DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A in the reply filed on November 26, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 and 23-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 26, 2025.
It is noted for clarity of the record that claims 23 and 24 requires the second electrode on the second conductor. However, elected species A, as drawn to Fig 5, has a second electrode on a second auxiliary electrode. The second auxiliary electrode being disposed on the second conductor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 12, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “second active layer” in line 4. There is
insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret dependency of claim 3 to be from claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation of first end and second end in lines 2 and 4, respectively, do not present a structure to apply the “end” limitation to. That is the limitation can apply to “a first end” of the auxiliary electrode, contact, or active layer when viewing Fig 5. [00159] and [00160] disclose a first end of the auxiliary electrode. However, it is improper to import limitations into a claim. MPEP 2111.01(II). For purposes of Examination, Examiner will interpret “a first/second end” to mean a first/second end of the first/second auxiliary electrode, respectively, to be in line with the remainder of the limitation in lines 3 and 5.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation of “a second additional capacitor electrode” can be read in two different ways. One is that the second additional capacitor electrode is on the same layer as the second electrode. [0265] discloses the third capacitor electrode is an extension of the first/second/third electrode 551/552/553, respectively. [0267]-[0268] disclose the third capacitor electrode may include the metal of the lower and upper electrodes. Another way to read the limitation is, as written, to imply the second electrode has three different layers, i.e. a second lower electrode, a second additional capacitor electrode, and a second upper electrode stacked and electrically connected to each other as shown in Fig 5 with the other electrodes. For purposes of examination, Examiner interprets the limitation, as written, to imply the second electrode has three different layers, i.e. a second lower electrode, a second additional capacitor electrode, and a second upper electrode stacked and electrically connected to each other as shown in Fig 5 with the other electrodes.
Regarding claim 21, [0140] discloses the claim limitations but does not clarify what is meant by conductive, as compared to non-conductive. [0141] discloses the active layer is an oxide semiconductor material. Further, [0157] discloses that the conductive material of AUX3 and AUX4 are conductive oxides. These conductive oxides are similar to the list of oxides for the active layer, which the claim is splitting into conductive and non-conductive areas. It is known in the art that semiconductor materials are conductive and non-conductive under certain conditions, such as under the influence of electrical fields. However, the specification of the instant application does not provide enough information as to what the terms conductive and non-conductive mean. The claimed device would not function properly if the first and second areas are non-conductive. Further, the source and drain electrodes are ultimately electrically connected to the first and second areas, so the areas should be conductive. For purposes of Examination, Examiner will treat the first through fourth areas as semiconductor conductive/non-conductive. That is a semiconductor is partially conductive and non-conductive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1--5, 10-11, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Soo et. al. (KR 20180119718 A), hereinafter Soo.
Regarding claim 1, Soo teaches a display panel (Fig 1 display panel 11, [0026 of translation]), comprising: a substrate (Fig 21 base substrate 2102, [0115] of translation); a first active layer (Fig 21 active layer 2120, [0117] of translation) disposed on the substrate (Fig 21 base substrate 2102, [0115] of translation) and including a channel area (See annotated figure), a first area (See annotated figure) positioned on a first side (See annotated figure) of the channel area (See annotated figure), and a second area (See annotated figure) positioned on a second side (See annotated figure) of the channel area (See annotated figure); a first conductor (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) disposed on the first area (See annotated figure); a second conductor (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) disposed on the second area (See annotated figure); and a first auxiliary electrode (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) disposed on the first conductor (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation), a repair area (same as first area in annotated figure) disposed in an area where the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) is located.
Examiner notes the repair area is disclosed in [0168] of the instant application, as the area where the auxiliary electrodes are disposed. The structure of Soo is similar to that of the Applicant thus the functions are presumed to be the same MPEP 2112.01
Regarding claim 2, Soo teaches a second active layer (Each pixel has a separate transistor, as such there would be a second active layer, [0032] of translation) disposed on a same layer as the first active layer (Fig 21 active layer 2120, [0117] of translation) and spaced apart from the first active layer (Fig 21 active layer 2120, [0117] of translation).
Regarding claim 3, Soo teaches a first additional auxiliary electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) disposed on the first active layer (Fig 21 active layer 2120, [0117] of translation); and a second additional auxiliary electrode (Each pixel has a separate transistor, as such there would be an additional auxiliary electrode, Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) and a third additional auxiliary electrode (Each pixel has a separate transistor, as such there would be an additional auxiliary electrode, Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) spaced apart from each other and disposed on the second active layer (Each pixel has a separate transistor, as such there would be a second active layer, [0032] of translation).
Regarding claim 4, Soo teaches a second auxiliary electrode (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) disposed on the second conductor (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation).
