DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s Amendment filed on 5/27/2026.
Claims 1-51 are presented for examination. Claims 1-11, 13-16, 18-19, 21-27 and 29-51 have been amended.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome claim objection set forth in the non-Final Office Action mailed 2/27/2026.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirely as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 15, 23-51 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the the at least one GPU” at line 1-2 of claim 8 should be: the at least one GPU
“Application” at line 4 of claim 15 should be deleted.
“the at least one PPU” at line 3 of claim 23 should be: the at least one GPU.
Multiple limitations from claim 23 are amended/changed at the version of claims submitted by 5/27/2026, but some of these limitations do not include amendment indications. Such as, 1. “(“PPU”)” at line 2 should be deleted or removed; 2. “at least one associated with at least one Application Programming Interface (API) call from at least one executing software application” at lines 4-5 should be underlined to indicate this particular limitation is added.
Claims 24-35 are objected for failing to cure the deficiency from their respective parent claim by dependency.
“an at least one executing software application” at line 5-6 of claim 31 should be: the at least one executing software application.
Claim 36 is objected due to similar reason set forth in (III) above. Such as, “based in part on … the one or more second locations” at lines 10-12 should be underlined.
“the one or more second locations;,” at lines 11-12 of claim 36 should be: the one or more second location
There are multiple “the one or more circuits” at lines 13-20 of claim 36; however, Applicant already amended such “one or more circuits” as “circuitry” (i.e., there is no such “one or more circuits” being introduced or claimed at claim 36).
Claims 37-47 are objected for failing to cure the deficiency from their respective parent claim by dependency.
“an at least one executing software application” at line 5-6 of claim 44 should be: the at least one executing software application.
There are multiple “the processor” at claim 48; however, Applicant already amended such “A processor” as “One or more processors” (i.e., there is no such “the processor” being introduced or claimed at claim 48).
Claims 49-51 are objected for failing to cure the deficiency from their respective parent claim by dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-9, 15-20, 22, 36-38, 43-45 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal), Bono (US 20230126511 A1) and Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer).
Regarding to claim 1, Allen discloses: A method comprising:
performing, by at least one graphics processing unit (GPU) instructions associated with at least one call from at least one executing software application that cause the least one GPU to perform a plurality of data accesses at least partially in parallel, performing the plurality of data accesses comprising (see lines 4-6 of cols. 2-3, lines 34-45 of col. 5; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit”, “receiving an open call from a thread of a block of threads being executed by the graphics processing unit to open the file specified by the open call”, “the current value of the concurrent use counter may also be used to determine how many threads are concurrently accessing the file”, “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data from the previously opened file” and “The instance 114 may be a virtual machine … the instance 114 may be executing an application configured to cause the graphics processing unit 102 to process data sets from a file of a file system and output the process data sets to the file system”. Also see lines 14-24 of col. 11; “The concurrent use counter, therefore, effectively indicates the number of threads that are simultaneously using the particular file”):
translating, by the at least one processor, one or more identifiers provided by the at least one executing software application into one or more data locations based in part on information mapping the one or more identifiers to the one or more data locations (see lines 11-33 of col. 5, lines 63-10 of cols. 5-6, lines 43-62 of col. 8, “enable a virtual machine to access the information from the graphics processing unit … a call to a hypervisor to perform a translation mapping operation in order to map certain pages in the system memory 110 to portions of the instance memory 122 of the instance 114” and “the file buffer also includes an input/output memory management unit 312 capable of translating memory addresses between virtual memory addresses and memory addresses of the host computing system itself”. Also see lines 39-53 of col. 2);
accessing, by the at least one GPU, at least a first portion of data stored in at least a first location of the one or more data locations if the first location is on a first storage component of a plurality of data storage components that is accessible by the at least one GPU (see lines 39-53 of col. 2; “If the block of data resides in the cache, the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache”. Also see lines 54-58 of col. 3; “allow the program performing the computation to selectively read only the portions of the data that are actually needed for the computation”); and
causing, by the at least one GPU, at least one server interface to access at least a second portion of the data stored in at least a second location of the one or more data locations if the second location is on a second storage component of the plurality of data storage components (see lines 39-53 of col. 2; “determine whether the block of data already resides in least recently used cache of the file buffer … Otherwise, the system may compute an input file offset, which may be based on a global file offset for the block of threads and a local file offset for the requesting thread, and copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer”. Note: at current claim 1, the claimed “at least one server interface” is very broad that can be considered as any kind of interface to access the second location of the second tier).
Allen does not disclose:
the at least one call is at least one Application Programming Interface (API) call,
translating is performed by the at least one GPU,
the plurality of data storage components is a plurality of data tiers.
However, Katyal discloses: performing, by at least one processor instructions associated with at least one Application programming interface (API) call from at least one executing software application that cause the at least one processor to perform a plurality of data accesses (see [0016]-[0018]; “VM1 118 may include application program interfaces (APIs) 126, including one or more APIs that operate with the application(s) 124 to issue API calls to request data for use by the application 124(s), to access data from storage, etc”, “receive API calls from the API 126 of VM1 118 that is requesting access to data, and then determine whether the requested data should be provided to VM1 118 from a private (local or on-premises) cloud storage system, from a remote public cloud storage system, or both” and “the virtual hardware 130 may include a virtual CPU (including a virtual graphics processing unit (vGPU))”. It is understood that accessing requested data via accessing both of private cloud storage system and from a remote public cloud storage system would require perform at least two data accesses).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the data reading or access request classes from Allen by including calling API functions to perform data access operations from Katyal, since API is well-known and understood intermediate between at least two different software applications or systems to provide services.
In addition, Bono discloses: translating, by the at least one GPU, one or more identifiers provided by the at least one executing software application into one or more data locations based in part on information mapping the one or more identifiers to the one or more data locations (see [0038] and [0108]-[0109]; “the GPU module (246) is software executing in the OS (208) that manages the mappings between the virtual address space and physical addresses in the GPU memory (not shown) that the GPU(s) (244) is using. Said another way, the application executing in the application container may be GPU-aware and, as such, store data directly within the GPU memory. The application may interact with the GPU memory using virtual addresses. The GPU module (246) maintains a mapping between the virtual addresses used by the application and the corresponding physical address of the data located in the GPU memory”, “where the translation request specifies the virtual address… The GPU module is configured to receive the translation request, perform a look-up in the virtual-to-physical address mapping, and provides the resulting physical address in the translation response”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the address translation performed by hypervisor or IOMMU of a non-GPU processor from the combination of Allen and Katyal by including address translation performed by GPU from Bono, since both of Allen and Bono discusses memory translation process to be performed for data access operations requested by application running on virtualized environment but with different types of processors performs such address translation process, and thus it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one type of processor (i.e., non-GPU processor performs address translation from Allen) for another (i.e., GPU processor performs address translation from Bono) to achieve the predictable result of data address/identifier requested by application is translated by GPU as required by the claim.
