DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/241,589 filed on May 20, 2026.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
4. The title of the invention has been amended as “LIGHT-EMITTING DEVICE INCLUDING MULTIPLE ACTIVE LAYERS AND REFLECTION LAYER AND LIGHT-EMITTING DEVICE ARRAY INCLUDING THE SAME”.
Claim Objections
5. The objections on claims 1-2, 5, 12-13, 16, 20 have been withdrawn per the response dated on 05/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
9. Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2017/0256520 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2008/0315179 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Moon et al. teaches a light-emitting device (1210a, para [0091]) comprising (Fig. 18 upside down):
an emission layer (S:1212/1213/1214 light emitting structure, para [0083]) configured to emit white light (this is a functional limitation/ an intended use); and
a reflective layer (1220, para [0083]) at least partially surrounding side surfaces of the emission layer (S); wherein the emission layer (S) comprises:
a first conductivity-type semiconductor layer (1214, para [0090]);
a second conductivity-type semiconductor layer (1212, para [0090]) on the first conductivity-type semiconductor layer (1214);
a first active layer (1213, para [0090]) between the first conductivity-type semiconductor layer (1214) and the second conductivity-type semiconductor layer (1212), the first active layer (1213) configured to emit blue light (this is a functional limitation/ an intended use).
Moon et al. is silent to explicitly disclose wherein, a second active layer between the first conductivity-type semiconductor layer and the second conductivity-type semiconductor layer, the second active layer configured to emit yellow light;
the first active layer directly contacting the first conductivity-type semiconductor layer;
the second active layer directly contacting the second conductivity-type semiconductor layer.
Kim et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 1), a second active layer (156 upper active layer, para [0026]) between the first conductivity-type semiconductor layer (140, para [0022]) and the second conductivity-type semiconductor layer (160, para [0033]), the second active layer (156) configured to emit yellow light (this is a functional limitation/ an intended use);
the first active layer (151 lower active layer, para [0025]) directly contacting the first conductivity-type semiconductor layer (140);
the second active layer (156) directly contacting the second conductivity-type semiconductor layer (160).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the light emitting structure as taught by Kim et al., and modify the light emitting layer of Moon et al. with multi-layered light emitting layer, in order to improve combination probability of electrons and holes within the active layer (para [0004]), and perform high efficient light emission.
Regarding claim 3, Moon et al. and Kim et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Kim et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 1), the second active layer (156) is on the first active layer (151).
Regarding claim 6, Moon et al. and Kim et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Moon et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 18 upside down), further comprising:
a first electrode (1216) contacting the first conductivity-type semiconductor layer (1214); and
a second electrode (1215) contacting the second conductivity-type semiconductor layer (1212).
Regarding claim 7, Moon et al. and Kim et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 6 from which this claim depends.
The combination of Moon et al. and Kim et al. discloses wherein, further comprising an opening (see the annotated figure below: Fig. 18 upside down) penetrating each of the first conductivity-type semiconductor layer (1214), the first active layer (1213), and the second active layer (156, Kim et al., Fig. 1),
wherein the second electrode (1215) is connected to the second conductivity-type semiconductor layer (1212) within the opening.
Regarding claim 9, Moon et al. and Kim et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Moon et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 18 upside down), the reflective layer (1220) surrounds an entire area of the side surfaces of the emission layer (S:1212/1213/1214).
Regarding claim 10, Moon et al. and Kim et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Moon et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 18 upside down), the reflective layer (1220) is on a lower surface of the emission layer (S:1212/1213/1214).
10. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2017/0256520 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2008/0315179 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (US 2012/0205620 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Moon et al. and Kim et al. teach all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Moon et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 18 upside down), a peak wavelength of the blue light is between about 425 nm and about 480 nm (440 nm to 460 nm, para [0111]).
Moon et al. and Kim et al. are silent to explicitly disclose, wherein a peak wavelength of the yellow light is between about 520 nm and about 600 nm.
Sato et al. teaches wherein, a peak wavelength of the yellow light is between about 520 nm and about 600 nm (560nm-580nm, see abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the light emitting material as taught by Moon et al. and Kim et al., and substitute the light emitting material of Moon et al. and Kim et al., in order to eliminate the spontaneous and piezoelectric polarization effects in GaN optoelectronic devices is to grow the devices on nonpolar planes of the crystal. (para [0012]).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 recites…. the second active layer comprises a quantum well layer, a quantum barrier layer, and an intermediate lattice layer,
….
the intermediate lattice layer is between the quantum well layer and the quantum barrier layer, and wherein the intermediate lattice layer comprises indium gallium nitride or aluminum gallium nitride.
The prior art, Moon et al. (US 2017/0256520 A1) or Kim et al. (US 2008/0315179 A1) does not disclose that the second active layer comprises the intermediate lattice layer between the quantum well and the quantum barrier. Therefore, none of the prior art of references quoted in PTO-892, discloses the limitation as stated above.
Response to Arguments
12. It has been acknowledged that the applicant has amended claims 1-2, 5, 12-13, 16, 20, per the response dated on 05/20/2026.
Applicant’s arguments in pages 12-14 of the remarks section, were not found persuasive, because a new prior art, Kim et al. (US 2008/0315179 A1) discloses the amended limitation of the claim 1. Therefore, it is suggested to amend the claim (s) that would differentiate the invention from the prior arts.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIDARUL A MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812