DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This non-final action is in response to Applicant’s amended filing of 04/28/2026.
Claims 1-4, and 6-18 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant has amended claims 1-4, 6, 9, and 12; and added new claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed 04/28/2026 with respect to the objections against claims 3 and 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections against claims 3 and 9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, and 6-18 rejected under 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are only partially persuasive.
Applicant argues that the references of record do not recite the amended limitations by iterating what each of the references discloses and stating that they do not recite the amended limitations. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as the Applicant does not point out how the references fail to apply to the amendments. Therefore the Examiner briefly reiterates which limitations are taught and reasonable to combine with each other to the amended limitations:
Regarding a camera unit provided on an assistant driver’s seat or a rear seat, Yamamoto teaches a vehicle with cameras mounted around the driver’s seat (see at least ¶ [0012]) and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the seat-mounted cameras of Yamamoto into the image providing system of Yasui with a reasonable expectation of success, as well as be an easy matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to move the camera to other seats and would allow perspective views of other seats to be imaged.
Regarding a detection device for detecting a height of a head of the seated user, Milevski suggests a detection device for detecting a height of a head of the seated user (see at least ¶ [0015-0017] and [0053] disclosing wireless earpieces operating as virtual reality displays that detect orientation, position, and user height as information to communicate images and audio over a conferencing system), and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the height information considerations of Milevski into the combination of Yasui and Yamamoto with a reasonable expectation of success because it would help more accurately present information from the vehicle to the virtual reality device user and more accurately portray the user to the vehicle occupants.
Regarding a display device configured to display an image obtained by cutting out, from the image captured by the camera unit, an image centered on the orientation direction viewed from the height on the assistant driver's seat or the rear seat, Yasui suggests a display device configured to display an image obtained by cutting out, from the image captured by the camera unit, an image centered on the orientation direction (see at least ¶ [0044-0045], [0062-0063], [0076], and [0078] disclosing first and second image providing devices include respective communication units to communicate with each other, including cut images from a person image extraction unit), and Winn suggests a display device configured to display an image obtained by cutting out, from the image captured by the camera unit, an image centered on the orientation direction viewed from the height on the assistant driver's seat or the rear seat (see at least ¶ [0051-0053], [0064], and [0075] disclosing object-level image editing that crops an image based on a detected object class dependent on the size of the object, including if the detected object class is a person), and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the size dependent image cropping of Winn into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, and Milevski with a reasonable expectation of success because it would help more accurately present information from the vehicle to the virtual reality device user and more accurately portray the user to the vehicle occupants.
Regarding the orientation direction including an angle in a horizontal direction and an angle in a vertical direction and a display device configured to display an image obtained by cutting out, from the image captured by the camera unit in a predetermined angular range, the Examiner acknowledges the aforementioned references do not disclose, teach or suggest such features. However, this point is moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged with this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 10-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui et al. (US 20200159014 A1; reference provided in IDS submitted 08/12/2025) in view of Yamamoto (JP 2021170710 A; reference provided in IDS submitted 08/12/2025), Milevski et al. (US 20180123813 A1), Winn et al. (US 20090096808 A1), and Dorenkamp et al. (US 20200184839 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yasui discloses an information processing system (see at least abstract disclosing image providing system) comprising:
a first device that is mounted on a mobile object boarded by an occupant (see at least ¶ [0043] and [0050] and Figs. 1-2 disclosing a first image providing device mounted on a passenger vehicle, occupied by first users);
and a second device that is used by a user at a location different from the mobile object (see at least ¶ [0043] and [0050] and Fig. 1 disclosing a second image providing device in a place other than the vehicle, operated by second users),
wherein the first device includes:
a first communication device configured to communicate with a second communication device of the second device (see at least ¶ [0044-0045] and [0062-0063] disclosing first and second image providing devices include respective communication units to communicate with each other directly or through a management server);
and wherein the second device includes:
the second communication device configured to communicate with the first communication device (see at least ¶ [0044-0045] and [0062-0063] disclosing first and second image providing devices include respective communication units to communicate with each other directly or through a management server).
