DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/11/2026 and 6/30/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishna et al. (US 2018/0121808), hereinafter “Ramakrishna”, in view of Yogerst et al. (US 2024/0202457), hereinafter “Yogerst”, and further in view of Puranik et al. (US 9,888,397), hereinafter “Puranik”.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 18, Ramakrishna teaches:
A computer-implemented method for diagnosing errors in a communication system (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 7, par. [0098]: FIG. 7 illustrates an example simplified procedure for suggesting a corrective action via a chatbot session in accordance with one or more embodiments described herein), or
a system for diagnosing errors in a communication system, comprising:
a user interface (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 3, par. [0051]: while administrator device 306 is shown as executing UI process 322 that communicates with chatbot server 304, chatbot server 304 may instead execute UI process 322, itself, in other embodiments);
one or more processors (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0029]: Device 200 comprises one or more network interfaces 210, one or more processors 220); and
a non-transitory, computer-readable memory coupled to the one or more processors and the user interface (see Ramakrishna, Figs. 2 and 3, par. [0029]: Device 200 comprises one or more network interfaces 210, one or more processors 220, and a memory 240 interconnected by a system bus 250), the memory storing instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0031]: The memory 240 comprises a plurality of storage locations that are addressable by the processor(s) 220 and the network interfaces 210 for storing software programs and data structures associated with the embodiments described herein. The processor 220 may comprise necessary elements or logic adapted to execute the software programs and manipulate the data structures 245. An operating system 242 (e.g., the Internetworking Operating System, or IOS®, of Cisco Systems, Inc., another operating system, etc.), portions of which are typically resident in memory 240 and executed by the processor(s), functionally organizes the node by, inter alia, invoking network operations in support of software processors and/or services executing on the device. These software processors and/or services may comprise a chatbot process 248), or
a tangible machine readable medium comprising instructions for diagnosing errors in a communication system that, when executed, cause a machine (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0029]: Device 200 comprises one or more network interfaces 210, one or more processors 220, and a memory 240 interconnected by a system bus 250, and see par. [0031]: The memory 240 comprises a plurality of storage locations that are addressable by the processor(s) 220 and the network interfaces 210 for storing software programs and data structures associated with the embodiments described herein. The processor 220 may comprise necessary elements or logic adapted to execute the software programs and manipulate the data structures 245. An operating system 242 (e.g., the Internetworking Operating System, or IOS®, of Cisco Systems, Inc., another operating system, etc.), portions of which are typically resident in memory 240 and executed by the processor(s), functionally organizes the node by, inter alia, invoking network operations in support of software processors and/or services executing on the device. These software processors and/or services may comprise a chatbot process 248) to at least:
receive, from the communication system, an error indication representing an error associated with a communication system component (see Ramakrishna, Figs. 3 and 4A, par. [0044]: monitoring agent 308 may send symptom alerts 310 to chatbot server 304. In some embodiments, monitoring agent 308 may use any number of predefined thresholds, to trigger the sending of a symptom alert 310 to chatbot server 304. For example, if the CPU usage of monitored device 302 exceeds a reporting threshold, monitoring agent 308 may generate and send a symptom alert 310 to chatbot server 304. In further embodiments, symptom alerts 310 may include only raw measurements from monitored device 302 and chatbot server 304 may determine whether or not the measurements are symptomatic of a malfunction. In yet another embodiment, symptom alerts 310 may include an explicit set of one or more symptoms entered by the user of monitored device 302 to monitoring agent 308. For example, the user of monitored device 302 may enter a bug report that is then passed to chatbot server 304 as a symptom alert 310, and see par. [0052]: chatbot server 304 may initially operate in a mode referred to herein as a symptom(s) collection phase. In this phase, chatbot server 304 may receive and process incoming chat message notifications or alerts sent by external agents integrated into the chatbot platform (e.g., agent 308 of monitored device 302, etc.). These messages will have key characteristics that identify the situation, the impacted entity (e.g., host device, application service, etc.), the state of the entity, the severity of the situation, and any additional metadata; in this case, a symptom corresponds to an error indication),
