DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2023 and 11/20/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1 and 16 each recites that a component “corresponds to” the through hole. The term "corresponds to” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite spatial relationship, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It Is unclear whether the term requires alignment with, overlap with, coaxial positioning relative to or mere proximity to the through hole. The metes and bounds of the claims therefore cannot be determined so the claims are indefinite.
Dependent claims 5,6,12,13, 18 and 19 further recite that additional components (e.g. a filter, a photosensitive area ..etc) “correspond to” the through hole or the photosensitive chip, raising the same indefiniteness issue.
Claims 2-4, 7-8, 14-15, 17 and 20 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on rejected claims 1, 13 and 16 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et. al. (US-20200007726-A1, hereinafter Wang), and further in view of Wang648 et. al. (US-20200162648-A1, hereinafter Wang648) and Luan et. al. (US-20220303436-A1, hereinafter Luan)
Regarding Claim 1.
Wang teaches A lens packaging module comprising:
a circuit board (Fig.7 #22) comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface,
a passive component (Fig.7 #26);
a photosensitive chip (Fig.7 #21), wherein the passive component and the photosensitive chip are arranged on the first surface and the second surface, respectively, (Wang [0132] The photosensitive element #21 and each of the electronic components #26 may be attached to the opposite sides of the circuit board #22)
and the photosensitive chip corresponds to the through hole;
an encapsulation portion (#23) comprising a main body portion (#232) arranged on the first surface,
wherein the main body portion (#232) covers the passive component (#26); and
a lens assembly (#10 & #27 and structure) formed on the encapsulation portion (#23) and corresponding to the through hole,
Wang does not explicitly disclose
the circuit board further defining a through hole extending through the first surface and the second surface; and
wherein, along a thickness direction, an orthographic projection of the passive component overlaps at least partially with an orthographic projection of the lens assembly.
However, Wang648 teaches the circuit board further defining a through hole extending through the first surface and the second surface; (Wang648 [0084] the circuit board substrate #131 may have a through hole communicating with both sides of the circuit board substrate #131)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s device with the teachings of Wang648, as identified above, in order to achieve a thinner module profile by distributing components on both sides of the circuit board. .
Furthermore, Luan teaches wherein, along a thickness direction, an orthographic projection of the passive component (#40) overlaps at least partially with an orthographic projection of the lens assembly (#2000) (Luan [0097] The front molding portion #1003 may embed electronic elements, which is beneath the lens holder/assembly #1003/#2000)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Wang648 with the teachings of Luan, as identified above, in order to further reduce the lateral footprint of the combined camera module. This is also a routine rearrangement of parts on the circuit board surface that would have been within the skill of an ordinary practitioner, and would predictably result in a camera module with a smaller planar area.
Regarding Claim 2.
The combination of Wang, Wang648 and Luan teaches The lens packaging module of claim 1,
Wang further teaches in Fig.10 wherein the encapsulation portion (#23) further comprises a first extension portion (#232 main body) and a second extension portion (#236 lens mounting section), the first extension portion is arranged on the first surface, one end of the first extension portion is connected to the main body portion and another end of the first extension portion is connected to the second extension portion, and the second extension portion covers an inner wall of the through hole. (Wang Fig.10 [0156])
Regarding Claim 3.
The combination of Wang, Wang648 and Luan teaches The lens packaging module of claim 2,
Wang further teaches wherein the encapsulation portion further comprises a cylindrical portion (portion holding the camera lens #10), and the lens assembly (#10) is accommodated in the cylindrical portion. (Wang [0122])
Regarding Claim 4.
The combination of Wang, Wang648 and Luan teaches The lens packaging module of claim 3,
Wang further teaches in Fig.7 and 10 and in related text further comprising a fixing glue, wherein the lens assembly comprises a lens barrel and a lens accommodated in the lens barrel, and the lens barrel is connected to the cylindrical portion through the fixing glue. (See Wang [0144, 0156])
Regarding Claim 5.
The combination of Wang, Wang648 and Luan teaches The lens packaging module of claim 2,
Wang also teaches in Fig. 8B further comprising a filter (#40), wherein a height of the main body portion (Fig.8B height of #232) is greater than a height of the first extension portion (height at the lower level of #235), thereby forming a stepped portion between the main body portion (#232) and the first extension portion, and the filter (#40) is arranged on the stepped portion and corresponds to the through hole. (Wang Fig.8B [0152] )
Regarding Claim 9.
Wang teaches A preparation method of a lens packaging module, the preparation method comprising:
arranging a passive component (#26) on a first surface of a circuit board (#22),
arranging an encapsulation portion (#23) on the first surface of the circuit board, wherein the encapsulation portion comprises a main body portion (#232) covering the passive component (#26);
arranging a photosensitive chip (#21) on a second surface of the circuit board, wherein the second surface is opposite to the first surface; (Wang [0132] The photosensitive element #21 and each of the electronic components #26 may be attached to the opposite sides of the circuit board #22)
arranging a lens assembly (#10 & #27 and structure) on the encapsulation portion (#23), wherein the lens assembly and the photosensitive chip are located at opposite sides of the through hole.
Wang does not explicitly disclose
herein the circuit board defines a through hole; and
along a thickness direction, an orthographic projection of the passive component overlaps at least partially with an orthographic projection of the lens assembly.
However, Wang648 teaches the circuit board further defining a through hole extending through the first surface and the second surface; (Wang648 [0084] the circuit board substrate #131 may have a through hole communicating with both sides of the circuit board substrate #131)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s device with the teachings of Wang648, as identified above, in order to achieve a thinner module profile by distributing components on both sides of the circuit board.