While Yasui discloses a camera unit that is provided on the mobile object and has one or more cameras including at least an indoor camera capable of capturing an image of an interior of the mobile object (see at least ¶ [0046-0048] and Fig. 2 disclosing in-vehicle cameras for imaging the inside and occupants of a vehicle), Yasui does not explicitly disclose the camera unit that is provided on an assistant driver’s seat or a rear seat of the mobile object and has one or more cameras including at least an indoor camera capable of capturing an image of an interior of the mobile object viewed from the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat.
However, Yamamoto teaches a vehicle with cameras mounted around the driver’s seat (see at least ¶ [0012]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the seat-mounted cameras of Yamamoto into the image providing system of Yasui with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward vehicles with interior-mounted cameras. While Yamamoto directs the camera being mounted to the driver’s seat, it would be an easy matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to move the camera to other seats and would allow perspective views of other seats to be imaged.
While Yasui discloses a detection device for detecting an orientation direction of the user (see at least ¶ [0071] disclosing the second image providing device includes a line-of-sight sensor for detecting the line-of-sight movement of the user), the combination of Yasui and Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose a detection device for detecting an orientation direction of the user and a height of a head of the seated user.
However, Milevski suggests a detection device for detecting an orientation direction of the user and a height of a head of the seated user (see at least ¶ [0015-0017], [0051], [0053], and [0056] disclosing wireless earpieces operating as virtual reality displays that detect orientation, position, and user height as information to communicate images and audio over a conferencing system with transceivers between units).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the height information considerations of Milevski into the combination of Yasui and Yamamoto with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to communicating and displaying image information between users. While Milevski is directed toward conferencing and not incorporated into vehicles, the intercommunication of images from one location to a virtual reality device user and responding with the user’s audio and height information is directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui and Yamamoto. This would help more accurately present information from the vehicle to the virtual reality device user and more accurately portray the user to the vehicle occupants.
While Yasui suggests a display device configured to display an image obtained by cutting out, from the image captured by the camera unit, an image centered on the orientation direction (see at least ¶ [0044-0045], [0062-0063], [0071], [0076], and [0078] and Fig. 8 disclosing first and second image providing devices include respective communication units to communicate with each other, including cut images from a person image extraction unit, and the second image providing device includes a human machine interface (HMI) embodied as a head mount display device that tracks a user’s line of sight and displays images from in-vehicle cameras), the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, and Milevski does not explicitly disclose a display device configured to display an image obtained by cutting out, from the image captured by the camera unit, an image centered on the orientation direction viewed from the height on the assistant driver's seat or the rear seat.
However, Winn suggests a display device configured to display an image obtained by cutting out, from the image captured by the camera unit, an image centered on the orientation direction viewed from the height on the assistant driver's seat or the rear seat (see at least ¶ [0051-0053], [0064], and [0075] disclosing object-level image editing that crops an image based on a detected object class dependent on the size of the object, including if the detected object class is a person).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the size dependent image cropping of Winn into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, and Milevski with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to communicating and displaying image information between users. While Winn is directed toward digital image editing and not incorporated into vehicles, the manipulation and editing of images, especially where it pertains to the size of an image object and that information correlating to the editing procedure, is directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui, Yamamoto, and Milevski, with particular correlation to the image cutting functions of Yasui. This would help more accurately present information from the vehicle to the virtual reality device user and more accurately portray the user to the vehicle occupants.
The combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, and Winn does not explicitly disclose the orientation direction includes an angle in a horizontal direction and an angle in a vertical direction and a display device configured to display an image obtained by cutting the image captured by the camera unit in a predetermined angular range.
However, Dorenkamp suggests the orientation direction includes an angle in a horizontal direction and an angle in a vertical direction and a display device configured to display an image obtained by cutting the image captured by the camera unit in a predetermined angular range (see at least abstract and ¶ [0069-0077] disclosing an augmented reality device that modifies the display based on a permitted field of view of horizontal and vertical orientation ranges and angles).