generate, by executing a machine learning (ML) chatbot, an error diagnosis corresponding to the error indication (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0033]: Chatbot process 248 includes computer executable instructions that, when executed by processor(s) 220, cause device 200 to operate as part of a monitoring and diagnostic infrastructure within the network. In various embodiments, chatbot process 248 may utilize machine learning techniques, to perform diagnostic and recommendation functions as part of the infrastructure, and see Fig. 3, par. [0048]: triaging process 312 may use a machine learning model to predict a corrective action/step that should be taken in view of the symptoms reported in the chatbot session to administrator device 306; in this case, a corrective action corresponds to an error diagnosis), wherein the ML chatbot is trained with a plurality of training error indications as inputs to generate a plurality of training error diagnoses as outputs (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 3, par. [0048]: Such a model may be trained (e.g., periodically, on demand, continuously, etc.), for example, based on a history of previously reported symptoms in symptom storage 316, a history of actions previously taken to address the previously reported symptoms in action storage 318, and a history of triage session messages in message storage 320. In other words, triaging process 312 may model the associations between reported symptoms, actions taken to address the reported symptoms, and feedback regarding the taken actions (e.g., from message storage 320), to predict a suggested corrective action given an input set of one or more symptoms),
However, Ramakrishna does not teach:
generating, by one or more processors, one or more embeddings associated with the error indication, the one or more embeddings being vector representations of a text string included in the error indication;
wherein generating the error diagnosis corresponding to the error indication based upon the one or more embeddings,
activating, by the one or more processors and based upon the error diagnosis, a communication system application on a workstation to initiate a direct communication between the workstation and the communication system component indicated in the error diagnosis to perform one or more maintenance actions indicated by the error diagnosis with respect to the communication system component.
Yogerst, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
generating, by one or more processors, one or more embeddings associated with the error indication, the one or more embeddings being vector representations of a text string included in the error indication (see Yogerst, par. [0040]: The system may utilize, generate, or handle feature inputs. In disclosed embodiments, a feature input may include any individual measurable property or characteristic of a phenomenon. For example, a feature input may include numeric data, such as statistical data, or may include structural features, such as strings or graphs. In some embodiments, a feature input may include a dataset that includes data prepared for processing through a machine learning model. For example, a feature input may include a plurality of text strings of sentences within chatbot interactions that are related to an error type. In some embodiments, a feature input may be vectorized within a vector space known as a feature space. A feature input may directly refer to specific datasets (such as those listed in data structure 100 under dataset identifiers 120), and may have a respective label (such as those listed in data structure 100 under dataset labels 122). By generating and processing feature inputs through machine learning models, the system enables evaluation of datasets for the purpose of machine learning training and inputs. For example, processing feature inputs through a machine learning model enables calculation of model error indicators for a given dataset through a machine learning model, enabling more accurate and efficient labeling decisions for future labels, and see par. [0055]: The system may use vector representations of data. In disclosed embodiments, a vector representation may include a representation of data in vector space. For example, vector representations may include word embedding of textual data into vectors; in this case, the text strings as feature input correspond to embeddings);
wherein generating the error diagnosis corresponding to the error indication based upon the one or more embeddings (see Yogerst, par. [0041]: The system may generate an output for the machine learning model. In disclosed embodiments, an output may include a dataset or a datum that has been produced from a machine learning model. In some embodiments, outputs may include predictions to phenomena based on feature inputs. For example, a machine learning model may receive, as input, chatbot text data from a user regarding satisfaction with the chatbot service. The system may categorize this input data as being related to user satisfaction and may further process this input data to predict a satisfaction level for the user. In some embodiments, an output may be used for training purposes. For example, an output may include a prediction that is compared against a training dataset to determine an error for the prediction. Based on this error, the system may, alternatively or additionally, determine a model error indicator, and see par. [0055]: The system may use vector representations of data. In disclosed embodiments, a vector representation may include a representation of data in vector space. For example, vector representations may include word embedding of textual data into vectors; in this case, errors are predicted (i.e. errors diagnosed) based on the input which includes text strings (i.e. embeddings)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the computer-implemented method or system or tangible machine-readable medium of Ramakrishna with the embeddings of Yogerst with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improved labeling and improved machine learning outcomes (see Yogerst, par. [0052]).
However, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst does not teach:
activating, by the one or more processors and based upon the error diagnosis, a communication system application on a workstation to initiate a direct communication between the workstation and the communication system component indicated in the error diagnosis to perform one or more maintenance actions indicated by the error diagnosis with respect to the communication system component.
Puranik, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
activating, by the one or more processors and based upon the error diagnosis, a communication system application on a workstation to initiate a direct communication between the workstation and the communication system component indicated in the error diagnosis to perform one or more maintenance actions indicated by the error diagnosis with respect to the communication system component (see Puranik, Fig. 7, col. 14, lines 17-29: If the source of the fault corresponds to a physical network device (e.g., SGW, PGW, MME, HSS, etc., represented in FIG. 7 by “Legacy Network Elements”) the policy engine may provide the instructions to the device/network that is the source of the fault (at 7.11). Additionally, the policy engine may determine whether the correction should be applied throughout the network (e.g., to devices in similar circumstances as the device corresponding to the fault). If so, the policy engine may determine the devices and functions that should implement the correction and may provide instructions, to the appropriate devices and functions, in order to have the correction implemented throughout the network, and see col. 3, lines 43-50: Server device 210 may include one or more computing devices, such as a server device or a collection of server devices, capable of operating in a cloud computing environment. For example, server device 210 may include a computing device with an operating system and/or other software that enables server device 210 to create and configure virtual devices, which may be arranged in different ways and configured to provide different services, and see col. 4, lines 11-16: Operator device 230 may receive information from one or more server devices 210 (and/or virtual devices) and my present the information to an operator. Examples of the information may include an indication of a fault detected in a virtual network hosted by server devices 210 and a proposed correction corresponding to the fault; in this case, a connection is established between the INAA (i.e. workstation) and legacy network devices at fault (i.e. communication system component indicated in the error diagnosis) to implement correction (i.e. to perform maintenance actions)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the computer-implemented method or system or tangible machine-readable medium of Ramakrishna with the initiating a direct connection of Puranik with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently detecting faults, determining solutions, and preventing similar faults from occurring (see Puranik, col. 2, lines 58-61).
Regarding claims 2, 11, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, teaches the computer-implemented method or system. Ramakrishna further teaches:
wherein the error diagnosis includes (ii) a predicted solution to the error (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0033]: Chatbot process 248 includes computer executable instructions that, when executed by processor(s) 220, cause device 200 to operate as part of a monitoring and diagnostic infrastructure within the network. In various embodiments, chatbot process 248 may utilize machine learning techniques, to perform diagnostic and recommendation functions as part of the infrastructure, and see Fig. 3, par. [0048]: triaging process 312 may use a machine learning model to predict a corrective action/step that should be taken in view of the symptoms reported in the chatbot session to administrator device 306; in this case, a predicted corrective action corresponds to a predicted solution) and (iv) the one or more maintenance actions for resolving the error (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0033]: Chatbot process 248 includes computer executable instructions that, when executed by processor(s) 220, cause device 200 to operate as part of a monitoring and diagnostic infrastructure within the network. In various embodiments, chatbot process 248 may utilize machine learning techniques, to perform diagnostic and recommendation functions as part of the infrastructure, and see Fig. 3, par. [0048]: triaging process 312 may use a machine learning model to predict a corrective action/step that should be taken in view of the symptoms reported in the chatbot session to administrator device 306; in this case, a predicted corrective action corresponds to a maintenance action for resolving the error).
The combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst does not teach, but Puranik teaches:
wherein the error diagnosis includes (i) a predicted source of the error associated with the communication system (see Puranik, col. 11, lines 62-65: policies that may be relevant to determining an appropriate correction may include rules for how to analyze a particular fault in order to understand the fault (e.g., the source, nature, and impact of the fault)), (iii) a predicted error resolution value corresponding to an estimated time required to resolve the error (see Puranik, col. 11, lines 43-50: the fault correction function may analyze the fault input data in order to identify one or more characteristics of the fault, may provide the characteristics to the policy engine, and the policy engine may return policies that are relevant to determining an appropriate response (e.g., corrective measure) to the fault. Examples of such characteristics may include a fault duration (e.g., temporary fault, an indefinite fault, etc.); in this case, the duration of the fault corresponds to an estimated time required to resolve the error),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the error diagnosis of Ramakrishna with the specific characteristics of Puranik with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently detecting faults, determining solutions, and preventing similar faults from occurring (see Puranik, col. 2, lines 58-61).
