DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 1/6/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the restriction requirement fails to establish a serious search and/or examination burden”. This is found persuasive, the Restriction/Election, mailed on 11/6/2025, is withdrawn.
Specification
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leobandung (US 2018/0331173) in view of Kuo et al. (US 2022/0367734).
Re claim 1, Leobandung teaches, under BRI, Figs. 3-12, [0024, 0031, 0033, 0037, 0041, 0045], an image sensor comprising:
-a lower insulating film (20) arranged over a substrate (8) and having a non-flat surface that has a concave-convex shape (e.g., defined by trenches 22) and comprises a first surface (e.g., upper/higher surface) and at least one second surface (e.g., bottom/lower surface), the first surface (upper/higher surface) extending in a horizontal direction that is parallel to a frontside surface of the substrate (8), and the at least one second surface (bottom/lower surface) extending from the first surface toward the substrate (8) (Fig. 3); and
-a capacitor (e.g., MIM capacitor including 30P, 40, 50P, 60, 70) arranged on the lower insulating film (20) to contact the non-flat surface of the lower insulating film (20) and conformally covering the non-flat surface of the lower insulating film (20) along a contour of the non-flat surface of the lower insulating film (8) (Fig. 10); and
-an upper insulating film (80) covering the capacitor (MIM capacitor) and the lower insulating film (20) (Fig. 12).
Leobandung does not teach at least one air gap having a side facing the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film in the horizontal direction, the at least one air gap having a height, which is defined by the upper insulating film, in a vertical direction.
Kou teaches, Fig. 4B, [0021, 0022, 0027], at least one air gap (337-2) having a side facing the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film (331) in the horizontal direction, the at least one air gap (337-2) having a height, which is defined by the upper insulating film (336), in a vertical direction.
As taught by Kou, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Leobandung to obtain at least one air gap having a side facing the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film in the horizontal direction, the at least one air gap having a height, which is defined by the upper insulating film, in a vertical direction as claimed, because air gap is recognized as result of a trench filling process, and it aids in reducing warpage/breakage in the formed capacitor array.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kou in combination with Leobandung due to above reason.
Re claim 2, Leobandung teaches, under BRI, Fig. 13, a first via contact and a second via contact (left right 86), which pass through the upper insulating film (80), the capacitor (MIM capacitor), and the lower insulating film (20) in the vertical direction and are spaced apart from each other in the horizontal direction, wherein the first via contact and the second via contact (left right 86) pass through a section of the capacitor (MIM capacitor) that vertically overlaps (e.g., part of MIM capacitor) a portion of the first surface (upper/higher surface) of the lower insulating film (20), the portion of the first surface (upper/higher) being spaced apart from the at least one second surface (bottom/lower surface) of the lower insulating film (20) in the horizontal direction and having a flat upper surface.
Re claim 5, in combination cited above, Leobandung teaches, Fig. 3, wherein the lower insulating film (20) comprises a mesa portion (e.g., protrusion) having a thickness that is greater than those of other portions of the lower insulating film (20), wherein the first surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises an upper surface of the mesa portion (protrusion), the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises a sidewall of the mesa portion (protrusion), and Kou teaches, Fig. 4B, the at least one air gap (337-2) comprises a first air gap having a side facing the sidewall of the mesa portion (e.g., protrusion of 331) in the horizontal direction, and wherein the first air gap (337-2) is spaced apart from the sidewall of the mesa portion (protrusion of 331) with the capacitor (e.g., trench capacitor) therebetween.
Re claim 6, in combination cited above, Leobandung teaches, under BRI, Fig. 3, wherein the lower insulating film (20) comprises a mesa portion (consider whole blocks/protrusions of upper portion of 20) having a thickness that is greater than those of other portions of the lower insulating film (20), wherein a trench (22) is arranged in an upper surface of the mesa portion, the trench (22) being recessed toward a lower surface of the lower insulating film (20), wherein the first surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises the upper surface of the mesa portion, the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises a sidewall of the mesa portion and an inner sidewall of the trench (22), and Kou teaches, Fig. 4B, abstract, [0021, 0022, 0027], the at least one air gap comprises a first air gap (left 337-2) having a side facing the sidewall of the mesa portion (defined by 31) in the horizontal direction and a second air gap (right 337-2) having a side facing the inner sidewall of the trench (in between 331) in the horizontal direction, and wherein the second air gap (right 337-2) overlaps the capacitor (trench capacitor) in the vertical direction and is spaced apart from the inner sidewall of the trench with the capacitor (trench capacitor) therebetween.