Furthermore, Luan teaches wherein, along a thickness direction, an orthographic projection of the passive component (#40) overlaps at least partially with an orthographic projection of the lens assembly (#2000) (Luan [0097] The front molding portion #1003 may embed electronic elements, which is beneath the lens holder/assembly #1003/#2000)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Wang648 with the teachings of Luan, as identified above, in order to further reduce the lateral footprint of the combined camera module. This is also a routine rearrangement of parts on the circuit board surface that would have been within the skill of an ordinary practitioner, and would predictably result in a camera module with a smaller planar area.
Regarding Claim 10.
The combination of Wang, Wang648 and Luan teaches The preparation method of claim 9,
Wang further teaches wherein the encapsulation portion (#23) is further provided with a first extension portion (#232) and a second extension portion (#236), the first extension portion is arranged on the first surface, one end of the first extension portion is connected to the main body portion and another end of the first extension portion is connected to the second extension portion, and the second extension portion covers an inner wall of the through hole. (Wang Fig.10 [0156]) and
a height of the main body portion (Fig.8B height of #232) is greater than a height of the first extension portion (height at the lower level of #235), so that the main body portion and the first extension portion form a stepped portion (#235). (Fig.8B [0152] )
Regarding Claim 11.
The combination of Wang, Wang648 and Luan teaches The preparation method of claim 10,
Wang further teaches in Fig.7 and 10 and in related text wherein the lens assembly is provided with a lens barrel and a lens accommodated in the lens barrel, the encapsulation portion (#23) is further provided with a cylindrical portion connected to the main body portion, and arranging the lens assembly on the encapsulation portion further comprises:
bonding the lens barrel to the cylindrical portion by a fixing glue. (See Wang [0144, 0156])
Regarding Claim 12.
The combination of Wang, Wang648 and Luan teaches The preparation method of claim 10,
Wang further teaches wherein after arranging the photosensitive chip on the second surface, the preparation method further comprises:
arranging a filter (Fig. 8B #40) on the stepped portion (groove #235), wherein the filter corresponds to the photosensitive chip (#21). (Fig.8B [0152] )
Regarding Claim 16.
Wang teaches An electronic device comprising:
a lens packaging module comprising:
a circuit board (Fig.7 #22) comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface,
a passive component (#26);
a photosensitive chip (#22), wherein the passive component and the photosensitive chip are arranged on the first surface and the second surface, respectively, (Wang [0132] The photosensitive element #21 and each of the electronic components #26 may be attached to the opposite sides of the circuit board #22)
and the photosensitive chip corresponds to the through hole;
an encapsulation portion (#23) comprising a main body portion (#232) arranged on the first surface,
wherein the main body portion (#232) covers the passive component (#26); and
a lens assembly (#10 & #27 and structure) formed on the encapsulation portion (#23) and corresponding to the through hole,
Wang does not explicitly disclose
the circuit board further defining a through hole extending through the first surface and the second surface; and
wherein, along a thickness direction, an orthographic projection of the passive component overlaps at least partially with an orthographic projection of the lens assembly.
However, Wang648 teaches the circuit board further defining a through hole extending through the first surface and the second surface; (Wang648 [0084] the circuit board substrate #131 may have a through hole communicating with both sides of the circuit board substrate #131)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s device with the teachings of Wang648, as identified above, in order to achieve a thinner module profile by distributing components on both sides of the circuit board. .
Furthermore, Luan teaches wherein, along a thickness direction, an orthographic projection of the passive component (#40) overlaps at least partially with an orthographic projection of the lens assembly (#2000) (Luan [0097] The front molding portion #1003 may embed electronic elements, which is beneath the lens holder/assembly #1003/#2000)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Wang648 with the teachings of Luan, as identified above, in order to further reduce the lateral footprint of the combined camera module. This is also a routine rearrangement of parts on the circuit board surface that would have been within the skill of an ordinary practitioner, and would predictably result in a camera module with a smaller planar area.
Regarding Claim 17.
The combination of Wang, Wang648 and Luan teaches The electronic device of claim 16,
Wang further teaches in Fig.10 wherein the encapsulation portion (#23) further comprises a first extension portion (#232 main body) and a second extension portion (#236 lens mounting section), the first extension portion is arranged on the first surface, one end of the first extension portion is connected to the main body portion and another end of the first extension portion is connected to the second extension portion, and the second extension portion covers an inner wall of the through hole. (Wang Fig.10 [0156])
Regarding Claim 18.
The combination of Wang, Wang648 and Luan teaches The electronic device of claim 17,
Wang also teaches in Fig. 8B further comprising a filter (#40), wherein a height of the main body portion (Fig.8B height of #232) is greater than a height of the first extension portion (height at the lower level of #235), thereby forming a stepped portion between the main body portion (#232) and the first extension portion, and the filter (#40) is arranged on the stepped portion and corresponds to the through hole. (Fig.8B [0152] )
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6-8, 13-15 and 19-20 are rejected.
Claims 6-8, 13-15 and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AlA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Claim 6 would be allowable, because of the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the device, wherein…the non-photosensitive area is welded on the second surface, and the photosensitive area corresponds to the through hole. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claim 13 would be allowable, because of the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the method, wherein… arranging the photosensitive chip on the second surface further comprises: welding the non-photosensitive area to the second surface, wherein the photosensitive area corresponds to the through hole. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claim 19 would be allowable, because of the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the device, wherein… the non-photosensitive area is welded on the second surface, and the photosensitive area corresponds to the through hole. These features in combination with the other elements of the claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 7-8, 14-15 and 20 would be allowable because they depend from the allowable claims 6, 13 or 19.
Conclusion
/SOPHIA W KAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817