While Dorenkamp is directed toward augmented reality viewing and not incorporated into vehicles, the manipulation and editing of images, especially where it pertains to the horizontal and vertical dimensions of an image object and that information correlating to the editing procedure, is directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, and Winn, with particular correlation to the image cutting functions of Yasui and Winn. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the horizontal and vertical parameters of Dorenkamp into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, and Winn with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to communicating and displaying image information between users. This would help more accurately present information from the vehicle to the virtual reality device user and more accurately portray the user to the vehicle occupants.
Regarding claim 6, Yasui suggests the first control device for controls the first communication device to selectively transmit the image corresponding to the orientation direction acquired via the first communication device among the images captured by the camera unit to the second communication device (see at least ¶ [0071-0072] and [0116] disclosing the second image providing device includes a line-of-sight sensor for detecting the line-of-sight movement of the user such that in-vehicle camera provides a selected panorama image in a central visual field of the head mount display device),
and the display device of the second device displays the image corresponding to the orientation direction viewed from the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat, which is acquired via the second communication device (see at least ¶ [0071-0072] and [0116] disclosing the second image providing device includes a line-of-sight sensor for detecting the line-of-sight movement of the user such that in-vehicle camera provides a selected panorama image in a central visual field of the head mount display device).
Regarding claim 7, Yasui suggests the first communication device transmits the images captured by the camera unit to the second communication device (see at least ¶ [0071-0072] disclosing the second image providing device includes a line-of-sight sensor for detecting the line-of-sight movement of the user such that in-vehicle camera provides a selected panorama image in a central visual field of the head mount display device),
and the second device further has a second control device that causes the display device to selectively display the image corresponding to the orientation direction among the images captured by the camera unit (see at least ¶ [0071-0072] and [0116] disclosing the second image providing device includes a line-of-sight sensor for detecting the line-of-sight movement of the user such that in-vehicle camera provides a selected panorama image in a central visual field of the head mount display device).
Regarding claim 10, Yasui discloses the display device is a display device of virtual reality (VR) goggles (see at least ¶ [0071] and Fig. 8 disclosing the second image providing device includes a human machine interface (HMI) embodied as a head mount display device that tracks a user’s line of sight and displays images from in-vehicle cameras),
and the detection device includes a physical sensor attached to the VR goggles (see at least ¶ [0071] disclosing the second image providing device includes a line-of-sight sensor for detecting the line-of-sight movement of the user).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, and Winn does not explicitly disclose the display device is capable of executing a mode in which a displayable angular range of the display device is limited.
However, Dorenkamp suggests the display device is capable of executing a mode in which a displayable angular range of the display device is limited (see at least abstract and ¶ [0069-0077] disclosing an augmented reality device that modifies the display based on a permitted field of view of horizontal and vertical orientation ranges and angles).
While Dorenkamp is directed toward augmented reality viewing and not incorporated into vehicles, the manipulation and editing of images, especially where it pertains to the horizontal and vertical dimensions of an image object and that information correlating to the editing procedure, is directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, and Winn, with particular correlation to the image cutting functions of Yasui and Winn. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the horizontal and vertical parameters of Dorenkamp into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, and Winn with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to communicating and displaying image information between users. This would help more accurately present information from the vehicle to the virtual reality device user and more accurately portray the user to the vehicle occupants.
Regarding claim 12, Yasui discloses the mobile object is a vehicle (see at least ¶ [0043] and [0050] and Figs. 1-2 disclosing a first image providing device mounted on a passenger vehicle).
Regarding claim 19, Yasui does not explicitly disclose wherein the indoor camera is provided on the assistant driver's seat and captures the image of the interior of the mobile object viewed from the assistant driver's seat.
However, Yamamoto teaches a vehicle with cameras mounted around the driver’s seat (see at least ¶ [0012]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the seat-mounted cameras of Yamamoto into the image providing system of Yasui with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward vehicles with interior-mounted cameras. While Yamamoto directs the camera being mounted to the driver’s seat, it would be an easy matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to move the camera to other seats and would allow perspective views of other seats to be imaged.
