DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-16 are rejected. Claims 17-20 were allowed.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 03/23/2026.
Claims 4 and 12 are amended and are being fully considered by the examiner.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claim 4, all the claim objections as set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant responds
(a) Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102:
Claim 1:
The Applicant submits that Langan fails to disclose at least the above noted features of amended claim 1.
For example, Langan fails to at least disclose connecting a mobile facilities cart that includes a compressor powered by the battery pack,….
(Page: 7)
With respect to (a) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
As described in the current office action, in response to applicant’s amendments to claims 1 a new grounds of rejections in view of Schneider has been introduced. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Langan and Schneider as set forth in the current office action.
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but for the above described reasons, the arguments are moot; therefore, claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the references as presented in the current office action.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant responds
(b) Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claim 1:
Thus, the Applicant submits that Langan fails to at least disclose "a compressor powered by the battery pack, the compressor configured to supply compressed air to the semiconductor processing tool via a compressed air port; and a vacuum pump powered by the battery pack, the vacuum pump configured to supply vacuum to the semiconductor processing tool via a vacuum port," recited in claim 1.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 9:
Independent claim 9 recites features similar to those discussed above with respect to claim 1, and is believed to be patentable for at least the same reasons as discussed above in connection with claim 1.
(Pages: 7, 9)
With respect to (b) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
Claims 1 and 9 broadly describes that, compressor and the vacuum pump powered by battery pack. Accordingly, Langan discloses, in ¶29 that vacuum and compressor can be powered by the battery [ ¶29: The vacuum source may additionally include one or more ion pump or turbo-molecular pump, which is preferably operated by battery power and controlled by a battery powered controller] as described in the previous office action.
Claims 1 and 9 broadly describes the feature “compressor configured to supply compressed air” that is the compressor is capable of supplying air that can be any type of air and doesn’t particularly limit this to any particular type of air. Applicant argues that boiled-off gaseous nitrogen is an inert (non-reactive) gas and not air; however, claim requires air (gaseous form) and Langan does teach gaseous nitrogen being used as compressed air.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, examiner notes that, the difference between rejected independent claims 1 and 9 and the allowed claim independent 17 is that, claim 17 includes the feature: a battery cart connected to the facilities cart where the battery cart comprises battery pack and this battery pack configured to supply electrical power to the facilities cart. Claims 1 and 9 do not recite any of these features.
Even though the dependent claim 7 (depends from 1) recites broader feature, the mobile facilities cart is connected to at least one battery cart, but doesn’t describe the specific feature of the battery cart comprises battery pack and this battery pack configured to supply electrical power to the facilities cart.
Even though the dependent claim 16 (depends from 9) recites broader feature, apparatus comprising “input connection” for receiving electrical power from a battery cart, but doesn’t describe the specific feature of the battery cart comprises battery pack and this battery pack configured to supply electrical power to the facilities cart.
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but for the above described reasons, they are not persuasive; therefore, the 35 USC § 103 rejections of claim 9 as set forth in the previous office action are maintained and claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the references as presented in the current office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9-10, 12-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langan et al. (US20030063965A1) [hereinafter Langan] in view of Schneider, SK et al., Enhancing flexibility and robustness of semiconductor production by using autonomous modular services. 2018 29th Annual SEMI Advanced Semiconductor Manufacturing Conference (ASMC), Saratoga Springs, NY, USA, pp. 359-364 [online], [retrieved on 05 December 2025]. Retrieved from the Internet [hereinafter Schneider].
Regarding claim 1 (amended):
Langan discloses, A method for commissioning a semiconductor processing tool, the method comprising: [¶31: “A method…includes the steps of providing the above system, processing the substrates in a first one of the processing chambers, mating the docking valve with the corresponding valve on the first one of the processing chambers, activating the vacuum source to the container to equalize pressure of the container with the one of the processing chamber,”];
connecting a mobile facilities cart to a semiconductor processing tool; [¶40: “the mobile cart 22 is equipped with linear motion drive and a gate-type docking valve 23 designed to mate with a corresponding valve 24 on a robot chamber or processing tool 32.”];
the facilities cart comprising: a battery pack configured to supply electrical power…[¶38: “The SEME container 12…” “This ion or turbo-molecular pump 18 is preferably operated by a battery powered controller 19.”
