DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wayne (US 8,739,470) in view of Heo (US 2018/0209153).
Regarding claim 1, Wayne discloses a roof system comprising:
a roof deck, wherein the roof deck comprises a rake edge, (Fig 2)
roofing material 22 wherein the roofing material is above the deck (Fig 2) and wherein the roofing material 22 has an end at the rake edge of the roof deck (Fig 2), and
a one-piece apparatus 10, wherein the one-piece apparatus comprises a stem 18, an upper arm 16, and a lower arm 12, wherein the stem, the upper arm, and the lower arm form an F-shape, wherein the stem, the upper arm, and the lower arm are configured to form a three-sided space to accept the thickness of the roofing material 22 (Fig 1-3),
wherein the stem 18 comprises a side (front) opposite the upper arm and the lower arm, wherein the side (front) opposite the upper arm and the lower arm has a uniform surface with a uniform rigidity (Fig 2),
wherein the upper arm 16 and the lower arm 12 of the one-piece apparatus 10 are above the roof deck (Fig 2),
wherein the stem 18 of the one-piece apparatus is situated outside and adjacent to the rake edge of the roof deck (Fig 2), and
wherein the end of the roofing material 22 is situated within the space formed by the stem 18, the upper arm 16, and the lower arm 12 of the one-piece apparatus (Fig 2).
Wayne does not specifically disclose an underlayment, wherein the underlayment is above the roof deck and the roofing material is a plurality of asphalt shingles wherein the plurality of asphalt shingles comprises overlapping rows, wherein the overlapping rows of the plurality of asphalt shingles have a thickness. However, Heo discloses a roof system comprising a rake edge, an underlayment 200, wherein the underlayment is above the roof deck and the roofing material is a plurality of shingles 300 wherein the plurality of asphalt shingles comprises overlapping rows, wherein the overlapping rows of the plurality of shingles have a thickness (Fig 3, 6). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing system of Wayne to include an underlayment and a plurality of shingles as taught by Heo, in order to provide a protective layer between the roof deck and the shingles and to provide a desired appearance to the roof. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Wayne modified by Heo discloses the one piece apparatus, but does not disclose wherein the one-piece apparatus comprises an aluminum alloy extrudate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an aluminum alloy extrudate, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice in order to provide an apparatus that has corrosion resistance and ease of fabrication.
Regarding claim 4, Wayne discloses the upper arm 16 has a length, the lower arm 12 has a length, and the length of the lower arm is greater than the length of the upper arm (Fig 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Wayne discloses the lower arm 12 has a thickness, and the thickness of the lower arm is configured to allow the lower arm to be mechanically fastened to the roof deck with a standard roofing fastener (Fig 2), (Col 2,Lines 39-41).
Examiner notes that, even though Wayne does not explicitly recite the lower arm fastened with a standard roofing fastener, these are well known in the art components of a roofing system and therefore are implicitly disclosed by Wayne.
Regarding claim 6, Wayne discloses the stem 18 of the modified one-piece metal apparatus comprises a bottom portion 20 that is angled away from a rake edge of the roof deck (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 7, Wayne discloses the rake edge of the roof deck has a length, and wherein the modified one-piece metal apparatus has a length that is substantially equal to the length of the rake edge (Abstract).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 12-14, Wayne modified by Heo discloses the claimed apparatus, the limitations of claims 8, 9, 12-14 can be seen above in the rejections of claims 1, 4-7.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
`Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ADRIANA FIGUEROA whose telephone number is (571)272-8281. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-5PM MONDAY-FRIDAY.
/ADRIANA FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
11/24/2025