DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 04/02/2026. Presently, claims 1-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/§ 103
Claims 1-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sony PlayStation4 as evidenced by “Using Wireless controller” (hereinafter PS4), item H8 on IDS filed on 08/15/2024; or in the alternative PS4 in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0316463 to Itay.
With regard to claim 1¸PS4 discloses a method comprising: performing by a platform operating service application in a computing device in communication with a mobile game controller: receiving, from the mobile game controller, one or more user input events of a user input element of the mobile game controller, wherein the user input element is associated with a plurality of actions; determining which action of the plurality of actions is associated with the received one or more user input events, wherein the determined action comprises causing a game application to open on the computing device; and causing the game application to open on the computing device (the entirety of the claim is noted in the “Basic button operations describing various functions that the buttons can do).
If it is found that switching between applications is not “causing a game application to open,” then the combination of PS4 and Itay teaches causing a game application to open on the computing device (PS4 at Basic button operations where it discusses a menu and Itay at 0020 wherein it discusses that a user can access a menu and then select a game from that menu).
With regard to claim 2, PS4 discloses wherein the determined action depends on the mobile game controller being a platform-specific mobile game controller (where it is for a PlayStation).
With regard to claim 3, PS4 discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of actions depends on whether a user is in a communications group (wherein the controller has to be paired with a PS4 to actually work thus comprising a communication group).
With regard to claim 4, PS4 discloses wherein the plurality of actions comprises: opening the platform operating service application, switching to a previous application if the platform operating service application is in a foreground, opening an options menu, performing a screen capture, opening a streaming application, and/or muting a communications group (Basic button operations).
With regard to claim 5, PS4 discloses wherein the user input element of the mobile game controller comprises a button (basic button operations).
With regard to claim 6, PS4 discloses wherein the one or more user input events comprises a single press of the button (basic button operations)
With regard to claim 7, PS4 discloses wherein the one or more user input events comprises holding down the button for a period of time (basic button operations).
With regard to claim 8, PS4 discloses wherein the one or more user input events comprises a plurality of presses of the button over a period of time (basic button operations).
With regard to claim 9, PS4 discloses wherein the platform operating service application is configured to receive the one or more user input events even when the platform operating service application is in a background (basic button operations).
Claims 19 and 20 are mirrored claims to claims 1 and 2 and are rejected in like manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Itay with the disclosure of PS4 as a way to use a menu such as that disclosed in PS4 to access various games and start them such as taught by Itay thus allowing users to quickly access various programs in an easy intuitive way.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0136568 to Buhr in view of PS4 or in the alternative Buhr in view of PS4 and Itay.
With regard to claim 10, Buhr discloses that an association between user input events of the user input element and the plurality of actions is stored in a user profile (0035). Buhr does not appear to explicitly disclose the elements of claim 1. However, as discussed above, PS4 and/or PS4 and Itay teaches the elements of claim 1.
With regard to claim 11, Buhr discloses downloading an association between user input events of the user input element and the plurality of actions (0031; 0035). Buhr does not appear to explicitly disclose the elements of claim 1. However, as discussed above, PS4 and/or PS4 and Itay teaches the elements of claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of PS4 with the disclosure of Buhr such that users would be able to accomplish various functions such as opening up applications and/or switching between applications by using inputs found on the gaming controller thus making it easier to navigate the system by the user.
Claims 12-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buhr in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0084904 to Tan and PS4.
With regard to claim 12, Buhr discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions that when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the one or more processors to perform functions comprising: providing a user interface through which a user assigns an overlay action to a user input element of a mobile game controller, wherein the user input element has a default action, and wherein the overlay action is associated with one or more hardware0initiated input events of the user input element (0031; 0035); and storing an association between the overlay action and the one or more hardware-initiated input events of the user input element (fig. 4a; 0031; 0035).
Buhr does not explicitly disclose a graphical user interface. However, Tan teaches such (fig. 1; fig. 17).
Buhr does not appear to explicitly disclose causing a game application to open. However, such is taught by PS4 (basic button operations).
Claims 13 and 14 are like unto claims 2 and 4 and are rejected in like manner as PS4 teaches such.
With regard to claim 16, Buhr discloses that the association is stored in a networked device for use with at least one other computing device (0031; 0035).
With regard to claim 17, Buhr discloses that the association is stored in a memory of the mobile game controller (0040; element 406).
With regard to claim 18, Buhr discloses that the association is stored in a user profile (0031; 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Tan with Buhr so that the user could easily assign various functions to various buttons through the use of a graphical user interface which is familiar to most users.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of PS4 with the disclosure of Buhr such that users would be able to accomplish various functions such as opening up applications and/or switching between applications by using inputs found on the gaming controller thus making it easier to navigate the system by the user.
Claims 12-14, 16-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buhr in view of Itay.
With regard to claim 12, Buhr discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions that when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the one or more processors to perform functions comprising: providing a user interface through which a user assigns an overlay action to a user input element of a mobile game controller, wherein the user input element has a default action, and wherein the overlay action is associated with one or more hardware0initiated input events of the user input element (0031; 0035); and storing an association between the overlay action and the one or more hardware-initiated input events of the user input element (fig. 4a; 0031; 0035).
Buhr does not explicitly disclose a graphical user interface. However, Itay teaches such (fig. 2).
Buhr does not appear to explicitly disclose causing a game application to open. However, such is taught by Itay (0020).
With regard to claim 13, Itay teaches that the overlay action depends on the mobile game controller being a platform-specific mobile game controller (0015)
With regard to claim 14, Itay teaches that the default action comprises: opening a platform operating service application, switching to a previous application if a platform operation service application is in a foreground, opening an options menu, performing a screen capture, opening a streaming application, and/or muting a communications group (0020).
With regard to claim 16, Buhr discloses that the association is stored in a networked device for use with at least one other computing device (0031; 0035).
With regard to claim 17, Buhr discloses that the association is stored in a memory of the mobile game controller (0040; element 406).
With regard to claim 18, Buhr discloses that the association is stored in a user profile (0031; 0035).
With regard to claim 22, Itay teaches that causing the game application to open is different from switching to a previously-opened application (0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Itay with Buhr in order to create a simple way to navigate to starting a new game via the controller functions.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buhr in view of Tan and PS4 or alternatively Buhr in view of Itay as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0326145 to Wu.
With regard to claim 15¸Buhr does not explicitly disclose the elements as claimed. However, Wu teaches prompting the user to downloading an application when it is not on the computing device (0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Wu with the disclosure of Buhr such that a user could quickly access an application that they have not yet downloaded.
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PS4 in view of Itay.
With regard to claims 21 and 23, Itay teaches that causing the game application to open is different from switching to a previously-opened application (0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to combine the teachings of Itay with the disclosure of PS4 as a way to use a menu such as that disclosed in PS4 to access various games and start them such as taught by Itay thus allowing users to quickly access various programs in an easy intuitive way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument regarding the prior art centers around what it is meant “to open” an application. Applicant’s view is that these claims should be read narrowly and that “to open” would be synonymous with starting of an application (See Arguments, page 8). However, this is not the broadest reasonable interpretation as going from one application to another is viewed as opening an application as well. This latter reading is bolstered by the fact that Applicant has added new claims 21-23. If Applicant’s argument were correct, then new claims 21-23 would not be distinguishing from the independent claims from which they depend. Thus, it would appear that even Applicant is hesitant about their argument. In similar fashion the Examiner has provided a new rejection in alternative above which brings in art cited from a newly filed IDS that clearly shows starting a new application via a mobile controller.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 04/06/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715