¶39: “The system 10 is contained in a mobile cart 22. The combination of sorption and ion, or turbo-molecular, pumps provides continuous, active pumping”
Also see fig. 2; facilities cart 10, battery 18a];
a compressor powered by the battery pack, the compressor configured to supply compressed air to the semiconductor processing tool via a compressed air port; and [¶29: “The vacuum source may additionally include one or more ion pump or turbo-molecular pump, which is preferably operated by battery power and controlled by a battery powered controller.”
¶42: “the boiled-off gaseous nitrogen can be used as a pure, inert gas to re-pressurize (vent) the SEME container 12 or inter-gate valve space when necessary. This re-pressurization can be accomplished by closing the external vent valve 29, and opening the internal vent valve 30, along with valves 16 or 25.”…
¶40: “the mobile cart 22 is equipped with linear motion drive and a gate-type docking valve 23 designed to mate with a corresponding valve 24 on a robot chamber or processing tool 32. During the docking process, the two valves are securely clamped together, forming a vacuum-tight seal.” “The two gate valves 23, 24 are then opened to permit unloading/loading of wafers to the robot chamber or processing tool 32.”];
a vacuum pump powered by the battery pack, the vacuum pump configured to supply vacuum to the semiconductor processing tool via a vacuum port; [¶29: “The vacuum source may additionally include one or more ion pump or turbo-molecular pump, which is preferably operated by battery power and controlled by a battery powered controller.”
¶31: “mating the docking valve with the corresponding valve on the first one of the processing chambers, activating the vacuum source to the container to equalize pressure of the container with the one of the processing chamber,”… ¶27: “A vacuum source having a portable power source is located on the cart which is capable of generating a vacuum in the internal volume of the container.”… ¶40: “the mobile cart 22 is equipped with linear motion drive and a gate-type docking valve 23 designed to mate with a corresponding valve 24 on a robot chamber or processing tool 32. During the docking process, the two valves are securely clamped together, forming a vacuum-tight seal.” “The two gate valves 23, 24 are then opened to permit unloading/loading of wafers to the robot chamber or processing tool 32.”];
supplying facilities from the mobile facilities cart to the semiconductor processing tool; and [¶40: “the mobile cart 22 is equipped with linear motion drive and a gate-type docking valve 23 designed to mate with a corresponding valve 24 on a robot chamber or processing tool 32. During the docking process, the two valves are securely clamped together, forming a vacuum-tight seal.” “The two gate valves 23, 24 are then opened to permit unloading/loading of wafers to the robot chamber or processing tool 32.”… ¶46: “The SEME system 10 improves the throughput of this sequence by moving the wafers between processing tools 32 under vacuum, and without intermediate re-pressurization, thus allowing the tool 32 set to be considered as one virtual cluster tool. Operation in this way also reduces energy consumption associated with pressure cycling in loadlock chambers.”];
operating the semiconductor processing tool using facilities supplied by the connected mobile facilities cart. [¶46: “The SEME system 10 improves the throughput of this sequence by moving the wafers between processing tools 32 under vacuum, and without intermediate re-pressurization, thus allowing the tool 32 set to be considered as one virtual cluster tool. Operation in this way also reduces energy consumption associated with pressure cycling in loadlock chambers.” “if a vacuum process follows a photolithography step or wet processing step (performed at atmospheric pressure), the SEME system 10 permits controlled evacuation of the wafer container 12 as it moves through the fabrication area.”… ¶39: “The system 10 is contained in a mobile cart 22.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Schneider discloses, …supply electrical power to the semiconductor processing tool via a power port;.. [Page 360, col. 1, ¶2 in SECTION II. Current State: “Currently, more and more semiconductor manufacturer are complementing the transportation systems at the cleanroom floor with Automated Guided Vehicles (AGVs). This leads to hybrid Automated Material Handling Systems (AMHS) in a factory regarding the applied technologies. These AGVs are installed for fulfilling a special function, e. g. the loading and unloading of special equipment, the ambient monitoring of the cleanroom, or the cleanroom cleaning.”
