DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt of the Amendment, filed on March 9, 2026, is acknowledged.
Cancellation of claims 5 and 18 has been entered.
Claims 1-4, 6-17 and 19-22 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-17 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lee et al. (US 2021/0066652 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display panel (Fig. 10A-10B) comprising: a display element layer (DL) including a pixel defining film (119) having a pixel opening defined therein, and a light emitting element (OLED); and an encapsulation layer (TFE) disposed on the display element layer, wherein the encapsulation layer (TFE) includes: a first inorganic encapsulation film (131); an organic encapsulation film (132) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation film; and a second inorganic encapsulation film (133) disposed on the organic encapsulation film, the second inorganic encapsulation film (133) has a refractive index in a range of about 1.89 to about 2.20 (¶[0142]), wherein a thickness of the first inorganic encapsulation film is greater than a thickness of the second inorganic encapsulation film by about 2,600 Å to about 5,600 Å (¶[0143], when t1=1.5 µm & t3=1.2 µm).
Alternatively, one skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate selecting the thicknesses of the first inorganic encapsulation film and the second inorganic encapsulation film from the ranges disclosed by Lee to obtain the thickness of the first inorganic encapsulation film being greater than a thickness of the second inorganic encapsulation film by about 2,600 Å to about 5,600 Å in order to minimize the reflectance of external light, as an obvious matter of design engineering. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a thickness of the first inorganic encapsulation film being greater than a thickness of the second inorganic encapsulation film by about 2,600 Å to about 5,600 Å in order to minimize the reflectance of external light, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses a display panel wherein the second inorganic encapsulation film (133) comprises silicon nitride (¶s[0060,0071,0132]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses a display panel wherein the first inorganic encapsulation film (131) comprises at least one compound selected from silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, silicon oxide, titanium oxide, and aluminum oxide (¶[0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses a display panel wherein the second inorganic encapsulation film has a thickness in a range of about 6000 Å to about 8000 Å (¶[0143]); and the first inorganic encapsulation film has a thickness in a range of about 10600 Å to about 11600 Å (¶[0143]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses a display panel wherein the organic encapsulation film has a thickness in a range of about 79000 Å to about 81000 Å (¶[0143]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses a display panel wherein a thickness of the organic encapsulation film is greater than thicknesses of the first inorganic encapsulation film and the second inorganic encapsulation film (¶[0143]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses a display panel wherein the encapsulation layer covers the display element layer (Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses a display panel wherein the light emitting element comprises a first electrode (121) exposed in the pixel opening, a second electrode (123) disposed on the first electrode, and an emission layer (122) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, and the light emitting element emits blue light or white light (¶[0051]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses a display panel wherein: the light emitting element (OLED) further comprises a hole transport region disposed between the first electrode and the emission layer; and an electron transport region disposed between the emission layer and the second electrode (¶[0110]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses a display device comprising: a display panel (Fig. 3); and a protection member (OFL, ¶[0061]) disposed on the display panel, wherein the display panel (Fig. 10A-10B) includes: a display element layer (DL) including a pixel defining film (119) having a pixel opening defined therein, and a light emitting element (OLED); and an encapsulation layer (TFE) disposed on the display element layer, wherein the encapsulation layer (TFE) includes: a first inorganic encapsulation film (131); an organic encapsulation film (132) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation film; and a second inorganic encapsulation film (133) disposed on the organic encapsulation film, the second inorganic encapsulation film (133) has a refractive index in a range of about 1.89 to about 2.20 (¶[0142]), wherein a thickness of the first inorganic encapsulation film is greater than a thickness of the second inorganic encapsulation film by about 2,600 Å to about 5,600 Å (¶[0143], when t1=1.5 µm & t3=1.2 µm).
Alternatively, one skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate selecting the thicknesses of the first inorganic encapsulation film and the second inorganic encapsulation film from the ranges disclosed by Lee to obtain the thickness of the first inorganic encapsulation film being greater than a thickness of the second inorganic encapsulation film by about 2,600 Å to about 5,600 Å in order to minimize the reflectance of external light, as an obvious matter of design engineering. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a thickness of the first inorganic encapsulation film being greater than a thickness of the second inorganic encapsulation film by about 2,600 Å to about 5,600 Å in order to minimize the reflectance of external light, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses a display device wherein the second inorganic encapsulation film (133) comprises silicon nitride (¶s[0060,0071,0132]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses a display device wherein the display device does not include a polarizing plate (¶s[0061-0063]). Lee discloses multiple embodiments of the optical functional layer OFL, an embodiment where the OFL may include a polarizer and a retarder, an embodiment where the OFL may include a black matrix and color filters, and an embodiment where the OFL may include a destructive interference structure. As such, the polarizer plate is an optional disclosed embodiment and the display device not including a polarizing plate is taught by Lee.
