DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in view of newly found reference Lempel being used in the current rejection. See the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 2012/0309511 to Chung (“Chung”) in view of US PG Pub 2002/0036655 to Yulevich (“Yulevich”) and US PG Pub 2015/0045110 to Lempel (“Lempel”).
Regarding claim 1, “A computer-implemented method for providing interactive supplemental content” reads on the system/method for providing advertisement to a player based on an action of the player in an interactive video gaming environment (¶0009) disclosed by Chung and represented in Fig. 4.
As to “receiving, by at least one computer processor, a selection of an indicator, wherein the indicator is displayed within a…application executing on a media device” Chung discloses (¶0086, ¶0067) that the user equipment accesses a website online using a web browser application where the video content is streamed through the portal to a server transmitting the content using the web browser application; (¶0088-¶0090) while the video is streaming on the web browser application, a widget display (indicator) is overlaid over the streaming video content, where upon user selection of the widget display, the interactive video gaming environment is displayed as represented in Figs. 3 and 4; (¶0020) the interactive video gaming environment is an entertainment application that is a standalone application, which is different from the web browser application; (¶0104) the display of the user equipment device is displayed with the initial navigation screen after the user starts up the interactive video gaming environment as represented in Fig. 4.
As to “in response to the receiving the selection, generating an interactive game session, wherein the interactive game session comprises interactive media content and an advertisement” Chung discloses (¶0104-¶0106) that after the user starts up the interactive video gaming environment, the user is provided with the display of interactive video game along with the interactive advertisement.
As to “causing display of, on a display device associated with the media device, the interactive game session” Chung discloses (¶0104) that the display of the user equipment device is displayed with the initial navigation screen after the user starts up the interactive video gaming environment as represented in Fig. 4.
As to “receiving a user input to interact with the advertisement in the interactive game session” Chung discloses (¶0106) that the interactive advertisement is displayed during the interactive video game to the user where the user equipment receives a user selection of advertisement and in response allows the user to interact/provide info about the product being advertised as represented in Fig. 4 (element 440).
As to “…generating a reward…in the interactive game session” Chung discloses (¶0164) that the display includes a region that indicates the total number of rewards that is received/stored and available for the user/player to access as represented in Fig. 4 (elements 420, 424).
Chung meets all the limitations of the claim except “receiving, by at least one computer processor, a selection of an indicator, wherein the indicator is displayed within a screen saver application.” However, Yulevich discloses (¶0014) that the application implemented as a screen saver displays updated stock quotes, game scores, news headlines, etc. on the screen saver of the device; (¶0026) the screensaver application is activated upon non-use of the device, and the content information, for example, news headlines, sport scores and stock price quotations are continuously displayed, where a determination made whether the user activates an internet link (indicator) displayed within the content information as represented in Fig. 4B. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chung’s system by receiving a selection of an indicator displayed within a screen saver application as taught by Yulevich in order to display user selected content information and advertising while the device is in standby/non-use status (Yulevich - ¶0003).
Combination of Chung and Yulevich meets all the limitations of the claim except “in response to receiving the user input, generating a reward for the interaction with the advertisement in the interactive game session.” However, Lempel discloses (¶0025-¶0026) that the user interacts with the game provider/other users during a gaming session as represented in Fig. 1B; (¶0050, ¶0055) certain game events trigger an issuance of points/rewards for working with sponsors, such as, e.g., advertising sponsors; (¶0027, claim 14) the user acquires points/rewards based on a variety of actions such as user clicking on ad or interacting with a publisher/sponsor’s webpage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chung and Yulevich’s systems by generating a reward for user interaction with an advertisement as taught by Lempel in order to experience ad content which is unique and incredibly effective marketing strategy.
Regarding claim 2, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to the receiving the selection, causing display of, on the display device associated with the media device, the indicator” Chung discloses (¶0088-¶0090) while the video is streaming on the web browser application, a widget display (indicator) is overlaid over the streaming video content, where upon user selection of the widget display, the interactive video gaming environment is displayed as represented in Figs. 3 and 4, and Yulevich discloses (¶0014, ¶0026) that the screensaver application is activated upon non-use of the device, and the content information, for example, news headlines, sport scores and stock price quotations are continuously displayed, where a determination made whether the user activates an internet link (indicator) displayed within the content information.
Regarding claim 3, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the interactive media content comprises a character, the reward, or a display background associated with the interactive game session” Chung discloses (¶0105, ¶0101) that the interactive video game environment comprises rewards as represented in Fig. 4 (element 420), and Lempel discloses (¶0026-¶0027) that the users are provided with rewards/points for during interactive gaming session and/or sponsor ads.
Regarding claim 4, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generating the interactive game session comprises: identifying a characteristic of a user based on the selection; and generating interactive game content or the advertisement based on the characteristic of the user” Chung discloses (¶0072) that the advertisement is selected based on player/user’s action where (¶0200, ¶0203) based on the user’s attributes/profile, the advertisement is selected.
Regarding claim 5, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the interactive media content is associated with the advertisement based at least on contextual information” Chung discloses (¶0072, ¶0147) that the selection of the advertisement is directly related to the level of game play; (¶0106) interactive advertisement inform the payer about upcoming products to the interactive video game.
Regarding claim 6, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the user input to interact with the advertisement in the interactive media game comprises: receiving the user input to interact with the interactive media content” Chung discloses (¶0106-¶0107) that the user is provided with the interactive video game environment where in response to receiving a user selection of chat option, the system provides chat room where the user may communicate with other users of the interactive video game.
Regarding claim 7, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the user input to interact with the advertisement in the interactive media game comprises: receiving the user input from a remote control associated with the media device, wherein the remote control comprises a tablet, a laptop computer, a smartphone, a smartwatch, smart device, or a wearable device” Chung discloses (¶0081) that the user issues commands to the control circuitry using a remote control; (¶0090) the user interacts with the interactive video gaming environment using a gaming remote control, mobile phone, mobile device, etc.
Regarding claim 8, see rejection similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, see rejection similar to claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, see rejection similar to claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, see rejection similar to claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection similar to claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection similar to claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection similar to claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, see rejection similar to claim 1. Furthermore, Chung discloses (¶0080) that the circuitry implemented using software running on the general purpose processor.
Regarding claim 16, see rejection similar to claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, see rejection similar to claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, see rejection similar to claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, see rejection similar to claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection similar to claim 6.
Regarding claim 21, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generating the interactive game session comprises generating the interactive game session in a multi-user mode” Chung discloses (¶0002, ¶0054) that the video game system provides a multiplayer environment where multiple users can play the game together within the confines of the interactive video game system application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PINKAL R CHOKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425