DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 1-10 in the reply filed on March 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 27, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
first support unit in claim 1;
second support unit in claim 1;
flatness measurement unit in claim 1;
additional flatness measurement unit in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 1 and 9, the recitation of “flatness” is unclear because the term is associated with the element not being curved or having hills and valleys. A review of the specification shows the measurement unit is used to monitor a level, which is not commensurate with the term of flatness. Clarification is requested
For purposes of compact prosecution, the term of flatness is interpreted as level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heymann (US 2019/0368024) in view of Choi (KR 10-2015-0103526, provided translation cited below).
In regards to claim 1, Heymann teaches a positioning arrangement (100, stage unit) comprising:
a frame (133) and mask carrier (160) (stage) that provides a seating surface, the frame and mask carrier each comprises an opening along the seating surface (fig. 2b, 3, ; para. 36, 40, 51);
a first holding arrangement-130 (first support unit) with a first holding element-131 (support surface) is provided at one side of the frame or mask carrier (fig. 2b, 3; para. 41, 50-51);
a second holding arrangement-130 (first support unit) with a second holding element-131 (support surface) is provided at another side of the frame or mask carrier that is spaced apart from the first holding arrangement-130 (fig. 2b, 3; para. 41, 50-51).
Heymann teaches the first and second holding arrangements are movable in x-direction and/or a y-direction and/ or and a z-direction (para. 41), which will provide movement towards and away the opening of frame or mask carrier.
Heymann does not explicitly teach the level (flatness) measurement unit supported by the first unit.
However, Choi teaches left and right centering blocks (21) together with front and back centering blocks (23) which are provided on the frame (fig. 1-3; para. 16). Choi teaches the centering blocks comprise a position sensor (216, level measurement unit) check position of the frame (fig. 2; para. 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the centering blocks with the position sensor provided around the frame of Choi onto the holding arrangements of Heymann because Choi teaches it will provide accurate positioning (para. 6).
In regards to claim 2, Heymann and Choi as discussed, where Heymann teaches the seating surface of the frame or the mask carrier is capable of being arranged parallel to direction of gravity by rotating the elements (fig. 2b, 3).
In regards to claim 3, Heymann and Choi as discussed, when the view is rotated, Heymann teaches a movement direction of the first and second holding arrangements is capable of being parallel to a direction of gravity (fig. 2b, 3).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heymann and Choi as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Cho (US 2017/0009343).
In regards to claim 10, Heymann and Choi as discussed, but do not explicitly teach a wireless communication module connected with the first support unit and the second support unit.
However, Cho teaches a signal transmit member (130) connected to a support , where the signal transmit member provides wireless communications (para. 181).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the signal transmit member of Cho onto the holding arrangements of Heymann and Choi because Cho teaches it will provide wireless signal transmission to the control to control alignment (para. 180-182).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717