Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 6 have been considered, but are not persuasive.
The applicant’s representative argues that Magcale is directed toward general data center wide optimization and not towards a rack-level predictive coordination. However, the office disagrees. The office observes that Magcale’s teachings are not restricted to just a general data center, but can be utilized towards cooling individual racks. These teachings do not preclude a person of ordinary skill in the art from applying Magcale’s principles to a single rack system employing a rear door heat exchanger for cooling.
Lastly, the office agrees Magcale fails to disclose vents, however in light of the new grounds of rejection set forth below, the office notes that arguments are not persuasive.
New drawings were not included with the remarks/arguments filed on 9/3/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weems (U.S 11,737,238) in view of Magcale (U.S 2019/0145645 A1) and Bash (U.S 2004/0217072 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Weems discloses a rear door heat exchanger configured to mount to a rear end of a housing within which an electronic system is contained (Fig.2 and 5, #310/500) the rear door heat exchanger comprising: a coolant distribution unit (Fig.2, #220) operatively coupled to a coolant-carrying channel comprising a coolant inlet plenum (Fig.2, #121) and a coolant outlet (Fig.2, #122) plenum extending there through the housing in a closed loop configuration (Fig.2, #222/221 are both coolant carry plenums extending through the housing in a closed loop configuration); a single or plurality of fans configured to circulate heated air through the coolant carrying channel (Fig.2 and Column 3, lines 35-37, disclose fans behind the computer system used to recirculate air within the closed loop); a return path or closed loop configured to re-circulate air cooled via the coolant carrying channel through the electronic system (Fig.2, #121 in conjunction with #122 is a closed path configured to recirculate air #150/152/151 within the electronic system).
Weems fail to disclose: A single or plurality of vents disposed in the return path, configured to dynamically direct cooled air to specific targeted portions of the electronic system, variable frequency drive (VFD) fans; wherein the coolant carrying channel comprises a plurality of configurable internal valves operable to regulate the flow of the liquid according to a pre-defined temperature parameter; and wherein the plurality of configurable internal valves are autonomously controlled by a data center infrastructure management (DCIM) software module is configured to autonomously coordinate operation of the plurality of internal valves, the VFD fans, and the vents to provide predictive multi-parameter thermal management of the electronic system.
However, Magcale discloses: Variable frequency drive (VFD) fans and wherein the coolant carrying channel comprises a plurality of configurable internal valves operable to regulate the flow of the liquid according to a pre-defined temperature parameter; and wherein the plurality of configurable internal valves are autonomously controlled by a data center infrastructure management (DCIM) software to provide predictive multi-parameter thermal management of the electronic system (Fig.6-7 and paragraph [0041-0042], which discloses utilizing a DCIM system which controls the VFD fans and one or more adjustable flow control valves (multi-parameters) to adjust the amount of fluid flowing through the RDHX to bring the air temperature within define range using predictive analysis to determine most efficient approach, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weems in view of Magcale, the one or more fans and RDHX (as taught by Weems) would be modified to include VFD fans and internal valves controlled via a DCIM system (as taught by Magcale) to automate temperature regulation).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the one or more fans and RDHX (as taught by Weems) to further include VFD fans and internal valves controlled via a DCIM system (as taught by Magcale) to automate temperature regulation. By utilizing a DCIM system with adjustable control valves and fans, would provide predictive analytics to adjust the air temperature within the system to adequately and efficiently cool said the electronic system (Magcale, Paragraph [0042]).
Furthermore, Weems in view of Magcale fail to disclose: A single or plurality of vents disposed in the return path, configured to dynamically direct cooled air to specific targeted portions of the electronic system controlled via the DCIM.
