DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on December 29, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 29, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grey (US 20090160036 A1) in view of Yeo et al. (US 20180269147 A1) herein after “Yeo”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1-2 of Grey discloses an electronic device (Fig. 1, semiconductor die package 100, ¶ [0016]), comprising:
a first semiconductor die (Fig. 2, first semiconductor die 70, ¶ [0020]) attached to a first conductive die attach pad (Fig. 2, first die attach pad 90(b), ¶ [0019]) and having a first electronic component (“semiconductor dies 70, 72 comprise MOSFETs”, ¶ [0021]);
a second semiconductor die (Fig. 2, second semiconductor die 72, ¶ [0020]) attached to a second conductive die attach pad (Fig. 2, second die attach pad 92(b), ¶ [0019]) and having a second electronic component (“semiconductor dies 70, 72 comprise MOSFETs”, ¶ [0021]);
a package structure (Fig. 1, housing 88, ¶ [0023]) that encloses the first semiconductor die (70) and a portion of the first die attach pad (90(b));
a package structure (88) that encloses the second semiconductor die (72) and a portion of the second die attach pad (92(b)); and
a conductive metal structure (Fig. 2, leadframe structure portion 90, 92, ¶ [0016]) that is electrically connected to the first (70) and second electronic components (72).
Grey fails to disclose a first package structure that encloses the first semiconductor die and a portion of the first die attach pad;
a second package structure that encloses the second semiconductor die and a portion of the second die attach pad; and
the conductive metal structure extends between the first and second package structures, the conductive metal structure exposed outside the first and second package structures.
In the similar field of endeavor of packaged semiconductor devices, Figs. 5-6 and 10 of Yeo disclose a first package structure (Fig. 10, package body 36, ¶ [0026]) that encloses the first semiconductor die (Fig. 6, semiconductor die 16, ¶ [0024]) and a portion of the first die attach pad (Fig. 6, die attach pad 11, ¶ [0024]);
a second package structure (36) that encloses the second semiconductor die (16) and a portion of the second die attach pad (11); and
a conductive metal structure (Fig. 5, conductive frame structure 60, ¶ [0034]) extends between the first and second package structures (36), the conductive metal structure (60) exposed outside the first and second package structures (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Grey with the first and second package structure as disclosed by Yeo, to protect each die from external elements (see Yeo, ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Grey and Yeo together disclose the electronic device of claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 2 of Grey further discloses comprising:
opposite longitudinal ends (see Annotation 1, Fig. 2 of Grey, LE) spaced apart from one another along a first direction;
opposite lateral sides (see Annotation 1, Fig. 2 of Grey, LS) spaced apart from one another along a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction;
a middle portion midway between the longitudinal ends (LE);
a first portion (see Annotation 1, Fig. 2 of Grey, P1) that extends between the middle portion (M) and one of the longitudinal ends (LE) and includes the first semiconductor die (70), the first conductive die attach pad (90(b)), the package structure (88), and a first set of conductive leads (90(a)) that are partially exposed outside the package structure (88) along the one of the longitudinal ends (LE); and
a second portion (see Annotation 1, Fig. 2 of Grey, P2) that extends between the middle portion (M) and the other one of the longitudinal ends (LE) and includes the second semiconductor die (72), the second conductive die attach pad (92(b)), the package structure (88), and a second set of conductive leads (92(a)) that are partially exposed outside the package structure (88) along the other one of the longitudinal ends (LE);
wherein the conductive metal structure (90, 92) extends through the middle portion (M) between the first (P1) and second (P2) portions.
Annotation 1, Fig. 2 of Grey
Grey fails to disclose a first and second package structure.
In the similar field of endeavor of packaged semiconductor devices, Fig. 10 of Yeo discloses a first (36) and second package structure (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Grey with the first and second package structure as disclosed by Yeo, to protect each die from external elements (see Yeo, ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Grey and Yeo together disclose the electronic device of claim 2 as applied above, and Fig. 1 of Grey further discloses wherein bottom sides of the first (90(b)) and second (92(b)) die attach pads are exposed outside bottom sides of the package structures (88) (shown in Fig. 1).
Grey fails to disclose a first and second package structure.
In the similar field of endeavor of packaged semiconductor devices, Fig. 10 of Yeo discloses a first (36) and second package structure (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Grey with the first and second package structure as disclosed by Yeo, to protect each die from external elements (see Yeo, ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, Grey and Yeo together disclose the electronic device of claim 2 as applied above, but Grey fails to disclose comprising a third set of conductive leads that are partially exposed outside the first package structure and extend along the first direction toward the second package structure.