Re claim 7, in combination cited above, Leobandung teaches, Fig. 3, wherein a trench (22) is arranged in an upper surface of the lower insulating film (20), the trench (22) being recessed toward a lower surface of the lower insulating film (20), and wherein the first surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises the upper surface of the lower insulating film (20), the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film comprises an inner sidewall of the trench (22), and Kou teaches, Fig. 4B, the at least one air gap (337-2) comprises an air gap facing the inner sidewall of the trench (defined by 331) in the horizontal direction.
Re claim 8, Leobandung teaches, Fig. 10, [0033, 0037, 0044], wherein the capacitor comprises a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) capacitor (e.g., MIM capacitor) comprising a plurality of electrode plates (30P, 50P, 70) that are sequentially stacked on the lower insulating film (20), wherein the plurality of electrode plates (30, 50, 70) comprise: a lower electrode plate (30P); an upper electrode plate (70); and at least one intermediate electrode plate (50P) between the lower electrode plate (30P) and the upper electrode plate (70), and wherein the MIM capacitor further comprises a plurality of dielectric films (40, 60) each arranged between electrode plates (30P, 50P, 70) adjacent to each other from among the lower electrode plate (30P), the upper electrode plate (70), and the at least one intermediate electrode plate (50P), such that the lower electrode plate (30P), the upper electrode plate (70), and the at least one intermediate electrode plate (50P) are spaced apart from each other.
Re claim 9, Leobandung teaches, Figs. 10-13, [0047-0048], a first via contact and a second via contact (left right 86), which pass through the upper insulating film (80), the capacitor (MIM capacitor), and the lower insulating film (20) in the vertical direction and are spaced apart from each other in the horizontal direction, wherein the capacitor (MIM capacitor) comprises: a lower electrode plate (90); an upper electrode plate (98); an intermediate electrode plate (94) between the lower electrode plate (90) and the upper electrode plate (98); and a plurality of dielectric films (90, 96) each arranged between electrode plates (90, 94, 98) adjacent to each other from among the lower electrode plate (90), the upper electrode plate (98), and the intermediate electrode plate (94), such that the lower electrode plate (90), the upper electrode plate (98), and the intermediate electrode plate (94) are spaced apart from each other, wherein the first via contact (left 86) is in contact with the lower electrode plate (90) and the upper electrode plate (98) and is spaced apart from the intermediate electrode plate (94), and wherein the second via contact (right 86) is in contact with the intermediate electrode plate (94) and is spaced apart from the lower electrode plate (90) and the upper electrode plate (98).
Re claim 11, Leobandung teaches, under BRI, Figs. 3-13, [0022, 0024, 0031, 0033, 0037, 0041, 0045, 0047], an image sensor comprising:
-a plurality of lower wiring patterns (16, 18) over a substrate (8);
-a lower insulating film (20) covering the plurality of lower wiring patterns (16, 18) and having a surface that has a concave-convex shape (e.g., defined by trenches 22) and comprises a first surface (e.g., upper/higher surface) and at least one second surface (e.g., bottom/lower surface), the first surface (upper/higher surface) extending in at least one of a first horizontal direction and a second horizontal direction, which are parallel to a frontside surface of the substrate (8), and the at least one second surface (bottom/lower surface) extending from the first surface toward the substrate (8);
-at least one capacitor (e.g., MIM capacitor includes 30P, 40, 50P, 60, 70) arranged on the lower insulating film (20) to contact the surface of the lower insulating film (20), the at least one capacitor (MIM capacitor) conformally covering the surface of the lower insulating film (20) along a contour of the concave-convex shape of the surface of the lower insulating film (20) (Fig. 10);
an upper insulating film (80) covering the at least one capacitor (MIM capacitor) and the lower insulating film (20);
-a plurality of upper wiring patterns (left right 88) on the upper insulating film (80); and
-a first via contact and a second via contact (left right 86), each passing through a portion of the at least one capacitor (MIM capacitor), which covers the first surface of the lower insulating film (20), in the vertical direction and each connected between one of the plurality of lower wiring patterns (16, 18) and one of the plurality of upper wiring patterns (left right 88), the first via contact and the second via contact (left right 86) being spaced apart from each other in the second horizontal direction (Fig. 13).