While Yasui suggests the display device displays the image obtained by cutting out, from the image captured by the camera unit, an image centered on the orientation direction (see at least ¶ [0044-0045], [0062-0063], [0071], [0076], and [0078] and Fig. 8 disclosing first and second image providing devices include respective communication units to communicate with each other, including cut images from a person image extraction unit, and the second image providing device includes a human machine interface (HMI) embodied as a head mount display device that tracks a user’s line of sight and displays images from in-vehicle cameras), the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, and Milevski does not explicitly disclose the display device displays the image obtained by cutting out, from the image captured by the camera unit, the image centered on the orientation direction viewed from the height on the assistant driver's seat.
However, Winn suggests the display device displays the image obtained by cutting out, from the image captured by the camera unit, the image centered on the orientation direction viewed from the height on the assistant driver's seat (see at least ¶ [0051-0053], [0064], and [0075] disclosing object-level image editing that crops an image based on a detected object class dependent on the size of the object, including if the detected object class is a person).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the size dependent image cropping of Winn into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, and Milevski with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to communicating and displaying image information between users. While Winn is directed toward digital image editing and not incorporated into vehicles, the manipulation and editing of images, especially where it pertains to the size of an image object and that information correlating to the editing procedure, is directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui, Yamamoto, and Milevski, with particular correlation to the image cutting functions of Yasui. This would help more accurately present information from the vehicle to the virtual reality device user and more accurately portray the user to the vehicle occupants.
The combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, and Winn does not explicitly disclose the image is in a predetermined angular range,
and the display device displays the image in which a direction that can be visually recognized by the user viewed from the assistant driver's seat is restricted according to an agreement at a time of matching the user and the occupant.
However, Dorenkamp suggests the image is in a predetermined angular range (see at least abstract and ¶ [0069-0077] disclosing an augmented reality device that modifies the display based on a permitted field of view of horizontal and vertical orientation ranges and angles),
and the display device displays the image in which a direction that can be visually recognized by the user viewed from the assistant driver's seat is restricted according to an agreement at a time of matching the user and the occupant (see at least abstract and ¶ [0069-0077] disclosing an augmented reality device that modifies the display based on a permitted field of view of horizontal and vertical orientation ranges and angles and during a certain time).
While Dorenkamp is directed toward augmented reality viewing and not incorporated into vehicles, the manipulation and editing of images, especially where it pertains to the horizontal and vertical dimensions of an image object and that information correlating to the editing procedure, is directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, and Winn, with particular correlation to the image cutting functions of Yasui and Winn. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the horizontal and vertical parameters of Dorenkamp into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, and Winn with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to communicating and displaying image information between users. This would help more accurately present information from the vehicle to the virtual reality device user and more accurately portray the user to the vehicle occupants.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui et al. in view of Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Okubo et al. (JP 2021150835 A; reference provided by IDS submitted 08/12/2025).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp does not explicitly disclose the first speaker causes the occupant to localize a sound image so that the voice is audible from the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat and outputs the voice uttered by the user.
However, Okubo suggests the first speaker causes the occupant to localize a sound image so that the voice is audible from the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat and outputs the voice uttered by the user (see at least ¶ [0077-0078] disclosing the sound image position corresponds to a passenger seat so an occupant can localize the source).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the sound image localization of Okubo into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward communicating image and sound information between an equipment mounted on a vehicle and an outside source. This would allow the inside occupant and the outside user with the head mount display device to communicate with each other and determine their relative orientation with each other.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp does not explicitly disclose the first speaker includes a plurality of first child speakers arranged at positions different from each other,
and the first control device causes the sound image to be localized so the voice of the user is audible from the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat by adjusting a volume and/or a phase difference of the plurality of first child speakers.
However, Okubo suggests the first speaker includes a plurality of first child speakers arranged at positions different from each other (see at least ¶ [0082] disclosing a plurality of speakers positioned around the vehicle to help localize occupants),
the first control device causes the sound image to be localized so the voice of the user is audible from the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat by adjusting a volume and/or a phase difference of the plurality of first child speakers (see at least ¶ [0077-0078] disclosing the sound image position corresponds to a passenger seat so an occupant can localize the source).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the sound image localization of Okubo into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward communicating image and sound information between an equipment mounted on a vehicle and an outside source. This would allow the inside occupant and the outside user with the head mount display device to communicate with each other and determine their relative orientation with each other.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp does not explicitly disclose the first control device causes the sound image to be localized so the voice of the user is audible from a height position represented by the height on the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat, and causes the first speaker to output the voice uttered by the user.