However, Bash discloses: A single or plurality of vents (Fig.4b & 6, #106/108 same as #304a disposed on the rack housing #302a) disposed in the return path (Fig.4b and 6, the vents are disposed in the return path of the cooling air), configured to dynamically direct cooled air to specific targeted portions of the electronic system controlled by a predictive thermal management controller/system (Paragraph [0048-50], which discloses using a controller in conjunction with sensors to determine whether components of the electrical system is overheating or not, and direct said vents to cool said component overheating, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weems in view of Magcale and Bash, the housing comprising a DCIM which controls the valves and fans (as taught by Weems in view of Magcale) would be modified to include a plurality of vents controlled via predictive software (as taught by Bash) to help efficiently and accurately cool the one or more components within the electronic system).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the housing comprising a DCIM which controls the valves and fans (as taught by Weems in view of Magcale to further include a plurality of vents controlled via predictive software (as taught by Bash) to help efficiently and accurately cool the one or more components within the electronic system. By modifying the DCIM to include additional instructions to control vents based on predictive analytics would allow the system to compensate for fluctuating heat generation while reducing overall power consumption of said system.
Additionally, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, modifying the housing to include plurality of vents controlled by a DCIM would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Magcale discloses utilizing a DCIM to control the cooling components (i.e., valves, fans etc.) efficiently. By utilizing the DCIM to control vents in conjunctions to the other cooling elements would yield predictable results, i.e., measure, analyze, and execute based on information provided to said DCIM for a more efficient and economical cooling (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 2, Weems in view of Magcale and Bash discloses the rear door heat exchanger of claim 1, wherein the coolant distribution unit is further coupled to a heat dissipator (Weems, Fig.2, #220 is coupled to #210 for dissipating heat within the #220).
In regards to Claim 3, Weems in view of Magcale and Bash discloses the rear door heat exchanger of claim 1, further comprising a thermal monitoring sensor configured to measure the exit temperature and the inlet temperature of the circulating air through the electronic system (Magcale, paragraphs [0041-0042], which discloses monitoring sensors to configure the air temperature within the electronic system).
In regards to Claim 4, Weems in view of Magcale and Bash discloses the rear door heat exchanger of claim 1, further comprising the single or plurality of vents configured to dynamically control the temperature of the electronic system in conjunction with the coolant flow and the air flow; and wherein the single or plurality of vents are sensor-controlled vents positioned to direct the air flow to specific targeted portions of the electronic system (Bash, Fig.6, #106/108/304a, are vents which are controlled via a controller in conjunction with sensors to optimize an airflow through the one or more components of the electronic system see paragraphs [0048-0050]).
In regards to Claim 5, Weems in view of Magcale and Bash discloses the rear door heat exchanger of claim 1, wherein the single or plurality of variable frequency drive (VFD) fans are further configured to, dynamically control the flow of air based on a thermal measurement (Magcale, paragraph [0042], the VDF fans are controlled via DCIM based on thermal measurements).
In regards to Claim 6, Weems discloses a rear door heat exchanger configured to mount to a rear end of a housing within which an electronic system is contained (Fig.2 and 5, #310/500), a method of cooling the electronic system comprising: circulating a coolant via a coolant distribution unit (Fig.2, #220) operatively coupled to a coolant-carrying channel comprising a coolant inlet plenum (Fig.2, #121) and a coolant outlet (Fig.2, #122) plenum extending there through the housing in a closed loop configuration (Fig.2, #222/221 are both coolant carry plenums extending through the housing in a closed loop configuration); a single or plurality of fans configured to circulate heated air through the coolant carrying channel (Fig.2 and Column 3, lines 35-37, disclose fans behind the computer system used to recirculate air within the closed loop); a return path or closed loop configured to re-circulate air cooled via the coolant carrying channel through the electronic system (Fig.2, #121 in conjunction with #122 is a closed path configured to recirculate air #150/152/151 within the electronic system).
Weems fail to disclose: VDF fans and regulating a coolant flow through the coolant carrying channel via a plurality of configurable internal valves comprised in the coolant carrying channel according to a pre-defined temperature parameter; and autonomously controlling the plurality of configurable internal valves, the single or plurality of VDS fans, and then vents by a data center infrastructure management (DCIM) software module configured to coordinate liquid flow, airflow, and vent positioning to achieve predictive thermal balancing across the electronic system.
