DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, FIGs. 2, 4, 10 and 11, and claims 1, 4-9, 13, 16-18 and 20 in the reply filed on 07/01/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 2, 3, 10-12, 14, 15 and 19 are withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an electronic component or device disposed on the first terminal or the second terminal of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth or sixth copper sheet, the electronic component or device comprising a first pad electrically coupled to the first terminal or the second terminal and a second pad serving as a terminal of a corresponding winding” as recited in claim 9 and similar limitations in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,378,883 B2, hereinafter “Tsai”).
With respect to claim 13, Tsai teaches a transformer winding 110 and 150 (FIG. 2) comprising:
a first metal sheet 110 of a first sheet type, the first sheet type comprising a first body 112 in a ring shape with a first opening 114 on a lower portion of the ring shape, and a first terminal 122 and a second terminal 124 extending respectively downward from two ends 118 and 120 of the first opening;
a second metal sheet 150 of a second sheet type, the second sheet type comprising a second body152 in the ring shape with a second opening 154 on the lower portion of the ring shape, and a first terminal 162 and a second terminal 164 extending respectively downward from two ends 158 and 160 of the second opening, the second opening being different from the first opening,
a distance (spacing length) between the first terminal and the second terminal of the second sheet type being same as a distance (spacing length) between the first terminal and the second terminal of the first sheet type,
first terminals and second terminals of the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet having a same width, and
the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet being stacked with one on top of the other along a centerline of the ring shape; and
an insulating film 300 disposed between the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet (col. 2, lines 44-48, col. 3, lines 1-7 and col. 5, lines 4-7).
With respect to claim 16, Tsai teaches the transformer winding of claim 13, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal of the first metal sheet are at a same side of the centerline (annotated dotted line) (col. 2, lines 44-48 and col. 3, lines 1-7). The “centerline” as claimed is merely arbitrary.
With respect to claim 17, Tsai teaches the transformer winding of claim 13, wherein the first metal sheet and the second metal sheet are copper sheets (col. 2, lines 35-39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2024/0013966 A1, hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of Tsai.
With respect to claim 1, Zhao teaches a transformer 1 (FIGs. 1-3) comprising a first structure (the structure of transformer 1), the first structure comprising:
a core 100-500 comprising a first leg 300a, a second leg 300b, and a third leg 400 disposed between the first leg and the second leg;
a first secondary winding w1 disposed around the first leg;
a second secondary winding w2 disposed around the second leg; and
a third secondary winding w5 disposed around the third leg (paras. [0030] and [0056], [0054]).
Zhao does not expressly teach
the first secondary winding comprising a first copper sheet of a first sheet type and a second copper sheet of a second sheet type, the first copper sheet and the second copper sheet being stacked with a rear surface of the first copper sheet disposed on top of a front surface of the second copper sheet, the first sheet type comprising a first body in a ring shape with a first opening, and a first terminal and a second terminal extending respectively from two ends of the first opening along a centerline of the ring shape, and the second sheet type comprising a second body in the ring shape with a second opening, and a first terminal and a second terminal extending respectively from two ends of the second opening along the centerline;
the second secondary winding comprising a third copper sheet of the first sheet type and a fourth copper sheet of the second sheet type, the third copper sheet and the fourth copper sheet being stacked with a front surface of the third copper sheet disposed on top of a rear surface of the fourth copper sheet; and
the third secondary winding comprising a fifth copper sheet and a sixth copper sheet of a third sheet type, the fifth copper sheet and the sixth copper sheet being stacked with a rear surface of the fifth copper sheet disposed on top of a rear surface of the sixth copper sheet, the third sheet type comprising a third body in the ring shape with a third opening, and a first terminal and a second terminal extending respectively from two ends of the third opening along the centerline; and
wherein:
respective distances between first terminals and second terminals of the first, second and third sheet types are same; and
respective distances from the first terminals or the second terminals of the first, second and third sheet types to the centerline of the ring shape are different from one another, centerlines of the first to sixth copper sheets being perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the core.
