DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE WITH CONDUCTIVE MEMBER COVERING PART OF A CONNECTION MEMBER
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Crowley (US 6630726), hereinafter Crowley.
Regarding claim 1, Crowley (refer to Figures 1-3; also see magnified view with markup of part of Figure 1 shown below) teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a metal base (104, described as “die pad 104” in Col. 3, lines 8-13);
a terminal (106, described as “first set of metal leads 106” in Col. 3, lines 8-13) separated (best seen in Figure 1) from the metal base (104);
a semiconductor chip (102, described as “semiconductor die 102” in Col. 3, lines 8-13) including a back-surface-side electrode (i.e. “source terminal” that is connected to 104 – see Col. 4, lines 17-28) connected to the metal base (104) and a front-surface-side electrode (i.e. “drain terminal” that is connected to 106 – see Col. 3, lines 35-46; i.e. electrode on upper surface of 102 in orientation of Figure 1) provided on a front surface (162, i.e. upper surface of 102 in orientation of Figure 1 - see Col. 4, lines 17-28) opposite to the back-surface-side electrode;
a connection member (122, described as “conductive strap 122” in Col. 3, lines 8-13) including a first end portion (176, described as “flange portion 176” which has “a lip 182” in Col. 4, lines 29-49) connected to the front-surface-side electrode of the semiconductor chip (102) and a second end portion (180, described as “Foot 180” in Col. 4, lines 29-49) connected to (best seen in Figure 1) the terminal (106); and
a conductive member (177, described as "a conductive layer 177, such as solder or an electrically conductive adhesive epoxy" in Col. 4, lines 35-40; best seen in magnified view of Figure 1 below) provided on the front-surface-side electrode (i.e. upper electrode in orientation of Figure 1) of the semiconductor chip (102) and covering a region (R1 – see magnified view with markup of Figure 1 below) of the front-surface-side electrode (i.e. upper electrode in orientation of Figure 1) that is not connected to the first end portion (i.e. not connected to at least peripheral part of “lip 182” of 176 because of “a space between the lip 182 and the first surface 162 of the die 102” – see Note 1 below) of the connection member (best seen in magnified view with markup of part of Figure 1 shown below).
Note 1: Referring to a magnified view of part of Figure 1 shown below, refer to Col. 4, lines 50-65 which describes "flange portion 176" that "is substantially planar and has a lip 182 formed along side and end edges thereof” and “the lip 182 extends vertically away from the first surface 162 of the die 102 to create a space between the lip 182 and the first surface 162 of the die 102”. The above described “space” creates the recited “a region of the front-surface-side electrode that is not connected to the first end portion of the connection member”; and this region is shown in markup of Figure 1 below as R1.
Regarding claim 2, Crowley teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive member (177) at least partially covers (i.e. at least covers peripheral part of 182; best seen in magnified view with markup of part of Figure 1 above) the first end portion (176, which comprises 182) of the connection member (122).
Regarding claim 4, Crowley teaches the device according to any one of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the conductive member (177, see thickness of 177 at periphery where thickness is the greatest) is larger than a thickness of the front-surface-side electrode (i.e. upper electrode in orientation of Figure 1) in a direction perpendicular to (i.e. vertical direction in orientation of Figure 1) the front surface of the semiconductor chip (102).
Regarding claim 8, Crowley teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising: a resin member (194, described as "encapsulant material 194" in Col. 3, lines 22-30 and Figure 1) provided at a boundary between a region of the front-surface-side electrode (i.e. electrode on upper surface of 102 in orientation of Figure 1) that is connected to the first end portion (176) of the connection member and a region (R1 – see magnified view with markup of Figure 1 above) of the front-surface-side electrode that is not connected to the first end portion.
Regarding claim 9, Crowley teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the metal base (104) and the terminal (106) are disposed side by side in a first direction (i.e. horizontal direction in orientation of Figure 1), the connection member (122) has a first width (width of part of 176 that contacts 102; i.e. excluding width of 182) in a second direction (i.e. direction going into the plane of paper in orientation of Figure 1) that is along the front-surface-side electrode and is orthogonal to the first direction, and the conductive member has a second width (width of full 176; i.e. including width of 182) in the second direction, and the first width is narrower than the second width (as the first width is a subset of the second width).
Regarding claim 10, Crowley teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the connection member (122) is a plate-shaped metal connector (as it is part of “a lead frame” – see Col. 3, lines 7-13), and has a back surface (i.e. lower surface of part 176 of 122 in orientation of Figure 1) connected to the front-surface-side electrode (i.e. electrode on upper surface of 102 in orientation of Figure 1), a front surface opposite to the back surface, and a side surface (inclined surface of lip 182 which is part of 176) continuous to the back surface and the front surface, and the conductive member (177) is at least in contact with the side surface in the first end portion (176).
Regarding claim 11, Crowley teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the connection member (122, which includes 176) is a metal wire (described as “strap 122 is formed of an electrically conductive material” in Col. 4, lines 28-32), and the conductive member covers the front-surface-side electrode (i.e. electrode on upper surface of 102 in orientation of Figure 1) and is in contact with the first end portion (176) of the metal wire (122).
