DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 2/2/26.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1-4 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6, 8-10 and 12 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 7, 11 and 13-16 are pending and subject to examination at this time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimaki et al., 20160326396 A1.
Nishimaki anticipates:
3. A method for producing a semiconductor device, comprising
(e.g. The steps of “forming a resist underlayer film…” to “processing the semiconductor substrate…” are disclosed at para. [0033], [0095] – [0098]) forming a resist underlayer film on a semiconductor substrate with a resist underlayer film-forming composition;
forming an inorganic resist underlayer film thereon;
forming a resist film further thereon;
forming a resist pattern by irradiation with light or electron beam and development; etching the inorganic resist underlayer film with the resist pattern;
etching the underlayer film by the patterned inorganic resist underlayer film; and
processing the semiconductor substrate with the patterned resist underlayer film;
the resist underlayer film-forming composition comprising a polymer and a compound represented by Formula (1) as a solvent (e.g. See N-methylpyrrolidone at para. [0089]):
wherein the polymer contains a structural unit represented by Formula (2) (e.g. See Formula at para. [0020] – [0022]; The condensed ring group is “A” in the claim. The R3 and R4 correspond to B1 and B2 in the claim and they are not both a hydrogen atom at para. [0022].)
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4:
Nishimaki teaches the limitations as applied to claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 7:
Nishimaki further teaches:
wherein the step of forming the inorganic resist underlayer film is performed by vapor deposition of an inorganic substance, para. [0033].
Regarding claims 13-16:
Nishimaki further teaches:
A method for producing a resist underlayer film comprising the step of forming an inorganic resist underlayer film after the production of the resist underlayer film according to claims 1-4, para. [0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimaki, as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Meisner et al., US Publication No. 2009/0243123 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 11:
Nishimaki teaches all the limitations of claims 3 and 7 above, but does not expressly teach:
wherein the semiconductor substrate has a part having a step and a part having no step, and a step (iso-dense bias) between the resist underlayer film coated on the part having a step and the part having no step ranges from 3 to 50 nm.
In an analogous art, Meisner teaches:
wherein the semiconductor substrate (902) has a part having a step (e.g. part with lower elevation) and a part having no step (e.g. part with higher elevation), and a step (iso-dense bias) between the resist underlayer film (908) coated on the part having a step and the part having no step ranges from 3 to 50 nm (e.g. the difference exceeds 10 nm). See Meisner at para. [0048], fig. 9.
Meisner discloses a range that overlaps the claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). “[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, Obviousness of Ranges
Referring to MPEP § 2144.05, “…the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results over the prior art range.” (See also MPEP § 716.02 for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nishimaki with the teachings of Meisner because a part having a step and a part having a no step forms a topographical alignment mark that enables measurement of a position of the IC with more accuracy. See Meisner at para. [0050].
Conclusion
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
1 July 2026