Page 360, col. 2, ¶1 SECTION III. New Automation Solutions: “The core innovation of the new automation concept is to separate the transport function and the needed service function by a modularization of the whole system like Lego bricks in the following parts:
energy supply module
transportation unit, similar to an AGV.
As the core idea is the modularization, the new automation concept is named ‘robot bricks system’, for short RoBriX The components of the new automation concept are schematically depicted in Fig. 1.”
Examiner notes that Schneider describes, fig 1., the mobile cart such as Automated Guided Vehicle providing services to the semiconductor tools includes energy supply module to provide power to the semiconductor tool].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of supplying electrical power to the semiconductor processing tool via a power port in order to reduce standby times of the semiconductor processing system by providing fast service taught by Schneider with the method taught by Langan as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to reduce standby times of the semiconductor processing system by providing fast service [Schneider, Page 362, col. 2, ¶1, advantages: “This results in low standby times of unused service modules,” “A fast ad hoc automation of mature factories is possible.”].
Regarding claim 5:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Langan further discloses, wherein the facilities provided by the mobile facilities cart to the semiconductor processing tool include all of…compressed air, and vacuum. [¶31: “mating the docking valve with the corresponding valve on the first one of the processing chambers, activating the vacuum source to the container to equalize pressure of the container with the one of the processing chamber,”… ¶27: “A vacuum source having a portable power source is located on the cart which is capable of generating a vacuum in the internal volume of the container.”… ¶42: “the boiled-off gaseous nitrogen can be used as a pure, inert gas to re-pressurize (vent) the SEME container 12 or inter-gate valve space when necessary. This re-pressurization can be accomplished by closing the external vent valve 29, and opening the internal vent valve 30, along with valves 16 or 25.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Schneider discloses, wherein the facilities provided by the mobile facilities cart….include all of electrical power… [Page 360, col. 1, ¶2 in SECTION II. Current State: “Currently, more and more semiconductor manufacturer are complementing the transportation systems at the cleanroom floor with Automated Guided Vehicles (AGVs). This leads to hybrid Automated Material Handling Systems (AMHS) in a factory regarding the applied technologies. These AGVs are installed for fulfilling a special function, e. g. the loading and unloading of special equipment, the ambient monitoring of the cleanroom, or the cleanroom cleaning.”
Page 360, col. 2, ¶1 SECTION III. New Automation Solutions: “The core innovation of the new automation concept is to separate the transport function and the needed service function by a modularization of the whole system like Lego bricks in the following parts:
energy supply module
transportation unit, similar to an AGV.
As the core idea is the modularization, the new automation concept is named ‘robot bricks system’, for short RoBriX The components of the new automation concept are schematically depicted in Fig. 1.”
Examiner notes that Schneider describes, fig 1., the mobile cart such as Automated Guided Vehicle providing services to the semiconductor tools includes energy supply module to provide energy services].
Regarding claim 6:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Langan further discloses, wherein the facilities provided by the mobile facilities cart to the semiconductor processing tool include at least one of electrical power, compressed air, or vacuum. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the features separated by the “or” option; and therefore, only one of those features is given the patentable weight. Accordingly, Langan teaches the feature, facilities provided by the mobile facilities cart to the semiconductor processing tool include one of compressed air or vacuum.
¶31: “mating the docking valve with the corresponding valve on the first one of the processing chambers, activating the vacuum source to the container to equalize pressure of the container with the one of the processing chamber,”… ¶27: “A vacuum source having a portable power source is located on the cart which is capable of generating a vacuum in the internal volume of the container.”… ¶42: “the boiled-off gaseous nitrogen can be used as a pure, inert gas to re-pressurize (vent) the SEME container 12 or inter-gate valve space when necessary. This re-pressurization can be accomplished by closing the external vent valve 29, and opening the internal vent valve 30, along with valves 16 or 25.”].
Regarding claim 7:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Langan further discloses, wherein the mobile facilities cart is connected to at least one battery cart. [¶27: “The system includes a mobile cart and a vacuum sealable container having an internal volume to hold a plurality of the substrates. The container is located on the cart. A vacuum source having a portable power source is located on the cart which is capable of generating a vacuum in the internal volume of the container.”