Tsai teaches a transformer (FIG. 2) comprising:
a first secondary winding 110 and 115, the first secondary winding comprising a first copper sheet 115 of a first sheet type and a second copper sheet 110 of a second sheet type, the first copper sheet and the second copper sheet being stacked with a rear surface (lower surface) of the first copper sheet disposed on top of a front surface of the second copper sheet, the first sheet type comprising a first body 152 in a ring shape with a first opening 154, and a first terminal 162 and a second terminal 164 extending respectively from two ends 158 and 160 of the first opening along a centerline (annotated dotted line shown above) of the ring shape, and the second sheet type comprising a second body 112 in the ring shape with a second opening 114, and a first terminal 122 and a second terminal 124 extending respectively from two ends 118 and 120 of the second opening along the centerline (col. 2, lines 44-48 and col. 3, lines 1-7). The incorporation of the winding structure of Tsai to the second secondary winding and the third secondary winding of Zhao would result in
“the second secondary winding comprising a third copper sheet of the first sheet type and a fourth copper sheet of the second sheet type, the third copper sheet and the fourth copper sheet being stacked with a front surface of the third copper sheet disposed on top of a rear surface of the fourth copper sheet; and
the third secondary winding comprising a fifth copper sheet and a sixth copper sheet of a third sheet type, the fifth copper sheet and the sixth copper sheet being stacked with a rear surface of the fifth copper sheet disposed on top of a rear surface of the sixth copper sheet, the third sheet type comprising a third body in the ring shape with a third opening, and a first terminal and a second terminal extending respectively from two ends of the third opening along the centerline; and
wherein:
respective distances between first terminals and second terminals of the first, second and third sheet types are same; and
respective distances from the first terminals or the second terminals of the first, second and third sheet types to the centerline of the ring shape are different from one another, centerlines of the first to sixth copper sheets being perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the core” as claimed. Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the winding structure as taught by Tsai to the transformer of Zhao to reduce size (col. 1, lines 41-44).
With respect to claim 4, Zhao in view of Tsai teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the first terminal of each of the first sheet type, the second sheet type or the third sheet type is farther from the centerline than the second terminal of each of the first sheet type, the second sheet type or the third first sheet type (Tsai, col. 2, lines 44-48 and col. 3, lines 1-7).
With respect to claim 5, Zhao in view of Tsai teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the first leg, the second leg and the third leg are evenly spaced at a first distance (Tsai, col. 2, lines 44-48 and col. 3, lines 1-7).
With respect to claim 6, Zhao in view of Tsai teaches the transformer of claim 5, wherein a second distance between the first terminal of the first copper sheet and the first terminal of the fifth copper sheet is same as that between the first terminal of the fifth copper sheet and the first terminal of the third copper sheet, the second distance different from the first distance (Tsai, col. 2, lines 44-48 and col. 3, lines 1-7).
With respect to claim 7, Zhao in view of Tsai teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the first terminals and the second terminals of the first sheet type, the second sheet type and the third sheet type have a same width (Tsai, col. 2, lines 44-48 and col. 3, lines 1-7).
With respect to claim 8, Zhao in view of Tsai teaches the transformer of claim 1, wherein the core further comprises two side portions 100 and 200 encompassing the first leg, the second leg and the third leg in between (Zhao, para. [0050]).
With respect to claim 9, Zhao in view of Tsai teaches the transformer of claim 1, further comprising:
an electronic component or device (not expressly shown) disposed on the first terminal or the second terminal of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth or sixth copper sheet, the electronic component or device comprising a first pad electrically coupled to the first terminal or the second terminal and a second pad serving as a terminal of a corresponding winding (Tsai, col. 4, lines 40-46).
With respect to claim 18, Zhao apparatus (FIGs. 1-3) comprising a transformer 1, the transformer comprising:
a core 100-500 comprising a first leg 300a, a second leg 300b, and a third leg 400 disposed between the first leg and the second leg;
a first secondary winding w1 disposed around the first leg,
a second secondary winding w2 disposed around the second leg; and
a third secondary winding w5 disposed around the third leg (paras. [0030] and [0056], [0054]).