Regarding claims 3, 12, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, teaches the computer-implemented method or system. Ramakrishna further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0031]: The memory 240 comprises a plurality of storage locations that are addressable by the processor(s) 220 and the network interfaces 210 for storing software programs and data structures associated with the embodiments described herein. The processor 220 may comprise necessary elements or logic adapted to execute the software programs and manipulate the data structures 245. An operating system 242 (e.g., the Internetworking Operating System, or IOS®, of Cisco Systems, Inc., another operating system, etc.), portions of which are typically resident in memory 240 and executed by the processor(s), functionally organizes the node by, inter alia, invoking network operations in support of software processors and/or services executing on the device. These software processors and/or services may comprise a chatbot process 248) to:
receive a user input including (ii) a second indication corresponding to an implementation of the predicted solution to the error (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 4E, pars. [0074-0076]: in FIG. 4E, the user of administrator device 306 may also request performance of recommended action 408. For example, assume that chatbot server 304 suggests rebooting the malfunctioning host device. In turn, the user of administrator device 306 may issue an action request 410 as follows: User: Host fluentd13.zeus.io RESTART. In turn, chatbot server 304 may issue action command 412 to monitored device 302, to cause monitored device 302 to restart); and
re-train the ML chatbot based upon the user input (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 4F, pars. [0080-0083]: the user of administrator device 306 may provide feedback 416 to chatbot server304 regarding the taken action. For example, if the user believes that the issue has been resolved by the action, the user may simply provide a summary of the triage session and end the session as follows: User: Triage session Summary—Host fluentd13.ciscozeus.io—HIGH Memory, SSH not accessible, PING not reachable, Host RESTART. User: Triage session END. However, if the actions did not satisfactorily address the issue, the user of administrator device 306 may request performance of additional actions, as needed (e.g., via feedback 416). In turn, chatbot server 304 may use the contents of the triage session for the reported symptoms to train or retrain the machine learning model, as needed. For example, chatbot server 304 may update the model based on the assessed symptom(s) reported to the user, the steps/actions taken during the triage session for the symptom(s), and potentially any feedback from the user regarding the steps/actions (e.g., indicating whether a given action addressed the underlying issue)).
The combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst does not teach, but Puranik teaches:
receive a user input including (i) a first indication corresponding to the predicted source of the error associated with the communication system (see Puranik, col. 10, lines 17-27: While the notification presented to the operator may accurately indicate that two failures have occurred within the network, additional input data provided to the status and dashboard function may enable the operator to determine that the one eNB failing is the primary reason for the unacceptably high level of session occurring in the neighboring eNB. As such, the operator may provide input (via the stats and dashboard function) indicating the relationship between the two faults and/or that the unacceptably high level of sessions was a false positive in the sense that it was merely a result of another (e.g., a “real”) fault; in this case, the operator providing input regarding faults corresponds to user input corresponding to the predicted source of the error)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the computer-implemented method or system or tangible machine-readable medium of Ramakrishna with the receiving user input about the predicted source of the error of Puranik with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently detecting faults, determining solutions, and preventing similar faults from occurring (see Puranik, col. 2, lines 58-61).