In addition, Bohrer discloses:
accessing at least a first portion of data stored in at least a first location of the one or more data locations if the first location is on a first tier of a plurality of data tiers that is accessible by the at least one processor (see [0007], [0014]-[0015]; “receives a request for a data object” and “whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache …. format the fragment as one or more network packets”); and
causing at least one server interface to access at least a second portion of the data stored in at least a second location of the one or more data locations if the second location is on a second tier of the plurality of data tiers see (see [0007], [0014]-[0015]; “receives a request for a data object” and “whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache …. retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server”. Note: since the lower/second tier is networked storage or system memory of another server, then there must be a server interface is used to access such networked storage or system memory of another server, such as at least switch 110 of Fig. 1 can be interpreted as such claimed server interface for accessing networked storage 133 or the bus 125/127 as shown by Fig. 2 of another server).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify retrieving different portions of requested file or data from different storage components from the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono by including retrieving different portions of requested file or data from different data tiers including local cache tier and networked storage tier from Bohrer, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer would disclose the missing limitations from Allen, since it would provide a mechanism of reducing storage cost for data (see [0014] from Bohrer; “storing only a portion or fragment of a cached file in the actual file cache while storing the remainder of the file or data in a lower tier of storage. The file cache typically comprises a portion of the server's volatile system memory while the lower tier of storage is typically a slower and less expensive form of storage”).
Regarding to Claim 2, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: the first tier comprises at least one cache stored in volatile memory (see lines 4-6 of col. 5 and lines 39-55 of col. 9 from Allen; “The system memory 110 may represent physical memory of the host computing system, which may include random access memory” and “The least recently used cache 316 for read pages may be one or more buffers in system memory”. Also see [0007] and [0014] from Bohrer; “The file cache typically comprises a portion of the server's volatile system memory”)
Regarding to Claim 4, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: waiting, by the at least one GPU, to allocate space in a cache for the second portion of the data until after the at least one server interface accesses the second portion (see steps 612-616 of Fig. 6, lines 39-53 of col. 2, lines 59-14 of cols. 13-14 from Allen; “determine whether the block of data already resides in least recently used cache of the file buffer … Otherwise, the system may compute an input file offset, which may be based on a global file offset for the block of threads and a local file offset for the requesting thread, and copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer” and “obtaining the requested data from wherever it resides. First, the system may allocate a read page in cache … This address will be used for storing the retrieved data”).
Regarding to Claim 7, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the at least one executing software application is executing in a trusted execution environment, and the method comprises: extending the trusted execution environment to include the at least one server interface (see lines 12-14, 39-53 of col. 2 from Allen, Fig. 1 and [0007] from Bohrer; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit”, “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data … the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache. Otherwise … copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer”, “the server determines whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache … the server retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server”. It is understood that a virtual machine is reasonable to be considered as a trusted execution environment. In addition, since at least the switch 110 of Fig. 1 as claimed server interface is triggered to perform the data access operation in response to the requests from the VM or trusted execution environment, and thus such at least the switch 110 or claimed server interface is extended to be included to the VM or trusted execution environment).
Regarding to Claim 8, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the the at least one GPU is a component of a first computing node and the at least one server interface is being performed by a different second computing node (see lines 4-6 of cols. 2-3 from Allen, Fig. 1 and [0007] from Bohrer; “receiving an open call from a thread of a block of threads being executed by the graphics processing unit to open the file specified by the open call … If the block of data resides in the cache, the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache”, “the server determines whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache … the server retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server”. Note: at least the switch 110 of Fig. 1 can be considered as claimed server interface performed by a different second computing node).
Regarding to Claim 9, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the at least one server interface is to access a third portion of data within at least one particular tier of the plurality of data tiers other than the first tier, and the at least one particular tier comprises at least one of a plurality of different storage locations operating according to different storage methods (see Fig. 1, [0007] and [0015] from Bohrer; “the server determines whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache … the server retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server” and “retrieve subsequent fragments of the requested file from the lower tier or tiers of storage”. Note1: it is understood that “the subsequent fragments of the requested file” discussed at [0015] is reasonable to consider there is a third portion of data in addition to first and second portions to be retrieved. Note2: networked storage and system memory of another server are reasonable to be considered as claimed “a plurality of different storage locations operating according to different storage methods”).
Regarding to Claim 15, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the at least one software application is executing within a trusted execution environment, and the method further comprises: Application extending the trusted execution environment to include at least a portion of one or more storage devices within the plurality of data tiers (see lines 12-14 and 39-53 of col. 2 from Allen and [0007] from Bohrer; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor”, “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data … the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache. Otherwise … copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer” and “a first portion or fragment of a requested data object in a first tier of storage while retaining subsequent portions of the data object in a second or lower tier of storage”. It is understood that a virtual machine is reasonable to be considered as a trusted execution environment. In addition, since the different portions from storage devices within the different data tiers are retrieved in response to the requests from the VM or trusted execution environment, and thus it is extending the VM or trusted execution environment to include the retrieved portions of data storage device within the data tiers).
Regarding to Claim 16, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the at least one executing software application is executing within a trusted execution environment, the at least one GPU, uses at least one process to perform the at least one data access of the plurality of data accesses, and the method further comprises extending the trusted execution environment to include the at least one process (see lines 12-14 and 39-53 of col. 2 from Allen; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit” and “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data … the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache. Otherwise … copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer”. It is understood that a virtual machine is reasonable to be considered as a trusted execution environment. In addition, since such data accessing process is performed in response to the requests from the VM or trusted execution environment, and thus it is extending the VM or trusted execution environment to include such data accessing process).
Regarding to Claim 17, the rejection of Claim 16 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: extending the trusted execution environment to include the at least one server interface (see Fig. 1 and [0007] from Bohrer; “the server determines whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache … the server retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server”. Since at least the switch 110 of Fig. 1 as claimed server interface is triggered to perform the data access operation in response to the requests from the VM or trusted execution environment, and thus such at least the switch 110 or claimed server interface is extended to be included to the VM or trusted execution environment).