In the similar field of endeavor of packaged semiconductor devices, Fig. 10 of Yeo discloses comprising a third set of conductive leads (Fig. 10, leads 12, ¶ [0024]) that are partially exposed outside the first package structure (36) and extend along the first direction toward the second package structure (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Grey with the conductive leads as disclosed by Yeo, to provide interconnection and improve manufacturing (see Yeo, ¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Grey and Yeo together disclose the electronic device of claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 2 of Grey further discloses wherein the conductive metal structure (90, 92) and the first die attach pad (90(b)) are a contiguous structure (shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Grey and Yeo together disclose the electronic device of claim 5 as applied above, but Grey fails to disclose comprising conductive leads that are partially exposed outside the first package structure and extend along the first direction toward the second package structure.
In the similar field of endeavor of packaged semiconductor devices, Fig. 10 of Yeo discloses comprising conductive leads (12) that are partially exposed outside the first package structure (36) and extend along the first direction toward the second package structure (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Grey with the conductive leads as disclosed by Yeo, to provide interconnection and improve manufacturing (see Yeo, ¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, Grey and Yeo together disclose the electronic device of claim 1 as applied above, and Grey further discloses wherein:
the first electronic component of the first semiconductor die (70) is a first transistor (“semiconductor dies 70, 72 comprise MOSFETs”, ¶ [0021]);
the second electronic component of the second semiconductor die (72) is a second transistor (“semiconductor dies 70, 72 comprise MOSFETs”, ¶ [0021]);
and the conductive metal structure (90, 92) electrically couples a source of the first transistor to a drain of the second transistor to form a switching node of a half bridge circuit (“a plurality of bond wires 34 also provide a connection between the source region in the first semiconductor die 70 and the second die attach pad 92, and consequently to the drain region in the second semiconductor die 72”, ¶ [0029]).
Regarding claim 8, Figs. 1-2 of Grey discloses system, comprising:
a circuit board (“the semiconductor die package 100 is mounted to a circuit substrate such as a printed circuit board”, ¶ [0024]); and
an electronic device (100) attached to the circuit board (“By directly soldering the pads 90(a), 92(b) to pads on a circuit board”, ¶ [0031]) and comprising:
a first semiconductor die (70) attached to a first conductive die attach pad (90(b)) and having a first electronic component (“semiconductor dies 70, 72 comprise MOSFETs”, ¶ [0021]);
a second semiconductor die (72) attached to a second conductive die attach pad (92(b)) and having a second electronic component (“semiconductor dies 70, 72 comprise MOSFETs”, ¶ [0021]);
a package structure (88) that encloses the first semiconductor die (70) and a portion of the first die attach pad (90(b));
a package structure (88) that encloses the second semiconductor die (72) and a portion of the second die attach pad (92(b)); and
a conductive metal structure (90, 92) that is electrically connected to the first (70) and second electronic components (72).
Grey fails to disclose a first package structure that encloses the first semiconductor die and a portion of the first die attach pad;
a second package structure that encloses the second semiconductor die and a portion of the second die attach pad; and
the conductive metal structure extends between the first and second package structures, the conductive metal structure exposed outside the first and second package structures.
In the similar field of endeavor of packaged semiconductor devices, Figs. 5-6 and 10 of Yeo disclose a first package structure (36) that encloses the first semiconductor die (16) and a portion of the first die attach pad (11);
a second package structure (36) that encloses the second semiconductor die (16) and a portion of the second die attach pad (11); and
a conductive metal structure (60) extends between the first and second package structures (36), the conductive metal structure (60) exposed outside the first and second package structures (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Grey with the first and second package structure as disclosed by Yeo, to protect each die from external elements (see Yeo, ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, Grey and Yeo together disclose the system of claim 8 as applied above, and Fig. 2 of Grey further discloses wherein the electronic device (100) comprises:
opposite longitudinal ends (LE) spaced apart from one another along a first direction;
opposite lateral sides (LS) spaced apart from one another along a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction;
a middle portion (M) midway between the longitudinal ends (LE);
a first portion (P1) that extends between the middle portion (M) and one of the longitudinal ends (LE) and includes the first semiconductor die (70), the first conductive die attach pad (90(b)), the package structure (88), and a first set of conductive leads (90(a)) that are partially exposed outside the package structure (88) along the one of the longitudinal ends (LE) and soldered to the circuit board (“By directly soldering the pads 90(a), 92(b) to pads on a circuit board”, ¶ [0031]); and
a second portion (P2) that extends between the middle portion (M) and the other one of the longitudinal ends (LE) and includes the second semiconductor die (72), the second conductive die attach pad (92(b)), the package structure (88), and a second set of conductive leads (92(a)) that are partially exposed outside the package structure (88) along the other one of the longitudinal ends (LE) and soldered to the circuit board (“By directly soldering the pads 90(a), 92(b) to pads on a circuit board”, ¶ [0031]);
wherein the conductive metal structure (90, 92) extends through the middle portion (M) between the first (P1) and second (P2) portions.