Leobandung does not teach at least one air gap adjacent to the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film in the first horizontal direction or the second horizontal direction, the at least one air gap having a height, which is defined by the upper insulating film, in a vertical direction;
Kou teaches, Fig. 4B, [0021, 0022, 0027], at least one air gap (337-2) adjacent to the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film (331) in the first horizontal direction or the second horizontal direction, the at least one air gap (337-2) having a height, which is defined by the upper insulating film (336), in a vertical direction.
As taught by Kou, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Leobandung to obtain at least one air gap having a side facing the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film in in the first horizontal direction or the second horizontal direction, the at least one air gap having a height, which is defined by the upper insulating film, in a vertical direction as claimed, because air gap is recognized as result of a trench filling process, and it aids in reducing warpage/breakage in the formed capacitor array.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kou in combination with Leobandung due to above reason.
Re claim 12, in combination cited above, Leobandung teaches, Fig. 3, wherein the lower insulating film (20) comprises a mesa portion (e.g., protrusion) having a thickness that is greater than those of other portions of the lower insulating film (20), and wherein the first surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises an upper surface of the mesa portion (protrusion), the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises a sidewall of the mesa portion (protrusion), and Kou teaches, Fig. 4B, the at least one air gap (337-2) comprises a first air gap adjacent to the sidewall of the mesa portion (e.g., protrusion of 331) in the first horizontal direction or the second horizontal direction.
Re claim 13, in combination cited above, Leobandung teaches, Fig. 3, wherein the lower insulating film (20) comprises a mesa portion (e.g., protrusion) having a thickness that is greater than those of other portions of the lower insulating film (20), wherein a trench (22) is arranged in an upper surface of the lower insulating film (20), the trench (22) being recessed toward a lower surface of the lower insulating film (20), and wherein the first surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises the upper surface of the lower insulating film (20), the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises a sidewall of the mesa portion (e.g., protrusion) and an inner sidewall of the trench (22), and Kou teaches, Fig. 4B, the at least one air gap (337-2) comprises a first air gap (left 337-2) adjacent to the sidewall of the mesa portion (defined by 331) in the first horizontal direction or the second horizontal direction and a second air gap (right 337-2) adjacent to the inner sidewall of the trench in the second horizontal direction.
Re claim 14, in combination cited above, Leobandung teaches, Fig. 3, wherein a trench (22) is arranged in an upper surface of the lower insulating film (20), the trench (22) being recessed toward a lower surface of the lower insulating film (20), and wherein the first surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises the upper surface of the lower insulating film (20), the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film (20) comprises an inner sidewall of the trench (22), and Kou teaches, Fig. 4B, the at least one air gap comprises an air gap (337-2) adjacent to the inner sidewall of the trench (defined by 31) in the second horizontal direction.
Re claim 15, Leobandung teaches, Fig. 10, [0033, 0037, 0044], wherein the at least one capacitor comprises a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) capacitor (MIM capacitor) comprising a plurality of electrode plates (30P, 50P, 70) that are sequentially stacked on the lower insulating film (20), wherein the plurality of electrode plates comprise: a lower electrode plate (30P); an upper electrode plate (70); and at least one intermediate electrode plate (50P) between the lower electrode plate (30P) and the upper electrode plate (70), and wherein the MIM capacitor further comprises a plurality of dielectric films (40, 60) each arranged between electrode plates (30P, 50P, 70) adjacent to each other from among the lower electrode plate (30P), the upper electrode plate (70), and the at least one intermediate electrode plate (50P), such that the lower electrode plate (30P), the upper electrode plate (70), and the at least one intermediate electrode plate (50P) are spaced apart from each other.