Zhao does not expressly teach
the first secondary winding comprising a first copper sheet of a first sheet type and a second copper sheet of a second sheet type, the first copper sheet and the second copper sheet being stacked with a rear surface of the first copper sheet disposed on top of a front surface of the second copper sheet, the first sheet type comprising a first body in a ring shape with a first opening, and a first terminal and a second terminal extending respectively from two ends of the first opening along a centerline of the ring shape, and the second sheet type comprising a second body in the ring shape with a second opening, and a first terminal and a second terminal extending respectively from two ends of the second opening along the centerline;
the second secondary winding comprising a third copper sheet of the first sheet type and a fourth copper sheet of the second sheet type, the third copper sheet and the fourth copper sheet being stacked with a front surface of the third copper sheet disposed on top of a rear surface of the fourth copper sheet; and
the third secondary winding comprising a fifth copper sheet and a sixth copper sheet of a third sheet type, the fifth copper sheet and the sixth copper sheet being stacked with a rear surface of the fifth copper sheet disposed on top of a rear surface of the sixth copper sheet, the third sheet type comprising a third body in the ring shape with a third opening, and a first terminal and a second terminal extending respectively from two ends of the third opening along the centerline; and
wherein:
respective distances between first terminals and second terminals of the first, second and third sheet types are same; and
respective distances from the first terminals or the second terminals of the first, second and third sheet types to the centerline of the ring shape are different from one another, centerlines of the first to sixth copper sheets being perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the core.
Tsai teaches a transformer (FIG. 2) comprising:
a first secondary winding 110 and 115, the first secondary winding comprising a first copper sheet 115 of a first sheet type and a second copper sheet 110 of a second sheet type, the first copper sheet and the second copper sheet being stacked with a rear surface (lower surface) of the first copper sheet disposed on top of a front surface of the second copper sheet, the first sheet type comprising a first body 152 in a ring shape with a first opening 154, and a first terminal 162 and a second terminal 164 extending respectively from two ends 158 and 160 of the first opening along a centerline (annotated dotted line shown above) of the ring shape, and the second sheet type comprising a second body 112 in the ring shape with a second opening 114, and a first terminal 122 and a second terminal 124 extending respectively from two ends 118 and 120 of the second opening along the centerline (col. 2, lines 44-48 and col. 3, lines 1-7). The incorporation of the winding structure of Tsai to the second secondary winding and the third secondary winding of Zhao would result in
“the second secondary winding comprising a third copper sheet of the first sheet type and a fourth copper sheet of the second sheet type, the third copper sheet and the fourth copper sheet being stacked with a front surface of the third copper sheet disposed on top of a rear surface of the fourth copper sheet; and
the third secondary winding comprising a fifth copper sheet and a sixth copper sheet of a third sheet type, the fifth copper sheet and the sixth copper sheet being stacked with a rear surface of the fifth copper sheet disposed on top of a rear surface of the sixth copper sheet, the third sheet type comprising a third body in the ring shape with a third opening, and a first terminal and a second terminal extending respectively from two ends of the third opening along the centerline; and
wherein:
respective distances between first terminals and second terminals of the first, second and third sheet types are same; and
respective distances from the first terminals or the second terminals of the first, second and third sheet types to the centerline of the ring shape are different from one another, centerlines of the first to sixth copper sheets being perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the core” as claimed. Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the winding structure as taught by Tsai to the transformer of Zhao to reduce size (col. 1, lines 41-44).
With respect to claim 20, Zhao in view of Tsai teaches the transformer of claim 18, further comprising:
an electronic component or device (not expressly shown) disposed on the first terminal or the second terminal of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth or sixth copper sheet, the electronic component or device comprising a first pad electrically coupled to the first terminal or the second terminal and a second pad serving as a terminal of a corresponding winding (Tsai, col. 4, lines 40-46).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837