Examiner notes that, the parent claim 1 has been amended; however, claim 7 is still broad, and in broadest reasonable interpretation claim requires “the mobile facilities cart” is connected to “a battery cart,” where this connection can be any connection and can be a cart to cart/component connection or a cart to cart connection].
Regarding claim 9:
Langan discloses, An apparatus for commissioning a semiconductor processing tool, the apparatus comprising: [ ¶27: “A mobile, self-evacuating, micro-environment system for transit and storage of substrates between two or more processing chambers in the manufacture of semiconductor devices is provided. The system includes a mobile cart and a vacuum sealable container having an internal volume to hold a plurality of the substrates.”… ¶31: “providing the above system, processing the substrates in a first one of the processing chambers, mating the docking valve with the corresponding valve on the first one of the processing chambers, activating the vacuum source to the container to equalize pressure of the container with the one of the processing chamber,”];
a compressor powered by the at least one battery pack, the compressor configured to supply compressed air to the semiconductor processing tool via a compressed air port; [¶42: “the boiled-off gaseous nitrogen can be used as a pure, inert gas to re-pressurize (vent) the SEME container 12 or inter-gate valve space when necessary. This re-pressurization can be accomplished by closing the external vent valve 29, and opening the internal vent valve 30, along with valves 16 or 25.”… ¶40: “the mobile cart 22 is equipped with linear motion drive and a gate-type docking valve 23 designed to mate with a corresponding valve 24 on a robot chamber or processing tool 32. During the docking process, the two valves are securely clamped together, forming a vacuum-tight seal.” “The two gate valves 23, 24 are then opened to permit unloading/loading of wafers to the robot chamber or processing tool 32.”];
a vacuum pump powered by the at least one battery pack, the vacuum pump configured to supply vacuum to the semiconductor processing tool via a vacuum port; and [¶31: “mating the docking valve with the corresponding valve on the first one of the processing chambers, activating the vacuum source to the container to equalize pressure of the container with the one of the processing chamber,”… ¶27: “A vacuum source having a portable power source is located on the cart which is capable of generating a vacuum in the internal volume of the container.”… ¶40: “the mobile cart 22 is equipped with linear motion drive and a gate-type docking valve 23 designed to mate with a corresponding valve 24 on a robot chamber or processing tool 32. During the docking process, the two valves are securely clamped together, forming a vacuum-tight seal.” “The two gate valves 23, 24 are then opened to permit unloading/loading of wafers to the robot chamber or processing tool 32.”];
at least one battery pack configured to supply electrical power … [¶45: “The generator would recharge the onboard battery 18 a used to operate the ion or turbomolecular pump 18. When not in transit between processing stations, the SEME system 10 can be connected to a gaseous nitrogen vent line, an electrical power source to recharge the battery 18 a, and a liquid nitrogen source to recharge the sorption pumps.”];
a housing supporting the battery pack, the compressor, and the vacuum pump. [¶39: “The system 10 is contained in a mobile cart 22. The combination of sorption and ion, or turbo-molecular, pumps provides continuous, active pumping of the wafer container with no connection to external power.”….
Also, see fig. 2, battery 18a, vacuum and compressed air systems are housed inside the mobile cart 22.], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Schneider discloses, supply electrical power to the semiconductor processing tool via a power port; [Page 360, col. 1, ¶2 in SECTION II. Current State: “Currently, more and more semiconductor manufacturer are complementing the transportation systems at the cleanroom floor with Automated Guided Vehicles (AGVs). This leads to hybrid Automated Material Handling Systems (AMHS) in a factory regarding the applied technologies. These AGVs are installed for fulfilling a special function, e. g. the loading and unloading of special equipment, the ambient monitoring of the cleanroom, or the cleanroom cleaning.”
Page 360, col. 2, ¶1 SECTION III. New Automation Solutions: “The core innovation of the new automation concept is to separate the transport function and the needed service function by a modularization of the whole system like Lego bricks in the following parts:
energy supply module
transportation unit, similar to an AGV.
As the core idea is the modularization, the new automation concept is named ‘robot bricks system’, for short RoBriX The components of the new automation concept are schematically depicted in Fig. 1.”