Regarding to Claim 18, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the plurality of data accesses performed at least partially in parallel comprise at least 100 data accesses performed in parallel by the at least one GPU (see lines 35-44, lines 64-65 of col. 3 and lines 40-42 of col. 13 from Allen; “A graphics processing unit … may be beneficial for performing highly parallel tasks; that is, where a large number (e.g., thousands) of tasks may be processed in parallel in a similar fashion. As an example, a customer of a computing resource service provider having access to a virtual machine may desire to process a large data set that has been stored at a location accessible to the virtual machine, such as in a block-level data store attached to the virtual machine”, “a graphics processing unit may be able to process 8,000 threads in parallel” and “the thread of the block of threads may be operating in parallel, each thread of the block of threads may individually issue such a read call”. At the combination system, it is reasonable to conclude that there are at least 100 read calls requested by at least 100 threads performed in parallel by the graphics processing units in one of the reasonable embodiments).
Regarding to Claim 19, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: transforming, by the at least one GPU, at least a portion of the first portion of the data (see lines 20-31 of col. 10 from Allen; “Once the data is in the least recently used cache buffers in the file buffer, the data may be read by the graphics processing unit … As the read data is processed, in 410, the block of threads may, output the processed data to a file by executing a set of write calls containing the processed data. The processed data may be written by the graphics processing unit to a ring buffer of the file buffer of 404. Once the ring buffer is full or once it is determined that the ring buffer should be flushed, the processed data in the ring buffer may be flushed to the output file in 412”. At least a portion of the data read from the cache, i.e., claimed first portion of the data, is written into an output file, i.e., is transformed)
Regarding to Claim 20, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the at least one server interface transforms at least a portion of the second portion of the data (see Fig. 1 and [0007] from Bohrer, “the server retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server”. At least the switch 110 as claimed at least one server interface transforms the second portion of data from the networked storage or system memory of another server to the server having another portion of data).
Regarding to Claim 22, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the first tier comprises volatile memory (see lines 4-6 of col. 5 and lines 39-55 of col. 9 from Allen; “The system memory 110 may represent physical memory of the host computing system, which may include random access memory” and “The least recently used cache 316 for read pages may be one or more buffers in system memory”. Also see [0007] and [0014] from Bohrer; “The file cache typically comprises a portion of the server's volatile system memory”), the second tier comprises non-volatile memory (see [0007] and [0021] from Bohrer; “the second tier may represent a local disk, non-volatile networked storage”), and the at least one API call requests second information stored on the second tier in a manner identical to that used by the at least one API call to request first information stored on the first tier (see lines 12-14 and 39-53 of col. 2 from Allen and [0017] from Katyal; “to receive API calls from the API 126 of VM1 118 that is requesting access to data, and then determine whether the requested data should be provided to VM1 118 from a private (local or on-premises) cloud storage system, from a remote public cloud storage system, or both”).
Regarding to Claim 36, Claim 36 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 1 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 1 above (note: Allen also teaches limitations related to circuitry, see lines 63-65 of col. 8 of Allen; “The graphics processing unit 302 may be an electronic circuit configured to process sets of data in a highly parallel fashion”).
Regarding to Claim 37, the rejection of Claim 36 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the circuitry is to execute the at least one executing software application (see lines 4-6 of cols. 2-3 from Allen; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit”).
Regarding to Claim 38, the rejection of Claim 37 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the at least one API call comprises at least one data access request that cause the circuitry to perform the plurality of data accesses (see [0016]-[0018] from Katyal; “VM1 118 may include application program interfaces (APIs) 126, including one or more APIs that operate with the application(s) 124 to issue API calls to request data for use by the application 124(s), to access data from storage, etc”, “receive API calls from the API 126 of VM1 118 that is requesting access to data, and then determine whether the requested data should be provided to VM1 118 from a private (local or on-premises) cloud storage system, from a remote public cloud storage system, or both”. It is understood that accessing requested data via accessing both of private cloud storage system and from a remote public cloud storage system would require perform at least two data accesses).
Regarding to Claim 43, the rejection of Claim 36 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein the at least one executing software application is executing within a trusted execution environment, and circuitry is to extend the trusted execution environment to include at least a portion of a data storage comprising at least a portion of the two or more data locations (see lines 12-14 and 39-53 of col. 2 from Allen and [0007] from Bohrer; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor”, “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data … the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache. Otherwise … copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer” and “a first portion or fragment of a requested data object in a first tier of storage while retaining subsequent portions of the data object in a second or lower tier of storage”. It is understood that a virtual machine is reasonable to be considered as a trusted execution environment. In addition, since the different portions from the different data tiers are retrieved in response to the requests from the VM or trusted execution environment, and thus it is extending the VM or trusted execution environment to include the retrieved portions of data storage).
Regarding to Claim 44, Claim 44 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 16 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 16 above.
Regarding to Claim 45, Claim 45 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 17 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 17 above.
Regarding to Claim 47, Claim 47 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 22 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 22 above.
Claims 3 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal), Bono (US 20230126511 A1) and Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer) and further in view of Radi et al. (US 20230251929 A1, hereafter Radi).
Regarding to Claim 3, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer does not disclose: computing a third portion of data if the third portion is not stored at the one or more data locations or the at least one GPU determines it would take too long to access the third portion in the plurality of data tiers.
However, Radi discloses: computing a third portion of data if the third portion is not stored at the one or more data locations or the at least one processor determines it would take too long to access the third portion in the plurality of data storage components (see [0038]-[0039]; “lost or corrupted data blocks can be recovered for up to N lost or corrupted data blocks out of a total of M data blocks when using an EC algorithm … The number of M data blocks corresponds to the overhead in terms of processing and memory resources in calculating the parity blocks and recovering missing or corrupted data blocks”. In one of the reasonable embodiments, a third portion of data is missing at the data locations, and then computing or recovering such missing third portion of data).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the operation of data access and retrieve from the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer by including recovering missing data blocks from Radi, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Radi would disclose the missing limitation of the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer, since it would provide a mechanism to recovery missing or corrupted data blocks (see [0038] from Radi).
Regarding to Claim 46, Claim 46 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 3 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 3 above.
Claim 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal), Bono (US 20230126511 A1) and Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer) and further in view of Brandyberry et al. (US 20090094445 A1, hereafter Brandyberry).
Regarding to Claim 5, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses:
wherein first hardware comprising the at least one GPU executes an application of the at least one executing software application (see lines 9-15 of col. 2 from Allen; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit”), and performing the plurality of data accesses further comprises:
storing accessed data obtained based at least in part on the at least one data access in at least one memory associated with the at least one GPU (see lines 39-53 of col. 2 and lines 39-55 of col. 9 from Allen; “copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer” and “The least recently used cache 316 for read pages may be one or more buffers in system memory”).
The combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer does not disclose:
pausing performance of the application by the first hardware;
moving the application and the accessed data to different second hardware; and
resuming the performance of the application on the different second hardware.
However, Brandyberry discloses:
first hardware comprising the at least one processor executes an application of the at least one executing software application (see [0022]; “server 104 supports a software partition having one or more applications running in the software partition. The term “running” refers to a processor actively executing the instructions of a process”);
storing accessed data obtained in at least one memory associated with the at least one processor (see [0037]-[0038]; “the application state and memory contents for an application”. Also see [0042]; “the range of discrete memory space addresses that identify a physical location in computer memory for storing data associated with an application. The data associated with the application -includes, but is not limited to, the executable code for the application, any data in stack or heap memory, and any other data associated with the application”);
pausing performance of the application by the first hardware (see [0037] and [0046]; “A checkpoint operation …. when a software partition is migrated from one physical computing device to another physical computing device” and “in response to receiving a checkpoint signal by a plurality of threads associated with an application running in a software partition, the plurality of threads rendezvous to a point outside an application text associated with the application. The term rendezvous refers to the threads meeting at a common point. Rendezvousing the plurality of threads suspends execution of application text by the plurality of threads”);
moving the application and the accessed data to different second hardware (see [0037]; “A checkpoint operation is a data integrity operation in which the application state and memory contents for an application are written to stable storage at a particular time to provide a basis upon which to recreate the state of an application and/or processes running in a software partition, such as when a software partition is migrated from one physical computing device to another physical computing device”. Note: the application is running within the software partition, and thus the application is also moved/migrated to another physical computing device when “a software partition” associated with the application is migrated “to another physical computing device”); and
resuming the performance of the application on the different second hardware (see [0037]- [0039]; “The processes running in the departure software partition are restored or restarted on the arrival software partition”. Also see [0054]; “restore or restart processes 320-322 on arrival server 304 in the same state that processes 320-322 were in on departure server 302 at the time checkpoint data 330 was last saved”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the operation of virtual machine running application from the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer by including migration of application and associated state to another device for execution from Brandyberry, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Brandyberry would disclose the missing limitation of the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer, since it would provide a mechanism to restore the state of an application in the event of a failure (see [0006]-[0007] from Brandyberry).
Regarding to Claim 6, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses:
wherein first hardware comprising the at least one GPU executes an application of the at least one executing software application (see lines 9-15 of col. 2 from Allen; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit”), and performing the plurality of data accesses further comprises:
storing accessed data obtained based at least in part on the at least one data access by performing at least portion of the plulriaty of data accesses in different second hardware (see lines 39-53 of col. 2 and lines 39-55 of col. 9 from Allen; “copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer” and “The least recently used cache 316 for read pages may be one or more buffers in system memory”).
The combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer does not disclose:
pausing performance of the application by the first hardware;
moving the application to different third hardware; and
resuming the performance of the application on the different third hardware.
However, Brandyberry discloses:
first hardware comprising the at least one processor executes an application of the at least one executing software application (see [0022]; “server 104 supports a software partition having one or more applications running in the software partition. The term “running” refers to a processor actively executing the instructions of a process”);
storing accessed data obtained in different second hardware (see [0037]-[0038]; “the application state and memory contents for an application”. Also see [0042]; “the range of discrete memory space addresses that identify a physical location in computer memory for storing data associated with an application. The data associated with the application -includes, but is not limited to, the executable code for the application, any data in stack or heap memory, and any other data associated with the application”);
pausing performance of the application by the first hardware (see [0037] and [0046]; “A checkpoint operation …. when a software partition is migrated from one physical computing device to another physical computing device” and “in response to receiving a checkpoint signal by a plurality of threads associated with an application running in a software partition, the plurality of threads rendezvous to a point outside an application text associated with the application. The term rendezvous refers to the threads meeting at a common point. Rendezvousing the plurality of threads suspends execution of application text by the plurality of threads”);
moving the application to different third hardware (see [0037]; “A checkpoint operation is a data integrity operation in which the application state and memory contents for an application are written to stable storage at a particular time to provide a basis upon which to recreate the state of an application and/or processes running in a software partition, such as when a software partition is migrated from one physical computing device to another physical computing device”. Note: the application is running within the software partition, and thus the application is also moved/migrated to another physical computing device when “a software partition” associated with the application is migrated “to another physical computing device”); and
resuming the performance of the application on the different third hardware (see [0037]- [0039]; “The processes running in the departure software partition are restored or restarted on the arrival software partition”. Also see [0054]; “restore or restart processes 320-322 on arrival server 304 in the same state that processes 320-322 were in on departure server 302 at the time checkpoint data 330 was last saved”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the operation of virtual machine running application from the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer by including migration of application and associated state to another device for execution from Brandyberry, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Brandyberry would disclose the missing limitation of the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer, since it would provide a mechanism to restore the state of an application in the event of a failure (see [0006]-[0007] from Brandyberry).
Claims 10-11 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal), Bono (US 20230126511 A1) and Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer) and further in view of Rangaswami et al. (US 20170091055 A1, hereafter Rangaswami).
Regarding to Claim 10, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein performing the plurality of data accesses further comprises using at least one process to perform a [synchronous] data access of the plurality of data accesses (see lines 39-53 of col. 2 from Allen; “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data … the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache. Otherwise … copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer”).
The combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer does not disclose: the data access is a synchronous data access, the at least one process to wait for the synchronous data access to complete before the at least one process continues processing.
However, Rangaswami discloses: using at least one process to perform a synchronous data access of the plurality of data accesses, the at least one process to wait for the synchronous data access to complete before the at least one process continues processing (see [0032]-[0033] and [0036]; “when a request is issued according to a synchronous or asynchronous mode”, “In a synchronous operation, the instructions of the operation execute in a serial progression, where each instruction is completely performed prior to continuing to the next instruction or function. For example, when an instruction in function A calls a function B, function A waits for function B to complete the entirety of its instructions before function A continues with the instruction after the call to function B” and “a synchronous call to the LA-IFD 220 to store the data segment (202)”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the data access operations from the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer by including synchronous or asynchronous data access operation from Rangaswami, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami would disclose the missing limitation of the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer, since a request can be classified as either one of synchronous mode or asynchronous mode (see [0032]-[0033] from Rangaswami).
Regarding to Claim 11, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer discloses: wherein performing the plurality of data accesses further comprises using at least one process to perform an [asynchronous] data access of the plurality of data accesses (see lines 39-53 of col. 2 from Allen; “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data … the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache. Otherwise … copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer”).
The combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer does not disclose: the data access is an asynchronous data access, the asynchronous data access to provide at least one notification to at least one recipient indicating whether the asynchronous data access was completed successfully, the at least one process being allowed to continue processing before the asynchronous data access is complete.
However, Rangaswami discloses: using at least one process to perform an asynchronous data access of the plurality of data accesses, the asynchronous data access to provide at least one notification to at least one recipient indicating whether the asynchronous data access was completed successfully, the at least one process being allowed to continue processing before the asynchronous data access is complete (see [0032]-[0033] and [0037]; “when a request is issued according to a synchronous or asynchronous mode”, “an asynchronous operation is characterized by return of control to the caller before the full scope of the operation has been completed. For example, if function B is an asynchronous function, function B immediately returns control to function A, even though function B may merely initiate the process of performing its work. In many implementations, an asynchronous operation may be performed by initiating an additional “thread” of execution according to existing mechanisms provided by the operating system” and “An update of the data segment is initiated at the remote storage system 230 as an asynchronous operation (204)”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the data access operations from the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer by including synchronous or asynchronous data access operation from Rangaswami, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami would disclose the missing limitation of the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer, since a request can be classified as either one of synchronous mode or asynchronous mode (see [0032]-[0033] from Rangaswami).
Regarding to Claim 39, Claim 39 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 10 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 10 above.
Regarding to Claim 40, Claim 40 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 11 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 11 above.
Claims 12-14 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal), Bono (US 20230126511 A1), Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer) and Rangaswami et al. (US 20170091055 A1, hereafter Rangaswami) and further in view of Brewer (US 20190340022 A1).
Regarding to Claim 12, the rejection of Claim 11 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami discloses: comprises a different thread for each of a plurality of data elements (see lines 33-42 of col. 13 from Allen; “a call may be received by the system performing the process 600 for the thread of a block of threads to read from a file … each thread of the block of threads may individually issue such a read call”).
The combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami does not disclose: wherein the at least one notification comprises a different notification for each of a plurality of data elements.
However, Brewer discloses: wherein the at least one notification comprises a different notification for each of a plurality of thread (see [0148]; “The sent event can be a point-to-point message with a single destination thread, or a broadcast message sent to all threads within a group of processing resources belonging to the same process”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the operations of data access operations issued by different threads from the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami by including a point-to-point message with same thread from Brewer, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer, Rangaswami and Brewer would disclose the missing limitation of the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami, since it would provide a flexibility of selecting either one of one-to-one response mechanism to threads or one-to-call response mechanism to threads (see [0148] from Brewer).
Regarding to Claim 13, the rejection of Claim 11 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami discloses: wherein the instructions are to cause a plurality of threads to launch (see lines 4-41 of col. 2 and lines 40-42 of col. 13 from Allen; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit” and “a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data” and “the thread of the block of threads may be operating in parallel, each thread of the block of threads may individually issue such a read call”).
The combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami does not disclose: the at least one notification comprises a different notification for each of the plurality of threads.
However, Brewer discloses: the at least one notification comprises a different notification for each of the plurality of threads (see [0148]; “The sent event can be a point-to-point message with a single destination thread, or a broadcast message sent to all threads within a group of processing resources belonging to the same process”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the operations of data access operations issued by different threads from the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami by including a point-to-point message with same thread from Brewer, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer, Rangaswami and Brewer would disclose the missing limitation of the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami, since it would provide a flexibility of selecting either one of one-to-one response mechanism to threads or one-to-call response mechanism to threads (see [0148] from Brewer).
Regarding to Claim 14, the rejection of Claim 11 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami discloses: wherein the instructions are to cause a plurality of threads to launch (see lines 4-41 of col. 2 and lines 40-42 of col. 13 from Allen; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit” and “a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data” and “the thread of the block of threads may be operating in parallel, each thread of the block of threads may individually issue such a read call”).
The combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami does not disclose: the at least one notification comprises a single notification to be provided to the plurality of threads.
However, Brewer discloses: the at least one notification comprises a single notification to be provided to the plurality of threads (see [0148]; “The sent event can be a point-to-point message with a single destination thread, or a broadcast message sent to all threads within a group of processing resources belonging to the same process”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the operations of data access operations issued by different threads from the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami by including broadcase message sent to all threads within same process from Brewer, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer, Rangaswami and Brewer would disclose the missing limitation of the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Rangaswami, since it would provide a flexibility of selecting either one of one-to-one response mechanism to threads or one-to-call response mechanism to threads (see [0148] from Brewer).
Regarding to Claim 41, Claim 41 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 12 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 12 above.
Regarding to Claim 42, Claim 42 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 13 or 14 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 13 or 14 above.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal), Bono (US 20230126511 A1) and Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer) and further in view of Antwerpen et al. (US 20180137294 A1, hereafter Antwerpen).
Regarding to Claim 21, the rejection of Claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer does not disclose: wherein the at least one GPU implements a plurality of client interfaces that performs at least one data access of the plurality of data accesses.
However, Antwerpen discloses: wherein the at least one processor implements a plurality of client interfaces that performs at least one data access (see [0125]; “Any data/command transfers through interfaces 1032 a and 1032 b to the XIP address space either access SRAM caches … If any of the interfaces 1032 a and 1032 b are configured with a SRAM cache, such cache may be used to cache read data” Also see [0123]; “External memory controller block 1030 is a hardware block similar to external memory controller 130 in FIG. 1”. Such external memory controller block 1030 is reasonable to be considered as processor).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the accessing on memory cache to retrieve data from the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer by including at least two different interfaces configure with a SRAM cache to perform data access operations from Antwerpen, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono, Bohrer and Antwerpen would disclose the missing limitation of the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bono and Bohrer, since it would provide different data operation techniques based on different needs (see [0032]-[0033] and [0125] from Antwerpen; “by using a strong (but relatively slow) encryption algorithm”, “by using a weak (but fast) encryption function” and “Fast XIP interface 1032 a and slow XIP interface 1032 b”).
Claims 23-25, 30-32, 35 and 48-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal) and Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer).
