DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1- 17 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 4- 6, 9, 11- 14, and 17 have been amended. Claims 2-3, 7- 8, 10, and 15- 16 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1- 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9, 11, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tae Young Na (US 20220166974 A1) (hereinafter Na) in view of Woong Lim (US 20220321890 A1) (hereinafter Lim):
Regarding Claim 1, Na teaches a method performed by a video decoding apparatus for decoding a current block in an image (a method and system for decoding/encoding a images [0006]), the method comprising:
generating residual samples by inverse transforming transform coefficients of the current block (decoder derives residual samples in the current block by inverse transforming transform coefficients [0138), wherein a number of the residual samples is less than a number of samples of the current block (only a sub-block of the current block is transformed,, so the derived residual-sample set is smaller than the samples of the full current block [0081]- [0082]); and
generating a residual block of the current block by rearranging the residual samples (the decoder rearranges residual samples within the current block to form the residual block [0138]- [0139])
Na does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Lim teaches decoding, from a bitstream, information on a partition boundary of the current block (decoding geometric partitioning information from the bitstream and using it to partition the target block[0981]- [0983], [0790]- [0791]);
subblocks located on the partition boundary(the subblocks are located on the partition line [0797]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding as disclosed by Na to add the teachings of Lim as disclosed above to improve overall coding performance. (Lim [0065]).
Regarding Claim 4, Na in view of Lim teach the method of claim 1. Lim further teaches each of the subblocks has a fixed block size (the subblocks have a fixed size [0922]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding as disclosed by Na to add the teachings of Lim as disclosed above to improve overall coding performance. (Lim [0065]).
Regarding Claim 9, Na teaches a method performed by a video encoding apparatus for transforming a residual block of a current block (a method and system for decoding/encoding a images [0006]), the method comprising:
arranging residual samples of the subblocks in a rectangular block(the residual samples of the blocks are arranges [0105]- [0110]), wherein a number of the residual samples is less than a number of samples of the current block (only a sub-block of the current block is transformed,, so the derived residual-sample set is smaller than the samples of the full current block [0081]- [0082]); and
generating transform coefficients of the current block by transforming the residual samples of the rectangular block(the encoder transforms the residual samples of the transform subblock to generate transform coefficients [0118], [0039]); and
encoding the transform coefficients into the bitstream (encoding the transform coefficients into the bitstream [0042]).
Na does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Lim teaches determining a partition boundary of the current block(determining the partition boundary based on the angle and distance of the geometric partitioning [0790]- [0791]);
encoding partition information on the partition boundary of the current block into a bitstream (encoding the geometric partition information of the current block into the bitstream [0023], [0974]- [0977]);
determining subblocks located on the partition boundary (the subblocks are located on the partition line [0797]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding as disclosed by Na to add the teachings of Lim as disclosed above to improve overall coding performance. (Lim [0065]).
Regarding Claim 11, Na in view of Lim teach the method of claim 9. Lim further teaches each of the subblocks has a fixed block size (the subblocks have a fixed size [0922]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding as disclosed by Na to add the teachings of Lim as disclosed above to improve overall coding performance. (Lim [0065]).
Regarding Claim 14, Na in view of Lim teach the method of claim 9. Lim further teaches the information comprises an index indicating a combination of an angle and a distance of the partition boundary relative to an origin of the current block (the boundary shape information expresses an distance and angle index; the partition information is relative to the current block [0792]- [0795]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding as disclosed by Na to add the teachings of Lim as disclosed above to improve overall coding performance. (Lim [0065]).
Regarding Claim 17, Na teaches a method for providing video data to a video decoding device (a method and system for decoding/encoding a images [0006]), the method comprising:
arranging residual samples of the subblocks in a rectangular block(the residual samples of the blocks are arranges [0105]- [0110]), wherein a number of the residual samples is less than a number of samples of the current block (only a sub-block of the current block is transformed,, so the derived residual-sample set is smaller than the samples of the full current block [0081]- [0082]); and
generating transform coefficients of the current block by transforming the residual samples of the rectangular block (the encoder transforms the residual samples of the transform subblock to generate transform coefficients [0118], [0039]); and
decoding the transform coefficients into the bitstream (decoding the transform coefficients into the bitstream [0042])..
Na does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Lim teaches encoding the video data into a bitstream (video data is encoded into the bitstream [0146], [0198], [0202]); and
transmitting the bitstream to the video decoding device (the bitstream is transmitted to the decoding device [0199]), wherein encoding the video data comprises:
determining a partition boundary of a current block (determining the partition boundary based on the angle and distance of the geometric partitioning [0790]- [0791]);
encoding partition information on the partition boundary into the bitstream (encoding the geometric partition information of the current block into the bitstream [0023], [0974]- [0977]);
determining a plurality of subblocks located on the partition boundary(the subblocks are located on the partition line [0797]);
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding as disclosed by Na to add the teachings of Lim as disclosed above to improve overall coding performance. (Lim [0065]).
Claims 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tae Young Na (US 20220166974 A1) (hereinafter Na) in view of Woong Lim (US 20220321890 A1) (hereinafter Lim) in view of Adria Arrufat (US 20180359492 A1) (hereinafter Arrufat):
Regarding Claim 5, Na in view of Lim teach the method of claim 1; however, do not explicitly teach Lim further teaches the residual samples are arranged in a vectorized form
However, in an analogous art, Arrufat teaches the residual samples are arranged in a vectorized form (the residual samples are in vectorized form [0199]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding as disclosed by Na in view of Lim to further add the teachings of Arrufat as disclosed above to improve image quality. (Arrufat [0022]).
Regarding Claim 12, Na in view of Lim teach the method of claim 9; however, do not explicitly teach Lim further teaches the residual samples are arranged in a vectorized form.
However, in an analogous art, Arrufat teaches the residual samples are arranged in a vectorized form (the residual samples are in vectorized form [0199]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding as disclosed by Na in view of Lim to further add the teachings of Arrufat as disclosed above to improve image quality. (Arrufat [0022]).
Claims 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tae Young Na (US 20220166974 A1) (hereinafter Na) in view of Woong Lim (US 20220321890 A1) (hereinafter Lim) in view of Sung Chang Lim (US 20220264151 A1) (hereinafter Sung):
Regarding Claim 6, Na in view of Lim teach the method of claim 1; however, do not explicitly teach Lim further teaches the residual samples are arranged in a vectorized form.
However, in an analogous art, Sung teaches the subblocks are aligned in one direction and have equal sizes (the subblocks are vertically aligned and are of equal sizes [0735]- [0737]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding as disclosed by Na in view of Lim to further add the teachings of Sung as disclosed above to improve image quality. (Sung [0027]).
Regarding Claim 13, Na in view of Lim teach the method of claim 9; however, do not explicitly teach Lim further teaches the residual samples are arranged in a vectorized form
However, in an analogous art, Sung teaches the subblocks are aligned in one direction and have equal sizes (the subblocks are vertically aligned and are of equal sizes [0735]- [0737]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify video coding as disclosed by Na in view of Lim to further add the teachings of Sung as disclosed above to improve image quality. (Sung [0027]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486