Examiner notes that Schneider describes, fig 1., the mobile cart such as Automated Guided Vehicle providing services to the semiconductor tools includes energy supply module to provide power to the semiconductor tool].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the facilities provided by the mobile facilities cart include electrical power in order to reduce standby times of the semiconductor processing system by providing fast service taught by Schneider with the apparatus taught by Langan as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to reduce standby times of the semiconductor processing system by providing fast service [Schneider, Page 362, col. 2, ¶1, advantages: “This results in low standby times of unused service modules,” “A fast ad hoc automation of mature factories is possible.”].
Regarding claim 10:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The apparatus of claim 9, and
Langan further discloses, further comprising wheels supporting the housing. [Langan fig. 2 shows the cart system 10 with housing that is a mobile cart such that the wheels supports the housing
¶39: “The system 10 is contained in a mobile cart 22.”].
Regarding claim 12:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The apparatus of claim 9, and
Langan further discloses, further comprising: a compressed air port coupled to the compressor; a vacuum port coupled to the vacuum pump; and a power port coupled to the battery pack. [¶29: “The vacuum source may additionally include one or more ion pump or turbo-molecular pump, which is preferably operated by battery power and controlled by a battery powered controller.”… ¶40: “the mobile cart 22 is equipped with linear motion drive and a gate-type docking valve 23 designed to mate with a corresponding valve 24 on a robot chamber or processing tool 32. During the docking process, the two valves are securely clamped together, forming a vacuum-tight seal. The small space located between the gate valves 23, 24 is then evacuated by the SEME system 10 pumps.”… ¶42: “the boiled-off gaseous nitrogen can be used as a pure, inert gas to re-pressurize (vent) the SEME container 12 or inter-gate valve space when necessary. This re-pressurization can be accomplished by closing the external vent valve 29, and opening the internal vent valve 30, along with valves 16 or 25.”
Examiner notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, the ports recited in the limitations, compressed air port and vacuum port are interpreted as any port connections that makes this respective compressor and vacuum connections. In broadest reasonable interpretation, the power port can be any power connection providing power
Langan describes, compressor and vacuum ports valves/ports connecting to the vacuum and compressed air mechanisms; and battery providing power via power port/connections.].
Regarding claim 13:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The apparatus of claim 12, and
Langan further discloses, wherein at least one of the compressed air port, the vacuum port, or the power port is a quick disconnect connector. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the features separated by the “or” option; and therefore, only one of those features is given the patentable weight. Langan teaches the at least one feature, such as vacuum port is a quick disconnect connector.
¶40: “the mobile cart 22 is equipped with linear motion drive and a gate-type docking valve 23 designed to mate with a corresponding valve 24 on a robot chamber or processing tool 32. During the docking process, the two valves are securely clamped together, forming a vacuum-tight seal. The small space located between the gate valves 23, 24 is then evacuated by the SEME system 10 pumps.”
Examiner notes that, Langan describes, port such as docking valve 23 for quickly connecting the vacuum].
Regarding claim 14:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The apparatus of claim 9, and
Langan further discloses, wherein the vacuum pump is configured to provide vacuum at greater than 500 torr. [¶14: “FIG. 1 shows that the settling time of such microscopic particles under atmospheric pressure (760 Torr) is very long. Only under reduced container pressure can a rapid gravitational settling of such particles occur.”… ¶29: “The sorption pump is preferably capable of pumping down the container to a base pressure of about 10 −2 Torr. The vacuum source is preferably controlled using a selected pumping rate and vacuum conductance by adjustable valves to eliminate impurities condensation and residue particle formation. The vacuum source may additionally include one or more ion pump or turbo-molecular pump, which is preferably operated by battery power and controlled by a battery powered controller. The ion or turbo-molecular pump can preferably achieve a pressure of about 10−6 to 10−9 Torr and provides continuous removal of trace molecular contaminants.”
Examiner notes that, Langan’s vacuum can provide 760 torr such that it can pump down from atmospheric pressure 760 torr to 10−9 torr providing about 760 Torr of vacuum].
Regarding claim 16:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The apparatus of claim 9, and
Langan further discloses, further comprising at least one input connection for receiving electrical power from a battery cart. [¶29: “The vacuum source may additionally include one or more ion pump or turbo-molecular pump, which is preferably operated by battery power and controlled by a battery powered controller.”
Examiner notes that, at least one input connection for receiving electrical power is broad and can be any input connection that is receiving battery power].
