DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-12 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (hereinafter, called Chang) (US 2023/0123305 A1, Foreign priority date 2021-10-18).
Regarding claims 1 & 19 Chang (Fig. 3) discloses a radio frequency amplifier or method comprising:
a radio frequency input terminal (Vin, Fig. 3);
a radio frequency output terminal (a node between inductor L and drain terminal of transistor N3);
a gain transistor (transistor N2) including a control terminal (gate terminal) configured to receive a radio frequency signal from the radio frequency input terminal;
a cascode transistor (transistor N1 or transistor N3) connected in series with the gain transistor (transistor N2), the cascode transistor configured to provide an amplified radio frequency signal to the radio frequency output terminal; and
a neutralization capacitor (capacitors C_M1, C_M2, C_M3 and switches SW_1, SW_2, SW_3) connected in parallel with the cascode transistor (transistor N3).
Regarding claim 2, Chang (Fig. 3) discloses wherein the neutralization capacitor has a controllable capacitance value (capacitance value change by selectable capacitors).
Regarding claim 3, Chang (Fig. 3) discloses wherein the neutralization capacitor includes a capacitor bank having a plurality of selectable capacitor branches each including a capacitor and a switch in series (Capacitor C_M1 in series with switch SW_1, capacitor C_M2 in series with switch SW_2 and capacitor C_M3 in series with switch SW_3).
Regarding claim 6, Chang (Fig. 3) discloses further comprising a load (inductor L) connected between a power supply voltage (VD) and the radio frequency output terminal.
Regarding claim 8, Chang (Fig. 3) discloses wherein the gain transistor (transistor N2) is a common source field-effect transistor having a gate (gate terminal of transistor N2) connected to the radio frequency input terminal (Vin terminal) and a source connected to a ground voltage (ground).
Regarding claim 9, Chang (Fig. 3) discloses wherein the cascode transistor (transistor N3) is a cascode field-effect transistor having a gate biased by a cascode voltage (V2), a source (source terminal of transistor N3) connected to a drain of the common source field-effect transistor (transistor N2) and to a first end (a node between C_M1 and source terminal of transistor N3) of the neutralization capacitor, and a drain (drain terminal of transistor N3) connected to the radio frequency output terminal (a terminal between inductor L and drain teminal of transistor N3) and to a second end (a node between switch SW_1 and drain terminal of transistor N3) of the neutralization capacitor.
Regarding claim 10, Chang (Fig. 3) discloses a mobile device comprising: an antenna (antenna 301); and a front-end system including a radio frequency amplifier (Fig. 3) that includes a radio frequency input terminal (Vin terminal) connected to the antenna (antenna 301), a radio frequency output terminal (a node between inductor L and drain terminal of transistor N3),
a gain transistor (transistor N2) including a control terminal (gate terminal) configured to receive a radio frequency signal from the radio frequency input terminal,
a cascode transistor (transistor N1 or transistor N3) connected in series with the gain transistor and configured to provide an amplified radio frequency signal to the radio frequency output terminal, and
a neutralization capacitor (capacitors C_M1, C_M2, C_M3 and switches SW_1, SW_2, SW_3) connected in parallel with the cascode transistor.
Regarding claims 11-12 are rejected in the same manner as discussed above in claims 2-3, respectively.
Regarding claim 15 is rejected in the same manner as discussed above in claim 6.
Regarding claims 17-18 are rejected in the same manner as discussed above in claims 8-9, respectively.
Regarding claim 20 is rejected in the same manner as discussed above in claims 8-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Moloudi et al. (hereinafter called Moloudi) (US 7,113,744 B1).
Regarding claims 4 & 13, Chang (Fig. 3) discloses all the limitations as applied in claims 3 & 12 except for the switch is implemented as a field-effect transistor.
Moloudi (Fig. 4(a)) discloses an amplifier circuit comprising switches 496 and 500 wherein switches can be FET transistor (Col. 13, lines 25-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the switches of Chang to have FETs transistors as taught by Moloudi in order to provide benefit of improving switching speed since the FET transistor is well-known for fast switching.
Claims 7 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Fong (US 6147559 A).
Regarding claims 7 & 16, Chang (Fig. 3) discloses all the limitations as applied in claims 6 & 15 except for the load includes an inductor and a resistor in parallel.
Fong (Fig.1) disclose an amplifier circuit comprising resistor R1 and inductor in parallel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit of Chang to have resistor, as taught by Fong. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of improving output impedance matching (Col. 3, lines 58-59) and further improving performance and stability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 & 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843