fig. 2) and one or more air injection nozzles (22, Safabakhsh column 2, lines 64-67 and Fig. 2) and one or more vacuum holes (24, Safabakhsh column 3, lines 2-5 and Fig. 2) arranged on the die adhesive surface and configured to form an air film that holds the second die spaced apart from the die adhesive surface (Safabakhsh col. 3, lines 15-18); wherein the die adhesive surface is opposite to an upper surface of the second die (27 in Safabakhsh col. 3, lines 9-18, and Fig. 2) and spaced apart from the upper surface of the second die in the vertical direction by the air film, while the second die is held by the pickup head in the non-contact manner by the air film (Safabakhsh col. 3, lines 11-15).
Safabakhsh discloses a non-contact pickup head relevant to the die bonding apparatus of Kang. Safabakhsh teaches a pickup head with an air film between the adhesive surface of the head and the second die for the benefit of picking up the second die without engaging the active surface of the die (Safabakhsh column 1, lines 6-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Safabakhsh and Kang to utilize a pickup head with an air film between the adhesive surface of the head and the second die for the benefit of picking up the second die without engaging the active surface of the die.
Regarding Claim 17 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh further discloses the controller applies the current to the electromagnet when a distance between the second die and the first die is less than or equal to about 100 micrometers (can be in direct contact, Kang [68] and Fig. 31).
Regarding Claim 20 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh further discloses the regions of magnetic material include soft magnetic materials and at least one of NiFe, FeCo, and FeCoB (Fe, Ni, Co, and their allows are included as options, Kang [43]. Although the alloys are not explicitly disclosed, all three of the above are known equivalents in the industry, presenting a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2244.06(II)).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (WO 2005122706 A2, hereinafter “Kang”), in view of Warner et al (US 20170330805 A1, hereinafter “Warner”), and further in view of Safabakhsh (US 5,169,196 A, hereinafter “Safabakhsh”), and further in view of Hartleroad et al (US 3,887,997 A, hereinafter “Hartleroad”).
Regarding Claim 6 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh further discloses the pickup head further comprises a die adhesive surface facing an upper surface of the second die (19 in Safabakhsh col. 2, line 63 to col. 3, line 5, and Fig. 2 facing 27 in Safabakhsh col. 3, lines 9-18, and Fig. 2)
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh fails to expressly disclose a horizontal area of the die adhesive surface is less than a horizontal area of the second die.
However, Hartleroad discloses a horizontal area of the die adhesive surface is less than a horizontal area of the second die (Effective area of pickup head (probe tip) 14 less than chip 10, but large enough to properly support for bonding placement, Hartleroad column 6, line 62 to column 7, line 2 and Fig. 2).
Hartleroad discloses an apparatus using an electromagnet for die bonding, analogous to Kang. Hartleroad teaches making the adhesive surface area of the pickup head less than the area of the die for the benefit of concentrating magnetic flux lines in the magnetic features on the die to ensure precise alignment (Hartleroad, column 6, line 65 to column 7, line 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Hartleroad to make the adhesive surface area of the pickup head less than the area of the die for the benefit of precise alignment. Furthermore, the exact ratio of the area of the die adhesive surface to the upper surface of the second die is a matter of routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.06(II)(A)).
Regarding Claim 13 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh fails to disclose a range of a ratio of a second width, which is a horizontal width of the die adhesive surface, to a first width, which is a horizontal width of the second die, is greater than or equal to about 50 % and less than or equal to about 100 %.
However, Hartleroad discloses a range of a ratio of a second width, which is a horizontal width of the die adhesive surface, to a first width, which is a horizontal width of the second die, is greater than or equal to about 50 % and less than or equal to about 100 % (Effective area of pickup head (probe tip) 14 less than chip 10, but large enough to properly support for bonding placement, Hartleroad column 6, line 62 to column 7, line 2 and Fig. 2).