Claim(s) 2-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langan and Schneider in view of Brand et al. (US20240009856A1) [hereinafter Brand].
Regarding claim 2:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Brand discloses, wherein operating the semiconductor processing tool includes at least one of running a test or performing a calibration on the semiconductor processing tool. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the features separated by the “or” option; and therefore, only one of those features is given the patentable weight. Accordingly, Brand teaches the feature, running a check/test or calibration on semiconductor processing tool.
¶42: “The robot system 100 includes a robot arm 130 disposed on a mobile cart 101 to allow the robot to be moved within the fabrication facility to service different semiconductor tools.”… ¶91: “perform robot arm-to-component alignment. The arm-to-component alignment is adjusted in accordance to a specific component of the process module 182 that is being serviced. Lasers mounted on the robot arm 130 may be used to check the orientation of the chamber of the tool 210 and/or components of a process module that is to be serviced, by checking the yaw, pitch, and roll parameters of the chamber/component against that of the robot and adjust the alignment of the robot arm 130 accordingly.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the features operating the semiconductor processing tool includes at least one of running a test or performing a calibration on the semiconductor processing tool in order to perform actions with high precision and minimal variability taking into account human safety, cleanliness, and customized functionality taught by Brand with the method taught by Langan and Schneider as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to perform actions with high precision and minimal variability taking into account human safety, cleanliness, and customized functionality [Brand ¶7: “The automation takes into account human safety, form factor, portability, cleanliness, and customized functionality to perform repeatable actions with high precision and minimal variability.”].
Regarding claim 3:
Langan, Schneider and Brand disclose, The method of claim 2, and
Brand further discloses, wherein the test includes at least one of a network communications check; an interlock test; a vacuum integrity/leak check; troubleshooting; or calibration. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the features separated by the “or” option; and therefore, only one of those features is given the patentable weight. Accordingly, Brand teaches the feature, troubleshooting (maintenance) or calibration on semiconductor processing tool.
¶10: “Vision systems provided in the robot arm may be used to align the cart frame in position relative to the process module and/or align the robot arm with the various components of the process module that are being serviced, validate the accuracy of performed maintenance tasks, run metrology applications, etc. The robot arm is designed to fit into constrained space of a semiconductor tool that includes the process module, to perform the maintenance tasks, making this a versatile solution for performing repetitive tasks with precision and consistency.”… ¶91: “perform robot arm-to-component alignment. The arm-to-component alignment is adjusted in accordance to a specific component of the process module 182 that is being serviced. Lasers mounted on the robot arm 130 may be used to check the orientation of the chamber of the tool 210 and/or components of a process module that is to be serviced, by checking the yaw, pitch, and roll parameters of the chamber/component against that of the robot and adjust the alignment of the robot arm 130 accordingly.”].
Regarding claim 4 (amended):
Langan, Schneider and Brand disclose,, The method of claim 2, and
Langan further discloses, wherein the semiconductor processing tool is a cluster tool comprising at least one of a vacuum processing chamber or wafer transfer chamber, [¶40: “the mobile cart 22 is equipped with linear motion drive and a gate-type docking valve 23 designed to mate with a corresponding valve 24 on a robot chamber or processing tool 32. During the docking process, the two valves are securely clamped together, forming a vacuum-tight seal.” “The two gate valves 23, 24 are then opened to permit unloading/loading of wafers to the robot chamber or processing tool 32.”… ¶46: “The SEME system 10 improves the throughput of this sequence by moving the wafers between processing tools 32 under vacuum, and without intermediate re-pressurization, thus allowing the tool 32 set to be considered as” “cluster tool.”];
the cluster tool configured to operate at less than 500 torr during normal processing operation, and the mobile facilities cart provides vacuum at greater than 500 torr to the cluster tool. [¶14: “FIG. 1 shows that the settling time of such microscopic particles under atmospheric pressure (760 Torr) is very long. Only under reduced container pressure can a rapid gravitational settling of such particles occur.”… ¶29: “The sorption pump is preferably capable of pumping down the container to a base pressure of about 10 −2 Torr. The vacuum source is preferably controlled using a selected pumping rate and vacuum conductance by adjustable valves to eliminate impurities condensation and residue particle formation. The vacuum source may additionally include one or more ion pump or turbo-molecular pump, which is preferably operated by battery power and controlled by a battery powered controller. The ion or turbo-molecular pump can preferably achieve a pressure of about 10−6 to 10−9 Torr and provides continuous removal of trace molecular contaminants.”