Re claim 16, Leobandung teaches, Fig. 13, [0047-0048], wherein the at least one capacitor comprises: a lower electrode plate (90); an upper electrode plate (98); an intermediate electrode plate (94) between the lower electrode plate and the upper electrode plate; and a plurality of dielectric films (92, 96) each arranged between electrode plates (90, 94, 98) adjacent to each other from among the lower electrode plate (90), the upper electrode plate (98), and the intermediate electrode plate (94), such that the lower electrode plate (90), the upper electrode plate (98), and the intermediate electrode plate (94) are spaced apart from each other, wherein the first via contact (left 86) is in contact with the lower electrode plate (90) and the upper electrode plate (98) and is spaced apart from the intermediate electrode plate (94), and wherein the second via contact (right 86) is in contact with the intermediate electrode plate (94) and is spaced apart from the lower electrode plate (90) and the upper electrode plate (98).
4. Claims 3, 4, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leobandung as modified by Kuo as applied to claims 1 & 11 above, and further in view of Baek et al. (US 2020/0389608).
The teachings of Leobandung/Kou have been discussed above.
Re claim 3, Leobandung/Kou does not teach wherein the photodiode and the capacitor overlap each other in the vertical direction.
Baek teaches, Fig. 6A, [0032, 0056, 0058], the photodiode (111) and the capacitor (LC1) overlap each other in the vertical direction.
As taught by Baek, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the photodiode and the capacitor overlap each other in the vertical direction as claimed, because it aids in achieving an image sensor with improved shutter efficiency.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Baek in combination with Leobandung/Kou due to above reason.
Re claim 4, in combination cited above, Baek teaches, Fig. 6A, [0032, 0056, 0058, 0060], a photodiode (111) in the substrate (101); at least one transistor (TG) between the photodiode (111) and the capacitor (LCP1); and a micro-lens (ML), which is spaced apart from the capacitor (LCP1) in the vertical direction with the photodiode (111) therebetween and covers a backside surface of the substrate (101).
Re claim 18, in combination cited above, Baek teaches, Figs. 6A-B, [0032, 0056, 0058], a plurality of photodiodes (111) in the substrate (101), wherein the at least one capacitor comprises a plurality of capacitors (LC, UC), which are arranged over the substrate (101) and respectively overlap the plurality of photodiodes (111) in the vertical direction, and the plurality of capacitors (LC, UC) are arranged at regular pitches in the first horizontal direction and the second horizontal direction (Fig. 6B).
Re claim 19, in combination cited above, Baek teaches, Fig. 6B, [0032, 0056, 0058], a plurality of photodiodes (111) in the substrate (101), wherein the at least one capacitor comprises a plurality of capacitors (UC, LC), which are arranged over the substrate (101) and respectively overlap the plurality of photodiodes (101) in the vertical direction, and the plurality of capacitors comprise sets of two capacitors (LC1, LC2), wherein set of two capacitors overlaps one photodiode (111) selected from the plurality of photodiodes in the vertical direction and are includes two capacitors (LC1, LC2) spaced apart from each other in the first horizontal direction.
Re claim 20, Leobandung teaches, under BRI, Figs. 3-12, [0024, 0031, 0033, 0037, 0041, 0045], an image sensor comprising:
-a lower insulating film (20) arranged over a substrate (8) and having a surface that has a concave-convex shape (e.g., defined by trenches 22) and comprises a first surface (e.g., upper/higher surface) and at least one second surface (e.g., bottom/lower surface), the first surface (upper/higher surface) extending in a horizontal direction that is parallel to a frontside surface of the substrate (8), and the at least one second surface (bottom/lower surface) extending from the first surface toward the substrate (8) (Fig. 3); and
-a capacitor (e.g., MIM capacitor including 30P, 40, 50P, 60, 70) arranged on the lower insulating film (20) to contact the surface of the lower insulating film (20) and conformally covering the surface of the lower insulating film (20) along a contour of the concave-convex shape of the lower insulating film (8) (Fig. 10); and
-an upper insulating film (80) covering the capacitor (MIM capacitor) and the lower insulating film (20) (Fig. 12).