However, Magcale discloses: VDF fans and regulating a coolant flow through the coolant carrying channel via a plurality of configurable internal valves comprised in the coolant carrying channel according to a pre-defined temperature parameter; and autonomously controlling the plurality of configurable internal valves by a data center infrastructure management (DCIM) software module configured to coordinate liquid flow and airflow to achieve predictive thermal balancing across the electronic system (Fig.6-7 and paragraph [0041-0042], which discloses utilizing a predictive analytic DCIM system which controls the VFD fans and one or more adjustable flow control valves to adjust the amount of fluid flowing through the RDHX to bring the air temperature within define range, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weems in view of Magcale, the one or more fans and RDHX (as taught by Weems) would be modified to include VFD fans and internal valves controlled via a DCIM system (as taught by Magcale) to automate temperature regulation).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the one or more fans and RDHX (as taught by Weems) to further include VFD fans and internal valves controlled via a DCIM system (as taught by Magcale) to automate temperature regulation. By utilizing a DCIM system with adjustable control valves and fans, would provide predictive analytics to adjust the air temperature within the system to adequately and efficiently cool said the electronic system (Magcale, Paragraph [0042]).
Furthermore, Weems in view of Magcale fail to disclose: directing cooled air to specific targeted portions of the electronic system via a single or plurality of vents disposed in the return path controlled via the DCIM.
However, Bash discloses: A single or plurality of vents (Fig.4b & 6, #106/108 same as #304a disposed on the rack housing #302a) disposed in the return path (Fig.4b and 6, the vents are disposed in the return path of the cooling air), configured to dynamically direct cooled air to specific targeted portions of the electronic system controlled by a predictive thermal management controller/system (Paragraph [0048-50], which discloses using a controller in conjunction with sensors to determine whether components of the electrical system is overheating or not, and direct said vents to cool said component overheating, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weems in view of Magcale and Bash, the housing comprising a DCIM which controls the valves and fans (as taught by Weems in view of Magcale) would be modified to include a plurality of vents controlled via predictive software (as taught by Bash) to help efficiently and accurately cool the one or more components within the electronic system).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the housing comprising a DCIM which controls the valves and fans (as taught by Weems in view of Magcale to further include a plurality of vents controlled via predictive software (as taught by Bash) to help efficiently and accurately cool the one or more components within the electronic system. By modifying the DCIM to include additional instructions to control vents based on predictive analytics would allow the system to compensate for fluctuating heat generation while reducing overall power consumption of said system.
Additionally, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, modifying the housing to include plurality of vents controlled by a DCIM would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Magcale discloses utilizing a DCIM to control the cooling components (i.e., valves, fans etc.) efficiently. By utilizing the DCIM to control vents in conjunctions to the other cooling elements would yield predictable results, i.e., measure, analyze, and execute based on information provided to said DCIM for a more efficient and economical cooling (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
In regards to Claim 7, Weems in view of Magcale and Bash discloses the method of claim 6 further comprising dissipating heat captured by the coolant carrying channel by a heat dissipator operatively coupled to the coolant distribution unit (Weems, Fig.2, #220 is coupled to #210 for dissipating heat within the working fluid within #220).
In regards to Claim 8, Weems in view of Magcale and Bash discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising measuring the exit temperature and the inlet temperature of the circulating air via a thermal monitoring sensor (Magcale, paragraphs [0041-0042], which discloses monitoring sensors to configure the air temperature within the electronic system).