Regarding to Claim 23, Allen discloses: A system comprising: at least one parallel graphics processing unit (GPU) (“PPU”); and memory storing first instructions that if performed by the at least one PPU (see lines 4-20 of col. 2 and lines 19-25 of col. 19; “a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit” and “Each server typically … include a computer-readable storage medium (e.g., a hard disk, random access memory, read only memory, etc.) storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of the server, allow the server to perform its intended functions”), cause the system to perform at least one associated with at least one call from at least one executing software application that cause the least one GPU to perform a plurality of data accesses at least partially in parallel, performing the plurality of data accesses comprising in response to tat least one data access request by (see lines 4-6 of cols. 2-3, lines 34-45 of col. 5; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit”, “receiving an open call from a thread of a block of threads being executed by the graphics processing unit to open the file specified by the open call”, “the current value of the concurrent use counter may also be used to determine how many threads are concurrently accessing the file”, “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data from the previously opened file” and “The instance 114 may be a virtual machine … the instance 114 may be executing an application configured to cause the graphics processing unit 102 to process data sets from a file of a file system and output the process data sets to the file system”. Also see lines 14-24 of col. 11; “The concurrent use counter, therefore, effectively indicates the number of threads that are simultaneously using the particular file”):
accessing, by the at least one GPU, at least a first portion of data stored in at least a first location of one or more data locations if the first location is stored on a first storage component of a plurality of storage components that is accessible by the at least one GPU (see lines 39-53 of col. 2; “If the block of data resides in the cache, the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache”. Also see lines 54-58 of col. 3; “allow the program performing the computation to selectively read only the portions of the data that are actually needed for the computation”), and
causing, by the at least one GPU, at least one server interface to access at least a second portion of the data stored in at least a second location of the one or more data locations if the second location is on a second storage component of the plurality of storage components (see lines 39-53 of col. 2; “determine whether the block of data already resides in least recently used cache of the file buffer … Otherwise, the system may compute an input file offset, which may be based on a global file offset for the block of threads and a local file offset for the requesting thread, and copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer”. Note: at current claim 1, the claimed “at least one server interface” is very broad that can be considered as any kind of interface to access the second location of the second tier).
Allen does not disclose:
the at least one call is at least one Application Programming Interface (API) call,
the plurality of data storage components is a plurality of data tiers.
However, Katyal discloses: cause the system to perform at least one associated with at least one Application programming interface (API) call from at least one executing software application that cause the at least one processor to perform a plurality of data accesses (see [0016]-[0018]; “VM1 118 may include application program interfaces (APIs) 126, including one or more APIs that operate with the application(s) 124 to issue API calls to request data for use by the application 124(s), to access data from storage, etc”, “receive API calls from the API 126 of VM1 118 that is requesting access to data, and then determine whether the requested data should be provided to VM1 118 from a private (local or on-premises) cloud storage system, from a remote public cloud storage system, or both” and “the virtual hardware 130 may include a virtual CPU (including a virtual graphics processing unit (vGPU))”. It is understood that accessing requested data via accessing both of private cloud storage system and from a remote public cloud storage system would require perform at least two data accesses).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the data reading or access request classes from Allen by including calling API functions to perform data access operations from Katyal, since API is well-known and understood intermediate between at least two different software applications or systems to provide services.
In addition, Bohrer discloses:
accessing at least a first portion of data stored in at least a first location of the one or more data locations if the first location is on a first tier of a plurality of data tiers that is accessible by the at least one processor (see [0007], [0014]-[0015]; “receives a request for a data object” and “whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache …. format the fragment as one or more network packets”); and
causing at least one server interface to access at least a second portion of the data stored in at least a second location of the one or more data locations if the second location is on a second tier of the plurality of data tiers (see [0007], [0014]-[0015]; “receives a request for a data object” and “whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache …. retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server”. Note: since the lower/second tier is networked storage or system memory of another server, then there must be a server interface is used to access such networked storage or system memory of another server, such as at least switch 110 of Fig. 1 can be interpreted as such claimed server interface for accessing networked storage 133 or the bus 125/127 as shown by Fig. 2 of another server).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify retrieving different portions of requested file or data from different storage components from the combination of Allen and Katyal by including retrieving different portions of requested file or data from different data tiers including local cache tier and networked storage tier from Bohrer, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer would disclose the missing limitations from Allen, since it would provide a mechanism of reducing storage cost for data (see [0014] from Bohrer; “storing only a portion or fragment of a cached file in the actual file cache while storing the remainder of the file or data in a lower tier of storage. The file cache typically comprises a portion of the server's volatile system memory while the lower tier of storage is typically a slower and less expensive form of storage”).
Regarding to Claim 24, the rejection of Claim 23 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer discloses: one or more processors comprising the at least one GPU, wherein the memory stores second instructions that if performed by the one or more processors, cause the system to execute an application of the at least one executing software application (see Fig. 2, see lines 9-15 of col. 2 from Allen; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit”).
Regarding to Claim 25, the rejection of Claim 24 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer discloses: wherein the first instructions are to cause a plurality of threads to be launched on the at least one GPU, and the plurality of threads are to perform the plurality of data accesses (see lines 4-6 of cols. 2-3, lines 34-45 of col. 5 from Allen; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit”, “receiving an open call from a thread of a block of threads being executed by the graphics processing unit to open the file specified by the open call”, “the current value of the concurrent use counter may also be used to determine how many threads are concurrently accessing the file”).
Regarding to Claim 30, the rejection of Claim 23 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer discloses: wherein the at least one executing software application is executing within a trusted execution environment, and the first instructions are to cause the system to extend the trusted execution environment to include at least a portion of a data storage comprising at least a portion of the one or more data locations (see lines 12-14 and 39-53 of col. 2 from Allen and [0007] from Bohrer; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor”, “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data … the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache. Otherwise … copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer” and “a first portion or fragment of a requested data object in a first tier of storage while retaining subsequent portions of the data object in a second or lower tier of storage”. It is understood that a virtual machine is reasonable to be considered as a trusted execution environment. In addition, since the different portions from the different data tiers are retrieved in response to the requests from the VM or trusted execution environment, and thus it is extending the VM or trusted execution environment to include the retrieved portions of data storage).
Regarding to Claim 31, the rejection of Claim 23 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer discloses: wherein performing the plurality of data accesses further comprises using at least one process to perform at least one data access of the plurality of data accesses, the at least one data access request is to originate from an at least one executing software application is executing within a trusted execution environment, and the first instructions are to cause the system to extend the trusted execution environment to include the at least one process (see lines 12-14 and 39-53 of col. 2 from Allen; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit” and “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data … the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache. Otherwise … copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset, into a read page allocated to the least recently used cache of the file buffer”. It is understood that a virtual machine is reasonable to be considered as a trusted execution environment. In addition, since such data accessing process is performed in response to the requests from the VM or trusted execution environment, and thus it is extending the VM or trusted execution environment to include such data accessing process).