Grey fails to disclose a first and second package structure.
In the similar field of endeavor of packaged semiconductor devices, Fig. 10 of Yeo discloses a first (36) and second package structure (36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Grey with the first and second package structure as disclosed by Yeo, to protect each die from external elements (see Yeo, ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Grey and Yeo together disclose the system of claim 9 as applied above, and Fig. 1 of Grey further discloses wherein bottom sides of the first (90(b)) and second (92(b)) die attach pads are exposed outside bottom sides of the respective first and second package structures (88) and soldered to the circuit board (“The pad 90(b) may be directly soldered to a pad on a circuit board”, “The pad 92(b) can be directly soldered to a pad on a circuit board”, ¶ [0031]).
Regarding claim 11, Grey and Yeo together disclose the system of claim 9 as applied above, but Grey fails to disclose wherein:
the electronic device comprises a third set of conductive leads that are partially exposed outside the first package structure and extend along the first direction toward the second package structure; and
the third set of conductive leads are soldered to the circuit board.
In the similar field of endeavor of packaged semiconductor devices, Figs. 2, 6 and 10 of Yeo further discloses wherein:
the electronic device (Fig. 6, sub-assembly 80, ¶ [0038]) comprises a third set of conductive leads (12) that are partially exposed outside the first package structure (36) and extend along the first direction toward the second package structure (36); and
the third set of conductive leads (12) are soldered (Fig. 2, solder attach material 24, ¶ [0029]) to the circuit board (Fig. 2, printed circuit board 200, ¶ [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Grey with the conductive leads as disclosed by Yeo, to provide interconnection and improve manufacturing (see Yeo, ¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 12, Grey and Yeo together disclose the system of claim 8 as applied above, and Fig. 2 of Grey further discloses wherein the conductive metal structure (90, 92) and the first die attach pad (90(b)) are a contiguous structure (shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Grey and Yeo together disclose the system of claim 12 as applied above, but Grey fails to disclose wherein:
the electronic device comprises conductive leads that are partially exposed outside the first package structure and extend along the first direction toward the second package structure; and
the conductive leads are soldered to the circuit board.
In the similar field of endeavor of packaged semiconductor devices, Figs. 2, 6 and 10 of Yeo further discloses wherein:
the electronic device (80) comprises conductive leads (12) that are partially exposed outside the first package structure (36) and extend along the first direction toward the second package structure (36); and
the conductive leads (12) are soldered (24) to the circuit board (200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Grey with the conductive leads as disclosed by Yeo, to provide interconnection and improve manufacturing (see Yeo, ¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Grey and Yeo together disclose the system of claim 8 as applied above, and Fig. 1 of Grey further discloses wherein the conductive metal structure (90, 92) is soldered to the circuit board (“The pad 90(b) may be directly soldered to a pad on a circuit board”, “The pad 92(b) can be directly soldered to a pad on a circuit board”, ¶ [0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Grey and Yeo together disclose the system of claim 8 as applied above, and Grey further discloses wherein:
the first electronic component of the first semiconductor die (70) is a first transistor (“semiconductor dies 70, 72 comprise MOSFETs”, ¶ [0021]);
the second electronic component of the second semiconductor die (72) is a second transistor (“semiconductor dies 70, 72 comprise MOSFETs”, ¶ [0021]);
and the conductive metal structure (90, 92) electrically couples a source of the first transistor to a drain of the second transistor to form a switching node of a half bridge circuit (“a plurality of bond wires 34 also provide a connection between the source region in the first semiconductor die 70 and the second die attach pad 92, and consequently to the drain region in the second semiconductor die 72”, ¶ [0029]).
Conclusion
/C.A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893