Regarding claim 12, Crowley teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the connection member (122, which includes 176) is a metal wire described as “strap 122 is formed of an electrically conductive material” in Col. 4, lines 28-32), and the conductive member (177) covers the front-surface-side electrode (i.e. electrode on upper surface of 102 in orientation of Figure 1) and the first end portion (176) of the metal wire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley in view of Gomez (US 20090194856), hereinafter Gomez.
Regarding claims 6-7, Crowley teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising: a bonding member (described as “metal solder, an electrically conductive die attach adhesive” with example material “such as solder or an electrically conductive adhesive epoxy” in Col. 4, lines 17-46) provided between the first end portion (176) of the connection member (122) and the front-surface-side electrode (i.e. electrode on upper surface of 102 in orientation of Figure 1), but does not specifically teach that the bonding member contains a material that is “different from” (as recited in claim 6); OR “same as” (as recited in claim 7) a material of the conductive member.
Gomez (US 20090194856) also teaches that conductive epoxy or solder are known attachment materials in semiconductors (para 57), further explaining that a first material with higher melting point is typically used in an earlier process while a second material with lower melting point is suitable for a later process to ensure the later process temperature for second material does not cause “reflowing” of the first material (para 64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Crowley so that the bonding member contains a material that is “different from” (when an earlier and later process are involved); OR “same as” (when attachment is done at the substantially the same time) a material of the conductive member. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Crowley for at least the purpose of providing reliable attachment without causing problem of “reflowing” of the first material (para 64 of Gomez).
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 20130147064), hereinafter Sato, in view of Kojima (US 20140231981), hereinafter Kojima. Note that this is an additional rejection of claim 1, as it has also been rejected above.
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a metal base (7D2, para 95; see Figure 7);
a terminal 4PL, para 155; see Figure 7) separated (see Figure 7) from the metal base (7D2);
a semiconductor chip (4PL, para 82; see Figure 7) including a back-surface-side electrode connected to the metal base and a front-surface-side electrode provided on a front surface opposite to the back-surface-side electrode;
a connection member (8B, para 97 and 141; see Figure 7) including a first end portion (8B1, para 97 and 141; see Figure 7) connected to the front-surface-side electrode of the semiconductor chip and a second end portion (8B3, para 103 and 141; see Figure 7) connected to the terminal.
Sato does not reach “a conductive member” that is “provided on the front-surface-side electrode of the semiconductor chip and covering a region of the front-surface-side electrode that is not connected to the first end portion of the connection member”.
Kojima (US 20140231981) (refer to Figure 8) teaches a similar semiconductor device comprising a semiconductor chip (2, described as “semiconductor chip 2” in para 137) including a back-surface-side electrode (5, described as “first electrode 5” in para 140) connected to a metal base (5a, described as “pressing portion 5a of the first electrode 5” in para 140) and a front-surface-side electrode (6, described as “second electrode 6” in para 137) provided on a front surface (i.e. upper surface in Figure 8) opposite to the back-surface-side electrode, a connection member (7) including a first end portion (7a) connected to the front-surface-side electrode (6) of the semiconductor chip (2) and a second end portion (7b), but also further teaches a conductive member (4, described as “upper heat dissipating plate 4” in para 136) may be provided on a front-surface-side electrode of the a semiconductor chip (2, described as “semiconductor chip 2” in para 137) and covering a region of the front-surface-side electrode (6, described as “second electrode 6” in para 137) that is not connected to the first end portion (7a) of the connection member (7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Sato to further include “a conductive member” that is “provided on the front-surface-side electrode of the semiconductor chip and covering a region of the front-surface-side electrode that is not connected to the first end portion of the connection member”. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sato for at least the purpose of efficient heat transfer (para 137 of Kojima explains purpose of 6a as "heat is efficiently released mainly from the pressing portion 6a of the second electrode 6 to the upper heat dissipating plate 4" and also that "Since the base portion of the insulating member 10e disposed on the underside of the upper heat dissipating plate 4 has a larger area than the top surface of the semiconductor chip 2, the pressing portions 6a and 7a of the electrodes 6 and 7 and the upper heat dissipating plate 4 are reliably insulated from each other").
Note that 7 of Kojima is described as “second electrode” in para 84, comprises 7a and 7b..
Regarding claim 3, it follows from Sato, as modified above for claim 1 in view of Kojima, because in the structure modified in view of Kojima, the connection member (7 of Figure 8 of Kojima) has a back surface connected to the front-surface-side electrode (6 of Figure 8 of Kojima) and a front surface opposite to the back surface, and the conductive member (4 of Figure 8 of Kojima) partially covers the front surface of the first end portion of the connection member (see Figure 8 of Kojima).
Regarding claim 5, it follows from Sato, as modified above for claim 1 in view of Kojima, because in the structure modified in view of Kojima, a thickness of the conductive member (4 of Figure 8 of Kojima) is shown larger than a thickness of the connection member (7 of Figure 8 of Kojima) in a direction (i.e. vertical direction in orientation of Figure 8 of Kojima) perpendicular to the front surface of the semiconductor chip. Even if the thickness dimensions in Figure 8 are not to scale, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Sato so that the thickness of 4 (which acts as heat sink) is larger than thickness of connection member (7 of Kojima). The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sato for at least the purpose of using a typically thickness plate of conductive material as a heat sink for heat transfer, which typically has a thickness much greater than electrical wiring such as connection member (7 of Kojima).
Conclusion
/AJAY ARORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892