Regarding to Claim 32, the rejection of Claim 31 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer discloses: wherein the first instructions are to cause the system to extend the trusted execution environment to include the at least one server interface (see Fig. 1 and [0007] from Bohrer; “the server determines whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache … the server retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server”. Since at least the switch 110 of Fig. 1 as claimed server interface is triggered to perform the data access operation in response to the requests from the VM or trusted execution environment, and thus such at least the switch 110 or claimed server interface is extended to be included to the VM or trusted execution environment).
Regarding to Claim 35, the rejection of Claim 23 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer discloses: at least one processor implementing at least one server node that implements the at least one server interface, the at least one GPU implementing at least one client node that implements at least one client interface that performs at least one data access of the plurality of data accesses (see Fig. 1 and [0007] from Bohrer; “the server determines whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache … the server retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server”. At the combination system, the server contains at least one PPU of client node to implement client interface to access data from cache and the processor of another server or switch to implement sever interface).
Regarding to Claim 48, Allen discloses: One or more processors comprising: circuitry to (see lines 9-15 of col. 2 and lines 63-10 of cols. 8-9; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit” and “The graphics processing unit 302 may be an electronic circuit configured to process sets of data in a highly parallel fashion … The central processing unit 306 may be an electronic circuit configured to execute executable instructions for the host computer system”) perform instructions associated with at least one call from at least one executing software application that cause the circuitry to perform a plurality of data accesses at least partially in parallel, performing the plurality of data accesses comprising (see lines 4-6 of cols. 2-3, lines 34-45 of col. 5; “the virtual machine may be configured to launch an and run application that executes a plurality of threads in parallel in a highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit”, “receiving an open call from a thread of a block of threads being executed by the graphics processing unit to open the file specified by the open call”, “the current value of the concurrent use counter may also be used to determine how many threads are concurrently accessing the file”, “receiving a read call from a thread of a block of threads to read a block of data from the previously opened file” and “The instance 114 may be a virtual machine … the instance 114 may be executing an application configured to cause the graphics processing unit 102 to process data sets from a file of a file system and output the process data sets to the file system”. Also see lines 14-24 of col. 11; “The concurrent use counter, therefore, effectively indicates the number of threads that are simultaneously using the particular file”):
receiving a request including a reference used by an application of the at least one executing software to access local volatile memory; using the reference to translate one or more identifiers provided by the last one executing software application into one or more data locations within multiple data storage components comprising volatile memory directly accessible by the processor, and other data storage component (see lines 11-33 of col. 5, lines 63-10 of cols. 5-6, lines 43-62 of col. 8, “enable a virtual machine to access the information from the graphics processing unit … a call to a hypervisor to perform a translation mapping operation in order to map certain pages in the system memory 110 to portions of the instance memory 122 of the instance 114” and “the file buffer also includes an input/output memory management unit 312 capable of translating memory addresses between virtual memory addresses and memory addresses of the host computing system itself”. Also see lines 39-53 of col. 2, lines 4-6 of col. 5 and lines 39-55 of col. 9; “receiving a read call … first determine whether the block of data already resides in least recently used cache of the file buffer. If the block of data resides in the cache, the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache. Otherwise, the system may compute an input file offset, which may be based on a global file offset for the block of threads and a local file offset for the requesting thread”, “The system memory 110 may represent physical memory of the host computing system, which may include random access memory” and “The least recently used cache 316 for read pages may be one or more buffers in system memory”. Note: since the least recently used cache is part of the system memory, and thus it is volatile memory directly accessible by the highly parallel processor, such as a graphics processing unit);
accessing at least one data location of the one or more data locations if the at least one data location is within the volatile memory directly accessible by the processor (see lines 39-53 of col. 2 and lines 39-55 of col. 9; “receiving a read call … first determine whether the block of data already resides in least recently used cache of the file buffer. If the block of data resides in the cache, the thread may obtain the block of data directly from the cache); and
causing a service to access the at least one data location if the at least one data location is within the other data storage component (see lines 39-53 of col. 2; “receiving a read call … first determine whether the block of data already resides in least recently used cache of the file buffer … Otherwise, the system may compute an input file offset, which may be based on a global file offset for the block of threads and a local file offset for the requesting thread, and copy that block of data, starting at the location corresponding to the input file offset”).
Allen does not disclose:
the at least one call is at least one Application Programming Interface (API) call,
multiple data storage components are multiple data tiers and other data storage component is non-volatile memory.
However, Katyal discloses: One or more processors comprising: circuitry to perform instructions associated with at least one Application programming interface (API) call from at least one executing software application that cause the circuitry to perform a plurality of data accesses (see [0016]-[0018], [0050]-[0051]; “VM1 118 may include application program interfaces (APIs) 126, including one or more APIs that operate with the application(s) 124 to issue API calls to request data for use by the application 124(s), to access data from storage, etc”, “receive API calls from the API 126 of VM1 118 that is requesting access to data, and then determine whether the requested data should be provided to VM1 118 from a private (local or on-premises) cloud storage system, from a remote public cloud storage system, or both” and “Hardware 114A in turn includes suitable physical components, such as central processing unit(s) (CPU(s)) or processor(s) 132A … the virtual hardware 130 may include a virtual CPU (including a virtual graphics processing unit (vGPU))” and “The above examples can be implemented by hardware (including hardware logic circuitry)”. It is understood that accessing requested data via accessing both of private cloud storage system and from a remote public cloud storage system would require perform at least two data accesses and the physical CPU or processor discussed at [0018] contains or includes the hardware logic circuitry discussed at [0050]-[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the data reading or access request classes from Allen by including calling API functions to perform data access operations from Katyal, since API is well-known and understood intermediate between at least two different software applications or systems to provide services.
In addition, Bohrer discloses:
one or more data locations within multiple data tiers comprising volatile memory directly accessible by the processor, and non-volatile memory (see [0007]; “The first tier is typically the server's volatile system memory while the second tier may represent a local disk, non-volatile networked storage, or a remote system memory. When the server receives a request for a data object”, “determines whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache”. Note: since the first tier or file cache from [0007] is actually the server’s volatile system memory, and thus such first tier or file cache is directly accessible by the processor of the server);
accessing at least one data location of the one or more data locations if the at least one data location is within the volatile memory directly accessible by the processor (see [0007] and [0015]; “determines whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache. If the first fragment is valid in the file cache, the server may format the fragment as one or more network packets” and “the server device responds by retrieving the first fragment of the file from the file cache”); and
causing a service to access the at least one data location if the at least one data location is within the non-volatile memory (see [0007], [0014]-[0015]; “the second tier may represent a local disk, non-volatile networked storage” and “whether the first fragment of the requested data is present (and valid) in its file cache …. retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify retrieving different portions of requested file or data from different storage components from the combination of Allen and Katyal by including retrieving different portions of requested file or data from different data tiers including local cache tier and networked storage tier from Bohrer, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer would disclose the missing limitations from Allen, since it would provide a mechanism of reducing storage cost for data (see [0014] from Bohrer; “storing only a portion or fragment of a cached file in the actual file cache while storing the remainder of the file or data in a lower tier of storage. The file cache typically comprises a portion of the server's volatile system memory while the lower tier of storage is typically a slower and less expensive form of storage”).