Regarding claims 4, 13, 20, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, teaches the computer-implemented method or system or tangible machine-readable medium. Ramakrishna further teaches:
wherein the error is a first error type of a plurality of error types (see Ramakrishna, par. [0043]: monitored device 302 may execute a monitoring agent 308 that is configured to monitor the state of device 302 for symptoms of malfunctions (e.g., misconfigurations, misbehaving applications or hardware, network problems, user-reported issues, or the like). Such state information may include, but is not limited to, device resource usage (e.g., CPU usage, memory usage, etc.), application-specific information (e.g., response times, device driver signaling, etc.), network-related information (e.g., upstream or downstream bandwidth, losses, jitter, etc.), or any other information that may be indicative of the health of monitored device 302; in this case, there may be many types of symptoms (i.e. a plurality of error types)), the error is a first instance of the first error type (see Ramakrishna, par. [0044]: monitoring agent 308 may send symptom alerts 310 to chatbot server 304. In some embodiments, monitoring agent 308 may use any number of predefined thresholds, to trigger the sending of a symptom alert 310 to chatbot server 304. For example, if the CPU usage of monitored device 302 exceeds a reporting threshold, monitoring agent 308 may generate and send a symptom alert 310 to chatbot server 304; in this case, a current symptom (i.e. a first instance) may be reported), and the predicted solution to the error includes (i) a predicted solution to the first instance of the first error type (see Ramakrishna, par. [0050]: chatbot server 304 may automatically initiate a corrective action, in response to receiving a symptom alert 310. For example, the user of administrator device 306 may establish one or more rules on chatbot server 304 that cause server 304 to send out a corresponding action command 326 based on the received symptom(s); in this case, an action command (i.e. predicted solution) is determined based on a current symptom) and (ii) a predicted solution to the first error type (see Ramakrishna, Figs. 4C and 4D, pars. [0064-0065]: chatbot server 304 may use the current symptom(s) under review as input to its machine learning model that tracks previously reported symptoms, triage actions taken, and their effectiveness to resolve the symptoms. In some cases, chatbot server 304 may do so in response to receiving request 404 to enter the triage mode. In other embodiments, chatbot server 304 may do so beforehand (e.g., in response to first receiving the symptoms from the monitored device). As shown in FIG. 4D, based on the analysis of the reported symptoms, chatbot 404 may send the predicted action to administrator device 306 as a recommended action 408 via the chatbot session and/or provide advice to administrator device 306; in this case, using previously reported symptoms as part of the machine learning for predicted actions corresponds to the predicted solution including a predicted solution to an error type in general).
Regarding claims 6, 15, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, teaches the computer-implemented method or system. Ramakrishna further teaches:
wherein the ML chatbot is further trained using a plurality of user inputs corresponding to the plurality of training error indications (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 3, par. [0048]: Such a model may be trained (e.g., periodically, on demand, continuously, etc.), for example, based on a history of previously reported symptoms in symptom storage 316, a history of actions previously taken to address the previously reported symptoms in action storage 318, and a history of triage session messages in message storage 320. In other words, triaging process 312 may model the associations between reported symptoms, actions taken to address the reported symptoms, and feedback regarding the taken actions (e.g., from message storage 320), to predict a suggested corrective action given an input set of one or more symptoms, and see par. [0044]: symptom alerts 310 may include an explicit set of one or more symptoms entered by the user of monitored device 302 to monitoring agent 308. For example, the user of monitored device 302 may enter a bug report that is then passed to chatbot server 304 as a symptom alert 310; in this case, symptoms used for training may be symptoms entered by a user (i.e. user inputs)), and the instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0031]: The memory 240 comprises a plurality of storage locations that are addressable by the processor(s) 220 and the network interfaces 210 for storing software programs and data structures associated with the embodiments described herein. The processor 220 may comprise necessary elements or logic adapted to execute the software programs and manipulate the data structures 245. An operating system 242 (e.g., the Internetworking Operating System, or IOS®, of Cisco Systems, Inc., another operating system, etc.), portions of which are typically resident in memory 240 and executed by the processor(s), functionally organizes the node by, inter alia, invoking network operations in support of software processors and/or services executing on the device. These software processors and/or services may comprise a chatbot process 248) to:
generate, by executing the ML chatbot, the error diagnosis based upon the error indication and a user input (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0033]: Chatbot process 248 includes computer executable instructions that, when executed by processor(s) 220, cause device 200 to operate as part of a monitoring and diagnostic infrastructure within the network. In various embodiments, chatbot process 248 may utilize machine learning techniques, to perform diagnostic and recommendation functions as part of the infrastructure, and see Fig. 3, par. [0048]: triaging process 312 may use a machine learning model to predict a corrective action/step that should be taken in view of the symptoms reported in the chatbot session to administrator device 306, and see par. [0044]: symptom alerts 310 may include an explicit set of one or more symptoms entered by the user of monitored device 302 to monitoring agent 308. For example, the user of monitored device 302 may enter a bug report that is then passed to chatbot server 304 as a symptom alert 310; in this case, a corrective action corresponds to an error diagnosis).