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses a display device wherein the first inorganic encapsulation film (131) comprises at least one compound selected from silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, silicon oxide, titanium oxide, and aluminum oxide (¶[0016]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses a display device wherein the second inorganic encapsulation film has a thickness in a range of about 6000 Å to about 8000 Å (¶[0143]); and the first inorganic encapsulation film has a thickness in a range of about 10600 Å to about 11600 Å (¶[0143]).
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses a display device wherein the organic encapsulation film has a thickness in a range of about 79000 Å to about 81000 Å (¶[0143]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses a display device wherein: the display element layer comprises a first light emitting element (EA1), a second light emitting element (EA3), and a third light emitting element (EA2) that are spaced apart from each other in a first direction perpendicular to a thickness direction; and the first light emitting element emits red light (¶[0074]), the second light emitting element emits green light (¶[0074]), and the third light emitting element emits blue light (¶[0074]).
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses an electronic device comprising: a display panel (Fig. 10A-10B) comprising: a display element layer (DL) including a pixel defining film (119) having a pixel opening defined therein, and a light emitting element (OLED); and an encapsulation layer (TFE) disposed on the display element layer, wherein the encapsulation layer (TFE) includes: a first inorganic encapsulation film (131); an organic encapsulation film (132) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation film; and a second inorganic encapsulation film (133) disposed on the organic encapsulation film, the second inorganic encapsulation film (133) has a refractive index in a range of about 1.89 to about 2.20 (¶[0142]), wherein a thickness of the first inorganic encapsulation film is greater than a thickness of the second inorganic encapsulation film by about 2,600 Å to about 5,600 Å (¶[0143], when t1=1.5 µm & t3=1.2 µm).
Alternatively, one skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate selecting the thicknesses of the first inorganic encapsulation film and the second inorganic encapsulation film from the ranges disclosed by Lee to obtain the thickness of the first inorganic encapsulation film being greater than a thickness of the second inorganic encapsulation film by about 2,600 Å to about 5,600 Å in order to minimize the reflectance of external light, as an obvious matter of design engineering. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a thickness of the first inorganic encapsulation film being greater than a thickness of the second inorganic encapsulation film by about 2,600 Å to about 5,600 Å in order to minimize the reflectance of external light, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses a display panel wherein: the second inorganic encapsulation film comprises silicon nitride (¶s[0060,0071,0132]); and the first inorganic encapsulation film comprises at least one compound selected from silicon oxynitride, silicon oxide, titanium oxide, and aluminum oxide (¶[0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0066652 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0227485 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 11, Lee fails to exemplify wherein the emission layer emits thermally activated delayed fluorescence or phosphorescence.
Park discloses a display panel comprising: a display element layer (Fig. 3) including a pixel defining film (PDL) having a pixel opening defined therein, and a light emitting element (ED1); and an encapsulation layer (TFE) disposed on the display element layer, wherein the encapsulation layer includes: a first inorganic encapsulation film (EL1, ¶[0108]); an organic encapsulation film (EL2, ¶[0108]) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation film; and a second inorganic encapsulation film (EL3, ¶[0108]) disposed on the organic encapsulation film, wherein the light emitting element comprises a first electrode (E1-1) exposed in the pixel opening, a second electrode (E2-1) disposed on the first electrode, and an emission layer (EML-1) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, and the light emitting element emits blue light or white light (¶[0122]) and wherein the emission layer emits thermally activated delayed fluorescence or phosphorescence (¶[0122]). It is considered within the capabilities of one skilled in the art the selection of a material based on its known suitability for an intended application as an obvious matter of design engineering. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to have thermally activated delayed fluorescence or phosphorescence emission layer as disclosed by Park in the display panel of Ju, since the selection of known materials for a known purpose is within the skill of the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-17 and 19-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879