Examiner notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, claim requires, mobile facilities cart providing vacuum at greater than 500 torr.
Examiner notes that, Langan’s vacuum can provide 760 torr such that it can pump down from atmospheric pressure 760 torr to 10−9 torr providing about 760 Torr of vacuum].
Regarding claim 8:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Brand further discloses, further comprising connecting another mobile facilities cart to the semiconductor processing tool. [¶10: “Vision systems provided in the robot arm may be used to align the cart frame in position relative to the process module and/or align the robot arm with the various components of the process module that are being serviced, validate the accuracy of performed maintenance tasks, run metrology applications, etc. The robot arm is designed to fit into constrained space of a semiconductor tool that includes the process module, to perform the maintenance tasks, making this a versatile solution for performing repetitive tasks with precision and consistency.”… ¶91: “perform robot arm-to-component alignment. The arm-to-component alignment is adjusted in accordance to a specific component of the process module 182 that is being serviced.”
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation claim requires that a different cart is connected to the semiconductor tool.
Examiner notes that Brand describes a cart connected to semiconductor tool].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langan and Schneider and further in view of Couture et al. (US20080223630A1) [hereinafter Couture].
Regarding claim 11:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The apparatus of claim 10, and
Couture discloses, further comprising a motor powered by the at least one battery pack, the motor configured to drive the wheels. [¶6: “The skid steer drive includes a chassis having a third volume within the chassis adjacent the drive wheel; and at least three sets of motive power elements, among them a battery assembly, main drive motor assembly”]… ¶90: “The robotic vehicle 10 is electrically powered (e.g. a bank of nine standard military BB-2590 replaceable and rechargeable lithium-ion batteries).”]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the motor powered by the at least one battery pack, the motor configured to drive the wheels in order to have a mobile robot with increased flexibility and mobility taught by Couture with the apparatus taught by Langan and Schneider as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to have a mobile robot with increased flexibility and mobility [Couture ¶18: “An advantage of the disclosed system is that” “increases the flexibility and mobility of the robot”].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langan and Schneider and further in view of Shelton et al. (US20230094619A1) [hereinafter Shelton].
Regarding claim 15:
Langan and Schneider disclose, The apparatus of claim 9, but they do not explicitly disclose, and
Shelton discloses, further comprising a phase converter coupled to the at least one battery pack for converting the electrical power to three phase electrical power. [¶47: “FIG. 47 illustrates a power distribution for a battery operated system. As illustrated, the battery may operated the upper robot and the lower robot, including any EOATs (end of arm tools).” “the DC power of the battery may be converted to AC power using stacked inventers. Here, the stacked inverters may provide 240V AC power having split phase. Here, the outputs may provide 240V of AC power using one-phase.” “the 240V of AC power may be provided with two or three phase output. Additionally, a phase converter may be additionally used to achieve 480V AC power having two or three phase output.”]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the phase converter coupled to the at least one battery pack for converting the electrical power to three phase electrical power in order to provide sufficient AC power obtained from a DC source/battery by utilizing the phase converter taught by Shelton with the apparatus taught by Langan and Schneider as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to provide sufficient AC power obtained from a DC source/battery by utilizing the phase converter [Shelton ¶87: “To obtain robot tools with sufficient driving power, AC power may be supplied”].
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 17-20 were allowed and examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance can be found in the previous office action mailed on 12/23/2026.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document.
Brotto et al. (US20080266913A1) - Portable Power Supply:
¶6: A portable power supply including a housing, at least one battery cell, and an inverter connected to the at least one battery cell, wherein the inverter outputs at least about 3 kilowatts.
Moraes (US20190002005A1) - Connected Workstation Service Cart:
¶4: The service cart further comprises a compressed-air tank, preferably disposed within the cabinet structure. The service cart further comprises a specialized work surface atop the cabinet structure, the specialized work surface having specialized recesses to hold particular tools.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116