Regarding claims 7, 16, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, teaches the computer-implemented method or system.
The combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst does not teach, but Puranik teaches:
wherein the user input includes at least one of (i) a verbal input or (ii) a textual input (see Puranik, Fig. 10, col. 18, lines 10-12: Input component 1040 may include a mechanism that permits an operator to input information to device 1000, such as a keyboard, a keypad, a button, a switch, etc), and the instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors to:
generate, by executing the ML chatbot, the error diagnosis in a style representative of the user input (see Puranik, col. 13, lines 35-44: the stats and dashboard function may provide the fault input data, information describing the fault and proposed correction, and/or the operator's input to the operator input function (at 7.7). The operator input function may analyze the information provided and generate update information that is sent to the policy engine (at 7.8). The policy engine may determine, based on the update information, whether to create new policies, whether to delete existing policies, and whether modify existing policies; in this case, changing policies for fault correction based on operator input corresponds to generating the error diagnosis in a style representative of the user input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the computer-implemented method or system or tangible machine-readable medium of Ramakrishna with the receiving a textual user input for generating the error diagnosis of Puranik with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently detecting faults, determining solutions, and preventing similar faults from occurring (see Puranik, col. 2, lines 58-61).
Regarding claims 8, 17, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, teaches the computer-implemented method or system. Ramakrishna further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors to (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0031]: The memory 240 comprises a plurality of storage locations that are addressable by the processor(s) 220 and the network interfaces 210 for storing software programs and data structures associated with the embodiments described herein. The processor 220 may comprise necessary elements or logic adapted to execute the software programs and manipulate the data structures 245. An operating system 242 (e.g., the Internetworking Operating System, or IOS®, of Cisco Systems, Inc., another operating system, etc.), portions of which are typically resident in memory 240 and executed by the processor(s), functionally organizes the node by, inter alia, invoking network operations in support of software processors and/or services executing on the device. These software processors and/or services may comprise a chatbot process 248) generate the error diagnosis by:
inputting a plurality of documentation corresponding to the communication system into the ML chatbot (see Ramakrishna, par. [0048]: triaging process 312 may use a machine learning model to predict a corrective action/step that should be taken in view of the symptoms reported in the chatbot session to administrator device 306. Such a model may be trained (e.g., periodically, on demand, continuously, etc.), for example, based on a history of previously reported symptoms in symptom storage 316, a history of actions previously taken to address the previously reported symptoms in action storage 318, and a history of triage session messages in message storage 320; in this case, a history of previously reported symptoms being used for training corresponds to inputting documentation into the ML chatbot); and
generating, by executing the ML chatbot, the error diagnosis based upon the error indication and the plurality of documentation (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0033]: Chatbot process 248 includes computer executable instructions that, when executed by processor(s) 220, cause device 200 to operate as part of a monitoring and diagnostic infrastructure within the network. In various embodiments, chatbot process 248 may utilize machine learning techniques, to perform diagnostic and recommendation functions as part of the infrastructure, and see Fig. 3, par. [0048]: triaging process 312 may use a machine learning model to predict a corrective action/step that should be taken in view of the symptoms reported in the chatbot session to administrator device 306. Such a model may be trained (e.g., periodically, on demand, continuously, etc.), for example, based on a history of previously reported symptoms in symptom storage 316, a history of actions previously taken to address the previously reported symptoms in action storage 318, and a history of triage session messages in message storage 320. In other words, triaging process 312 may model the associations between reported symptoms, actions taken to address the reported symptoms, and feedback regarding the taken actions (e.g., from message storage 320), to predict a suggested corrective action given an input set of one or more symptoms).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, teaches the computer-implemented method. Ramakrishna further teaches:
wherein the communication system component is a chatbot configured to provide a user with automated responses (see Ramakrishna, par. [0038]: assume that a user is engaged in a chat session, such as an Internet Relay Chat (IRC) session or any other form of chat session. At the other end of the session may be a Chabot application that is configured to respond to communications sent by the user (e.g., the chatbot may respond with an answer to the user's question, etc.). Such a technology holds promise in the field of network monitoring and troubleshooting, as chatbots can be built to send automated alert event notifications from the monitored system to specific chat channels, and see par. [0050]: chatbot server 304 may automatically initiate a corrective action, in response to receiving a symptom alert 310. For example, the user of administrator device 306 may establish one or more rules on chatbot server 304 that cause server 304 to send out a corresponding action command 326 based on the received symptom(s))
Ramakrishna does not teach, but Yogerst teaches:
wherein providing a user with automated responses to at least one of: (i) verbal queries or (ii) textual queries (see Yogerst, par. [0027]: Chatbots may receive instructions or commands through a text input interface (e.g., through an interface with a physical or virtual keyboard), or may receive instructions or commands through speech and a speech recognition program. Chatbots may output information or answers to queries as text or through speech (e.g., through a text-to-speech system)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the computer-implemented method or system or tangible machine-readable medium of Ramakrishna with the verbal or textual queries of Yogerst with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improved labeling and improved machine learning outcomes (see Yogerst, par. [0052]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, teaches the tangible machine-readable medium.