Regarding claim 5, Soo teaches each of the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) and the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) includes one type of metal (optional so not considered) or an alloy in which two or more types of metal components are mixed (MoTi, [0060] of translation), and wherein each of the first conductor (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) and the second conductor (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) includes a transparent conductive oxide (ITO, [0060] of translation).
Regarding claim 10, Soo teaches the first area (See annotated figure of claim 1) overlapping with the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) is cut during a repair process of the display panel (Fig 1 display panel 11, [0026 of translation]).
Examiner notes that Soo teaches the overlapping areas. The limitation of being “cut during a repair process” is a product-by-process. As a result of the structure of Nakamura being the same as that of Applicant, the structure after the repair process of cutting would also result in a similar structure. MPEP 2112.01(I) and MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 11, Soo teaches a first electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) disposed on the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation); a second electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) disposed on the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation); a gate insulation film (Fig 21 gate insulating layer 2115t, [0117] of translation) disposed on the channel area (See annotated figure of claim 1); and a third electrode (Fig 21 gate layer 2110t and 2111t, [0117] of translation) disposed on the gate insulation film (Fig 21 gate insulating layer 2115t, [0117] of translation).
Regarding claim 21, Soo teaches the first active layer further (Fig 21 active layer 2120, [0117] of translation) includes a third area (area between in the first area under the electrode and channel area; See annotated figure of claim 1) disposed between the first area (See annotated figure of claim 1) and the channel area (See annotated figure of claim 1) and a fourth area (area between in the second area under the electrode and channel area; See annotated figure of claim 1) disposed between the second area (See annotated figure of claim 1) and the channel area (See annotated figure of claim 1), and wherein the first area (See annotated figure of claim 1) and the second area (See annotated figure of claim 1) are non-conductive areas (a semiconductor is partially non-conductive), and the third area (See annotated figure of claim 1) and the fourth area (See annotated figure of claim 1) are conductive areas (a semiconductor is partially conductive).
Regarding claim 22, Soo teaches a display device (Fig 1 display device 10, [0026] of translation) comprising the display panel (Fig 1 display panel 11, [0026 of translation]) of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soo et. al. (KR 20180119718 A), hereinafter Soo, in view of Jung et. al. (KR 20180061852 A), hereinafter Jung.
Regarding claim 6, Soo teaches each of the first (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) and second auxiliary electrodes (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) is formed of MoTi (MoTi, [0060] of translation).
Soo fails to teach each of the first (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) and second conductors (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) is formed of indium zinc oxide (IZO).
However, Jung teaches each of the first (Fig 1 lower layer 116a ([0035]) of translation corresponds to Soo: Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) and second conductors (Fig 1 lower layer 116a ([0035]) of translation corresponds to Soo: Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) is formed of indium zinc oxide (IZO) (IZO, [0035]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to substitute the IZO of Jung for the ITO of Soo as Jung recognizes that both perform the same function and are known in the art. MPEP 2143(I)(B)
Regarding claim 7, Soo and Jung fail to teach a content ratio of indium (In) to zinc (Zn) included in each of the first and second conductors is 5:5 to 7:3.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In this case, the ratio would aid in the conductivity of the source and drain regions leading to improved device performance.
Regarding claim 13, Soo teaches the first electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area) includes a first lower electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area) and a first upper electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area) electrically connected to each other, wherein the second electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) includes a second lower electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) and a second upper electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) electrically connected to each other, wherein the third electrode (Fig 21 gate layer 2110t and 2111t, [0117] of translation) includes a third lower electrode (Fig 21 gate layer 2110t and 2111t, [0117] of translation) and a third upper electrode (Fig 21 gate layer 2110t and 2111t, [0117] of translation) electrically connected to each other, wherein the first lower electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area), the second lower electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) commonly (the lower electrodes are formed at the same time) include a first metal (Cu, [0060] of translation), and wherein the first upper electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area), the second upper electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) commonly (the lower electrodes are formed at the same time) include a second metal (MoTi, [0060] of translation) different from the first metal (Cu, [0060] of translation).
Soo fails to teach the first lower electrode, the second lower electrode, and the third lower electrode commonly include a first metal, and wherein the first upper electrode, the second upper electrode, and the third upper electrode commonly include a second metal different from the first metal.
However, Soo fails to teach the materials of the lower and upper gate electrodes (Fig 21 gate layer 2110t and 2111t, [0117] of translation). Jung teaches the use of MoTi as a protective layer over a more conductive metal layer such as Cu. These are the same metals as used for the lower and upper first/second electrodes. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to provide a protective layer over a more conductive metal layer for the gate electrode. These are the same materials that are used for the lower and upper first/second electrodes. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Soo to incorporate the teachings of Jung by having the third lower electrode commonly include the same first metal as the first/second lower electrodes, and the third upper electrode commonly include the same second metal as the first/second upper electrodes. This would allow for higher conductivity while providing a protective layer and reduce material costs since the materials would be the same.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soo et. al. (KR 20180119718 A), hereinafter Soo, in view of Im et. al. (US 20170170431 A1), hereinafter Im.
