DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 12/8/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “predetermined value” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ predetermined value” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite value, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Peterson et al (US 2022/0042795).
An apparatus for aligning a semiconductor chip for packaging, the apparatus comprising:
a radiation source (Fig.1A (101) and [0031-x-ray emitter/0033]) configured to irradiate a plurality of semiconductor chips (Fig.1A (200) and 0031] also -0024/ 0040-0044; see also [0003-0005]) with radiation (Fig.1A (101/100) and [0031-x-ray emitter/0033]) ;
a radiation sensor (Fig.1A (500) and [0032]) configured to detect the radiation (Fig.1A (411) and [0031-0032]) that has penetrated the plurality of semiconductor chips (Fig.1A (200) and 0031] also -0024/ 0040-0044; see also [0003-0005]); and
an alignment unit (Fig.4 (430/420) and [0092-0093]) configured to align and bond ([0092-0093]) the plurality of semiconductor chips (Fig.1A (200) and 0031] also -0024/ 0040-0044; see also [0003-0005]) based on detection information acquired by the radiation sensor (Fig.1A (500) and [0032]).
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of semiconductor chips (Fig.1A (200) and 0031] also -0024/ 0040-0044; see also [0003-0005]) comprises at least one of an alignment mark (Fig.2A (223/233- solder bumps are the alignment marks-see also Figs 2B-2D and 3A-3F) and [0047]), a through silicon via (TSV), or a combination thereof.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the detection information comprises position information on the alignment mark (Fig.2A (223/233- solder bumps are the alignment marks-see also Figs 2B-2D and 3A-3F) and [0047])and [0047]) and the TSV, and wherein the alignment unit aligns the plurality of semiconductor chips based on the position information (Fig.4 (430/420) and [0092-0093]).
4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the alignment unit (Fig.4 (430/420) and [0092-0093]) aligns the plurality of semiconductor chips (Fig.1A (200) and 0031] also -0024/ 0040-0044; see also [0003-0005]) such that shapes of the alignment marks (Fig.2A (223/233- solder bumps are the alignment marks-see also Figs 2B-2D and 3A-3F) and [0047]) and/or shapes of the TSVs are matched based on the position information [0092-0093].
5. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the alignment mark (Fig.2A (223/233- solder bumps are the alignment marks-see also Figs 2B-2D and 3A-3F) and [0047]) and the TSV are formed of a material having a lower transmittance (solder metals have low transmittance) of the radiation (x-ray) than a predetermined value (please see the 112 rejection made above)- in this instance the Examiner will assume that the transmittance is that of the substrate and a solder bump metal would have a low transmittance relative to a silicon wafer).
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of semiconductor chips (Fig.1A (200) and 0031] are vertically disposed with respect to the ground (Fig.1A (999- bottom plane) and [0034]), wherein the radiation source (Fig.1A (101/100) and [0031-x-ray emitter/0033]) is positioned on an upper side of a semiconductor chip (Fig.1A (200) and 0031] ) positioned at the uppermost of the plurality of semiconductor chips (Fig.1A (200) and 0031] also -0024/ 0040-0044; see also [0003-0005]- teaching chip stacks), and wherein the radiation sensor (Fig.1A (500) and [0032]) is positioned on a lower side of a semiconductor chip (Fig.1A (200) and 0031]) positioned at the lowermost of the plurality of semiconductor chips (Fig.1A (200) and 0031] also -0024/ 0040-0044; see also [0003-0005]- teaching chip stacks).
8. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a display unit (Fig.1A (600) and [0032] ) configured for a user to identify the detection information; and
an operation unit (Fig.4 (440-downstream tool) and [0093]) configured to operate the alignment unit [0092-0093]).
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radiation source is an X-ray source (Fig.1A (101/100) and [0031-x-ray emitter/0033]).
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the radiation sensor has a resolution in units of nanometers [0038](Fig.1A (500) and [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al (US 2022/0042795) in further view of .
Peterson teaches the above claimed limitations as cited above in claims 1-2, however Peterson fails to teach the additional limitation of claim 6 as recited below:
6. The apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: a camera configured to photograph the plurality of semiconductor chips, wherein the radiation source irradiates the radiation to a predetermined area set based on positions of the alignment mark and the TSV acquired from the camera.
However, Bykanov teaches an X-ray inspection tool including further comprising: a camera (Fig.5 (154) and [0103]) configured to photograph the plurality of semiconductor chips [Fig.5 (101) and [0103]), wherein the radiation source (Fig.5 (116) and [0079]) irradiates the radiation to a predetermined area [Fig.5 (101) and [0103]) set based on positions of the alignment mark [0095] and the TSV acquired from the camera [0095].
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Peterson’s teachings to further include a camera as taught by Bykanov because as Bykanov teaches a camera assists with alignment and can assist in locating alignment marks [0095].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fukayama et al (US 2016/0079102); Asahi et al (JP 2017/183456); and Adler et al (US 2021/0012499) teach similar apparatuses.
/LAURA M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
2/21/26