Regarding to Claim 49, the rejection of Claim 48 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer discloses: performing the plurality of data accesses further comprises causing a different processor to access the at least one data location if the at least one data location is within different volatile memory directly accessible by the different processor (see [0007] and [0019] from Bohrer; “the second tier may represent a local disk, non-volatile networked storage, or a remote system memory … the server retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server” and “System memory 122 typically represents the server's dynamic random access memory (DRAM) or other volatile storage structure”. Note: it is understood that the system memory of another server is directly accessible by processor of such another server, i.e., claimed different processor).
Regarding to Claim 50, the rejection of Claim 48 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer discloses: wherein the non-volatile memory is remote with respect to the one or more processors (see [0007] from Bohrer; “The first tier is typically the server's volatile system memory while the second tier may represent a local disk, non-volatile networked storage”. A non-volatile networked storage is remote from the server’s processor, i.e., claimed the one or more processors).
Regarding to Claim 51, the rejection of Claim 48 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer discloses: performing the plurality of data accesses further comprises causing the service to access the at least one data location if the data location is within different volatile memory directly accessible by the service (see [0007] and [0019] from Bohrer “the second tier may represent a local disk, non-volatile networked storage, or a remote system memory … the server retrieves a subsequent fragment of the requested data object from a lower tier of storage such as a local disk, networked storage, or the system memory of another server” and “System memory 122 typically represents the server's dynamic random access memory (DRAM) or other volatile storage structure”).
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal) and Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer) and further in view of Rangaswami et al. (US 20170091055 A1, hereafter Rangaswami).
Regarding to Claim 26, Claim 26 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 10 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 10 above.
Regarding to Claim 27, Claim 27 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 11 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 11 above.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal), Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer), Rangaswami et al. (US 20170091055 A1, hereafter Rangaswami) and further in view of Brewer (US 20190340022 A1).
Regarding to Claim 28, Claim 28 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 12 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 12 above.
Regarding to Claim 29, Claim 29 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 13 or 14 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 13 or 14 above.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal) and Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer) and further in view of Bono (US 20230126511 A1).
Regarding to Claim 33, the rejection of Claim 23 is incorporated and further the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer discloses: performing the plurality of data accesses further comprises translating, by the at least one processor, one or more identifiers provided by the at least one executing software application into the one or more data locations based in part on translation information mapping the one or more identifiers to the one or more data locations (see lines 11-33 of col. 5, lines 63-10 of cols. 5-6, lines 43-62 of col. 8 from Allen, “enable a virtual machine to access the information from the graphics processing unit … a call to a hypervisor to perform a translation mapping operation in order to map certain pages in the system memory 110 to portions of the instance memory 122 of the instance 114” and “the file buffer also includes an input/output memory management unit 312 capable of translating memory addresses between virtual memory addresses and memory addresses of the host computing system itself”. Also see lines 39-53 of col. 2 from Allen).
The combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer does not disclose: translating is performed by the at least one GPU.
However, Bono discloses: translating, by the at least one GPU, one or more identifiers provided by the at least one executing software application into one or more data locations based in part on information mapping the one or more identifiers to the one or more data locations (see [0038] and [0108]-[0109]; “the GPU module (246) is software executing in the OS (208) that manages the mappings between the virtual address space and physical addresses in the GPU memory (not shown) that the GPU(s) (244) is using. Said another way, the application executing in the application container may be GPU-aware and, as such, store data directly within the GPU memory. The application may interact with the GPU memory using virtual addresses. The GPU module (246) maintains a mapping between the virtual addresses used by the application and the corresponding physical address of the data located in the GPU memory”, “where the translation request specifies the virtual address… The GPU module is configured to receive the translation request, perform a look-up in the virtual-to-physical address mapping, and provides the resulting physical address in the translation response”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the address translation performed by hypervisor or IOMMU of a non-GPU processor from the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer by including address translation performed by GPU from Bono, and thus the combination of Allen, Katyal, Bohrer and Bono would disclose the missing limitations from the combination of Allen, Katyal and Bohrer, since both of Allen and Bono discusses memory translation process to be performed for data access operations requested by application running on virtualized environment but with different types of processors performs such address translation process, and thus it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one type of processor (i.e., non-GPU processor performs address translation from Allen) for another (i.e., GPU processor performs address translation from Bono) to achieve the predictable result of data address/identifier requested by application is translated by GPU as required by the claim.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 9875192 B1) in view of Katyal et al. (US 20220027180 A1, hereafter Katyal) and Bohrer et al. (US 20030061352 A1, hereafter Bohrer) and further in view of Radi et al. (US 20230251929 A1, hereafter Radi).
Regarding to Claim 34, Claim 34 is a system claim corresponds to method Claim 3 and is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of Claim 3 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 5/27/2026, with respect to rejections of claims 1-51 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been full considered. New grounds of rejections were made based on amended limitations from the independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rager et al. (US 20210136175 A1) discloses: The one or more tiers of the storage space may be specialized for storing data processed by the GPU (see [0028]).
Campos (US 20250022091 A1) discloses: Generally, a GPU has three primary memory tiers (see [0004]-[0008]).
Roberts et al. (US 20170161204 A1) discloses: a GPU memory management unit arranged to translate between virtual memory addresses used by the graphics processor unit and guest physical addresses (see [0006]).
Yao et al. (US 20220083367 A1) discloses: obtaining a target virtual address to be accessed by the graphics processing unit (GPU); and obtaining, by a memory management unit (MMU) of the GPU based on a first mapping relationship, a first virtual physical address corresponding to the target virtual address in the virtual physical address space, where the first mapping relationship is a mapping relationship between the virtual address space and the virtual physical address space (see [0040]).
Dong et al. (US 20180122039 A1) discloses: shadow global graphics translation tables (SGGTTs) may be used by VM 130, VM 140, hypervisor 110, or GPU 120 for translating graphics memory addresses to respective system memory addresses based on a global memory address space (see [0020]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Zhi Chen/
Patent Examiner, AU2196
/APRIL Y BLAIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2196