However, Okubo suggests the first control device causes the sound image to be localized so the voice of the user is audible from a height position represented by the height on the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat, and causes the first speaker to output the voice uttered by the user (see at least ¶ [0077-0078] disclosing the sound image position corresponds to a passenger seat so an occupant can localize the source).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the sound image localization of Okubo into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward communicating image and sound information between an equipment mounted on a vehicle and an outside source. This would allow the inside occupant and the outside user with the head mount display device to communicate with each other and determine their relative orientation with each other.
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui et al. in view of Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Nojima (JP H11205782 A; reference provided in IDS submitted 08/12/2025).
Regarding claim 8, while Yasui discloses the first device further has at least a first microphone that collects a voice uttered by the occupant (see at least ¶ [0050] and Fig. 1 disclosing the first image providing device has a human machine interface (HMI) which includes a microphone), the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp does not explicitly disclose the second device further has a second speaker that outputs the voice uttered by the occupant and acquired via the second communication device,
and the first communication device transmits a voice collected by the first microphone to the second communication device.
However, Nojima suggests the second device further has a second speaker that outputs the voice uttered by the occupant and acquired via the second communication device (see at least ¶ [0023] of the machine translation disclosing a vehicle mounted terminal receives and sends voice communication information from and to a communication station via microphones),
and the first communication device transmits a voice collected by the first microphone to the second communication device (see at least ¶ [0023] of the machine translation disclosing a vehicle mounted terminal receives and sends voice communication information from and to a communication station via microphones).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the voice communication of Nojima into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward communicating image and sound information between an equipment mounted on a vehicle and an outside source. This would allow the outside user with the head mount display device to communicate with occupants of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp does not explicitly disclose the second device further includes a second microphone configured to collect a voice uttered by the user,
and the second communication device transmits the voice collected by the second microphone to the first communication device.
However, Nojima suggests the second device includes a second microphone configured to collect a voice uttered by the user (see at least ¶ [0023] of the machine translation disclosing a vehicle mounted terminal receives and sends voice communication information from and to a communication station via microphones);
and the second communication device transmits a voice collected by the second microphone to the first communication device (see at least ¶ [0023] of the machine translation disclosing a vehicle mounted terminal receives and sends voice communication information from and to a communication station via microphones).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the voice communication of Nojima into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward communicating image and sound information between an equipment mounted on a vehicle and an outside source. This would allow the outside user with the head mount display device to communicate with occupants of the vehicle.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui et al. in view of Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, Dorenkamp, and Nojima, as applied to claim 8 above, and in view of Okubo et al. (JP 2021150835 A; reference provided by IDS submitted 08/12/2025).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, Dorenkamp, and Nojima does not explicitly disclose the second speaker causes a sound image to be localized so the occupant is audible from a position of the occupant viewed from the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat, and outputs the voice uttered by the occupant.
However, Okubo suggests the second speaker causes a sound image to be localized so the occupant is audible from a position of the occupant viewed from the assistant driver’s seat or the rear seat, and outputs the voice uttered by the occupant (see at least ¶ [0077-0078] disclosing the sound image position corresponds to a passenger seat so an occupant can localize the source).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the sound image localization of Okubo into the mbination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, Dorenkamp, and Nojima with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward communicating image and sound information between an equipment mounted on a vehicle and an outside source. This would allow the inside occupant and the outside user with the head mount display device to communicate with each other and determine their relative orientation with each other.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui et al., Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Hoshi (JP 2005157762 A; reference provided by IDS submitted 08/12/2025).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp does not explicitly disclose the display device replaces a portion of the images captured by the camera in which a predetermined article inside the mobile object is captured with an image drawn by computer processing and displays the image.
