DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0407028) in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0259086).
Lee et al. discloses, as shown in Figure 9, an organic light emitting diode comprising:
a first electrode (EL1);
a second electrode (EL2) facing the first electrode, and
an emissive layer (EML-1disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the emissive layer comprises at least one emitting material layer ([0390], first sub-emission layer and a second sub-emission layer),
wherein the at least one emitting material layer (EU-1 to EU-4) comprises:
a first blue emitting material layer (EU1) ([0224]), (Note that in [0390], emitting blue due to the presence of the FD32 dopant) comprising a first host (first host H1-5); and
a second blue emitting material (EU-2) ([0224]), ([0390], emitting blue due to the presence of the FD32 dopant) comprising a second host (second host H2-2), wherein the second blue emitting material layer is disposed between the first blue emitting material layer and the second electrode. The chemical Formula of second host H2-2 is identical to compound BH2-1. Lee et al does not disclose the first bule emitting material layer comprising the first host having the compound as claimed. However, Kim et al. discloses an OLED comprising a first sub-pixel organic layer comprising a first compound represented by one selected from Formulae 1A and 1B of claim 12, and a second sub-pixel organic layer comprising a second compound represented by one selected from Formulae 2A to 2C of claim 12, wherein, according to claim 20, the first compound is one selected from Compounds 1 to 51, and the second compound is one selected from compounds H1 to H24 and H105 to H184 [0144]. Compound H146 from the list of compounds H105 to H108 is the same as compound BH1-9 of present claim. Note [0144], Claim 20. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute the host compound of Lee from the list of H105 to H184 of Kim to replace the H105 of Lee in order to have the desired emitting color.
Regarding claims 2-8 and 13-18, Lee et al. and Kim et al. disclose the Chemical Formulae 1, Chemical Formulae 3, the first host having the organic compounds as claims ([0144], [0274], [0390] and claim 20 of Kim et al.)
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Lee et al. and Kim et al. disclose the emissive layer further comprises an electron blocking layer (not shown, [0254]) disposed between the first electrode and the at least one emitting material layer. Since Lee et al. and Kim et al. discloses the condition of HOMO of the first hosts being higher than HOMO of the electron blocking materials, the first host has a highest occupied molecular orbital energy level higher than a highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of the electron blocking layer.
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. and Kim et al. do not disclose the emissive layer has a single emitting part. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the emissive layer of Lee et al. and Kim et al. having a single emitting part in order to have the desired emitting light.
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. and Kim et al. disclose, as shown in Figure 9, wherein the emissive layer comprises:
a first emitting part (EU-1, [0224]) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a second emitting part (EU-2, [0224]) disposed between the first emitting part and the second electrode;
a third emitting part (EU-3, [0224]) disposed between the second emitting part and the second electrode;
a first charge generation layer (CGL-1, [0229]) disposed between the first emitting part and the second emitting part; and
a second charge generation layer (CGL-2, [0229]) disposed between the second emitting part and the third emitting part, and
wherein at least one of the first emitting part, the second emitting part and the third emitting part comprises the at least one emitting material layer (EML-1 to EML-4).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. discloses, as shown in Figure 9, an organic light emitting diode comprising:
a first electrode (EL1);
a second electrode (EL2); and
an emissive layer (EML-1 to EML-4) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode,
wherein the emissive layer comprises:
a first emitting part (EU-1, [0224]) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a second emitting part (EU-2, [0224]) disposed between the first emitting part and the second electrode;
a third emitting part (EU-3, [0224]) disposed between the second emitting part and the second electrode;
a first charge generation layer (CGL-1, [0229]) disposed between the first emitting part and the second emitting part; and
a second charge generation layer (CGL-2, [0229]) disposed between the second emitting part and the third emitting part,
the first emitting part (UE-1) comprises a first emitting material layer (EML-1),
wherein the second emitting part (UE-2) comprises a second emitting material layer (EML-2),
wherein the third emitting part (UE-3) comprises a third emitting material layer (EML-3),
wherein each of the first emitting material layer and the third emitting material layer comprises a blue emitting material layer [0224]-[0227] (FD32 dopant is present in the first light emitting unit and in the third light emitting unit, [0390] and [0393]),
wherein the blue emitting material layer in the first emitting material layer and the third emitting material layer each independently comprise:
a first blue emitting material layer comprising a first host; and
a second blue emitting material layer disposed between the first emitting material layer and the second electrode, and comprising a second host ([0390], EML-1 from EU-1 in Fig. 9 is made of a first sub-emission layer including a first host (H1-5) and a first dopant (FD32) and a second sub-emission layer including a second host (H2-2) and a first dopant (FD32), while paragraph [0393] discloses that the second light emitting unit including a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a first sub-emission layer, a second sub-emission layer, and an electron transport region has the same structure as the first light emitting unit; therefore, when the first sub-emission layer including a first host (!1-5) from
EU-1 is taken as the
EML-1 and second sub-emission layer including a second host (H2-2) from EU-3 is taken as the EML-3,
wherein the first host comprises an organic compound having the following structure of Chemical Formula 1, and wherein the second host comprises an organic compound having the following structure of Chemical Formula 3.
The chemical Formula of second host H2-2 is identical to compound BH2-1. Lee et al does not disclose the first bule emitting material layer comprising the first host having the compound as claimed. However, Kim et al. discloses an OLED comprising a first sub-pixel organic layer comprising a first compound represented by one selected from Formulae 1A and 1B of claim 12, and a second sub-pixel organic layer comprising a second compound represented by one selected from Formulae 2A to 2C of claim 12, wherein, according to claim 20, the first compound is one selected from Compounds 1 to 51, and the second compound is one selected from compounds H1 to H24 and H105 to H184. Compound H146 from the list of compounds H105 to H108 is the same as compound BH1-9 of present claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute the host compound of Lee from the list of H105 to H184 of Kim to replace the H105 of Lee in order to have the desired emitting color.
Regarding claim 20, Lee et al. and Kim et al. disclose an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising:
a substrate [0050]; and
the OLED of claim 1 over the substrate.
Regarding claim 21, Lee et al. and Kim et al. disclose an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising:
a substrate [0050]; and
the OLED of claim 12 over the substrate.
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897