In regards to Claim 9, Weems in view of Magcale and Bash discloses the method of claim 6, Further comprising dynamically controlling the temperature of the electronic system in conjunction with the coolant flow and the air flow via the single or plurality of vents comprised in the return path or closed loop; and wherein the single or plurality of vents are sensor controlled vents positioned for directing the air flow to specific targeted portions of the electronic system (Bash, Fig.6, #106/108/304a, are vents which are controlled via a controller in conjunction with sensors to optimize an airflow through the one or more components of the electronic system see paragraphs [0048-0050]).
In regards to Claim 10, Weems in view of Magcale and Bash discloses the method of claim 6, dynamically controlling the flow of air based on a thermal measurement by the single or plurality of variable frequency drive (VFD) fans (Magcale, paragraph [0042], the VDF fans are controlled via DCIM based on thermal measurements).
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weems (U.S 11,737,238) in view of Magcale (U.S 2019/0145645 A1), Bash (U.S 2004/0217072 A1), and Gauthier (U.S 2021/0271299 A1).
In regards to Claim 11, Weems discloses a cooling system including a heat exchanger apparatus comprising: an air coolant loop (Fig.2, #151/152/150) in thermal communication with a non-air coolant loop (Fig.2, #222/221); a coolant distribution unit (Fig.2, #220) for heat transfer between the air coolant loop and the non-air coolant loop (Fig.2, #220 is a heat exchanger transferring heat from the air loop to the liquid loop); a single or plurality of fans configured to vary the flow of air across a single or plurality of heat transfer surfaces (Fig.2 and Column 3, lines 35-37, disclose fans behind the computer system used to recirculate air within the closed loop); and wherein heat is transferred from the ambient air to the air loop (Fig.2, #152), and further from the air loop to the non-air loop via coolant distribution unit (Fig.2, #152 through 310 which is in thermal contact with the non-air loop #222/221); and a heat dissipator (Fig.2, #210) thermally coupled to said coolant distribution unit (Fig.2).
Weems fails to disclose: A single or plurality of variable frequency drive (VFD) and based on sensor detected temperatures to accurately maintain the temperature of equipment within an acceptable range and wherein the air coolant loop is maintained at a low pressure and high velocity, and is integrated with a plurality of vents controlled in coordination with the VFD fans by a data center infrastructure management (DCIM) software module, and wherein the non-air coolant loop circulates a plant-based liquid coolant to provide environmentally safe operation within the data center.
However, Magcale discloses: A single or plurality of variable frequency drive (VFD) and based on sensor detected temperatures to accurately maintain the temperature of equipment within an acceptable range (Fig.6-7 and paragraph [0041-0042], which discloses utilizing a DCIM system which controls the VFD fans to bring the air temperature within define range, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weems in view of Magcale, the one or more fans (as taught by Weems) would be modified to include VFD fans controlled via a DCIM system (as taught by Magcale) to automate temperature regulation).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the one or more fans (as taught by Weems) to further include VFD fans controlled via a DCIM system (as taught by Magcale) to automate temperature regulation. By utilizing a DCIM system with adjustable fans, would provide predictive analytics to adjust the air temperature within the system to adequately and efficiently cool said the electronic system (Magcale, Paragraph [0042]).
Furthermore, Weems in view of Magcale fail to disclose: wherein the air coolant loop is maintained at a low pressure and high velocity, and is integrated with a plurality of vents controlled in coordination with the VFD fans by a data center infrastructure management (DCIM) software module and wherein the non-air coolant loop circulates a plant-based liquid coolant to provide environmentally safe operation within the data center.
However, Bash discloses: Wherein the air coolant loop is maintained at a low pressure and high velocity (paragraph [0092], which discloses low volume flow rate with relative high velocity which according to Bernoulli’s principle results in low pressure), and is integrated with a plurality of vents controlled by a data center infrastructure management (DCIM) software module ((Fig.4b & 6, #106/108 same as #304a disposed on the rack housing #302a and Paragraphs [0048-50], which discloses using a controller in conjunction with sensors to determine whether components of the electrical system is overheating or not, and direct said vents to cool said component overheating, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weems in view of Magcale and Bash, the housing comprising a DCIM which controls the valves and fans (as taught by Weems in view of Magcale) would be modified to include a plurality of vents controlled via predictive software (as taught by Bash) to help efficiently and accurately cool the one or more components within the electronic system).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the housing comprising a DCIM which controls the valves and fans (as taught by Weems in view of Magcale to further include a plurality of vents controlled via predictive software (as taught by Bash) to help efficiently and accurately cool the one or more components within the electronic system. By modifying the DCIM to include additional instructions to control vents based on predictive analytics would allow the system to compensate for fluctuating heat generation while reducing overall power consumption of said system.