Hartleroad discloses an apparatus using an electromagnet for die bonding, analogous to Kang. Hartleroad teaches making the adhesive surface area of the pickup head less than the area of the die for the benefit of concentrating magnetic flux lines in the magnetic features on the die to ensure precise alignment (Hartleroad, column 6, line 65 to column 7, line 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Hartleroad to make the adhesive surface area of the pickup head less than the area of the die for the benefit of precise alignment. Furthermore, the exact ratio of the area of the die adhesive surface to the upper surface of the second die is a matter of routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.06(II)(A)).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (WO 2005122706 A2, hereinafter “Kang”), in view of Warner et al (US 20170330805 A1, hereinafter “Warner”), and further in view of Safabakhsh (US 5,169,196 A, hereinafter “Safabakhsh”), and further in view of Swaminathan (US 20210066240 A1, hereinafter “Swaminathan”).
Regarding Claim 14 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh fails to disclose the electromagnet generates a magnetic field of at least about 2000 Gauss in the vertical direction.
However, Swaminathan discloses the electromagnet generates a magnetic field of at least about 2000 Gauss in the vertical direction (one to two Tesla (10,000-20,000 Gauss), Swaminathan [0020]).
Swaminathan discloses an apparatus for electromagnetic alignment of semiconductor components analogous to Kang. Swaminathan teaches the magnetic field strength for assembly may be as high as one to two Tesla for the benefit of adjusting the attractive force between magnetic interconnects based on their size to draw them together (Swaminathan [0020]-[0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Swaminathan to set the magnetic field strength to as much as one to two Tesla for the benefit of adjusting the attractive force between magnetic interconnects based on their size to draw them together.
Regarding Claim 18 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh fails to disclose the first die and the second die, which are aligned with one another in the vertical direction, have an error distance that is less than or equal to about 50 nanometers.
However, Swaminathan discloses the first die and the second die, which are aligned with one another in the vertical direction, have an error distance that is less than or equal to about 50 nanometers (Interconnect widths less than ten nanometers require alignment even finer than ten nanometers, Swaminathan [0013]).
Swaminathan describes a similar apparatus to Kang for electromagnetic alignment of semiconductor components. Swaminathan teaches the use of electromagnetism with embedded magnetic material features for the benefit of finer alignment than can be achieved manually (Swaminathan [0013]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Swaminathan to use embedded magnetic material features in semiconductor components to be aligned for the benefit of alignment error less than 50 nm.
Regarding Claim 19 - Kang modified by Warner and Safabakhsh discloses all the limitations of claim 16.
The combination of Kang, Warner, and Safabakhsh fails to disclose the widths of the regions of magnetic material are less than or equal to about 2 micrometers.
However, Swaminathan discloses the widths of the regions of magnetic material are less than or equal to about 2 micrometers (Interconnects incorporating magnetic material less than one micrometer, Swaminathan [0013]).
Swaminathan describes a similar apparatus to Kang for electromagnetic alignment of semiconductor components. Swaminathan teaches using interconnects with added magnetic features for the benefit of smaller width interconnects than can be achieved without the use of magnetism (Swaminathan [0013]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Swaminathan to use embedded alignment features made of magnetic material for the benefit of interconnects with regions of magnetic material less than two micrometers wide.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Kang does not disclose an electromagnet carried on a non-contact pickup head, and the Safabakhsh/Kang hardware is “structurally incapable” of performing the recited alignment. Likewise, the applicant argues Kang does not teach an electromagnet on a wafer stage.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. All of the structural elements are in place in the combination of references as described above to perform the alignment of second die to first die as described above. The coil taught by Kang as 292 is obviously an electromagnet since it generates an attractive magnetic force between regions of magnetic material when operated. 292 is obviously arranged on a surface around the die on a pickup head, which does not even require direct contact. The pickup head in the instant application is not well-defined, so as to differentiate it from the prior art of record. Likewise, Kang’s coil 290 around a wafer containing a first die is obviously arranged on a surface around the wafer on a stage. Thus, the structural elements are in place in the combination of references to perform an alignment and placement as claimed in the instant application. “A claim containing a ‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” See MPEP 2114(II).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON MCDONALD/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898