However, Hoshi suggests the display device replaces a portion of the images captured by the camera in which a predetermined article inside the mobile object is captured with an image drawn by computer processing and displays the image (see at least ¶ [0022-0023] disclosing an image processing system that extracts objects found in an image and replaces them).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the image replacement function of Hoshi into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to capturing, manipulating, communicating, and displaying image information. While Hoshi is directed toward general image processing and not incorporated into vehicles, the image processing functions are directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp because they similarly process the images captured inside the vehicle. This would allow occupants and users to identify certain features in vehicle images and single them out during remote communication.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui et al. in view of Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp, as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 20180033151 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp does not explicitly disclose the display device displays the image in which a direction that can be visually recognized by the user is restricted according to an agreement at a time of matching the user and the occupant.
However, Matsumoto suggests the display device displays the image in which a direction that can be visually recognized by the user is restricted according to an agreement at a time of matching the user and the occupant (see at least abstract, ¶ [0104-0114] and [0129-0131], and Figs. 9A-9B and 11A-13 disclosing a video masking process for display of recorded people, where a recorded person is masked to ensure privacy during display unless specific user authentication provides authorization to view the masked person).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the image masking function of Matsumoto into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to capturing, manipulating, communicating, and displaying image information. While Matsumoto is directed toward general video processing and not incorporated into vehicles specifically, the video processing functions are directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp because they similarly process images captured inside the vehicle. This would allow users to maintain privacy until authorized to display their image to other users.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp does not explicitly disclose the agreement is based on a request from the occupant.
However, Matsumoto suggests the agreement is based on a request from the occupant (see at least abstract, ¶ [0104-0114] and [0129-0131], and Figs. 9A-9B and 11A-13 disclosing a video masking process for display of recorded people, where a recorded person is masked to ensure privacy during display unless specific user authentication provides authorization to view the masked person).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the image masking function of Matsumoto into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to capturing, manipulating, communicating, and displaying image information. While Matsumoto is directed toward general video processing and not incorporated into vehicles specifically, the video processing functions are directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp because they similarly process images captured inside the vehicle. This would allow users to maintain privacy until authorized to display their image to other users.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp does not explicitly disclose the first control device masks an angular range that is not visually recognized or performs correction so that the orientation direction is not oriented in a restricted direction.
However, Matsumoto suggests the first control device masks an angular range that is not visually recognized or performs correction so that the orientation direction is not oriented in a restricted direction (see at least abstract, ¶ [0104-0114] and [0129-0131], and Figs. 9A-9B and 11A-13 disclosing a video masking process for display of recorded people, where a recorded person is masked to ensure privacy during display unless specific user authentication provides authorization to view the masked person).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the image masking function of Matsumoto into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to capturing, manipulating, communicating, and displaying image information. While Matsumoto is directed toward general video processing and not incorporated into vehicles specifically, the video processing functions are directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp because they similarly process images captured inside the vehicle. This would allow users to maintain privacy until authorized to display their image to other users.
Regarding claim 18, Yasui discloses the second device further has a second control device that causes the display device to selectively display the image corresponding to the orientation direction among the images captured by the camera unit (see at least ¶ [0071-0072] and [0116] disclosing the second image providing device includes a line-of-sight sensor for detecting the line-of-sight movement of the user such that in-vehicle camera provides a selected panorama image in a central visual field of the head mount display device).
The combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp does not explicitly disclose the second control device masks an angular range that is not visually recognized in the image or performs correction of the image so that the orientation direction is not oriented in a restricted direction.
However, Matsumoto suggests the second control device masks an angular range that is not visually recognized in the image or performs correction of the image so that the orientation direction is not oriented in a restricted direction (see at least abstract, ¶ [0104-0114] and [0129-0131], and Figs. 9A-9B and 11A-13 disclosing a video masking process for display of recorded people, where a recorded person is masked to ensure privacy during display unless specific user authentication provides authorization to view the masked person).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the image masking function of Matsumoto into the combination of Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed to capturing, manipulating, communicating, and displaying image information. While Matsumoto is directed toward general video processing and not incorporated into vehicles specifically, the video processing functions are directly applicable to the systems found in Yasui, Yamamoto, Milevski, Winn, and Dorenkamp because they similarly process images captured inside the vehicle. This would allow users to maintain privacy until authorized to display their image to other users.
Conclusion
/J.C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669