Regarding claim 8, Soo fails to teach thicknesses of each of the first (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) and second auxiliary electrodes (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) are larger than or equal to thicknesses of each of the first (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) and second conductors (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation).
However, Im teaches the first and second conductors (Fig 3 lower electrodes 151 and 161, [0079] corresponds to Soo: Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150) act as a protective layer for the underlying layer, in this case the first and first electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation)s (Fig 3 central electrode 152 and 162, [0082] corresponds to Soo: Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area). Im fails to teach the thicknesses directly. However, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the auxiliary electrodes would have a thickness larger than or equal to the conductors based on Fig 3 of Im and the desire for improved conductivity ([0080]).
Regarding claim 9, Soo and Im fail to teach each of the first (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) and second auxiliary electrodes (Fig 21 second most bottom layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) has a thickness of 100Å to 200 Å, and wherein each of the first (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area, [0119] of translation) and second conductors (Fig 21 bottom most layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) has a thickness of 70 Å to 100 Å.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In this case, there would be the desire to provide corrosion resistance using the conductor ([0079]) and improved conductivity in the source and drain regions leading to improved device performance ([0080]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Further, claims 12 and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, the closest art is Soo et. al. (KR 20180119718 A), hereinafter Soo.
Soo teaches the gate insulation film (Fig 21 gate insulating layer 2115t, [0117] of translation) includes: a third gate insulation film portion (Fig 21 gate insulating layer 2115t, [0117] of translation) positioned on the channel area (See annotated figure of claim 1), and wherein the third electrode (Fig 21 gate layer 2110t and 2111t, [0117] of translation) is positioned on an upper surface of the third gate insulation film portion (Fig 21 gate insulating layer 2115t, [0117] of translation).
Soo fails to teach the gate insulation film includes: a first gate insulation film portion disposed to cover a first end positioned farther from the channel area, of the first end and a second end of the first auxiliary electrode; a second gate insulation film portion disposed to cover a second end positioned farther from the channel area, of a first end and the second end of the second auxiliary electrode; and wherein the first electrode is positioned on an upper surface and a side surface of the first gate insulation film portion and contacts a portion of an upper surface of the first auxiliary electrode on the side surface of the first gate insulation film portion, wherein the second electrode is positioned on an upper surface and a side surface of the second gate insulation film portion and contacts a portion of an upper surface of the second auxiliary electrode on the side surface of the second gate insulation film portion.
Regarding claim 14, the closest art is Soo et. al. (KR 20180119718 A), hereinafter Soo, in view of Jung et. al. (KR 20180061852 A), hereinafter Jung.
Soo teaches the first electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area) includes a first lower electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area) and a first upper electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in first area) electrically connected to each other, wherein the second electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) includes a second lower electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) and a second upper electrode (Fig 21 second from top layer and top layer of source/drain electrode 150 in second area, [0119] of translation) electrically connected to each other, wherein the third electrode (Fig 21 gate layer 2110t and 2111t, [0117] of translation) includes a third lower electrode (Fig 21 gate layer 2110t and 2111t, [0117] of translation) and a third upper electrode (Fig 21 gate layer 2110t and 2111t, [0117] of translation) electrically connected to each other, wherein the first lower electrode, the second lower electrode, and the third lower electrode commonly include a first metal, and wherein the first upper electrode, the second upper electrode, and the third upper electrode commonly include a second metal different from the first metal.
Soo fails to teach the first lower electrode, the second lower electrode, and the third lower electrode commonly include a first metal, and wherein the first upper electrode, the second upper electrode, and the third upper electrode commonly include a second metal different from the first metal.
However, Soo fails to teach the materials of the lower and upper gate electrodes (Fig 21 gate layer 2110t and 2111t, [0117] of translation). Jung teaches the use of MoTi as a protective layer over a more conductive metal layer such as Cu. These are the same metals as used for the lower and upper first/second electrodes. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to provide a protective layer over a more conductive metal layer for the gate electrode. These are the same materials that are used for the lower and upper first/second electrodes. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Soo to incorporate the teachings of Jung by having the third lower electrode commonly include the same first metal as the first/second lower electrodes, and the third upper electrode commonly include the same second metal as the first/second upper electrodes. This would allow for higher conductivity while providing a protective layer and reduce material costs since the materials would be the same.
Soo and Jung fail to teach a second additional capacitor electrode and wherein the second additional capacitor electrode includes a third metal different from the first metal and the second metal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (KR 20130055329 A) teaches the conductor and auxiliary electrodes but the conductor is formed from the active layer.
Nakamura (US 20230088427 A1) teaches a transistor structure with a conductor, auxiliary electrodes, and electrodes with a different gate insulation structure.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813