Leobandung does not teach at least one air gap having a side facing the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film in the horizontal direction, the at least one air gap formed in the upper insulating film.
Kou teaches, Fig. 4B, [0021, 0022, 0027], at least one air gap (337-2) having a side facing the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film (331) in the horizontal direction, the at least one air gap (337-2) formed in the upper insulating film (336).
As taught by Kou, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Leobandung to obtain at least one air gap having a side facing the at least one second surface of the lower insulating film in the horizontal direction, the at least one air gap formed in the upper insulating film as claimed, because air gap is recognized as result of a trench filling process, and it aids in reducing warpage/breakage in the formed capacitor array.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kou in combination with Leobandung due to above reason.
Leobandung/Kou does not teach an electronic system comprising: at least one camera module comprising the image sensor; and a processor configured to process image data from the at least one camera module.
Baek teaches, [0003], at least one camera module (e.g., digital, security camera) comprising the image sensor; and a processor (within the camera) configured to process image data from the at least one camera module.
As taught by Baek, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the teaching Leobandung/Kou to obtain an electronic system with camera module & processor as claimed, because it aids in achieving a desired electronic system in which, in global shutter operation, lost of charges and occurrence of noise are reduced and shutter efficiency is improved.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Baek in combination with Leobandung/Kou due to above reason.
5. Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leobandung as modified by Kuo as applied to claims 1 & 11 above, and further in view of Yano et al. (US 2013/0258545).
The teachings of Leobandung/Kuo have been discussed above.
Re claims 10 & 17, Leobandung teaches, Fig. 13, [0047-0048], a first via contact and a second via contact (left right 86), which pass through the upper insulating film (86), the capacitor (MIM capacitor), and the lower insulating film (20) in the vertical direction and are spaced apart from each other in the horizontal direction, wherein the capacitor comprises: a lower electrode plate (90); an upper electrode plate (98); a first intermediate electrode plate (94) from the lower electrode plate (90) toward the upper electrode plate (98); and a plurality of dielectric films (92, 96) each arranged between electrode plates adjacent to each other from among the lower electrode plate (90), the upper electrode plate (98), the first intermediate electrode plate (94) such that the lower electrode plate (90), the upper electrode plate (98), the first intermediate electrode plate (94) are spaced apart from each other.
Leobandung/Kou does not teach a first intermediate electrode plate, a second intermediate electrode plate, and a third intermediate electrode plate, which are arranged between the lower electrode plate and the upper electrode plate and stacked in the stated order, wherein the first via contact is in contact with the lower electrode plate, the second intermediate electrode plate, and the upper electrode plate and is spaced apart from the first intermediate electrode plate and the third intermediate electrode plate, and wherein the second via contact is in contact with the first intermediate electrode plate and the third intermediate electrode plate and is spaced apart from the lower electrode plate, the second intermediate electrode plate, and the upper electrode plate.
Yano teaches, Fig. 1A, [0019], a first intermediate electrode plate, a second intermediate electrode plate, and a third intermediate electrode plate (3 middle electrode layers 13), which are arranged between the lower electrode plate (bottommost 13) and the upper electrode plate (uppermost 13) and stacked in the stated order, wherein the first via contact (second 14 from left) is in contact with the lower electrode plate (bottommost 13), the second intermediate electrode plate (center 13), and the upper electrode plate (uppermost 13) and is spaced apart from the first intermediate electrode plate (lower 13) and the third intermediate electrode plate (upper 13), and wherein the second via (left 14) contact is in contact with the first intermediate electrode plate (lower 13) and the third intermediate electrode plate (upper 13) and is spaced apart from the lower electrode plate (bottom 13), the second intermediate electrode plate (center 13), and the upper electrode plate (uppermost 13).
As taught by Yano, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain stack of intermediate electrode plates and first/second via contacts as claimed, because it aids in achieving thin film capacitor having improved stability of electric connection.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Yano in combination with Leobandung/Kou due to above reason.
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 2/23/26