Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, regarding the previously cited Liu prior art and the inclusion of aluminum in the lithium alloy, which is precluded by the independent claim, filed 8 July 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 (previous claim 6) under USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited prior art. Therefore, this action is NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 or 2) as being anticipated by Erfu et al. (“Effects of Adding Cerium to Lithium on Properties of Lithium Anode” newly cited and attached).
In regard to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 16 and 17, Erfu et al. teach a lithium battery (three electrode glass cell including LiOH electrolyte, working electrode, counter electrode which also functions as current collector and reference electrode, which function as anode and/or cathode during cycling; polymer membrane i.e. separator can be used on lithium surface, page 1323) including a negative (working) electrode for a lithium secondary battery, the negative electrode consisting of (i.e. 100% of the electrode is) a metallic film/foil consisting of lithium and 0.03 to 0.08 wt% cerium (“working electrode was made of pure lithium-cerium alloy” - Li-0.03 to 0.08 wt% Ce alloy - see pages 1323-1324 Introduction and Results and Discussion sections). The Example compositions of the prior art fall within the claimed range in a manner which anticipates the claimed ranges (see MPEP 2131.03).
In regard to claim 13, as the material of the prior art is indistinguishable from the claims, such is reasonably presumed to have an average coulombic efficiency of above 98% (see MPEP 2112.01).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 or 2) as being anticipated by Predel et al. (“Phase diagram of La-Li (lanthanum-lithium) system” newly cited and attached).
In regard to claims 1-5, Predel et al. teach a lithium alloy with lanthanum in various contents in forming the phase diagram of the binary alloy, including composition such as 99 mol % Li – 1 mol % La (see phase diagram and pages 1-21).
Under MPEP §2111.02, a claim preamble limits a patent claim only when it provides essential structure, antecedent basis, or is necessary to give “life, meaning, and vitality” to the claim; otherwise, it is generally non‑limiting. In the instant case, the preamble “A negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery” does not impart any essential structure or antecedent basis, and therefore the claim is simply taken to be encompassed by the prior art teaching of lithium-lanthanum alloys, which would be usable as a negative electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erfu et al. as applied to claim 1, further in view of Simoneu et al. (US Pub 2008/0318128 of record).
Note – this is a backup rejection for some claims in the event applicant disagrees with the Examiner’s assertion of inherency above.
In regard to claims 9-12, Erfu et al. teaches the negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery according to claims above but does not give particulars of the battery. However, Simoneu et al. teach a similar lithium secondary battery with a Li-metal alloy anode, where the alloying metal is present in an amount such as 3 wt% (paragraph [0032]), further comprising a current collector (paragraph [0061]) an electrolyte solution comprising a 1:1 mixture of acyclic ether and cyclic ether (1.3 dioxolane and dimethoxy ethane in Example 1) in which a positive electrode active material contains sulfur (S) or a sulfur (S) compound (paragraph [0064-0066]) which forms a cell with extremely high cycling efficiency (paragraphs [0013-0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to form the battery of Erfu et al. with a current collector, cathode, separator and electrolyte as described above as such forms a cell with high efficiency as taught by Simoneu et al.
In regard to claim 13, as the material of the prior art is indistinguishable from the claims, such is reasonably presumed to have an average coulombic efficiency of above 98% (see MPEP 2112.01).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub 2023/0146632, teaches similar lithium metal alloys as anodes for solid state batteries.
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723