Additionally, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, modifying the housing to include plurality of vents controlled by a DCIM would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Magcale discloses utilizing a DCIM to control the cooling components (i.e., valves, fans etc.) efficiently. By utilizing the DCIM to control vents in conjunctions to the other cooling elements would yield predictable results, i.e., measure, analyze, and execute based on information provided to said DCIM for a more efficient and economical cooling (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Furthermore, Weems in view of Magcale and Bash fail to disclose: wherein the non-air coolant loop circulates a plant-based liquid coolant to provide environmentally safe operation within the data center.
However, Gauthier discloses: wherein the non-air coolant loop circulates a plant-based liquid coolant to provide environmentally safe operation within the data center (Paragraphs [0032 & 0072], which discloses using plant based coolant (vegetable oil), as such the office notes that with the combination of Weems in view of Magcale, Bash, and Gauthier, the coolant used within the distribution unit (as taught by Weems) would be modified to use plant based coolant (as taught by Gauthier) to cool the ambient air used to cool the electrical system).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the coolant used within the distribution unit (as taught by Weems) to use plant based coolant (as taught by Gauthier) to cool the ambient air used to cool the electrical system. By utilizing a plant based oil is generally consider more sustainable, non-toxic and environment friendly in case of any leakage.
In regards to Claim 13, Weems in view of Magcale, Bash, and Gauthier disclose the cooling system of claim 11, wherein the coolant distribution unit circulates a non-toxic, biodegradable, and leak-safe plant-based liquid coolant within the data center (Gauthier, Paragraph [0032 and 0072], which discloses a non-toxic, biodegradable, and leak safe plant based coolant (vegetable oil)).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weems (U.S 11,737,238) in view of Magcale (U.S 2019/0145645 A1), Bash (U.S 2004/0217072 A1), Gauthier (U.S 2021/0271299 A1), and further, in view of Pachoud (CA 2680884 A1).
In regards to Claim 12, Weems in view of Magcale, Bash, and Gauthier disclose the cooling system of claim 11.
Weems in view of Magcale, Bash, and Gauthier fail to disclose: Wherein the air coolant loop is maintained at a pressure below 5 atmospheres (atm) and configured to circulate air at a velocity between about 75-90 miles per hour.
However, Pachoud discloses: Wherein the air coolant loop is maintained at a pressure below 5 atmospheres (atm) and configured to circulate air at a velocity between about 75-90 miles per hour (abstract and Page 7, lines 14-27, which discloses having the air coolant maintained at 3 atmosphere and having an air velocity between 75-90 MPH, as such the office notes that with the combination of Weems in view of Magcale, Bash, and Gauthier, the cooling system configured to provide an closed loop airflow (as taught by Weems) would be modified to maintain an airflow at low pressure of 3 atm and high velocity speed of 75-90 MPH (as taught by Pachoud) to provide significant cooling capacity for the electronic system placed within the housing).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the cooling system configured to provide an closed loop airflow (as taught by Weems) would be modified to maintain an airflow at low pressure of 3 atm and high velocity speed of 75-90 MPH (as taught by Pachoud) to provide adequate cooling for the electronic system placed within the housing. By using low pressure and high velocity, would allow for simple constructions and reconfiguration with reduced maintenance costs and improved cooling capabilities (Pachoud, Page 3, lines 5-21).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835