wherein the error diagnosis includes (ii) a predicted solution to the error (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0033]: Chatbot process 248 includes computer executable instructions that, when executed by processor(s) 220, cause device 200 to operate as part of a monitoring and diagnostic infrastructure within the network. In various embodiments, chatbot process 248 may utilize machine learning techniques, to perform diagnostic and recommendation functions as part of the infrastructure, and see Fig. 3, par. [0048]: triaging process 312 may use a machine learning model to predict a corrective action/step that should be taken in view of the symptoms reported in the chatbot session to administrator device 306; in this case, a predicted corrective action corresponds to a predicted solution), and (iv) the one or more maintenance actions for resolving the error (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0033]: Chatbot process 248 includes computer executable instructions that, when executed by processor(s) 220, cause device 200 to operate as part of a monitoring and diagnostic infrastructure within the network. In various embodiments, chatbot process 248 may utilize machine learning techniques, to perform diagnostic and recommendation functions as part of the infrastructure, and see Fig. 3, par. [0048]: triaging process 312 may use a machine learning model to predict a corrective action/step that should be taken in view of the symptoms reported in the chatbot session to administrator device 306; in this case, a predicted corrective action corresponds to a maintenance action for resolving the error) and the instructions, when executed, further cause the machine to (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 2, par. [0031]: The memory 240 comprises a plurality of storage locations that are addressable by the processor(s) 220 and the network interfaces 210 for storing software programs and data structures associated with the embodiments described herein. The processor 220 may comprise necessary elements or logic adapted to execute the software programs and manipulate the data structures 245. An operating system 242 (e.g., the Internetworking Operating System, or IOS®, of Cisco Systems, Inc., another operating system, etc.), portions of which are typically resident in memory 240 and executed by the processor(s), functionally organizes the node by, inter alia, invoking network operations in support of software processors and/or services executing on the device. These software processors and/or services may comprise a chatbot process 248) at least:
receive a user input including (ii) a second indication corresponding to an implementation of the predicted solution to the error (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 4E, pars. [0074-0076]: in FIG. 4E, the user of administrator device 306 may also request performance of recommended action 408. For example, assume that chatbot server 304 suggests rebooting the malfunctioning host device. In turn, the user of administrator device 306 may issue an action request 410 as follows: User: Host fluentd13.zeus.io RESTART. In turn, chatbot server 304 may issue action command 412 to monitored device 302, to cause monitored device 302 to restart); and
re-train the ML chatbot based upon the user input (see Ramakrishna, Fig. 4F, pars. [0080-0083]: the user of administrator device 306 may provide feedback 416 to chatbot server304 regarding the taken action. For example, if the user believes that the issue has been resolved by the action, the user may simply provide a summary of the triage session and end the session as follows: User: Triage session Summary—Host fluentd13.ciscozeus.io—HIGH Memory, SSH not accessible, PING not reachable, Host RESTART. User: Triage session END. However, if the actions did not satisfactorily address the issue, the user of administrator device 306 may request performance of additional actions, as needed (e.g., via feedback 416). In turn, chatbot server 304 may use the contents of the triage session for the reported symptoms to train or retrain the machine learning model, as needed. For example, chatbot server 304 may update the model based on the assessed symptom(s) reported to the user, the steps/actions taken during the triage session for the symptom(s), and potentially any feedback from the user regarding the steps/actions (e.g., indicating whether a given action addressed the underlying issue)).
The combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst does not teach, but Puranik teaches:
wherein the error diagnosis includes (i) a predicted source of the error associated with the communication system (see Puranik, col. 11, lines 62-65: policies that may be relevant to determining an appropriate correction may include rules for how to analyze a particular fault in order to understand the fault (e.g., the source, nature, and impact of the fault)), (iii) a predicted error resolution value corresponding to an estimated time required to resolve the error (see Puranik, col. 11, lines 43-50: the fault correction function may analyze the fault input data in order to identify one or more characteristics of the fault, may provide the characteristics to the policy engine, and the policy engine may return policies that are relevant to determining an appropriate response (e.g., corrective measure) to the fault. Examples of such characteristics may include a fault duration (e.g., temporary fault, an indefinite fault, etc.); in this case, the duration of the fault corresponds to an estimated time required to resolve the error),
receive a user input including (i) a first indication corresponding to the predicted source of the error associated with the communication system (see Puranik, col. 10, lines 17-27: While the notification presented to the operator may accurately indicate that two failures have occurred within the network, additional input data provided to the status and dashboard function may enable the operator to determine that the one eNB failing is the primary reason for the unacceptably high level of session occurring in the neighboring eNB. As such, the operator may provide input (via the stats and dashboard function) indicating the relationship between the two faults and/or that the unacceptably high level of sessions was a false positive in the sense that it was merely a result of another (e.g., a “real”) fault; in this case, the operator providing input regarding faults corresponds to user input corresponding to the predicted source of the error)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the computer-implemented method or system or tangible machine-readable medium of Ramakrishna with the specific error diagnosis characteristics and receiving user input about the predicted source of the error of Puranik with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficiently detecting faults, determining solutions, and preventing similar faults from occurring (see Puranik, col. 2, lines 58-61).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, as applied to claims 1-4, 6-13, and 15-20 above, and further in view of Bhalla et al. (US 2020/0259700), hereinafter “Bhalla”.
Regarding claims 5, 14, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, teaches the computer-implemented method or system.
However, the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, does not teach:
wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors to generate the error diagnosis by:
comparing the one or more embeddings to a dictionary of embeddings; and
generating the error diagnosis based upon the comparing.
Bhalla, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors to generate the error diagnosis by:
comparing the one or more embeddings to a dictionary of embeddings (see Bhalla, par. [0069]: The workflow management module 58 can create new issue files either manually, based on an existing incident, or automatic. The manual creation can be based on user prompting. For either the manual creation or editing existing incidents, logs, PMs, and/or KPIs are selected, AI/ML, can evaluate existing issue files for similarities, and see par. [0071]: The automatic creation can be based on analytics using AI/ML to determine pattern evaluation found in the network automatically. If it is determined to be closely related to a known issue, it can select the known issue; in this case, the existing issue files correspond to a dictionary of embeddings); and
generating the error diagnosis based upon the comparing (see Bhalla, Fig. 17, par. [0089]: responsive to a selection of an issue that is one of the ongoing issues and the predicted issues in the list, presenting a root cause analysis of the issue including one or more diagnosis step S3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the generating the error diagnosis of the combination of Ramakrishna in view of Yogerst, and further in view of Puranik, with the generating the error diagnosis based upon comparing embeddings of Bhalla with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing the need for subject matter experts in network management (see Bhalla, par. [0026]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cheng et al. (US 2023/0069434) teaches a network management system (NMS) is configured to provide identification of root cause failure through the detection of network scope failures.
Kuroki et al. (US 2019/0384670) teaches an automatic failure recovery system that, using machine learning, creates an operation procedure for recovering from a network failure or corrects the created operation procedure has a plurality of recovery tasks for recovering from the network failure.
Wang et al. (US 2023/0070701) teaches techniques for monitoring network performance and managing network faults in a computer network.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419